HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake level quiet retreat

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 360 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Newly Remodeled one bedroom cottage next to waters edge

Just steps away from Seneca Lake!

Walk out the front door and enjoy coffee and casual dining on the shore underneath the shade of beautiful old-growth trees. Newly-renovated cottage with air conditioning, a queen bed, new appliances including microwave. This is in the beautiful Peach Orchard neighborhood on a town maintained, paved road. Unlike most lake cottages that have lakewater or beachwell water systems, this cottage is served by the town municipal water system.

Location offers the best of both worlds - the peacefulness of lake living and the excitement of local tourist activities. Many major wineries are with in just a few miles, outlet malls are a quick trip down the highway, and world-famous attractions such as the Corning Museum of Glass and Watkins Glen International are less than 45 minutes away.

Get away from it all, but don't give up a thing, in this charming and bright lakeside cottage!

Two kayaks, a paddle boat and row boat are available for use by our guests.

Watkins Glen International Nascar weeked has a three night minimum.

This is a seasonal use cottage and is only rented from May to mid October.

More Details

Owner
Bob
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
8 October, 2017

Location

Nearest Airport
36 Miles
Elmira Corning
Car: necessary

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Hector in Schuyler County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 360 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Small bathroom with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Beautiful lake view from the bedroom!
  • Recently remodeled, great view of the lake!
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Lake level quiet retreat
average rating of 4.652174 based on 23 reviews
5

A great little property in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

This is a really nice property in a great location. I am a frequent traveler to Seneca Lake and usually stay at hotels but this is a MUCH better option. When you don't feel like wine tasting or sight seeing, you still have PLENTY to do. The cottage has multiple boats to use, you can swim in the lake(depending on time of year), relax by the firepit or cookout on the grill. The cottage itself is very clean and well maintained and is the perfect size for 2 people. I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I absolutely enjoyed our weekend stay at the lake front cottage. We decided to celebrate our 10 year anniversary at the Finger Lakes, and are very happy we chose Lake Seneca. We recommend hiking at Watkins Glen, which is about 15 min from the cottage. The waterfalls were beautiful! We enjoyed lunch at the Stonecat cafe. They specialize in fresh, local comfort foods. Very delicious! The location of the cottage was perfect as it was near several wineries, breweries and a distillery. One of the best mini-vacations we've had!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A hidden gem!

  • 5 of 5

This place is a hidden gem! My husband and I stayed here for a 1st anniversary weekend getaway and it was perfect. Bob and Diana were gracious hosts and their lake front property is beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, amenities were great, and it was a convenient location to many wineries and Watkins Glen hiking. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for peace and quiet on Seneca Lake!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great First Experience at Seneca Lake!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I traveled to Seneca Lake for our 5 year wedding anniversary. Neither of us had ever been there, so we weren't sure what to expect. The location of your cottage was PERFECT. We arrived on Friday night, relaxed at the cottage for a bit and went to dinner at Seneca Lodge (which was only a short drive from here). We ended the night having a fire on your beach. On Saturday, the weather was so warm that we decided to try out the paddle boat and kayaks provided by you. We had a great time out on the lake! Saturday morning we went to Toni's Diner for breakfast (suggested by host) just a few miles up the road, it was delicious and cozy. Saturday afternoon we hit up local wineries and breweries. There were seriously so many that we could have gone to all within a 10 minute drive. The location of the cottage was perfect, we couldn't have asked for a better stay. We probably hit up about 6 wineries and enjoyed dinner then at the Grist Iron Brewery. We were also lucky to see a firework show on our last night there just on the other side of the lake. Sunday was our checkout day, and as planned we stopped at Watkins Glenn for a hike, again only a small drive from the location of your cottage! This was our first VRBO experience, and it definitely was a great one. It's always nice to run into a PSU Alumni/fan! Small world. Thanks for your hospitality, and the bottle of wine you left for us.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Philadelphia PA
5

Wonderfully quiet getaway at lake Seneca!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this lovely cabin for our Honeymoon. It is directly adjacent to the lake, and comes with three boats, a gas grill and a fire pit! And a breathtaking sunset-ver-the-lake. The cabin was modern and very clean. Bob and Diane were wonderful hosts. The area is very quiet during the week, which is exactly what we were looking for. And we didn't have to go far to find a good winery - or ten!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

The location was very nice and the area was very peaceful with easy access to wine trails and state parks. However, we were disappointed and shocked in the fact that the owners took away part of our security deposit for leaving a mess on the oven which was absolutely not true because we cleaned up after ourselves. The property could have used more essentials like sugar, spices, cutting board, a bigger fridge so we can easily prepare our own meals there and maybe heavy duty cleaniing supplies if that's what they wanted us to do when departing.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and suggestions for our vacation rental. As always we welcome your concerns and comments. Our cottage is well-equipped with dishes, mixing bowls, pans and pots for cooking a variety of meals. We do not supply spices or sugar since it is impossible to anticipate what a guest would need/use and many guests prefer to use those food items that they bring. We hope you found the cottage to be in excellent condition upon your arrival. It is our reasonable expectation that the cottage would be left in the same condition upon your departure. We were disappointed to find the condition that the cottage was left in after your stay, and this was only the second time we have been forced to charge a cleaning fee. All four stove drip pans had burned-on food residue from cooking that boiled over, and the interior of the stove top had food residue under the burners. We also found wet pancake batter that had dripped down the front of the stove into the oven. The damage deposit of $25 was kept to compensate for the extra two hours that was spent returning the kitchen to its previous excellent condition. We did call and discuss this with you and thought that this was a reasonable charge. We do leave a container of cleanser and several sponges in the cottage. If there had been a problem, we wished you would have said something so we could address it at the time. Thank you for your comments - we will add a cutting board to the kitchen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Hector, Finger Lakes

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£287
for 2 nights
From
£144
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £152.02

Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50.00 per night, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals