Evolve Vacation Rental
- English, French, German, Spanish
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Spring break 2019
Great place to stay. Cozy and Comfortable.
The kids loved having a yard to play in after playing on the slopes.
Love that the shuttles pick you up and your house
The surroundings are beautiful the property is rundown
What a disappointment this house was. We had planned a short romantic vacation and were excited to visit the area but when we walked into the house we were hit with the musty smells from the bathrooms (which was probably why the fans were kept on). Then looking around we saw a thumb size cockroach climbing up the drapes in the living room. I immediately tried to contact the owner and Evolve Management to ask for an early checkout since we knew we didn’t want to stay. The owner responded by asking me to call yet another person who was in charge of maintenance when we only wanted to check out. The management company finally responded to our numerous requests the night before we were scheduled to leave. We tried to enjoy the beauty of the area anyway, and it is breathtaking. I have stayed at the lodge in Northstar which ends up being cheaper than this house because of numerous hidden fees which doubled the listed price. I have photos of the property which include broken doors and dirty and smelly bathrooms. I will try to upload them.
Debra, we're sorry your stay wasn't what you expected. We appreciate and welcome constructive feedback, however, we and the homeowner do not believe this review is justified because your charges could not be substantiated. Per your Evolve welcome letter and the instructions the homeowner sent you, a local contact is available to assist with guest needs 24/7. Furthermore, that letter from the owner states, should anything be out of order when you arrive, to call the local contact immediately. However, you chose not to contact that local individual, but rather to email the owner who was traveling. We direct guests to reach out to the local contact instead of the owner because, as in this case, the owner is not always available to assist guest needs while the local contact is - that is their purpose. As you were told by the owner when she responded to your late night email, working with the local contact is the most effective way of reaching a resolution. At the owner’s instigation, the local contact proactively reached out to you early that first morning and again the next day. He tried twice to assist you and confirm your allegations, but you refused him entrance to the property both times while at the same time not offering us any proof. After your departure, the homeowner and the Evolve Partner in Truckee both toured the house. The owner made a special trip to do so. Evolve and the homeowner take all criticisms very seriously, especially yours because of the seriousness of the allegations. Evolve and the homeowner both prioritize the guest experience: our aim is for all guests to have a wonderful time when staying in this property. We at Evolve also attempted to work with you to come to a resolution. However, since you were unwilling to allow anyone into the property to substantiate your claims, nor offer any other proof, added to the fact we have never ever had reports similar to your complaints in regards to these issues, we deemed that you were not due a refund. Additionally, in regards to the shower, it was re-tiled and sealed earlier this year. Traps were also set by the owner for insects after your departure to make abundantly sure that there was no infestation. Nothing was caught in the traps. These homeowners go out of their way to accommodate their guests, and we are confident future guests will have a pleasant experience here! Best, the Evolve Team
Only 2 minor complaints. No pepper (stated as supplied) in the kitchen and no tissues anywhere in the house. Other than that the House was great for our needs.
Nice property, great location, bedrooms are loud, lots of cleanup responsibilities asked of guests.
We enjoyed our time at the property, but the bedroom setup is tough for families. You can hear everything happening in the centralized living room.
We also were surprised by how much of the cleanup responsibilities was put on the guests and a laundry list of fees that would be incurred if we didn't do some element of cleanup. Given the price and paying a cleaning fee, we would have expected more of this to be handled by the cleaner/owner.
We want our guests to enjoy their stay at our house. We do take seriously the reviews, and will make changes as necessary. The house was designed by a well respected Tahoe architect, and is an open-concept around a central great room. We have changed from carpet to plank bamboo floors. The floors may be contributing to the loudness. We will add more area rugs to absorb and dampen the sound. We do ask guests to do minimal tasks in order for the cleaning fee to remain reasonable. All of the cleaning instructions are sent to guests around the time of booking. If anyone is opposed to doing what is requested, they only have to let us know, and we will cancel the booking and return the money. Or we can arrange to have more cleaning done for that guest at a higher fee. We are only charging $160 for a four bedroom, two bath house and the crew does the vast majority of the cleaning. This is a pass-through cost, and that amount provides a living wage in a expensive area to individuals who have cleaned for us for many years. The fee is typical for homes similar to ours in the Northstar area. We know this because our cleaning service works almost exclusively in Northstar, and we follow their guidelines. The guest is asked to strip the beds, start one load of wash, and place it in the drier; and, if they have used extra sheets (more that one set per bed) to wash and dry that extra load. The guests are to place the dishes in the dishwasher at the end of their stay, and start it. The clean dishes do not have to be put away. We also ask the guest to clean up after themselves if they use the grill. Finally, we ask them to dump their garbage in the dumpsters. For the $160.00 cleaning fee, a cleaning crew does all the laundry (minus one load); folds it; remakes all five beds; vacuums all rooms; and mops the common areas, kitchen, baths, and where there are spills or dirt. The crew dusts all the rooms; cleans, sanitizes and restocks the two bathrooms; cleans the entire kitchen and refrigerator including washing cabinet fronts, and finally puts the last load of dishes away. I asked and according to our cleaning service, to do everything would cost $375 or more depending on how the grill was left. The $375 is $215 more than we charge now, and would add over $70 more per night for the typical 3 night stay. That is insupportable. Those homes that do charge $375 or more per clean also charge two to three times more per night than we do.
Very nice house. Kitchen beautifully stocked. Beds really comfortable.
Shuttle to Northstar really convenient and never more than a 5 min wait either way. We truly enjoyed our stay. We were allowed to check in early which was very nice. The only wish we would make is for more lights in the bedrooms. But otherwise it was a perfect stay. We would highly recommend.
Kingsley Northstar Property #162036
We could not be more impressed with Gordon and Dee's home at Northstar. Every bedroom had a comfortable mattress and clean sheets. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking including iced beer steins in the freezer upon arrival! There is a dog runner in the huge back yard that our puppy St. Bernard loved! Plenty of room for the kids and dog to run around. We highly recommend a visit to the Kingsley property.