HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lost River Overlook NEW FIREPIT

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Spectacular Mountain Top Retreat, 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4

NEW this Summer 2016! Firepit and backyard area to increase the space that you can relax and enjoy the views. Enjoy dinner on the new patio and enjoy the sunset. Enjoy the natural boulder wall at the fire pit.

Leave the stress of city life behind and escape to a gorgeous mountaintop retreat in scenic WVA. Lost River Overlook, just two hours west from DC and northern VA, sits on a ridge overlooking the beautiful Appalachian mountains, a spectacular panorama no matter the season. It's a wonderful place to get away from it all, decompress, and relax.

Although we love the nature, we also love comfort. For that reason, our place is full of modern conveniences and contemporary design. Think: Rural WVA outside, boutique hotel inside.

We've newly renovated the kitchen. Along with a newer model stainless steel electric stove and a large refrigerator, we've added new granite counters, a sink, a dishwasher, a microwave, a toaster oven, and a garbage disposal. We have all the dishes, cookware, and kitchen implements you need to cook with ease.

The living room as a large flat screen high-def TV with cable and a DVD player. Also, we offer free wifi. Both cable and wifi operate through high-speed fiber optics—so yes, in rural WV, we have faster internet than in DC! Also, in the living room, we have a wood-burning fireplace for cozy fall and winter nights.

We have a bedroom and a spacious loft, both with new queen mattresses, linens, and decor. The loft also has a writing desk overlooking the mountains.

The bathroom has been beautifully updated within the past few years. The shower has a soothing rainfall shower, marble-topped vanity, and the fixtures by Kohler.

On the deck, there's plenty of space and outdoor furniture to lounge, as well as a gas grill for cookouts.

We take pride in the design and feel of the property. So we've personalized it with original artwork and design features. Almost all of the furniture is new—much of it from West Elm, Room and Board, Blue Dot, etc.

We have five beautiful acres to walk through, including a trail that wanders down the slope. The cabin is in an homeowners association, so the property and roads surrounding it are well maintained.

The mountains of WV offer many outdoor activities, including hiking, fishing, skiing, and rafting. Lost River, as well as other local communities, have shopping and dining. The Guest House Lost River, a resort just two miles away, has a delicious restaurant and fun and lively bar. Lost River Brewery, in Wardensville, as tasty food as well as wonderful local beer. Lost River Trading Post, also in Wardensville, has great coffee, baked goods, and great shopping—a new, modern twist on the general store. There's so much to do ... You can even get an in-house massage or visit the local Yoga studio!

We hope you'll stay at our place and love Lost River as much as we do!

(If you're curious about what we're like as owners, please check-out our five star reviews on our rental property in DC: VRBO listing #570556.)

-John and Jeff

More Details

Owner
John and Jeff
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
16 May, 2017

About John and Jeff

John is an English Teacher and Department Chair at a private school in Northern Virginia, and he’s also a fiction writer. Jeff is an artist, specializing in ceramic sculpture. We love to read, watch film, and wander art museums and galleries.

John and Jeff purchased this cabin in 2015

Why John and Jeff chose Lost River

We first came to Lost River Cabin (this property) in early November 2012 during a very hectic fall in the city. I remember the night because, as we stepped out of the car, I looked up and the sky was so clear we could see the Milky Way. Immediately our stress evaporated. I knew this place was special, and we needed more of it in our lives. So we kept coming back. It was what made us want our own place. As fate would have it, we were lucky enough to purchase this house in May 2015. We immediately set about to make it ours and satisfy the “what if this were our place” game we played when we were renting it … and we’ve had so much fun doing it!

If this is your first time to Lost River Overlook (what we have decided to call it), or if you’re a returning visitor, we hope you love the changes we made and, of course, love what has always been so wonderful about the place. We’ll continue to make improvements in the future, so please come back!

—John and Jeff

What makes this cabin unique

We really believe that design and beautiful art help enhance that rental experience, so Lost River Overlook has elements of both, which make it stand out, we think.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Lost River in Lost River

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Loft
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • caving
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

Lost River Overlook NEW FIREPIT
average rating of 4.6875 based on 32 reviews
5

Relaxing and overall amazing property!

  • 5 of 5

Jeff and John provided us with an excellent home to vacation at for our birthday getaway! It was beyond perfect, they have thought of everything you could possibly need to enjoy your stay at their cabin. The star gazing is absolutely breath taking. I highly recommend hiking the white oak trail at lost river state park, the view from the top is incredible!

  • Review Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Breathtaking mountain views in a luxurious yet comfy home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I live in Florida and were in need of a much overdue R & R. We wanted to be in the mountains with comfort and privacy. We only stayed two nights and got it all. We got mountain view; got to hike the trail to Cranny Crook; got to enjoy home cooked meals and fancy dinners in town (Lost River Brewery); got to do yoga on the deck & enjoy our cup coffee with fresh pure air; got to swing in the hammock and look up to the sky to see different shape of clouds while the birds serenated us; & got to see a family of deer and bunnies (so cute!!). We truly enjoyed every moment and corner of this amazing house. We would love to take a whole week and go back. Thank you Jeff and John for sharing your paradise.

  • Review Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
4

Another lovely stay

  • 4 of 5

We had another lovely stay at the Lost River Overlook. The new firepit area is quite nice. There was a minor mixup with some supplies when we first arrived, but they handled it reasonably quickly and all was resolved. We really enjoy staying here, and have already booked our next visit.

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great property, BAD customer service.

  • 1 of 5

This property is great and as described; it's a shame the experience I had with the owners. I paid in full a month prior to my stay. Upon arrival to the property, the code the owner had given me was wrong and I couldn't get in. I had to waste gas sitting in my car with my dog for over an hour because it was cold outside and I couldn't reach the property owner nor manager. Finally, I got ahold of the manager, who gave me the correct lockbox code. The owner, when he replied, was sympathetic and offered $50 compensation. To date, FOUR months later, I have yet to receive the compensation. I've been extremely patient, given that this occurred in December. I did have to cancel my credit card a month after my stay so the reimbursement couldn't be done that way. The owner said he didn't know how else to refund the money & he'd contact customer service. After waiting another MONTH & not hearing back, I contacted customer service myself to find out the owner could have mailed a check. I relayed that to the owner who asked to pay by paypal instead. VRBO wouldn't allow me to send my paypal account so the owner said he'd mail the $50. That was 3/31/17 and still I've received nothing. No response from the owner either. My point is, don't offer compensation for problems incurred if you've no intention of giving it. If the owner had provided the compensation promptly (I had no trouble receiving my security deposit), it could have easily been refunded to my original credit card. ALSO, the property is advertised as having cable, which was one of my filters when I was searching; however, the cable was NOT working during my stay and neither the owner or property manager could fix the issue. If you're going to advertise that cable is an amenity you offer, this is something that should be verified by the owner or manager prior to each person's stay. Like I said, the property was great, especially if you bring a pet. BUT, after all this time, I'm left believing that the property owner will not be sending the compensation he promised. To me, that is deceitful. I've waited this long to submit my review because I was hoping this issue would be resolved and I could give a (slightly) better rating.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry for the confusion, the payment was sent to you. It was rather difficult to refund payment when you cancel a credit card - the system makes it difficult.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Peaceful, sun drenched paradise with a sting

  • 1 of 5

We enjoyed our winter stay at the Lost River Overlook but our holiday came with a nasty sting. The house is lovely but unfortunately the owners accused us of leaving the home in a mess. We didn't. It was spotless. While we were there it was sunny and warm and the surrounding pine trees gave off clouds of pollen which entered the home through open doors and windows. The owners were very unpleasant in subsequent emails and refused to apologise when they realised what had happened. First they blamed the fire place and then when I told them about the pollen they wanted to know why the doors and windows were open. I'd be careful of this one.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That's not entirely accurate, and I'm sorry you felt that way, but if pollen was coming in all the doors and windows, we recommend closing them.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely the best Lost River Cabin

  • 5 of 5

This is my second time staying at the Lost River Overlook. The cabin is amazing! Very well decorated with breathtaking views. My wife and I had an amazing time. Do yourself a favor and book now you'll thank me later.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Winchester Regional Airport (Okv)
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Guest House Lost River
Nearest Motorway
45 Miles
I-81
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Guest House Lost River
Nearest Ski
22 Miles
Bryce Resort
Car: necessary

Guest House at Lost River

Lost River Brewing Company

304-874-4455

Lost River Grill

Lost River Trading Post & Grasshopper Gallery

295 E Main Street

Wardnesville, WV 26851

304.874.3300

Massage

Ahh….Most Heaven Massage (In-home massages at Lost River Overlook)

304-897-7717

Yoga

Lost River Yoga

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Lost River, West Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£388
for 2 nights
From
£165
From
£174
Fri,Sat
£1,102
£2,667
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £19.33
Refundable Damage Deposit £77.3
Cleaning fee £57.98
Tax Rate 12.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals