HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Modernised Town Cottage Newport pembrokeshire 4* Rated Wales tourism

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Newport - Major Lodge

3 bed property sleeps 6 people with private parking

Nestled in the heart of North Pembrokeshire in the ancient borough of Newport. Major Lodge is a charming cottage that offers the highest levels of comfort and convenience for your holiday. The cottage has been entirely refurbished over the last year to an extremely high standard. Behind the cottage lies the Preseli Hills, the summit of the closest mountain (Carn Ingli / Angel Mountain) only an hours walk away. Only a five minute walk through the village is the Parrog Estuary and a small beach with delightful coves and rockpools. For the more energetic the Pembrokeshire coastal path and the main beach are well within walking distance. The costal path offers people wonderful scenery and there are local buses that take you to these wonderful locations which mean you do not have to use the car as these buses always get you back to newport

Major Lodge provides a cosy retreat all the year around. The cottage sleeps six comfortably. Upstairs comprises of 2 double rooms and a third double bedroom which has a custom made raised 3/4 sized bed, lending itself well for children or adults alike. It boasts a spacious brand new bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle. Downstairs, there is a comfortable family room / dining area with TV and CD player. Beyond the restored hallway is a contemporary fitted kitchen from which French Doors lead onto a walled patio area. Unlike other properties in the area Major Lodge has offroad parking. Additional information: baby equipment provided (Cot,bedding requierd for cot,High chair, all bed linen provided, , full central heating for winter months.We do not provide towels

The cottage is located at the foot of a quiet lane (which leads to Carn Ingli), but is at the edge of the village of Newport and only a short walk from local shops, galleries, holistic centres, castle, churches, bank, bus station, friendly pubs and a la carte restaurants of the town.We ask iff you could leave by 10am on the day of your departure and not arrive before 3pm

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Mr JOHN MORRIS
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, welsh
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
26 November, 2016

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

Modernised Town Cottage Newport pembrokeshire 4* Rated Wales tourism
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 3 reviews
4

Lovely holiday Cottage in a beautiful location

  • 4 of 5

My family and I really loved this cottage and the location. The cottage is set in a rural, friendly little village with a few pubs and small shops. We highly recommend the Golden Lion pub for food and atmosphere. There is also a Spar which was handy for those much needed kitchen cupboard essentials and other bits. The owners mother in law lives next door so any problems we had in the cottage she was only a knock away for help and Mr Morris was only at the end of the phone if we needed anything. For example the kettle stopped working so we called the number left for the owner who then contacted his mother in law to give us a spare kettle. All this was sorted within 20 minutes.

Newport sands is only a 5 minute drive away the beach is very nice but beware of the jelly fish! There were so many when we visited we really had to watch where we walked.

The views and landscapes surrounding the village are absolutely stunning the evenings are so peaceful.

The reason I have only given the cottage 4 out of five stars is because the 2 doubles beds are so uncomfortable we all woke up with aches, pains and stiff necks. There isnt any proper baking trays so I recommend bringing your own if you plan to cook there.

Also the website advertises that this cottage has Internet. It does not have it's own Internet instead there is a little plug in Wifi extender. I'm assuming the main Wifi box is in the owners mother in laws next door. The signal from the extender plug is literally non existent.

Unfortunately my partner really needed the Internet as advertised because he had important work emails to send while we were away and there is no signal on o2 network in this village I'm with EE and had low signal but enough to make and take calls but not for Internet.

Unfortunately due to how important signal and internet is to my partners work while we are away we would not of booked this cottage if we knew the above.

When mentioned to the owner that the Wifi was so terrible the response was "I know" but if Mr Morris knew then maybe this should be mentioned in the property advert.

But other then the Internet and the beds we did really enjoy our stay and if it wasn't for my partners demanding work I would have stayed here again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very disappointed with this review which comes a week after we received very high praise for the cottage itself. Its comfort , cosiness and also how well equipped the kitchen is. The sliding compartments parallel to the oven contain baking trays and even a tray big enough for a turkey but not however muffin trays as we did not envisage tourists wanting to do any home baking. We shall remedy this. We appreciate the kettle comment but of course we would immediately replace any such items. We ourselves sleep in the cottage occasionally , as do our children and their families and nobody has mentioned the beds before. We also have regular visitors who return each year and sometimes more than once a year and have never complained about any of the beds. We leave a variety of pillows as everyone has their personal choice ie. hard soft high low. Although the weather was a little mixed the temperature has not been cold but we gladly explained to this family when asked , how to put the central heating on although it is never normally required during the summer months as the cottage is very warm . We did not request any extra payment for this. The Wi fi is a new addition and is patchy but the table area in the front room seems to be the best place Most people and ourselves seem to find it adequate for their holiday needs but we shall look into it. Just incase other tourists wishing to visit Newport are put off by the jellyfish , can we add they do appear at times just as at other beaches and are not there all the time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

An Inspirational Gem.

  • 5 of 5

Writing this review after our 4th stay at Major Lodge so really goes without saying that it`s a gem of a cottage ideally place to explore the superb coastal path and a the exceptional and sometimes surprising delights Newport has on offer. ML has a wonderfull feel to it -the spacious well designed and equipped open plan kitchen opening on to the walled patio is one of its best features.. Power shower also worth a mention ! Nestling down a small lane in the old part of the town , just below the Norman Castle , you are ideally placed for independent and quirky shops and a surprising choice of top class restaurants and pubs serving excellent food. Cnapan and the Golden Lion are particular favorites but all worth sampling. Local walks are superb -either exploring the town , heading up to the Preselli Hills or walking around the Parrog or across the estuary to Newport Sands.. Highly recommended .

  • Review Submitted: Jun 9, 2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always nice to have the same holiday makers wanting to come back to Major Lodge every year.I thank Steve for his kind comments
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Blackwood,Gwent
4

excellent base for North Pembrokeshire

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased with Major lodge.It had a much more quaint and cosy look than we expected yet had a new bathroom and modern kitchen with breakfast bar(and very good range style cooker).We were a party of four adults & 1 child and my son loved the raised three quarter bed.A group larger than this may feel a little cramped.Newport is small but lovely,with at least 4 pubs.The Golden Lion is a good,traditional pub with good food.And i would sell up and move to Newport just for the local butchers.It is a superb shop with rabbits,quail and pheasant hanging outside.Would recommend this property to friends.P.S.Thanks for the wine john(owner)

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Location

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Cardiff
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Fishguard
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
newport links 18 hole
Nearest Train
12 Miles
fishguard
Nearest Motorway
50 Miles
m4 Pontabram
Car: recommended

Newport Sands is only a 5 minutes drive away or a 10 minute walk if you paddle across the estuary when the tide is out. A 20 minute walk from the bridge crossing the estuary takes you down alongside the estuary to the sands.

Newport bridge and the banks along the estuary are very popular with bird watchers, sometimes as many as 8 herons can be seen .Newport is in pembrokeshire national park and the costal path has some fantastic views.A local bus takes you to various points on the costal path

Newport truly offers something for everyone; walking (mountain and coastal), fishing, sailing (Newport Boat Club welcomes visitors), likewise the golf club. The 18 hole golf course has just been opend Junior players also welcome. Horse Riding is very popular in the area.

There are many local events going on throughout the year offering you an opportunity to get involved and join in the strong community spirit. There is a regular (hourly) bus service to Fishguard and Cardigan.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage ih Newport, Fishguard, Newport, The Preseli Hills & Bluestone

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
winter
5 Nov 2016 - 17 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£425
for 7 nights
£425
 
 
xmas/new year
22 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
 
 
xmas/new year
30 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
 
 
winter
21 Jan 2017 - 27 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
28 Jan 2017 - 3 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
4 Feb 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
11 Feb 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
18 Feb 2017 - 24 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
25 Feb 2017 - 3 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
4 Mar 2017 - 10 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
11 Mar 2017 - 17 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
winter
18 Mar 2017 - 24 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£425
for 7 nights
£425
 
 
winter
25 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£425
for 7 nights
£425
 
 
spring
1 Apr 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
spring
8 Apr 2017 - 14 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
spring
15 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
spring
22 Apr 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
spring
29 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
summer
6 May 2017 - 12 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
summer
13 May 2017 - 19 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
summer
20 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
summer
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
summer
3 Jun 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
summer
10 Jun 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
summer
17 Jun 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
summer
24 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
summer
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
summer
8 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
summer
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
 
 
summer
22 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
 
summer
29 Jul 2017 - 4 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
summer
5 Aug 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£775
for 7 nights
£775
 
 
summer
12 Aug 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£775
for 7 nights
£775
 
 
summer
19 Aug 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£775
for 7 nights
£775
 
 
summer
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£775
for 7 nights
£775
 
 
summer
2 Sep 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
summer
9 Sep 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
summer
16 Sep 2017 - 22 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
summer
23 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
autum
30 Sep 2017 - 6 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
autum
7 Oct 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
autum
14 Oct 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
autum
21 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
autum
28 Oct 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
autum
4 Nov 2017 - 10 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
christmas
23 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
new year
30 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Newport in Pembrokeshire

Property Type:
  • cottage (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • town
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
  • The bathroom is recently modernised with bath and separate shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • The bedrooms are cottage size but 2 have double beds and a fitted large wardrobe. The 3rd bedroom has a 3/4 bunk type bed which would appeal to adults and children alike.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
we ask guests to leave by 10 30 am andarrival time 3.30 pm

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot