Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fernwood - Contemporary 4 BR Redefines Luxury Mountain Living in Tahoe Donner

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Separate WCs1
Space 3,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 8

Amongst spires of pine, The Fernwood Folly settles into forested hills in Tahoe Donner. This luxurious vacation rental is quintessential “mountain modern”. It features environmentally friendly materials and technology such as corten, ledgstone, redwood and cement fiber panels. Modern sensibilities and the clean lines of a more contemporary design are often labeled as cold and impersonal, but the homeowner’s furnishings definitely round out the space in a warm and comfortable spirit.

With only bears as occasional gawkers, privacy is not so much of a concern. What is, are the views. Floor to ceiling windows bring the outdoors in, so you can enjoy the open space from the comfort of the gourmet kitchen, living room, or master bedroom suite.

But why stay inside, when there is plenty to welcome you out? A full outdoor living room and dining area is situated to take full advantage of the forested setting and on the second floor deck, a hot tub awaits to enjoy a cool evening soak.

GOLD LEVEL PROPERTY

• Over 3100 Square Feet

• Private Hot Tub on Second Floor Deck

• Well-traveled Dogs Welcome (Fee applies)

• Mobility Friendly

• Wood Fireplace

• Access to Tahoe Donner amenities (See Details Below)

• Gourmet Kitchen

• Dedicated Office Space

• Publications: Tahoe Quarterly “2010 Mountain Home Design Award”, Mountain Living Magazine “Green up from the Ground”

ABOUT THE AREA

Tahoe Donner is one of America’s largest homeowner’s associations, with nearly 6,500 properties and 25,000 members enjoying over 7,000 acres in the Sierra Nevada mountains.

In the winter, enjoy on site access to cross country and downhill skiing, and a snow play area which is a favorite among our younger visitors. In the summer, take advantage of the championship golf course and clubhouse, or bring the family to one of the private swimming pool complexes. You’ll also have access to a private beach club at Donner Lake, where you can avoid the crowds and spend a day paddle boarding, kayaking, or sunbathing on provided chaise lounges.

Dining options within the community include The Lodge Restaurant and Pub, winner of the 2015 Open Table Diners’ Choice Award, and Pizza on the Hill, a casual spot perfect for the whole family.

Compared to other North Shore Tahoe locations, staying in Tahoe Donner cuts the drive from the bay area down by close to 45 minutes, so you’ll be enjoying the first cocktail of your vacation while others are still stuck in traffic. Tahoe Donner is minutes away from Historic Downtown Truckee, about 12 miles from Northstar California, and 16 miles from Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows.

Included with your rental are two guest cards providing access to the amenities available in Tahoe Donner. Each guest card allows access for up to four guests over the age of 7. Guest access fees are currently $8 per person per day. Children under 7 are free.

TAHOE DONNER AMENITIES INCLUDE:

• Rec center with work-out facility

• Swimming Pools and hot tub

• Fitness classes

• Downhill ski area (great for kids!)

• Cross country ski area

• Equestrian center

• Tennis center

• 18-hole golf and driving range

• Hiking, and so much more!

To learn more about the community, click the HOA Link Below.

POLICIES & DISCLOSURES:

1. Tahoe Donner Rec Center limits guest usage to 8 people over the age of six.

2. This property sits at a relatively high elevation in Tahoe Donner. While access to the driveway is flat, 4WD is always recommended during the winter months.

3. All images of Tahoe Donner amenities provide courtesy of Tahoe Donner.

* All of our homes feature a full kitchen, washer and dryer, outdoor grill, and wireless internet (any exceptions will be noted above).

Truckee Town ID # 62-24

More Details

Property Manager
Tahoe Getaways
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2018

About Tahoe Getaways

We are a local, upscale, professional property management company. For over 16 years, we have been the consistent and trustworthy source for private home rentals in Lake Tahoe and Truckee. All of us in the office live, work, and play the Tahoe lifestyle, and our team of Vacation Specialists are excited to share their local knowledge and help make your Tahoe vacation unforgettable. Vacation time is valuable. Don’t trust an amateur. Tahoe Getaways™ provides a service level that cannot be matched by an individual owner. From crippling blizzards to late night home failures, we’ve been there and are prepared accordingly. We personally prepare each home for your arrival to ensure a welcoming and seamless experience. And while we never anticipate unexpected issues during your stay, we are available 24/7/365 to respond to any emergencies, so you can rest easy during your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you to beautiful Lake Tahoe!

Why Tahoe Getaways chose Truckee

As a veteran of the vacation rental industry, Tahoe Getaways��� represents only the best in upscale Lake Tahoe and Truckee homes. All our properties feature a full kitchen, washer and dryer, wireless internet, gas grill, and of course exclusive access of the entire home. All of our homes are vetted to standard; professionally cared for year-round, so you can book with confidence knowing you will arrive to a clean and well-appointed property.

What makes this house unique

Located in one of the most beautiful communities in the country, this home serves as your base camp for a wide range of outdoor recreation and sightseeing opportunities. Climb to the top of mountain peaks for incredible vistas, ski or ride at some of the top resorts in North America, or take a boat out on the iconic Lake Tahoe. Whatever you seek on your vacation, we at Tahoe Getaways™ can help make it happen.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Truckee in Nevada County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Luxury
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 3 King beds, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

69% Complete
15% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fernwood - Contemporary 4 BR Redefines Luxury Mountain Living in Tahoe Donner
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews
Memphis, TN
3

Mountain Retreat

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I enjoyed the homes layout with simple modern touches throughout. It was beautifully located in the mountains ...offering a since of peace and tranquility. We had an issue with ants and the property management was very responsive. Within the hour, they sent someone out to put baits down. We still had problems with the ants after treatment, but it was not as bad as before treatment. I was very disappointed because there was quite a bit of dust around the beds, cob webs with dead insects in the guest bath and once you moved the bar stools, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I am very glad we were able to assist your group quickly and that you had a great stay with us. For future renters, we have taken action by spraying around the perimeter of the home for insects and have been keeping close tabs to mitigate any insect activity. This home has large modern windows which open with a push of a button. If left open for extended periods of time they can allow entrance for insects. There are other windows with screens that guests will be able to utilize to help alleviate this issue as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oakland, CA
5

Great Vacation House for Adults in Tahoe

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I was part of a group of eight adults that stayed at Fernwood Folly in early May, 2018. Things that we loved about the house: Huge kitchen and island, perfect for cooking and enjoying each other's company. The office allowed one of the guests to work in private. Nice grill and patio area. Hi-tech home features including lighting controls, house fans, automatic shades, etc...A few people enjoyed the hot tub, and the house is close to Truckee, but positioned nicely in a quiet part of Tahoe Donner. There are a few things that would have improved our stay - three of the five burners on the cooktop did not work, and there were not very many cleaning supplies. I was aware that the house instructions mentioned bringing additional toilet paper, towels, soap, etc...however the vacation would have been more seamless if sufficient quantities of these essentials were provided up front. Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 09-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: Tahoe Getaways
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
,
5

Beautifully modern home in Truckee

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house was incredible, to say the least. Most of my Tahoe experiences have been in rustic cabins, so this super modern home was a really nice change. It was impeccably clean and provided all of the amenities needed for a comfortable, relaxing stay. The open kitchen and living area was perfect for our group to hang by the fire, while the some prepared meals in the kitchen. It was also a quick 10 minute drive into town where there were a ton of bars, restaurants and shops to pop in to, but in all honesty, why would you want to with a home like this? I would highly, highly recommend this property to anyone thinking about making a trip to Tahoe.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Tahoe Getaways
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA
3

Beautiful architecture

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a nice overall stay at the Fernwood Folly at Tahoe Donner. Anyone who loves modern architecture would probably enjoy a stay here. There's a steep cleaning fee that covers all 4 bedrooms, so it's probably best that only large parties stay here to make the cleaning fee worth while. The home is located just off the corner of a neighborhood and a moderately busy street, so it wasn't as remote as we thought based on the photos. One aspect of our stay that we didn't like was the lack of blinds in the master bathroom. There's a new home finishing construction just outside the window (very close to the bathroom windows), and we were fully viewable at all times by the construction workers, or, the home owners. This made showering or using the bathroom very difficult.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Tahoe Getaways
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Francisco, CA
4

Beautiful home - for a winter (not summer) visit

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This home is spectacular! It's well appointed and very comfortable. But if sleep is something you care about, don't stay here in the summer time (or else make sure everyone has an eye mask!). There are no shades on most of the windows, and where there are shades, the shades are basically translucent and so all the light comes in. This was especially tough for putting the kids to bed (so we bought some black tarp and covered as many windows in their room as we could). This is something it would have been nice to know in advance, as we booked the place for a month and this hugely impacted our ability to enjoy it fully. That and the fact that there was construction on the lot next door 7 days a week for the full month we were there. Lastly, the floors get very dirty and seem difficult to clean (we had cleaners come during our stay and still our feet were always dirty) so BRING SLIPPERS! We stayed here for a month and everything else about this home is PERFECTION. Literally, no complaints AT ALL. I think this home is PERFECT for a winter visit to Tahoe. The house is beautifully and thoughtfully designed. The furniture and beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen is PERFECT and the dishes and cookware were an upgrade from what we have at home. They seem to have thought of everything here (except window shades). The location could not have been any better!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Tahoe Getaways
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Mateo
5

Super comfortable modern cabin in Tahoe Donner!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Excellent. The beds were super comfortable. Climate control was excellent. Loved the steam room in the master bedroom and the hot tug on the deck!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Minimum Age Requirement - 25 years old
    Travel Insurance can be purchased any time BEFORE Final Payment is received.

    Major Credit Cards Accepted.
Available
Unavailable