HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Forest Cabin Backyard Is National Forest. Lots Of Wildlife & Quad Trails

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Payson - Tonto Village Forest Cabin

2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 5

Off the beaten trail, this cabin rests within the Tonto National Forest 15 miles east of Payson Arizona off of AZ-260 at Control Road in Tonto Village (near Khols Ranch). Tonto Village is within the Tonto National forest, situated within the forest you are right in the heart of relaxation. With the backyard is the national forest, there are plenty of outdoor activities however escaping the high temperatures of the Phoenix Valley in the summer time is often the best quality. This region is generally 20-40 degrees cooler than the valley; July 4th 2015 we had 60 degrees! In the winter there's normally a good amount of snow as well. On the days it does get warm, there is A/C for your comfort. For those cool nights there is an air-tight fireplace as well as electric forced-air heat. Each bedroom also has separate heating units.

We have cornhole and fishing poles in the second bedroom for your use as well.

The first floor offers a master bedroom with a king bed, the second bedroom has 2 bunkbeds with one of them a double bottom. The kitchen is very adequate with stove, refrigerator, oven, toaster-oven and microwave. A relaxing living room complete with video games, WiFi internet and BluRay player connected to a flat screen TV with DishTV. The backyard has a fire pit for those relaxing evenings however always check for fire restrictions prior to starting a campfire in the forest. There are so many hiking and quad riding trails and we're also horse friendly.

It's only a short walk to the local bar & restaurant with a small store attached to it (The Double-D). Here you will find a variety of people and necessities for sale.

Discount for 7 night stay, no up-charge for weekend.

Check in time is 4pm check out is Noon. Thanks

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Mark V. Owner/Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 October, 2016

About Mark V. Owner/Manager

Retired law enforcement, owner of a bar/restaurant in Chandler Arizona & Roatan Honduras Central America. Originally from Buffalo NY, moved to Arizona in 1997 and needed a mountain retreat to cool off in a place that reminded me of home. This is the place for that.

If you love the area as much as we do, contact me as we're registered REALTORs in that entire Rim Country area and we'd love to help you find your next mountain retreat!

Mark V. Owner/Manager purchased this cabin in 1998

Why Mark V. Owner/Manager chose Arizona

Tonto Village is a mile into the forest, the cabin is on the forest line with the backyard ending where the forest begins. We searched the entire state of Arizona and settled on this location due to the tall pines, cool temperature about 30 degrees or more cooler than the phoenix valley. Plenty of wildlife adds for our photography hobby of snapping pictures of Elk, bear, coyote, javalena, eagles, and other sorts of forest life. The trails are superior and go for many miles making quad riding and horse riding a great plus. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in the is it.

What makes this cabin unique

Secluded in the middle of the forest yet within walking distance to the village bar/restaurant/store.

In case you fall in love with this area like we did, we're also Realtors and can help you with the purchase of a cabin in the same general area. We've been part-time residents in this region we know where some of the best properties are located. You can call our office at 480-579-3911 or email at Theresa@


based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

Forest Cabin Backyard Is National Forest. Lots Of Wildlife & Quad Trails
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 13 reviews

Messy and Unkept with a Dishonest Owner (Poor Customer Service)

  • 1 of 5

The property is quite messy and a little dirty on the inside. There is trash in the front yard, back yard, and on the side of the house along with a broken down trailer parked in the back yard. In all honesty, the cabin is a little run down.

The owners belongings are crammed in the closets and stuffed in the second bedroom, there is a great deal more mess than disclosed in the property description. The average person may be a little put off with the clutter as the belongings are not stored in an orderly fashion. The impression that I had was as if I was staying at a friends cabin or an occupied house that belonged to someone else.

Supposedly, there is a neighbor that is supposed to drop by an make sure that you are ok. This never happened. As a result, I did not know where to put our trash during our four night stay. The trash piled up quickly as we went grocery shopping and bought food for four people, having eaten every meal at the cabin. The only time we saw the neighbor was an hour before we left to finally let us know where the trash dumpster was, which was about a quarter of a mile down the road in front of his house. If you need help, the neighbor is not right next door or even a couple of doors down to help you. The cabin phone did ring a couple of times while we were there, however, I just thought that the phone belonged to the owner and I had no business answering it.. This might have been the neighbor calling us and the only attempt at a greeting, but he never did stop by.

There was no hot water and the water pressure is very low. We could not shower the entire time we were at the property and even if the water was hot there would not have been enough water pressure to rinse your body off. The water pressure was so poor that we could barely wash our hands in the bathroom and washing dishes in the kitchen is futile. If there is an operable water heater on the property, as a paying guest, someone should have turned it on and made sure it was functional before we arrived. The arcade game in the living room does not work, kids were disappointed and internet is pathetic.. Cell phones do not work at the cabin either.

When I tried to get my cleaning deposit back, the owner said that the toilet was clogged with an "object". This is untrue, everything was absolutely fine when I left, I thoroughly checked the cabin and made sure all was fine before leaving. Don't count on getting your deposit back. Dishonest owner, beware.....

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter was fine until he learned be wasn't getting the $100 deposit back due to my spending $199 on a professional plumber to dislodge an object in the toilet..the object couldn't be plunged. I should have charged him for the entire damage. Since their "object" was dislodged it been operating fine as it had for 10 years prior to their stay. As far as the hot water tank goes, there's instructions that describe how to flip the switch to turn on. Water pressure varies, we're on village water system and issues occur occasionally....we're in the middle of the forest. I called this renter a few times and they had no issues. My neighbor stopped in and they told him everything was fine and they enjoyed their stay. They also had my direct cell number to call with any issues and i didnt receive a call. Not until they were being held for damage they caused did they have a terrible time. This is not a hotel, Im sharing my cabin with renters but certainly never to these folks again. Seems we run into 1 irresponsible renter every 50 renters that totally about enjoy themselves. This negative response is totally due to them being held for damage done.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect cabin to stay at!

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed at this cabin several times now! Great place to stay and worked great for our family! There are a lot of activities to do in this area! I would definitely stay here again..


  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good place to spend a weekend away...

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at this property and we enjoyed our time there. There were plenty of beds to sleep on and all the comforts of home. We spent most of our time in the backyard by the fire pit or the front porch and enjoyed the scenery. The owner responds quickly and we received our deposit back pretty quickly. I would stay here again in the future for sure!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect family-friendly getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time at this cabin. The forest is literally the backyard. The kids had so much fun exploring, collecting pinecones and finding wood for our fire. We brought four-wheelers and it was so fun to ride down to the little cafe together for dinner. Also, there were several trails in the area to take the four-wheelers exploring. The kids loved the cozy bunkbeds and the games for us to play in the living area. The cabin had so many extras that we loved using: from everything to the corn hole game to the casserole dish. We had a great time and would definitely come back to this cabin again!

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

very cute little cottage

  • 4 of 5

We had a wedding to attend and have a cabin in Tonto Village. But our family is huge! Found this rental cottage and the staff and Owner were wonderful. If I had any advice for new renters, bring extra towels. That was the only thing we lacked. Thank you again for a wonderful stay!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im happy you enjoyed your stay we'll look at stocking more towels for future guests. Thanks for leaving our cabin in nice shape when you left.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cabin in the Woods-Great Little Getaway

  • 5 of 5

The first impression was that it was slightly crowded, but we had a great time. I would have liked the living room to have not been so crowded but I have to say that if you have more than two people, which was how many we had, everyone would have a place to sit. The kitchen is very easy to work in and they have a good assortment of pots and pans. They also have a lot of spices and other accessories to make your stay very comfortable. We brought our own ingredients but it was nice to know if you needed something you don't have to run to the store. The bed was very comfortable and opened up to the backyard which opens up to the forest, it was a really nice view first thing in the morning. We set a fire the second night of our stay and it was just a beautiful night, you need to bring your own wood, which we did not mind and if you don't there is a huge forest right behind the house to get your own. We didn't even burn all the wood we brought, I left it for the next guests.

Have a great time, we DID.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
walking distance within the village
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Rim Golf
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Double D within the village
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Car: recommended

While literally in the Tonto National Forest we're less than 20 miles from the Town of Payson where everything from Walmart to Hospital and Casino is available. There's plenty of stream and small lake fishing nearby in any direction. There's ample restaurants in Payson, Christopher Creek or within walking distance of the cabin.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Payson, Arizona

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Fun Season
1 Jun 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £82
Pet Fee £20
Property Damage Protection £64
Cleaning Fee £53

Campfire wood is not included in rental fee however there is ample firewood to be found in the forest. Check-in is 4pm, Check-out no later than noon.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Payson, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 2 Bunk Bed , 2 bunkbeds, one is single/single the other is single/double
    Loft Room (additional fee) - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , The loft sleeps 5+, Contact for fee for loft access.
  • Bedroom 1 has king bed, BR 2 has 2 bunkbeds one is single/single the other is single/double. Remodeled attic/loft area accessible by ladder has 1 King, 1 queen and a single. This area is available for use for an extra fee and sleeps an additional 5+ people. If you would like to use this extended area please contact owner and plan on using sleeping bags or other if using the extended upstairs as it's difficult for our cleaning person to tend to linens and such on the second level.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
cell service most likely will not work at the cabin however there's a landline and wireless internet.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties