HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beach Hideaway, Dog Friendly, Designer Studio With Private Patio And Parking!

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 150 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

Live like a local in a beautiful and charming newly remodeled Studio. Just 2.5 blocks to the sand at gorgeous family friendly Wind n Sea beach. Private yet close to all amenities.

Living and sleeping areas, 1 bathroom and a full kitchen. Room for 1-2 adults to sleep comfortably. Queen size bed with memory foam mattress in the bedroom. The studio also has a comfortable full sized sofa in the living room. Designated parking space. The studio is small, but feels very luxurious and larger than it is. It has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. Sand Castle Hideaway is a very special place to stay!

Adorable private patio with shade sails for dining, relaxing and entertaining. BBQ, outdoor dining, cooks kitchen with stove for gourmet meals, washer and dryer. Dog Friendly.

Truly beautiful and special, Sand Castle Hideaway is a lovely and charming beach studio that you'll love calling home!

More Details

Owner
Sharon Simmonds
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 November, 2017

About Sharon Simmonds

I design dog toys for a living, love to travel and spend time with good friends and family.

Sharon Simmonds purchased this apartment in 1978

Why Sharon Simmonds chose La Jolla

I grew up near La Jolla and have always loved the charm and beauty. Wind n Sea Beach is truly beautiful and Sand Castle Hideaway is a lovely and peaceful place to vacation.

What makes this apartment unique

If you love good design, close proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops, pet friendly - happy places, you'll love staying at Sand Castle Hideaway.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in La Jolla in San Diego

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 150 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom area has a curtain for privacy.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

47% Complete
33% Complete
14% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Beach Hideaway, Dog Friendly, Designer Studio With Private Patio And Parking!
average rating of 4.2380953 based on 21 reviews
5

Great Time in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5

The studio was superb for our stay. It is convenient to the beaches, restaurants and shopping. The decor is very attractive and comfortable. The kitchen has everything one would probably need to prepare meals. It was fun pretending we were living like the locals!

Looking forward to going back!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

dissapointed

  • 2 of 5

Not clean. Ants everywhere!! In the bed, on the toilet and on the patio as well as the kitchen. We were diligent about food scraps, crumbs, and garbage. Used coffee grounds were left in the coffee maker. The BBQ was not as pristine as you indicated, we chose not to use it. Dryer vent very plugged, Broken t.p. Holder in bath, my husband repaired it. There was a pile of sand around the shower drain. We rinsed it down and the next day it appeared again, the drain is partially plugged. Appeared neat and tidy but was actually dirty. Our feet got black walking barefoot on the floors.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Carol, In your communications with us you said that you "had a wonderful week". Unfortunately you never mentioned any of the issues you had until after you had checked out. Had you let us know that the toilet paper holder needed repair, we would have sent our on-call handyman over to fix it immediately. We also have an on-call Plumber/Electrician, so the shower sand didn't have to be an issue either! Our cleaners do a very precise and extremely thorough job of cleaning all of our properties, they are constantly complimented on the level of cleanliness they attain. I'm sorry that your weren't satisfied, but again, this could have been easily resolved if you had told us, so that we could have had them return and complete the job to your specifications. Sugar ants are a problem in San Diego, and are very unpredictable when they might appear, but we do have supplies in case they appear. We also have a contract with Lloyds Pest Control, so again, this issue could have been easily resolved had we been communicated with. Lastly, we have just installed a new Speed Queen washer and dryer, so any problems with lint should now be fine. I'm glad that you had a wonderful week, and hope that next time you will let your hosts know about any issues you have while you are staying so they have the opportunity to fix them. We would have loved to have had that opportunity., as it is very important to us that our guests are happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
4

Good time!

  • 4 of 5

The property was nice and clean and very convenient. As we knew going in, it was quite small but we were very comfortable. It had everything you need and we enjoyed our evening walks down to the ocean. The neighborhood was nice, safe and quiet.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Clean

  • 5 of 5

Very clean? Good location.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Good location

  • 4 of 5

Good location in La Jolla neighborhood. Quiet and quaint. Close walk to the beach where you can check out he surfers and watch the sunset. Close drive or bike ride to the La Jolla strip where you can find all the restaurants and shops. Only thing we had an issue with was that the drain in the shower was clogged and so we were standing in 2-3 inches of water while showering. You had to wait awhile for the water to drain before the next person could shower.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Canada
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Even better than advertised. Great location. Nice and clean. Kitchen is great for cooking. I'll definitely stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Lindburgh Field
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Wind n Sea Beach
Car: recommended

Wind n Sea is a lovely area of La Jolla with a great neighborhood feel and easy walking access to shops, restaurants, the farmers market, and of course a beautiful beach! Tons of activities and sight seeing are within a 15 minute drive outside of La Jolla as well.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in La Jolla, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Thanksgiving 2017
19 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£630
for 7 nights
£630
 
 
Winter 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£630
for 7 nights
£630
 
 
Summer 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£630
for 7 nights
£630
 
 
Thanksgiving 2018
19 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£630
for 7 nights
£630
 
 
Winter 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£630
for 7 nights
£630
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£588
for 7 nights
£588
£1,916
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £90.12
Refundable Damage Deposit £375.5
Tax Rate 10.5%

Rates are subject to change until actual reservation is made.


Cleaning Fee Schedule:

a) 1 cleaning fee ($120 total) required for a 7-14 day stay.

b) 2 cleaning fees ($240 total) required for a 15 - 30 day stay (we pay for a 3rd cleaning during a 30 stay).

c) Cleaning fee schedule repeats for days stayed beyond 30.

Please note: the cost estimator does not include cleaning for stays longer than 7 days. Cleaning fees will be adjusted during actual billing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals