HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Green Lake Cottage

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 5 Sleeps

This fully furnished 2 Bed/ 1 bath cottage with 90' of private frontage on 2,063 acre all sports Green Lake has gone through a major renovation in 2012. The remodeling included all new roof, siding, windows, knotty pine walls, ceilings, flooring, landscaping and more... The cottage sits on the South end of Green Lake near the mouth of the Betsie River and 5 minutes to the Interlochen Arts Academy and 15-20 to Traverse City.

The cottage offers a 14' starcraft fishing/row boat and a paddle boat for your private use. Or if you like you can bring your own boat and tie up to the dock. You can also enjoy yourself by lounging on the new brick paver patio with built in fire pit or by spreading the sand beneath your toes on the small beach area. If working is your thing the Wi-Fi reaches the end of the dock.

The Decor has the full "up north" feel to it. Log beds, end tables, leather furniture, knotty pine throughout ect. (NEW LEATHER COUCHES, MATTRESSES & KUERIG COFFEE MAKER SPRING 2015).

The area has so much to offer with top ten ratings for travelers, food enthusiasts, winery lovers and beach goers. Enjoy a book in the hammock with the morning sun and a round of golf at one of the many highly recognized golf courses in the afternoon.

The cottage is privately owned and is not set-up for more than 5 people total (including children of any age), there is a $100 per person/per week fee for any people over the 5/person limit and must be approved by the owner. This is taken very seriously as we base the price of the rental on a total of 5 people (including children). Thanks for your respect on this issue.

More Details

Owner
Joel Stalo
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
14 August, 2017

Location

Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Interlochen Concerts.

* Ice cream.

* put put golf.

* eat out.

* hunt/fish.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Sleeping bear sand dunes.

* movies.

* drive along m-22.

* Traverse City wine tours..

Top Thing to do in Family:.....

The activites in the area are numerous. We are ideally located 5

minutes from the Interlochen Academy for the Arts and state park, 15

minutes from the Mall (just in case it rains!),2 movie complexes,

and 20-25 minutes from downtown Traverse City, near Sleeping Bear

Dunes, Platte river, Lake Michigan, many (27) golf courses, dozens

of restaurants, Crystal Mountain skiing, snowmobile trails, and the

wine country. The list could go on and on... If you don't want to

venture out, The lake's temperature is one of the warmer ones in the

area. Skiing, boating, wake boarding, etc are allowed (and encouraged) on this all

sports lake. Relax, you're on vacation! Visit us on Facebook for more info and pics at green lake cottages llc.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Interlochen in Benzie County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Pillow top mattress on the bottom bunk (double)
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Pillow top matress
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Notes:
The cottage has 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. There is one bedroom with a queen bed and one bedroom with a twin over full bunkbed we also have a full blowup bed (sheets included). The fully equipped kitchen has a microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishes, pots and pans silverware etc... Please bring your own beach towels and any extra blankets you desire. Bath towels are not allowed outside. The cottage has cable TV, DVD, Wi-fi and many board games for family fun. There is thirty (30') feet of green grass that seperates the lake from the house. In between is a flagstone walkway and a new brick paver patio with firepit great for nighttime fires. There is also a hammock for that afternoon nap. Charcoal grill & Gas Grill There is a dock with a platform, 14' starcraft row boat and a new paddlboat. Several adirondack chairs are also available for outside seating. Our cottage WILL have sand toys, swim toys, a variety of lifejackets for children through adults. No Pets please! Sorry, no pets and smoking is allowed outside only. Cottage is not handicap accessible.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
The Green Lake Cottage
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
Bloomfield Hills, MI
1

FRUIT FLIES EVERYWHERE MADE FOR A MISERABLE WEEK!! Would not consider a return visit.

  • 1 of 5

As advertised the cottage is small. It's the size of a double wide trailer, which makes sense as it's surrounded by neighbors all in trailers. The house is close quarters and not very well ventilated. There was no air conditioner and the temperature in the house rose to the 80's making for very uncomfortable sleeping conditions considering there are no ceiling fans. The fruit flies emerged from the sinks in both the bathroom and kitchen from the moment we turned on the faucet. With no ventilation the bathroom stayed quite humid and sticky creating a breeding ground for the fruit flies. We made some traps to catch them but it was disgusting. The kitchen was swarming with fruit flies every time you walked in. All the dishes in the house are old, plastic plates that are all scratched up, with no dishwasher I wasn't confident they were very clean so we purchased paper plates and plastic cups. The water is well water and tastes horrible. We weren't warned about that and had to go purchase many jugs of spring water. The bed was not comfortable for us, my husband was so miserable he decided to sleep on the bottom bunk which is full sized. The lake had a warm temperature but the bottom is very murky and your feet sink right in. The water surrounding the dock is filled with lily pads, so unless you rent a boat to leave the cottage, don't expect to go swimming. Also, beware as we saw signs warning about swimmers itch in the lake! The fire pit is a nice set up but the mosquitoes at night are very bad there and we were getting eaten up. The surrounding neighbors are very close in proximity and were quite loud, there's a big dog that made me uncomfortable with our young children. Overall we did not enjoy our time at Green Lake and will not return.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well I am very sorry that you didnt have a good time. First negative review in 5 years. Allow me to address your concerns as I take all of our reviews very serious. I am certain this review is stemming from my concern I addressed to you for the condition in which you left our cottage. In 5 years I've never seen our cottage left in this condition. When we first spoke you said you had a great time, your tune changed dramatically when I questioned why you left our cottage in the condition you did. Dishes with food stuck on them piled high in the sink. Food left all over the counters and floors. Food ground into the living room rug and in between the cushions on the leather sofa's. A whole set of towels and bath linens that needed to be thrown away, not to mention the sheets that were soiled with urine that also got tossed. Clearly your children didnt go to bed in pull ups and were free to roam around with their food. To clarify, there is an AC unit. A very expensive unit that is on wheels and only takes a few seconds to plug in and turn on. Sorry you decided not to use it. To clarify, the cottage has a full kitchen of dishes and supplies to cook anything you want. Do we have some plastic plates that are geared to be used outside for grilling and picnicking? absolutely!! I'm sorry that you felt using plastic plates was beneath you. Perhaps you should have used the nicer "inside" set of plates you failed to mention. Yes, the water is well water. Well water will sometimes have a different taste than city water. But it's certainly not horrible! With regards to the beds. The master bed mattress was bought brand new 9 months ago and the other two mattresses are less than 2 years old. Sorry it didnt suit what you are used to. With regards to the surrounding neighbors of which there is only one. I spoke with him and he said he wasnt even up that week not too mention he is a family guy with 2 kids so I dont buy the "quite loud" comment and he doesnt even have a dog. In regards to the swimmers itch, every lake in Northern Michigan has a sign for "possible" swimmers itch so that's nothing new. However, even though you didn't get it I appreciate you informing everyone that it's possible. Welcome to the great North, mosquitoes are present, that's why we have the woods sprayed and supply OFF as a nice gesture. The guests before and after you said it wasnt an issue. Clearly you're looking to bad mouth us because we questioned your disrespect towards our cottage, shameful!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great get away

  • 5 of 5

thank you Joel for letting my family enjoy your wonderful cottage. It is a very nice spot on green lake. Lots of fun fishing and boating and getting away from it all. Look forward to our stay next year.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful!! Cabin is perfect on a perfect lake!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is very cozy and relaxing. We loved being on the lake. Our kids fished and used the paddle boat daily. We also explored Sleeping Bear Dunes and hiked a few trails. Traverse City was also a fun day trip, lots to do and great food! Overall it has been a fantastic vacation and we plan to return!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Really nice cabin with great view of the lake. Super clean. We will definitely come back.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Waterford, Michigan
5

Great cabin

  • 5 of 5

Clean and nice.

  • Review Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

Peaceful and quiet. Traverse city isn't too far away or if you are just looking to relax, the view from the campfire is is the place to be

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Interlochen, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Yearly
1 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
£474
for 2 nights
From
£190
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£474
for 2 nights
From
£190
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £94.78
Refundable Damage Deposit £151.64

Jan-May 24th $1,000/wk
May 24th - June 28th $1,250/wk
June 28th - July 5th $2,500/wk
July 5th - August 2nd $1,500/wk
August 2nd - September 6th $1,250/wk
September 6th - December 27th $1,000/wk
June, July & August are weekly rentals ONLY
Daily $250/night 2 night minumum (off season only)
$200 refundable deposit
$125 non refundable cleaning fee
50% to book, 50% due 30 days prior to your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals