HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Tranquil Waterfront Lodge with Easy Access

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3+BR, 2 Bath Waterfront for Family and Friends, leisurely walks around the pond

Relax with friends and family in this 3-4 bedroom home (sleeps 8) on tranquil 50 acre pond plus Lake Eaton access (short walk/drive) in Town of Long Lake. Adjacent association lands for hiking, 7/10th mile to Long Lake's amazing public waterfront, one mile to Village Center. Private one acre; swim, fish, canoe, kayak with 100+ feet of waterfront. Private second floor master suite (queen). Two first floor bedrooms (one queen, one double), plus den (sofa bed), bathroom and large living room Two full bathrooms. Easy access for persons with limited mobility, dining room, eat-in kitchen. Large deck, fire pit, hammock, gas grill, books, games, puzzles. TV for DVDs, VCR (no cable or internet). WiFi available 1 mile at Library. Verizon 4G and US phone service. Please bring your own linens (sheets, towels, dishtowels).

More Details

Owner
Tracey Hitchen Boyd
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 October, 2017

About Tracey Hitchen Boyd

We are an adventurous family of four, and we love to get away to the Adirondacks, enjoying hiking, swimming, fishing, kayaking and outdoor living in general.

Tracey Hitchen Boyd purchased this house in 2006

Why Tracey Hitchen Boyd chose Adirondacks

Our house is perfect for people looking for a quiet, casual experience, who also enjoy access to a village. The pond is the star feature, for its beauty and recreation. This house is truly lodge-like, with most of the comforts of home but not fancy, and not as finished as a full time residence. Easy access to hiking, local lakes, rivers and ponds, and your choice of Adirondack towns to explore.

What makes this house unique

We find that we truly relax here. It's a comfortable house on a quiet pond - it feels a bit like a tree house because of the private setting, and mix of sun and shade. The pond is perfect for paddling, a swim, cookouts, an fire in the firepit, early morning solitude and a nap in the hammock. There is parking for boaters trailering a boat (the pond only allows electric motors, but Long Lake and Lake Eaton have public access for motor boats).

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Long Lake in Hamilton County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Master Bath - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Tile
  • Bathrooms are clean and bright.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Large bright space with a view of the pond.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Den - 1 Double Bed , 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Separate room with double sleep sofa
  • Second floor is exclusively the master suite with queen bed and sitting area. Other bedrooms are on main floor.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The house is on a low traffic gravel road, perfect for walks. We've tried to provide most things that you'll need, and that will make your stay comfortable. Please bring your own linens (sheets and towels).

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

25% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
Tranquil Waterfront Lodge with Easy Access
average rating of 3.375 based on 8 reviews
3

Dirty

  • 3 of 5

It appears neglected.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elizabeth, I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the condition of the house. We will address this. We ask our guests upon arrival to let us know arrive if there are any issues, so that we can take care of them them promptly. Tracey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean, relaxing, homie felling house.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. Plenty to do in the area and decent fishing, off the dock, at the house, for the kids. The kids swam, quite a bit off of that huge granite boulder, just off the dock. Mostly shallow though. I wouldn't let the kids dive. The amenities were, as advertised and everything worked well. I recommend doing the Coney Mountain hike. The hike is 2.2 miles, round trip and the ascent takes about 40 minutes, taking it easy. Once you're at the summit, you'll have, a beautiful, 360 view of the area. The market in town is a little pricey but the meats are good and the fresh produce was very good. Three Hand Melon Farm, corn on the cob, was off the charts. Only downside was no internet but there may not be anything the owners can do about that. Verizon LTE was good and the kids used our mobile hot spots on our phones. Over all, great trip. Can't wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

I can't give this place any stars. One is too generous, but it wouldn't let me leave zero....

  • 1 of 5

We rented this house for the minimum stay of 3 nights.

When we arrived at the property, the key was not where the owner said it would be. It took a while to find.

It looked like no one had been there in quite some time, as the whole house was extremely dirty and smelled musty.

The kitchen counters and stove were covered with mouse droppings, beds were not made, dead bugs on and in the sofas, filthy floors throughout, dirty refrigerator and other kitchen appliances, and bathrooms unclean.

The caretaker could not clean immediately, so we had to wait until day 2. We stayed one more night, and left the following day.... skipping out on our 3rd night.

Of course the rent was super high because we were there for a parents' weekend at a local summer camp. A complete waste of a lot of money.

The house was also very cold on our second day- I sent the caretaker a message about how to turn on the heat, as thermostats were not working. He never replied.

These owners are taking advantage of suckers like us who didn't plan far enough in advance for accommodations.

Never again. I would not recommend this house to anyone. I might have left a very different review if it had at least been clean. During high season for that much money, one expects a habitable place. I don't think that's asking too much.

A major thumbs down.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately we didn't meet your expectations. We will make some changes to address the issues you raise.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Has everything you need with no frills

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the Boyd house. It has a large deck off the back of the house where we ate all of our meals, a path to a fire area and water access. The pond does not really feel like a pond because of the movement of the water. Most days we were the only people out on the water. The location of the house is great - very close to the village of Long Lake and about a half hour from Tupper Lake. There were lots of hiking trails and lakes to explore in the area.

The house itself needed some care and upkeep. The decor was outdated and had a damp feeling. The screen to the porch was broken as were the lights leading down to the fire pit area. Definitely bring a flashlight! Overall the space was clean and large for 6 adults.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Relaxing stay

  • 3 of 5

Overall this was a good place to stay. It was close to many things. The house and dock is in need of a little maintenance, but met our needs. Even though the house is shielded from the highway, the noise from traffic was a little disappointing. The pond was a great place for a relaxing kayak float.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Comfortable house with everything you would need to relax.

  • 2 of 5

The house was up to date and very comfortable. We were surprised to find that it was so close to the highway and that the pond was not really conducive for swimming or kayaking. It is a place to enjoy nature however. We like how close it was to places that we already knew and enjoy in Long Lake and Lake Eaton.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
125 Miles
Albany, Montreal, Syracuse, Ottawa
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
The Cellar, Adirondack Hotel
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Blue Mt Lake
Nearest Train
35 Miles
Amtrak, North Creek
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
I-87
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
The Cellar
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Big Tupper, Gore Mt
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Long Lake Town Beach
Car: necessary

Relax with friends and family in this 3-4 bedroom Long Lake home on tranquil 50 acre pond plus Lake Eaton access (short walk/drive), sleeps 8-10, adjacent association lands for hiking, 7/10th mile to Long Lake's amazing public waterfront, one mile to Village Center. Two full bathrooms. Easy access for persons with limited mobility. Private one acre; swim, fish, canoe, kayak with 100+ feet of waterfront. Private second floor master suite (queen), two first floor bedrooms (one queen, one double), plus den (sofa bed). Large living room (2nd sofa bed), dining room, eat-in kitchen (toaster, coffee maker, microwave, dishwasher, dryer). Large deck, fire pit, gas grill, books, games, puzzles. TV for DVDs, VCR (no cable). US phone service.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Long Lake, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Late Fall
14 Oct 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£341
for 2 nights
From
£133
£796
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£303
for 1 night
From
£227
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £189.55
Cleaning £75.82

Payment with credit card, paypal or e-check. Refunds (-15%) available if replacement reservation is secured.
Cleaning fee applies if not left in the same clean condition in which the property was at check-in. Please arrange at least one week in advance for cleaning service if desired. Easy to care for house. Please arrange for cleaning service in advance if you are not able to leave it in the condition that you find it (cleaning would include floors mopped/vacuumed, straightening, surfaces cleaned, decks swept).This is an easy-to-care-for house. Please arrange for cleaning service in advance if you are not able to leave it in the condition that you find it (cleaning would include floors mopped/vacuumed, straightening, surfaces cleaned, decks swept).
Renters are responsible for trash removal, to Long Lake Transfer Station (no charge).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals