HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Welcome to The Picket Fence Guest House at Silver Lake!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 6 nights


About the property

1700 sq ft year round home with 3 bedrooms and 1 BRAND NEW bathroom. Fenced yard

Clean , updated, totally furnished home with all amenities. Large private fenced yard and plenty of parking. Fishing, swimming and boating within 100 yards. 1 mile from the Silver Lake Drive In, Charcoal Corral. Only 7 miles to Letchworth State Park, rated number 1 in the country. 45 min. to Darien Lake and 90 min. to Niagara Falls. We hope you'll enjoy your stay in our comfortable lake house!

Sharon Jasinski
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 April, 2018

About Sharon Jasinski

Two sisters Sharon & Cheryl (nee Howden) and our spouses. We have lived in this area all of our lives and wanted a place for our families and guests to come enjoy and relax.

Sharon Jasinski purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Sharon Jasinski chose Castile

We fell in love with this quaint, updated home. Even though it's not lake front, we can see the lake from several spots on our property and we have lake access through the association. It's so quiet and peaceful and the neighborhood is so friendly.

What makes this cottage unique

Private, fenced yard. Lot's of unique features in the house. The eating bar is made from an old bowling alley floor. There's old barn wood, taken from local barns (even our fathers). The loft offers extra sleeping and let you have a bit of privacy from the rest of the house. It's a short walk to Old Orchard Beach lake access and Mack's Boat Livery and Restaurant where they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and even stay open late for ice cream. This area has so much to offer.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Castile in Wyoming County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • rural ...
  • village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Large Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


4/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Welcome to The Picket Fence Guest House at Silver Lake!
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews

Wonderful place!

  • 4 of 5

The Picket Fence cottage is a gem! Beautiful and very spacious. There were 9 of us and there was plenty of room for all. We spent every night making a fire and roasting marshmallows. We were in walking distance to the lake and a great little restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Macks!

The cottage was immaculate! The beds were comfortable.'We all loved the sign in the bathroom saying Collect Memories Not things. We collected many great memories.

I would highly recommend this place!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Not what we expected, unfortunately.

  • 2 of 5

I’m sorry, but this cottage was not worth the money we paid. There are other cottages with better views of the lake and access to the water, this was minimal. The cottage it’s self has 1 toilet and shower that is on “well” water. This means waiting between flushes, which if you have guest can be embarrassing to have them wait. The 2 TV’s are older, the one in the bedroom doesn’t work at all and the main one has fuzzy reception. The stove in the kitchen needs to be lit manually, which at times cause a gas smell. The outdoor grill is small, if you need to feed more than 4 people, you’ll need to rotate. Lastly, the cottage doesn’t have WiFi, which made it difficult to touch base with other family members or check work emails. We mainly hung out at the Charcoal Corral as a family, which is less than 5mins away from the cottage.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a very unfortunate situation that these guests did not enjoy their stay. We respond to all questions or concerns, prior to your visit, for all of our guests. We really want all of our guests to enjoy their vacation! We live very close to the Guest House, one owner just 5 minutes and the other just 25 minutes away. We do not however call our guests to "check" on them. We have our numbers posted through out the house for your convenience, again asking you to please let us know about any issues that may arise. We were never contacted by these guests during their time with us. We always ask all to guests to "please call for any reason", and we sincerely mean just that! Thanks, Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 5 of 5

If you have little ones, this guest house is for you. The fence around the property itself was worth the price. My son (1 yr ) loved running around outside while we had the grill and campfire going. The house is also amazing. As fate would have it, we were there for the coldest week in a while, so when it was too cold to have the baby outside, there was TV, movies, board games and puzzles. They had everything we needed, all we had to bring was food and beverages. It was so late the night we got in that we didn't have a chance to stop at a store. Thankfully, there was a jug of water in the fridge and some ground coffee in the freezer. That was such a lifesaver that I almost teared up lol. The owners are great and want to make sure you have a great time. All in all, when we visit NY again, we will choose to stay here again. 5 stars!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Quaint lazy days of summer cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Owners are caring, considerate women and are concerned about your stay. They want you to be comfortable and feel at home, as well as have a good time. The Cadage was clean and cozy in a good location to the lake and family-run restaurant. We had a great time just staying at the cottage but had we wanted to do more in the area they provided us with brochures and information for many things. Having a campfire every night and roasting marshmallows and completed our lazy days, We Just Loved It!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Hole In The Wall
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Silver Lake Country Club
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Perry Speedway
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Charcoal Corral
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Car: necessary

There are two marinas at Silver Lake, as well as 2 other boat launches. Bring your own boat, or you can rent from one of the marinas. Very close by is The Silver Lake Twin Drive In and Charcoal Corral Restaurant, mini golf and arcade. They host nightly events (concerts, line dancing, karaoke, Movie Premiers). Perry hosts a Farmers Market with live music, food and crafts, veggies, etc every Saturday. Letchworth State Park has swimming, hiking, nature studies and the Glen Iris Inn for fine dining. Just a few miles outside of Castile, you can launch your kayak in the Genesee River , or can go white water rafting. Only 8 miles to Warsaw for a movie theatre as well as multiple restaurants.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Castile, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £36 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

non refundable cleaning £53.57
Property Damage Protection £42.14

Check-in day is Sunday 3PM
Check-out day is Saturday 11AM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question