HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake Front Paradise Near BethelWoods/Original Woodstock Site

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue


About the property

Chalet, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, 6 Sleeps

The Setting:

This 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom 2,000 sq ft European style lake Chalet is situated on a one acre lot with 250 ft of Swan Lake water front in the Catskills. It is the perfect retreat to take you and your loved ones away from it all, and it is just minutes from all the action, including skiing in Holiday Mountain (15 miles), Big Bear PA (33 miles), Hunter Mountain (60 miles), or Windham (65 miles); gambling or dinning in the Monticello Casino and Raceway (9 mi); enjoying a concert by your favorite performing artist at the Bethel Woods Center for the Arts (8 mi); playing a round of golf at one of the 5 nearby golf courses (3 to 5 mi), catching a trophy trout at the World renowned Beaverkill or Willowemoc Creeks (15 mi), shooting some hoops or playing tennis at Walnut Mountain park and other nearby community and state parks ( about 1 mi) or taking a canoe or paddle boat tour of the beautiful 360 Acres Swan Lake from your front lawn (0 mi) !

Note: This is a Non-Smoking Property !!

The Location:

Leave the hustle and bustle behind when you escape to this ultimate lake retreat. Approximately 2 hrs from NYC, this unique hideaway is worlds away from the everyday. Located in Swan Lake, NY, five miles from the Sullivan County Airport and four miles from shops, restaurants and cafes of Liberty.

More Details

Louis Onetto
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
26 May, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Swan Lake in Bethel

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Lower level
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , 2nd Floor Master
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , 2nd Floor Guest
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Lower level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2nd Floor Master with full bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2nd Floor Guest bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , 2nd Floor Guest Room Queen size futon
    Sleeping Area 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , Lower Level Living Room - Queen Size Sofa Bed Spleeps 2
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Water Sports Gear
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Broadband wireless internet access 5 TVs Cable TV, PPV and Netflix optional Blue Ray/DVD player Xbox Knect w/Video Games Pool Table Ping Pong Table Stereo w/ ipod hook-up Washer/dryer Fully-stocked kitchen, including a microwave, coffee maker, coffee grinder, blender Barbeque Grill Woodburning stove Outdoor firepit Sheets included Tennis Raquets Golf Clubs Baseball gear Basketball Volleyball Badmington set Bocci ball set


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

Lake Front Paradise Near BethelWoods/Original Woodstock Site
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews
Retie, Belgium

A 5 star house for families !

  • 5 of 5

After spending a couple of days in New York city with the family we spent a week in this fantastic house. After a warm welcome and a guided tour from the owners we felt "at home" immediately. All luxury that was announced on the vacationrental website was there and the house was super clean. The spectacular view over Swan Lake early in the morning is unforgetable. The boats, the grill, the games in the game room, ... everything is there and makes it so easy to enjoy a holiday upstate. Certainly a place to visit again!!

Peter (Belgium)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Very nice property, very clean

  • 5 of 5

Great time at this house despite very bad weather. Great for outdoor time, visiting farms close by. Would have loved to get a bit more flexibility on departure time as we had to leave at 11:30 on Sunday. As we arrived late on Friday night this was a short week end.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The property is in a beautiful location. Right on the lake. It was very peaceful staying there. We didn't have to go anywhere since we just enjoyed relaxing at the house. We took advantage of the canoe and rowboat that was on site. The owners, husband and wife, were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. They keep the house in immaculate. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice private and calm

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and gated. Loved the boat rides on the lake, fire pit, bbq grill!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Owner will not honor verbal commitments, very unprofessional

  • 1 of 5

When I spoke to the owner on two days after we checked out he had mentioned a list of accusations (cigarette smoking on the premises, a few beers/condiments left in the fridge, and 6 wine glasses missing) and told me that he would determine the amount, if any, that he was planning on keeping from the security deposit. We spoke again on the phone 12 days after checking out where the owner informed me that he's determined the total cost of removing cigarette smell from the curtains, removing the trash/refuse that was left behind, and buying six new wine glasses to be ~$225. The owner proceeded to tell me that he decided he would be returning the full security deposit to me since I "seemed like a nice guy" and warned me that I should be careful when renting properties in the future. We then proceeded to discuss how the payment would be returned: he offered to send the payment via check and I asked if he could send it via Chase QuickPay since that is the way that we had paid him. The owner proceeded to agreed to return the full security deposit via Chase QuickPay during this Saturday conversation and we said our goodbyes and hung-up. I hadn't received the payment by the following Monday (14 days after checkout) so I sent the owner a quick email to check if it had been sent yet (since QuickPay is instant). He responded to my email on the 8th to confirm once more that he would return the deposit via QuickPay to my account. I replied to his email that day and confirmed once again that this was the correct account. I still hadn't received the payment the following day either so I sent an email around 9am that morning to check if it had been sent yet. I did not receive any reply. I still hadn't received the payment the following day either, so I sent the owner an email around 9am that morning to check if it had been sent yet. He then called me and proceeded to yell at me like an angry parent talking to their child (completely unprofessional and disrespectful). I calmly waited for Louis to finish speaking and then began to speak at which point he rudely interrupted me and repeated the same lecture from before; process happened 3 or 4 times before I realized that the owner was not interested in anything I had to say.

My entire security deposit (equal to 67% of the entire cost of the rental) has not been returned. The issues with this owner have not been resolved and are not limited to what is outlined here, though I am out of room. FUTURE RENTERS BEWARE!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I respectfully disagree with Kevin’s assertions. The title and the first sentence of his review are already a revelation of the true story: he and his group did not comply with the terms of the written rental agreement he signed. Like all good HomeAway property owners we post and stand behind all the information required by travelers in the rental site and we also provide a written contract for the rental of this property instead of making “verbal” commitments. The contract is always presented for review prior to confirming any reservation. Kevin reviewed our contract for at least five days before signing it, indicating that he agreed with all the terms and conditions. As indicated in the signed contract, “The Damage Security Deposit” is refundable provided that: No smoking has occurred in the property; Trash has been removed from the property; and No contents of the property have been removed”. He (as the signatory of the contract) was responsible to see that none of these things happened during his stay, but they did happen: cigarette buds, ashes, smoke smell, empty cigarette boxes and wrappers everywhere, two full 55 gallons garbage bags full of decomposing food and other trash were left at the house and multiple pieces of glassware were missing. Kevin's disregard for our property resulted in his forfeiture of the Damage Security deposit per the signed contract. I am glad that he and his friends “had a great time” and felt that “the house was immaculate” as he told me in one of his communications, however, his carelessness was very costly to me and I hope the same does not happen to other property owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
New York

Great lakehouse getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time at the lake house! Very well kept and maintained. Enjoyed the fire pit, grill, pool table, and overall a relaxed weekend in the Catskills. Also like the fact the bedrooms were all queen size beds so worked out well for our group of friends. Will definitely recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Sullivan County International
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Mr. G Sports Bar, Ferndale NY
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Swan Lake Golf Course and Sullivan County Golf
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Monticello Motor Club Raceway
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Picolo Paese, Italian
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Holiday Mountain and Villa Roma
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Bethel Woods (Original Woodstock Site) Concerts.

* Fly Fishing in World renowned Beaverkill and Willowemoc Creeks.

* Golf in 5 nearby country clubs and courses.

* Gamble or Dine at Monticello Raceway and Casino.

* Ski/Snow Tube on nearby Holiday Mountain.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Kayak, canoe or swim on Swan Lake from your front lawn.

* Hike the nearby Castkill forest lands and mountains.

* Bird watching at its best. See our native family of Bald Eagles.

* Antiques shopping.

* Have fun with your kids at The Castle in neaby Chester, NY.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Bethel Woods Concerts Calendar Below:.

* bethelwoodscenter . org/bwevents/events.aspx....

Enjoy the beautiful scenery and serene setting on the lake !

Kayak, canoe or fish on beautiful Swan Lake from your front lawn !

World-famous trout fishing on nearby Beaverkill and Willowemoc Creeks

Play Tennis, Baseball, Basketball or Frizbee Golf in nearby Walnut Mountain Park, a short hike away from the house


Skiing, snow boarding or snow tubbing at nearby Holiday Mountain or some of the best Ski resorts in NY and PA (Hunter, Windham, Big Bear PA, etc) located less than 1 hour away

Farms Tours

Apple and Pumpkin Picking

Horseback riding

Fall foliage change

Cross-country skiing

Snow mobiling



Water Skiing, Swimming or Jet Skiing at nearby White Lake

Swimming at Town of Bethel Community pool

Swimming at Lake Superior State Park

Biking (w/ a place to rent bikes in town)

Golfing on any of the 5 nearby golf courses

Charming shops, including many antique shops

Local restaurants

Farmer's Markets

Annual Trout Parade

Annual Ice Festival at Swan Lake (Ice Skating and Ice Fishing)

Bethel Woods Center for the Arts + Museum (home of the original Woodstock concert site) Summer Concerts

Catskill Fly Fishing Center & Museum

Shandelee Music Festival (every August)

Catskill Arts Society

Forestburgh Playhouse

New Age Health Spa

Monticello Casino and Raceway

Breweries tours

Visit local distilleries


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Swan Lake, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
24 May 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
2 Jun 2017 - 19 Jun 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Independence Day Week
23 Jun 2017 - 10 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £41 per night, per additional guest
Labor Day Week
25 Aug 2017 - 11 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £41 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £41 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £579.77
Cleaning Fee £115.95
Tax Rate 5.0%

Holiday Rates - Please call or email owner for detals.
Non-Smoking Property.
No Pets Allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Special Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals