HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beach Hideaway, Dog Friendly, Designer Studio With Private Patio And Parking!

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 150 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

Live like a local in a beautiful and charming newly remodeled Studio. Just 2.5 blocks to the sand at gorgeous family friendly Wind n Sea beach. Private yet close to all amenities.

Living and sleeping areas, 1 bathroom and a full kitchen. Room for 1-2 adults to sleep comfortably. Queen size bed with memory foam mattress in the bedroom. The studio also has a comfortable full sized sofa in the living room. Designated parking space. The studio is small, but feels very luxurious and larger than it is. It has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. Sand Castle Hideaway is a very special place to stay!

Adorable private patio with shade sails for dining, relaxing and entertaining. BBQ, outdoor dining, cooks kitchen with stove for gourmet meals, washer and dryer. Dog Friendly.

Truly beautiful and special, Sand Castle Hideaway is a lovely and charming beach studio that you'll love calling home!

More Details

Owner
Sharon Simmonds
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
17 February, 2018

About Sharon Simmonds

I design dog toys for a living, love to travel and spend time with good friends and family.

Sharon Simmonds purchased this apartment in 1978

Why Sharon Simmonds chose Beach Barber Tract

I grew up near La Jolla and have always loved the charm and beauty. Wind n Sea Beach is truly beautiful and Sand Castle Hideaway is a lovely and peaceful place to vacation.

What makes this apartment unique

If you love good design, close proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops, pet friendly - happy places, you'll love staying at Sand Castle Hideaway.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Beach Barber Tract in La Jolla

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 150 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom area has a curtain for privacy.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

44% Complete
40% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Beach Hideaway, Dog Friendly, Designer Studio With Private Patio And Parking!
average rating of 4.24 based on 25 reviews
4

Nice, affordable place near the beach

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed for a week and had a very nice stay. We picked this location because we wanted to spend most of our time in San Diego, but feel more relaxed staying in quieter neighborhoods. This was the perfect spot for that. A huge bonus was the proximity to the ocean, which you could walk to in 5 minutes. My favorite thing about the condo itself was the covered parking, because nothing makes me crazier than having to find street parking.

Being that the condo is very small, there are some quirks. Like every time you shower, the condo will steam up (even if you open the window in the shower). Or the fact that there is only a small table with one chair, making it difficult to enjoy a sit-down meal as a couple despite the kitchen being fully equipped to do so.

Overall, I liked this place, but it wasn't without its faults...

My biggest complaint about this condo is the impossibility of maintaining an acceptable temperature. The unit doesn't have heat or AC, which I understand considering the climate; however, the property guide stated that there were "several" fans and heaters to manage the temp, which is a pretty big overstatement. There was only 1 space heater, which was what we really needed considering it was December and the nights got cold. Unfortunately, the heater was the cheap ON or OFF kind, which meant we were either sweating or freezing, because we couldn't set the heat according to our preferences. We couldn't forgo the heater and just stock up on blankets, because there was only one extra blanket I could find in the closet.

On a different note, I'm surprised by all the reviews praising the comfort of the bed. I found it very hard and my husband agreed it was difficult to sleep on.

Lastly, when we arrived to the condo, we found the sliding patio door had a broken lock. This didn't surprise the owner, who said there's a dowel to keep the door closed. Except there wasn't, to which she said that she would stop by to check on it a few days later, but that the patio was secure and not to worry. A dowel never turned up in the door and, from what I can tell, no one ever visited. I have to be honest, I felt a little brushed off about my concerns and I think this interaction was my least favorite part of my stay. That unlocked back door bothered me every night and it was an issue that was easy to resolve.

Nice place and I would encourage others to check it out, but we probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We are so sorry for the misunderstanding about the sliding door. We explained to the guest that the interior patio is completely secure, as well as hidden from outside view by three 6 foot fences and surrounded by a building on one side , and if the dowel wasn't located to please let me know. Unfortunately the guest never let us know that they couldn't find the dowel, so we were not able to bring a new one by. We also were not made aware of the heater being a problem. It is a Vornado heater (not at all cheap!), but we would have been happy to purchase another one to meet this guests needs better, had we been told that they didn't like it. We are surprised they didn't find the bed comfortable, we've only ever received glowing reviews about this memory foam bed, but bed comfort is a very personal experience. We are glad this guest enjoyed the studio overall, and the location, and will make improvements based on this feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect for me!!

  • 4 of 5

The unit is simple and cozy. Perfect for 1 and a small dog. Great location for walking into La Jolla village or down to the waterfront.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burnaby, British Columbia
4

Small is good!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the compact and ergonomic living at this property and the location was

super close to the beach and village.

Everything was walking distance convenient.

Quiet location. Slept well. Kitchen was well appointed. Covered parking.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shavertown
5

Perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Who would think something so compact would be so right! From the parking space at the front door, to the queen bed, to the couch, desk and storage, to the everything-one-might-need kitchen, patio, and stone floor shower--not to mention the airy brightness and it's physical location, and great landlords. I will book it again whenever it fits my schedule.

Andrea

  • Review Submitted: 04-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Time in La Jolla

  • 5 of 5

The studio was superb for our stay. It is convenient to the beaches, restaurants and shopping. The decor is very attractive and comfortable. The kitchen has everything one would probably need to prepare meals. It was fun pretending we were living like the locals!

Looking forward to going back!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

dissapointed

  • 2 of 5

Not clean. Ants everywhere!! In the bed, on the toilet and on the patio as well as the kitchen. We were diligent about food scraps, crumbs, and garbage. Used coffee grounds were left in the coffee maker. The BBQ was not as pristine as you indicated, we chose not to use it. Dryer vent very plugged, Broken t.p. Holder in bath, my husband repaired it. There was a pile of sand around the shower drain. We rinsed it down and the next day it appeared again, the drain is partially plugged. Appeared neat and tidy but was actually dirty. Our feet got black walking barefoot on the floors.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Carol, In your communications with us you said that you "had a wonderful week". Unfortunately you never mentioned any of the issues you had until after you had checked out. Had you let us know that the toilet paper holder needed repair, we would have sent our on-call handyman over to fix it immediately. We also have an on-call Plumber/Electrician, so the shower sand didn't have to be an issue either! Our cleaners do a very precise and extremely thorough job of cleaning all of our properties, they are constantly complimented on the level of cleanliness they attain. I'm sorry that your weren't satisfied, but again, this could have been easily resolved if you had told us, so that we could have had them return and complete the job to your specifications. Sugar ants are a problem in San Diego, and are very unpredictable when they might appear, but we do have supplies in case they appear. We also have a contract with Lloyds Pest Control, so again, this issue could have been easily resolved had we been communicated with. Lastly, we have just installed a new Speed Queen washer and dryer, so any problems with lint should now be fine. I'm glad that you had a wonderful week, and hope that next time you will let your hosts know about any issues you have while you are staying so they have the opportunity to fix them. We would have loved to have had that opportunity., as it is very important to us that our guests are happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Lindburgh Field
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Wind n Sea Beach
Car: recommended

Wind n Sea is a lovely area of La Jolla with a great neighborhood feel and easy walking access to shops, restaurants, the farmers market, and of course a beautiful beach! Tons of activities and sight seeing are within a 15 minute drive outside of La Jolla as well.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Beach Barber Tract, San Diego County

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£597
for 7 nights
£597
 
 
Thanksgiving 2018
19 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£597
for 7 nights
£597
 
 
Winter 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£597
for 7 nights
£597
 
 
Summer 2019
1 Jun 2019 - 2 Sep 2019
7 night minimum stay
£597
for 7 nights
£597
 
 
Thanksgiving 2019
24 Nov 2019 - 1 Dec 2019
7 night minimum stay
£597
for 7 nights
£597
 
 
Winter Holidays 2019
22 Dec 2019 - 1 Jan 2020
7 night minimum stay
£597
for 7 nights
£597
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£558
for 7 nights
£558
£1,817
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £356.2
Cleaning Fee £85.49
Tax Rate 10.5%

Rates are subject to change until actual reservation is made.


Cleaning Fee Schedule:

a) 1 cleaning fee ($120 total) required for a 7-14 day stay.

b) 2 cleaning fees ($240 total) required for a 15 - 30 day stay (we pay for a 3rd cleaning during a 30 stay).

c) Cleaning fee schedule repeats for days stayed beyond 30.

Please note: the cost estimator does not include cleaning for stays longer than 7 days. Cleaning fees will be adjusted during actual billing.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals