Enjoy the sunrise each morning at this comfortable family cottage, located at the west end of Big Platte Lake with 100' of sunny, sandy beach front. Lake gradually deepens, so there is plenty of shallow water for safe play. Very special location - at the end of a private cul-de-sac backed by beautiful woods. Cottage has open kitchen/dining/living room floor plan great for family gatherings. Kitchen is fully equipped to cook for your party!
- Separate WCs1
- Min. Stay3 - 7 nights
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 8 Sleeps
- Calendar last updated:
- 15 Sep 2018
About Gina McFadden
I have been coming "Up North" my whole life. As a child I played on the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, climbed the dunes, and splashed in the rivers and lakes that grace the area. As an adult, I now watch my two girls enjoy the same magical experiences of my childhood. I manage two properties in the area - one on Platte Lake and one on Good Harbor. My passion is to help you and your family/friends enjoy the stunning beauty that is Northern Michigan.
Gina McFadden purchased this Cottage in 1967
Why Gina McFadden chose Honor
- all-sports Platte Lake - cottage is at the end of the cul de sac - private & spacious grassy yard - sandy beach with 100 feet of private frontage - shallow entry into the lake for safe & fun kid play
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Quiet prime location on Platte Lake at end of gravel drive!!
This was our third year at Tocco's catch and we will be booking again next year!! Best rental location on the lake and all new beds this year was a pleasant surprise. Canoe from the house to Lake Michigan with canoes provided on the property.
So glad you enjoyed your time at Tocco's Catch, Josh! We love welcoming your family back each summer. See you in 2019!
Overall - very nice place to stay
Great house and great location. Very clean, and close to everything. It was perfect size for our stay - 4 adults, 1 toddler, and 1 newborn. Had a great deck and backyard for our son to play in. All the beds were comfortable, and having towels/linens available was a nice convenience.
The only "issue" we had was that the beach had a good amount of weeds, and the first 5-10 feet when walking into the water was very muddy. You sank up to your ankles when walking in.
Thanks for your thoughtful review, Joshua. Glad you and your family enjoyed your time at Tocco's Catch! I will have my lawn team take a look at the beach area.
Not well kept. Very disappointed. Should not be rented.
Cluttered, not clean. No towels till we found them in the dryer on Monday. Rugs in bathrooms dirty. Sheets on lower bunks used, we washed them. Sticky kitchen floor. Dirty carpet, we all had black feet. Mattress on queen bed should be replaced. Fans are filthy. 4-slice toaster only works for 2 slices. Seems to be a family retreat that no one takes care of, just rents.
We had to ignore so much negativity as we were tied to this rental with no alternative, We traveled 500 miles expecting a nice place to stay. Can't imagine VRBO advertising this place posting POSITIVE reviews.
Thank you for your feedback. My apologies that you were unsatisfied with your stay.
We received a 5 star rating from the guests that stayed the week before you. There seems to have been an issue with our cleaning crew this week and I will be communicating your complaints with them and fixing the problem. Had you let me know these issues sooner (I am reading this two weeks after your check-out), I would have sent my cleaning team over to address the situation right away. I reached out to you the morning you arrived to see how things were going, but never heard back. Most of your issues could have been solved the day you checked in.
As for the queen mattress, it has since been replaced with a new, 12" memory foam mattress. As for the toaster, my apologies that only two of the four openings are working.
Once again, thank you for your helpful feedback and my apologies for the issues you faced during your stay.
UPDATE: This renter attempted to get a refund from American Express. I sent the company all of our correspondence. They ruled in my favor.
I ALWAYS reach out to my renters on the day they check in, just as I did with this renter, to make sure everything is to their satisfaction. Several times over the past 10 years of running this rental property I have sent out a cleaner to address issues that renters have had with the property. I don’t stop until they are satisfied. I would have done the same for this renter had she only communicated with me. Also, there have been several instances where I have made a partial refund in order to make amends for things not being up to the standards of the renters. I undoubtedly would have done this for this renter if she had only communicated her dissatisfaction in time for me to have done anything about it.
Loved our Stay at Tocco's Catch
We have been vacationing on Platte Lake for over 30 years, and my husbands family 30 years before that! So we have stayed many places around Platte Lake, but Tocco's Catch has been one of our favorites and best vacations yet!
The house accommodations suited our family of 8, loved the big table we all could eat at! the kitchen had plenty utensils and dishes to make meals for all of us!
But our favorite part of our stay was the yard, beach, shallow entrance into the lake and the dock! This side of Platte lake is so calm and enjoyable, we LOVED IT! And will definitely be back! Thank you for sharing your little piece of HEAVEN with us!
the Mazzas from Cincinnati, OH
So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay! We feel the same that this is a slice of heaven and are glad to have shared it with your family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
We had a great family time at Platte Lake
Nice Lakeview ! Great location to alot of great Lake Michigan beaches and cities . All of the beds could use an upgrade but all and all we had a great vacation!
Thanks for your feedback, Dan. So glad you enjoyed your time at Tocco's Catch! We have since replaced all of the mattresses with memory foam. You will sleep extremely well on your next stay with us! :)
Great location on Platte Lake.
Cottage is at the end of a private drive.
Mattresses are due for an upgrade.
Hello, Ron. We are pleased you enjoyed the quite, private location of this special cottage.
Thank you for the feedback regarding the mattresses. You will be happy to hear that we have ordered new mattresses for the entire cottage.
We look forward to having you at Tocco's Catch sometime soon!
Best walleye fishing spot on Platte Lake is located just off the end of the dock! Short distance to Lake Michigan beaches and Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park. Good Morning America recently named Sleeping Bear Dunes, Michigan 'The Most Beautiful Place in America'!
Additional pricing information
Weekly Rate: $1750 - $2,600 $1750 (off-season weekly rate/or $250 per night with min. 3 night's stay) to $2,600 (peak-season weekly rate) for your Saturday to Saturday stay. Please email to find rates specific to dates of inquiry.