HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Hideaway **Cozy New Home/Cabin Tucked Away in the Mountains**

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

NOTE: Due to the steepness (and sometimes bumpiness) of the gravel driveway to the house, you need a four-wheel drive (4WD) vehicle to rent this property. If you desire, you can park your car at the top of the driveway which is ~ 800 feet from the house and walk to the house.

If you are looking for a get away in the middle of the woods with the amenities of a new house, then this is the place for you. Add in a great view and hiking outside your front door, The Hideaway makes for a great stay for anybody looking to get away from the city for awhile and relax. With aerial views of the Blue Ridge Mountains up to 50 miles, you can view multiple mountain ranges and peaks from the back deck including Mount Mitchell to the north and Grandfather Mountain to the northeast. Also, only 30-45 minutes from Asheville, Black Mountain, and Hendersonville, shopping, dining, and nightlife are not far away. The town of Chimney Rock (shopping), Chimney Rock State Park (hiking), and Lake Lure (swimming/boating), are located 15-20 minutes away. For reference, The Hideaway is an approximate 30 minute drive from I-40 (via Hwy 9) and I-26 (via Hwy 64).

Situated at ~ 3,200 feet above sea level, The Hideaway was built in 2013 and is a cabin/modern home best suited for couples and small families. Making the most out of 1,050 sq ft, the cabin has 3 bedrooms (two gueen beds and 1 full bed), a living room, a full kitchen, and a dining area. The two queen bedrooms are upstairs and share a full bathroom with shower. The full bedroom is the smallest and located downstairs next to a full bathroom with shower. There is a wrap around deck that goes from the front of the house and around the side to a large deck on the back of the house. Sit on the back deck in the Adirondack chairs, go for a hike, or watch cable satellite TV, all are possible during your stay. The house is located on a 5-acre wooded lot within an undeveloped subdivision. Surrounding the property are hundreds of acres of forest and over a mile of dirt roads/trails (shared by all subdivision property owners) on which to hike and enjoy the outdoors. Birdwatchers will definitely want to bring their binoculars as you never know what you may see. A snowy owl, a rare migrant to southern forests, was observed Thanksgiving weekend 2013 off the back deck.

There is not a telephone at the house so you will need a cell phone. I know Verizon cell phones work good, but I am not sure about other carriers. Also, the house is not wired for internet (does not have WiFi) so your mobile device must be capable of a wireless signal connection to access the internet.

No pets are allowed. Please make sure you review the entire rental agreement prior to booking.

More Details

Property Manager
William Busbee
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Ken,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to add more trash cans in the house. There is the one under the kitchen sink but I will put some in the bathrooms as well. Thanks for letting me know. Hope you can return soon.



Steven
May 2014
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Black Mountain in Buncombe County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Hiking, Camping, Outdoor Fire Pit, Charcoal Grill, Full Kitchen (with all necessary cooking supplies, plates, glasses, bowls, silverware, paper towels, sugar, salt and pepper, coffee filters), Dishwasher, Refridgerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Washer & Dryer, Outdoor Deck with Adirondack Chairs, Cable TV, BluRay/DVD player, I-Pod/I-Pad Music Player, Fireplace (wood-burning), sheets, towels, and pillows.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(52 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
17% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Hideaway **Cozy New Home/Cabin Tucked Away in the Mountains**
average rating of 4.7884617 based on 54 reviews
4

Great out of the way location

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful house with great views! Just a little to out of the way and not cell service or wifi made daily planning for side trips around the area difficult. Although was nice being without as well.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful house, best view of the mountains out of many rentals we have stayed! House was clean, had everything we needed!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alex, Thanks again for choosing to stay at The Hideaway and for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you liked it. William
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Mountain Getaway

  • 4 of 5

When looking for a vacation rental for this trip, my husband wanted a place where he could look out and see for miles and take in the stars at night. This property did not disappoint. The views from the back deck are stunning! One thing we weren't quite prepared for was just how remote the property is. When the owner recommends using a 4-wheel drive to go down the driveway, take this seriously. We had some rain during our stay and did not feel our truck would make it back up the driveway so we parked at the top and hiked down to the house. The owner was very accommodating and responsive to our text messages. Loved the house overall and it was perfect for our family get together.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anne, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay. William Word of note for potential future renters: It is not a recommendation but a requirement that you have 4WD to rent the property. If you desire, and are physically able, you can however park at the top of the driveway and walk (~ 800 feet) down to the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice but some issues

  • 3 of 5

The view is absolutely amazing! Although stated in the description, lack of wi-fi and no shades on the windows were issues. I would not stay here again for the inconvenience of not being able to access internet for planning purposes. Some of the sheets did not seem clean. There was lots of hair and dirt (not ours) in one of the beds. I also feel not enough toiletries especially toilet paper was provided. On a positive note, the outside fire pit was nice although we had to gather our own wood. I personally think the owner could make this cabin extremely nice by correcting some of these issues.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kimberly, Thank you for taking the time to write. I am sorry for the issues with the sheets. I can assure you I have never had a guest comment on that before as I strive on providing a very clean house. All beds are cleaned and made prior to the arrival of new guests. Regarding toilet paper, it is my standard policy to provide a roll on the dispenser and two spares underneath the vanity in each bathroom which should be ample paper for any stay. If for some reason you were not provided that much paper, I am truly sorry for the inconvenience and will assure that never happens again. As for your other concerns/issues, you were fully aware that the house does not have wi-fi and firewood is not supplied and should have planned accordingly. William
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Very peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Peaceful and secluded. Driveway is really steep and was extra tricky due to rainfall, but the cabin and view were awesome. It would have been nice to have firewood for the firepit available for use. The cabin was clean and the views were priceless. Our family really enjoyed our time there.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy, Thanks for taking the time to write. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. William
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome view with privacy

  • 5 of 5

Take a truck or SUV not a car due to the road. Very secluded with privacy just like I wanted!!!

  • Review Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, Thanks for taking the time to write. Glad to hear the house fit the bill for you. William Note to potential future renters: You need any vehicle that is 4WD, not merely just a SUV. An SUV that is not 4WD will do you no good in getting back up the steep driveway.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Shop.

* Eat.

* Drink.

* Hike..

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* HIking.....

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Hiking.

* Campfire....

Chimney Rock State Park, Florence Nature Preserve, Upper Hickory Nut Gorge Trail System, Bat Cave, Lake Lure, Asheville, Black Mountain, Montreat (beautiful little town with great public hiking trails and playgrounds), Hendersonville

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Labor Day weekend
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£338
for 3 nights
From
£93
From
£109
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Fall I
5 Sep 2017 - 1 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£229
for 2 nights
From
£85
From
£97
Fri,Sat
£544
 
 
Fall Colors
2 Oct 2017 - 21 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£245
for 2 nights
From
£93
From
£109
Fri,Sat
£583
 
 
Thanksgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£350
for 3 nights
From
£97
From
£117
Thu,Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter Solitude
27 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£221
for 2 nights
From
£82
From
£97
Fri,Sat
£505
 
 
Christmas/New Years
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£447
for 4 nights
From
£97
From
£117
Fri,Sat,Sun
£602
 
 
Spring Renewal
2 Mar 2018 - 14 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£221
for 2 nights
From
£82
From
£101
Fri,Sat
£563
 
 
Summer I
15 May 2018 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£245
for 2 nights
From
£93
From
£105
Fri,Sat
£583
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
25 May 2018 - 28 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£338
for 3 nights
From
£93
From
£109
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Summer II
29 May 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
2 night minimum stay
£245
for 2 nights
From
£93
From
£105
Fri,Sat
£583
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£229
for 2 nights
From
£85
From
£97
Fri,Sat
£544
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £58.27
Damage Deposit £97.11

Holiday week/weekends are extra, please inquire for rate.

$125 refundable security/damage deposit is required and included in the total rental payment. You can also make your rental payments and refundable damage deposit payment through PayPal. If you prefer to use PayPal, let me know and I will email you the rental agreement to review/sign and invoices from PayPal.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable