HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

WATERFRONT !! North Idaho just outside of Sandpoint on the Clark Fork river.

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,450 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Prime N. Idaho location just outside of Sandpoint on the Clark Fork river leadin

WATERFRONT! Location, Scenic Beauty

Natural river beauty & mountain splendor. Well appointed and comfortably furnished sleeping 6 very comfortably (extra guests will require additional fees) with 2BR/2BA main house, (1 king, 1 full) and very large dry cottage adding another luxurious queen bed just steps away from main house.

Four outdoor viewing decks for family enjoyment and relaxation.

House and Cottage, River front deck, Bikes, Kayaks, Tubing, Floats for the river, fishing poles, fire pit, firewood, DVD's, Darts, Horse Shoes, Cards, Board games, Barn, and Man cave.

Happily email us, call or text with any questions 24/7, relax and respect our home as we would also respect yours.

Enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains and river or Idaho's largest lake, Pend Oreille. You can spend all your time at Spencers Happy River Ranch or head to town for a hike at Scotchman's Peak! Before or after hike food you'll find The Clark Fork Pantry a small-town, family-owned Deli, Bakery, Bulk Food and Grocery store or local diners for eggs with biscuits and gravy, or burgers. Squeeze Inn for a real eclectic dining experience. Head just minutes down the road to The Floating restaurants of Hope Idaho or just 20 miles to Sandpoint for "Big City" excitement, arts, dining, breweries & bars, bands and shopping. Take a day trip around Northern Idaho or to Montana or Canada as you are surrounded by Idaho Panhandle National Forests of Coeur D'Alene National Forest, Kanisku National Forest and Kootenai National Forest for hiking , biking, fishing and camping. Tour award wining wineries and breweries, find unlimited lakes, rivers and streams to visit.

Bring your boats, Jet ski and paddle boards and fly rods and poles to enhance your experience.

Boat launches just minutes in either direction.

House Rules

This is a NO smoking NO pet home and cottage.

Kindly remove shoes before entering home.

More Details

Owner
Robert & Ruth Paulson
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
3 November, 2017

Why Robert & Ruth Paulson chose Clark Fork

We have lived and traveled to many parts of the world and this is the closest we have ever gotten to being in a picture perfect setting or movie location and actually we saw this and bought it based on the photos before we ever went to visit the property in person. It was still even better in person and the first morning four bald eagles visited and were getting their breakfast right in the river in our front yard!

What makes this house unique

WATERFRONT, BOATING, CANOEING, WILD LIFE, LAKES, RIVER, FLY FISHING, KAYAKING, HIKING, HUNTING, NATIONAL PARKS, NATIONAL FORESTS, SANDPOINT, FISHING, PEACE, TRANQUILITY.

Guestbook comments from the owner

House was terrific. It has 8 places to enjoy the river view. Very difficult to leave this place. Kayaks a hit. Nice family that are your hosts.
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 7

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Clark Fork in Bonner County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Two bedrooms with on suite bathrooms 1 king and 1 full in main house and a separate large guest dry cottage with queen bed just below the main house. We also have a queen air mattress for kids or adults.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 5 bicycles
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
WATERFRONT !! North Idaho just outside of Sandpoint on the Clark Fork river.
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 18 reviews
Park Rapids, Minnesota
5

This is a lovely property. Very clean and well kept. Such an inviting place to relax and have fun.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the "Happy Ranch". We joined our son and grandson with our life preservers and floated into the swift current of the Clark Fork River as it swirled and brought us back to a calm spot by our dock. Many howls and shrieks of laughter from a 15 year old up to an 81 year old! Whee.

We made wonderful food from a good kitchen and great bbq. Eating outdoors on the deck round table was great, watching osprey and Eagles as we ate.

Early morning I brought my coffee and almonds to the tree house to sit and commune with nature and creator God.

This was a perfect place for our family. Thanks so much to the Paulsons and there in-touch relationship, answering questions via Internet as we enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for coming to stay with us we couldn't be happier to hear of your time spent together with family and sharing laughter and building new memories. We're always look forward to having you back again and by the way that picnic bench was built by three generations of Paulson's father son and grandson although Spencer was so young he probably doesn't remember unless he looks at the photos. Again thank you so much for coming to stay with us and we're happy to be a part of your family memories. Sincerely, Spencers Happy River Ranch!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Taken advantage of by owner and Homaway

  • 1 of 5

I would not recommend this place. They charged way more than listed. The listing says up to 8 persons for $250.00 per night I booked and said that there would be 4 persons. later I called and said there would be 7. They billed my credit another $300.. plus. I contacted home a way and was put in contact with there security department where I was told basically the customer is wrong.. That person was rude. treated me very badly and made no effort to solve the problem. I will never use them again. The house was a little strange. The master bedroom and bath had no curtains, blinds or drapes. you were right out in the open. It listed a TV which it had but no cable, satellite or any other form of programming. Again I think I was mislead and taken advantage of. I have rented over 15 homes from VBRO and never had a problem. Richard Gross

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sir, I'm sorry that you weren't happy with Spencers Happy River Ranch and HomeAway. As our property is a three bedroom property it has always been deemed for six guests. We have always charged an additional fee for extra guests to cover additional cleaning, utilities etc. We have always enjoyed the views from the windows as many guests over the years have also and as it is a private and secluded property we never wanted any window treatments obstructing the breathtaking views. Although all bathroom windows are frosted we left all the other windows free for everyone to enjoy the nature that surrounds you. As there may be others out there like you who want that added level of privacy we have opted to install window treatments. We have never advertised satellite or cable TV or any other distractions from nature though we do provide a Samsung 3-D flatscreen TV with a large DVD selection as well as free DVD rentals at the local library. We always strive to create a wonderful guest experience as has been displayed by many reviews from guests from all over the world over the years but we know that we can always strive to be better. We thank you very much for your review and hope you would give us another opportunity to WOW you and your family. Sincerely, Spencers Happy River Ranch.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, AB
5

Better than advertised!

  • 5 of 5

Spencer's Happy River Ranch totally exceeded our expectations. The cabin was spotlessly clean, very spacious, and extremely well appointed. All bases were covered!!! The Paulson's attention to detail was incredible, right down to the welcoming treat, and their generosity in the use of the bikes, kayaks, tubes etc. The cabin itself is very comfortable, and there is lots of lovely natural light. The situation of the property is amazing, with beautiful tranquil views from all aspects, be it the river, the forest, wonderful bird activity at the feeders, or even just sitting on one of the many terraces enjoying life! It was fabulous being able to get to and from the river for fishing, wading, swimming, floating and generally just enjoying the water. Loved the fire pit at night, and the drinking water was absolutely delightful.

Our only downer was that we weren't staying for longer!!! Thank you so much for sharing your special place with us.

The Garretts

  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

River vacation at its best!

  • 5 of 5

This house is incredibly clean, organized comfortable and has everything you could possibly need. We are a family of four, boy is 11, daughter is 13. Great place for older kids! We were there Wed thru Sun. Could've stayed much longer! The views are amazing. There are two lower decks one shaded and one to bask in the sun and have river access. We brought our own food and made our meals. The bakery is amazing! Closest super store is about an hour away. There are local places for most staples and the bakery & deli in town are great. There were numerous options for water toys. River rafts, kayaks, canoe, life jackets, air compressor. Barn had box of kindling and tons of fire wood. Bring proper river shoes! And your own DVD collection. Wifi works great, but no cell service. We loved this house! Will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jessi & family, Thank you so much for coming to stay at Spencers Happy River Ranch for four family time. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to always welcoming you and the girls back again. Have a wonderful fall and we hope to see you again soon! Robert, Ruth & Spencer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific place, cozy home, unforgettable experience

  • 5 of 5

We spent three unforgettable days at Happy River Ranch - it is a wonderful place! Very peaceful, scenic environment, beautiful river with great fishing, comfortable home with nearly everything you may need. Kayaks is an important advantage - we had a wonderful trip downstream the river. And the bread from the Clark Fork bakery is indeed delicious - thanks to the owners for their welcome gift. Will certainly be back sometime!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and welcoming!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay by the river here. It was beautiful and serene, nurturing and cozy. The cabin has been obviously kept up with much love and care, fresh paint and scrubbed appearance everywhere. And we so appreciated the banana bread welcome! It was great to check in with Robert right before we stayed so that he could apprise us of all the river amenities we would otherwise not have known about, and although our time did not allow us to make use of them, it was nice to know. We look forward to our next stay here.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna & family, It was really a pleasure having you all and your feedback is appreciated. We really look forward to having you come back anytime. Sincerely, Robert, Ruth & Spencer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Scotchman's Peak
Silverwood Theme Park
Silver Mountain
Panhandler Pies
Idaho Panhandle Natl Forest
Kaniksu National Forest
Clark Fork
Pend d'Oreille Winery
MickDuff's Brewing Company
Laughing Dog Brewing
Kootenai River Brewing Company
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Clark Fork, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£683
for 3 nights
From
£162
From
£178
Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £112.74 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £74.41
Tax Rate 8.0%

PROPERTY IS A STRICT NO SMOKING AND NO PET PROPERTY.
PLEASE RESPECT OUR HOME AS YOU WOULD ALSO WANT YOUR HOME AND BELONGINGS RESPECTED, THANK YOU! Owners property that is lost, stolen or damaged will be charged for replacement and or repair. Any guests lost or left property can be mailed back by cleaning company at cost of packaging, postage and fuel.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals