Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Stunning West Coast Beachfront Penthouse, With Amazing Views Over Caribbean Sea

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom, 4 Sleeps

Georgeous beachfront penthouse in historic Speightstown with amazing views over the Caribbean Sea.

Relax on the terrace before taking a stroll into town, all amenities are close by, and with the most stunning beaches at hand what more could you want!

Turtle Beach is a beautiful airy penthouse, marble floors and high cathedral ceilings make this the perfect place for a Caribbean retreat, with the most amazing views over the aquamarine Caribbean Sea. The furnishings are Caribbean cool and perfectly complement the apartment and it's surroundings.

The penthouse is set on two floors, first and top. There are two large bedrooms with queen beds, two full bathrooms and one guest WC. Both bedrooms have high cathedral ceilings with AC and ceiling fans.

Large open plan living / kitchen room, ground floor features the entrance foyer with full bathroom and utility area with washer/dryer.

Staircase with atrium and interior balcony area.

Lovely dining terrace with sunbathing area, shade or sun it's your choice….

All amenities are close to hand and a car is not necessary if you do not wish. The beaches of the calm waters of the West Coast are perfect for swimming and snorkelling, and with many world class golf courses close by, there is something to please everyone. Reefers and Wreckers dive shop is a minute away, and Philip and Michael will take good care of you! night dives also available.

There are several restaurants within walking distance, ranging from 5 star to the local rum choice is yours. Supermarkets, ATM machines, and all manner of shops are a two minute stroll away. Walk into Speightstown on a bustling Saturday morning, and see Caribbean colour and life all around you, local ladies selling exotic fruit and vegetables, fresh fish from the days catch at the market.

Many great days out can be had from this area., there is something for everyone.

Barbados offers many options, when you have tired of the beautiful beaches and restaurants, there are many more things to occupy your time.

For sports enthusiasts a trip to the Saturday afternoon races at the Garrison is always popular, perhaps a game of cricket is more your scene at the wonderful Kensington Oval where the atmosphere is always electric! Polo matches are held frequently at many of the clubs around the island. Take a drive over to the wild East Coast and visit beautiful Bathsheba, where you can sit on the rocks and watch the surfers, or even join in, but not for amateurs :)

There are several surf schools around the island where you can take lessons and hire boards.

Nature is in all it's glory wherever you travel around this beautiful Caribbean island.

See the sugar plantations, the fresh green bananas ripe for the picking, the majestic mahogany trees, all manner of tropical fruits. Visit the Animal Flower Cave, , see the local green monkeys scampering past, and on a moonlit night you may witness a turtle laying it's eggs on the beach directly infront of the property. This is quite a common occurrence at certain times of the year, and something you will remember for always.

Speightstown has a main bus terminal, which is a two minute walk from the rear of the building (no noise tho!) here you can take a bus to every corner of the island, all fares are 2$ bds. no matter how far you travel. There are several types of buses, government and private. You have to be brave and take a trip on yellow " reggae bus" an experience you won't forget or regret !

If you wish to hire a car, driving around the island is easy, and for those of from the UK no need to change sides. I can help arrange a hire car at competitive rates should you wish. Taxis are easily available and reasonably priced, there is a local taxi rank close to the property, and you can call one from the land line inside the apartment. The choice is yours, a car is not necessary, and if you wish to do an island tour, that can also be arranged with any local taxi driver. I can also arrange airport pick up and drop off should you wish.

I spend around 5 months a year in Barbados, so depending on your time of visiting, depends on whether or not I will be on the island.

My wonderfully efficient housekeeper, Marva who handles check in etc., will be on hand should you so require.

If you wish daily housekeeping that can also be arranged directly with Marva, some people prefer their privacy others not, it's a flexible option.

I am always contactable via email or phone/what's app etc.

I am always happy to help with any questions or requests you may have either before or during your stay. I want that my guests are happy and that they enjoy their stay to the max.

I spent many months looking for the ideal property in Barbados, after visiting the island for more than thirty years it was not an easy decision!!

Speightstown won on many counts, it is quite possibly one of the most original authentic Caribbean towns still in existence. It was at one time know as "Little Bristol" due to it being the main port of call for trade boats calling into port from England, collecting spices and sugar. Here you are able to have as activity packed or as relaxing a vacation as you wish., the choices are all there. There are many bars and restaurants within a short walking distance, and should you wish to go further afield, the restaurants and bars of Holetown are a 10 minute drive away. The building is secure with gated entrance and parking, and is still tranquil yet within walking distance from all. I LOVE it !!!

I have had my property for almost 9 years now, and have been renting out successfully through other sites. I'm looking forward to gaining many more repeat guests through the VROB network.

Choose Barbados for it's wonderful culture, it's beautiful beaches and landscape, and for it's warm and welcoming people, you won't be disappointed !!!

More Details

owner/property manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, German, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 July, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Speightstown in Saint Peter

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


3.6/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

20% Complete
60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Stunning West Coast Beachfront Penthouse, With Amazing Views Over Caribbean Sea
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews

Perfect location for enjoying charming Speightstown

  • 5 of 5

As a regular visitor to Speightstown, i saw Whitesands being developed and was always intrigued to stay there. The apartment is smashing, well appointed and close to the pleasures of the town. Sitting opposite the beach on a fairly quiet road, we spent hours on the generous balcony just watching, listening and enjoying the warmth and the sea. Trisha was very helpful during the pre-arrival phase, actual arrival worked well and departure was agreed easily with Sonia. All in all it gave us the lovely base for a great holiday, we all wanted to stay longer.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ideally located to see the real Barbados.

  • 4 of 5

The priority is ideally located. The apartment is across the road from a beach that is really quiet....fantastic to have the beach to yourself. It is also a short walk to all of the local amenities, shops, rum shop and some lovely beach bars and restaurants. The apartment looks out over the beach and the Caribbean Sea and it is lovely to sit and listen to the waves. There were 2 couples staying in the villa and it catered for us very well.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karen, you are very welcome and also welcome to return at any time! I am so happy that you enjoyed Barbados and all it has to offer to the full. Hope to see you once again in beautiful Barbados :) Regards Trisha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Syracuse, NY

Renter beware

  • 1 of 5

This property is not stunning. View from the balcony is of the water on the left side, but on the right side is a huge construction project that I was told is going to someday be a restaurant. There were concrete saws and jack hammers pretty much every day of the week, and between that and the electrical wires and dead palm tree, it's not what I would call a stunning view. Oh, and the balcony has a table and chairs but two of the four chairs are falling apart and are put together at the top of the chairs with plastic packaging ties that are sharp and dangerous. Condo itself is nice, but again, not stunning. Kitchen appliances are very old and dated - in fact the dishwasher looks like it could fall apart any day.

We didn't use it because I was afraid to open it for fear that the door would fall off. And there are A LOT of stairs, so if you have anyone in your party that has difficulty with stairs, this is not the place for you. My biggest complaint though is that during our stay, one member of our group sat on one of the toilets and the toilet tank cracked along one side of the tank. We didn't drop anything on it or anything - someone sitting on it the way anyone normally sits on a toilet caused it to crack. And the property manager wanted us to pay to replace the toilet. We did nothing to make us liable for the breakage, but yet she held us liable and wanted me to pay the plumber directly to replace the toilet. I don't believe that a toilet breaking in this manner is something I should have been liable for. If I had flushed things I should not have and clogged the toilet or if I had broken it due to some negligence on my part, I would have no problem paying for it. The toilet was rusty and not in good shape to begin with, which I told the property manager, but she held me 100% liable and wanted me to pay the plumber. Mind you I paid her a security deposit when I rented the space, but she told me that was for "minor breakages" and that I needed to pay the plumber. I refused and of course, she did not return my security deposit. She was rude and accusatory and just wanted me to pay to replace an old toilet so she didn't have to. I would NEVER rent from her again. VERY bad experience. If you rent this property, be prepared to pay for ANYTHING that breaks, whether or not it is your fault. I left the property 4 days early and went elsewhere I was so infuriated. And of course, she didn't refund those 4 days either.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy that this renter posted this review, as it gives me a chance to answer to her totally unjustified claims. As all property owners, I take a fully refundable damages deposit. In the case of my property I take a damages deposit of £250, which is less than most. This is the first time in ten years that it has not been refunded in full. On the 3rd day of their stay, my housekeeper called to tell me that the toilet tank in the guest bathroom had been physically broken, with a complete crack the full height of the tank, and the water had flooded the room. She advised the guest to email me, to explain. The guest did email me, although stating that she did not know why she had been asked to. Told me damage had been caused by a 3rd person, who had now left the property. She further went on to inform me "it doesn't need to be fixed, as he was no longer staying in the property". My housekeeper had already called a plumber. I gave the guest the option to be in the property during the plumbers visit, then she could see for herself, damages/costs etc. I said I could deduct it from the damages deposit, or she had an option to pay by credit card to the plumber, and therefore I would refund in full her deposit. Stating that it would not be charged above the £250 damages deposit amount. I said she would be able to claim from her travel insurance. Guest stated "I have never ever taken out travel insurance, and never will! I have never had to pay for damages done to previous rentals I have had!" I explained this is the reason deposit is taken. She likened it to the AC breaking down, or the fridge breaking down - I pointed out that "breaking down" and "being damaged" were 2 entirely different things. She stated: "if you do not return my damages deposit, I will post a terrible review on the site!" 2 days later I received an email from the guests: "we are leaving now" I contacted my housekeeper, she arrived just in time to receive the keys. The toilet had to be replaced, plumber/new toilet came to US 500, due to the flood damage a hand painted cabinet was also ruined at a cost of US 1000. Toilet was 4 yrs old. As regards the remainder of the review: There is an old villa being renovated, works are now completed. It will open next month as a 5 star restaurant. There is a small amount of corrosion on the base of the dishwasher door, caused by sea air. The view from the property is of the Caribbean sea and beach. It is exactly as on the photos. Property Owner: BEWARE
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
Manchester, England

Fall asleep to the sound of the sea.....

  • 4 of 5

Location was just across the street from one of the beaches at Speightstown, lovely to hear the waves. Plenty of choice in restaurants within walking distance. Accommodation is a bit quirky, as the second bedroom does not have a full bathroom on the same floor and the wardrobes/closets are not within the bedroom. Most of the cupboards in the bedrooms contained the owner's things, so it was difficult to find enough space for our clothing. (We were two couples sharing the property for 11 nights.) Would be difficult to top the view as we ate our breakfast on the terrace, which is the exact view in the picture on site. The housekeeper was very helpful and the property was clean when we arrived, although some of the appliances such as the dishwasher showed signs of aging in the sea air. Hopefully Turtle Beach Penthouse will retain its peaceful character once the new restaurant neighbouring the property opens later in the year.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Status Februar 2018

  • 4 of 5

Lage top, Aussicht top, Terrasse top, Grösse der Wohnung top,

Sicherheit der Proberty top, wunderschöne Terrasse mit Blick auf‘s Meer.

Zu viele Schränke in der Wohnung für Eigenbedarf blockiert.

Sehr schneller positiver Service bei Reklamaionen.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Renate, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay in my Barbados property, and enjoyed to the full both the apartment and it's fantastic location. You and your party are welcome back at any time to have yet another relaxing vacation in beautiful Barbados. Bye for now Trisha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £133.58
Refundable Damage Deposit £311.69

Rates are subject to change until a reservation is confirmed.
This beautiful place is my second home, my daughter has spent many years growing up there.
There is nothing you will lack during your stay, I ask that you treat it with the same respect as you would your own home :)
Please do not smoke inside the property, there is plenty of space on the beautiful terrace!
Do not wear shoes inside, have just had the mahogany staircase stripped and varnished at great expense.
One last thing, Barbados is an island nation, and all utilities are at a premium, please think green!
Try not to disturb the neighbours, and do not invite anyone into the property outside of your party that you do not know personally. Use your common sense and relax and enjoy beautiful Barbados !!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals