HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Top-of-Mountain Cabin with Views and Cozy Stone Fireplace

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Lost River - LostRiver77 Mountain Cabin

3 Bedroom Cabin/sleeps 6 With Mountain Views And Modern Accommodations

Go to www.LostRiver77.com for more info. Whether you need a getaway from the stress of the city, or looking for some of the most acclaimed outdoor activities and scenery in the Mid-Atlantic, LostRiver77 has it all. Situated at the top of the ridge overlooking the George Washington National Forest and the Appalachian Mountains, LostRiver77 will allow you to relax and enjoy the best of West Virginia.

The nearly 2,000 square foot home is part of a homeowners association to take care of the roads and general properties, and has all of the charm of a mountain cabin but with the comforts of a modern home. It sits on five acres, which are great to explore right out the back door. The overall design is mid-century modern, and we are constantly renovating and making changes to the design elements of the home. The three spacious bedrooms sleeps up to six people comfortably with new beds, including a king, queen, and two singles (which can be converted to a king bed).

The living room has a new flat screen LCD TV with plenty of channels through DISH Network, and a DVD/BluRay player. We have an assortment of movies to watch, or you can bring your own; perfect for a quiet movie night on the couch. We also have free wi-fi available that is amazingly fast via fiber optic lines.

The stone wood-burning fireplace nearly takes up one side of the living room wall and is the focal point of the space.

The kitchen has all of the conveniences you will need to entertain for a house full of friends or just cook for two. There is a refrigerator, stove and oven, a microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, and plenty of space. It comes stocked with cookware and dishes, glasses (including wine and champagne flutes --- of course), silverware, modern coffee maker, and other kitchen essentials (fresh herbs are planted right outside the door). There is also a four-seat breakfast table next to the kitchen to enjoy your coffee while you start your day.

The sun porch boasts the best overlook views of the mountains and forest. There is a large couch and seating area to relax, enjoy the breezes and sounds of nature, and get lost in a good book or conversation. The porch also has a dining room table that can be expanded to fit up to eight people. Perfect for a nice evening dinner with friends with amazing scenic views.

The deck extends the entire side of the house and has views of both sides of the ridge. There is a brand new six-burner gas grill, some adirondack chairs, and a new patio table and seating for up to eight people. In the yard next to the deck, there is a large open fire pit to enjoy, as well. Plenty of space to get a game of cornhole (also available) started while hanging out on the deck.

Lost River has quite a bit of activities to enjoy if you are the adventurous type. There are numerous hiking trails, rafting/canoeing, horseback riding, skiing and fishing. If you want to enjoy a nice dinner out or grab a drink and socialize among the other residents, there are several choices including the Guest House Inn at Lost River (restaurant and bar -- and a pool), a brewpub in the nearby town, and several other places to grab a bite or drink close by.

All said, we love Lost River for so many reasons. We know that you will love it just as much as we do.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Greg Roberts and Daniel Brewer
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
8 December, 2016

About Greg Roberts and Daniel Brewer

Daniel is a real estate agent, covering the DC-metro area. Greg works in the Business Development and Marketing industry. Both of us love collecting wine, traveling, and we are definitely foodies. A good time to us is enjoying a great bottle of wine and playing with our two adorable dogs, Chico and Aztec.

Greg Roberts and Daniel Brewer purchased this house in 2015

Why Greg Roberts and Daniel Brewer chose Lost River

We have heard so much about Lost River from our friends, who were spending a lot of time here. So we decided to come up and see what it was all about. We saw this property and fell in love immediately. The views took our breath away and the style of this home was unique for the area. After the first night we stayed in this house, we woke up to views of fog rolling over the mountains. We stood there, drinking our coffee and looking at this view, and knew that we made the right decision for a getaway from our busy lives.

Although it is nearly perfect as it is, we constantly like to change and update our designs so you will see things change from time to time. We have so many great plans to add even more views from nearly every room of the house, increase the deck square footage, add more artwork (we love to collect art as well), and so much more. We hope that you will go on this journey with us and return as often as you can!

What makes this house unique

The architecture of this home is unique for this area, and our mid-century modern decor blends well with it.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

Top-of-Mountain Cabin with Views and Cozy Stone Fireplace
average rating of 4.92 based on 25 reviews
5

perfect mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved it - thank you guys so much!!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

We had a great time

  • 3 of 5

The area where the house is located is wonderful and amazing. However, the house needs some renovation done. The fridge and freezer was full of old left over stuff from previous people - strange and irritating. The coffee machine was not cleaned for a while so we did not use it - we like our morning coffee :-( Also we were hoping to have a nice steak on the outside gas grill but much to our disappointment that was out of operation also. All in all we had a good time due to the amazing views and sounds of nature. But please take some of the rent to get it reinvested into the house and maybe have a talk to your cleaning person.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate constructive feedback about our cabin. There is, in fact, a brand new grill now. Often times, renters misuse or forget to properly clean things in the house, resulting in damage (as in this case, the grill). We replaced the gas grill already so it is good to go! We also have readdressed the cleaning process with our property manager to ensure that everything is addressed (although, since this is also our home, we leave items in the freezer and fridge for our own use when we are there - this is typical when renting someone's house).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

It was a girl's weekend, we were there for a wedding of a dear friend at the Guesthouse close by.

Greg and Daniel thought of everything needed, it was a home away from home. The property was just as advertised, actually the pictures didn't do it justice, the home was lovely - perfect amount of rustic and modern and comfort. And the views were simply gorgeous!

I'll have to bring the hubby next time for a romantic weekend.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quality Family Time

  • 5 of 5

Rented the home for a party of 5. Spacious house providing all comfort required to spend a relaxed quality time with my family. Super responsive and helpful owners. Great area with plenty of options to do outdoor activities. Well deserves top review and 5 stars.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful views!!

  • 5 of 5

Very spacious house with beautiful views. Great beds, dinning space, grill and AC (you'll need it in the summer). Would definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A beautiful cabin: clean, uncluttered & well equipped. Nicely decorated. Great view!

  • 5 of 5

You will love this place!! The owners really care about making your stay enjoyable. From answering a multitude of questions to making recommendations for activities to suit a 5 year old, they were very kind and patient. You can tell they are lovingly renovating and adding creature comforts like the TV, wifi, and dish network made it a better experience for my whole family. The beds are really comfortable -- in fact, I'm ordering the same MBR mattress for my guest room! The porch was my favorite room - truly a room with a view. We used their fire pit - a generous supply of wood is supplied. The grill was a nice bonus for those of us not trained in campfire cooking. The area is fun to explore -- we enjoyed fishing at Trout Pond, drove to Skyline Caverns, explored Wardensville, and spent the day at Lost River State Park with our kids. Enjoy your stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
109 Miles
Dulles Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
The Guest House at Lost River
Nearest Golf
33 Miles
Moorefield Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
Interstate 81
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Guesthouse at Lost River
Nearest Ski
33 Miles
Bryce Resort
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Trout Pond
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Lost River, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter Rates
30 Nov 2016 - 1 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£423
for 2 nights
From
£156
£1,091
£3,852
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£476
for 2 nights
From
£183
£1,180
£3,941
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £159
Cleaning Fee £99 + Tax
Pet Fee £20 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. An additional security deposit will be required if pets are approved.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Lost River in West Virginia

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
  • The bathrooms are both located on the main floor. The hallway bathroom is a half bath with a sink and toilet. The second bathroom is located between the two main level bedrooms, and has a sink, toilet, and slate shower. Shampoo/conditioner and body wash are provided. Fresh towels are located in the linen closet next to the bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Beds can be pushed together with king conversion kit
  • Two bedrooms are on the main floor of the house. The first bedroom has a new king size bed and the second bedroom has a new queen bed. The third bedroom is upstairs, and has two twin beds that can be pushed together to make a king size bed with our included conversion kit (really easy to do). This bedroom also has a seating area, and a balcony that overlooks the front of the house. Each bedroom has plenty of closet space, side tables, and windows, and all beds come with new linens and pillows.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot