HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Loon Lake Retreat with Private Dock

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,496 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 8 Sleeps

Truly a house for all seasons. Loon Lake is a crystal clear lake renowned for its watersports and fishing. With our own dock, exclusively for the use of our guests, bring your boat, your water skis or just sit and watch the sun set over beautiful Mt. Kipp. In autumn the lake is still quite warm, fish are biting and the long, golden days are glorious and peaceful. Winter brings with it a new wave of outdoor sports- skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, snowshoeing and tubing! We are skiers and have kept this gem for our family for years during the winter months.. Just a 10-15 minute drive to beautiful, family-friendly Gore Mountain. So come play in the snow and curl up in front a warm fire when you are done. Plenty of space for everyone to unwind after a day on the slopes!

A contemporary salt box style home with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths on two levels make it ideal for several couples vacationing together, a family with children, or an extended family wishing to spend time together, but still provide everyone some privacy.when they choose.

What more could you ask for than a beautiful, non-commercial and pristine lake with the majestic Adirondacks rising up from the shores. It is the ideal spot for swimming, water skiing, wakeboarding, fishing or just soaking up the glorious views and sunsets.

This modern cedar home is nestled on three private acres full of tall pines, providing filtered lake views. The path to one of two sandy beaches is directly across from the house. Just 400 feet from front deck to your private dock where you can get on your boat or just enjoy the sunsets. The second beach is just a short stroll away at the end of this quiet dead-end road.

About 1/4 mile down the road is Loon Lake Marina where all fishing/boating/water sports rentals and supplies are available. The lake provides excellent fishing, water skiing, swimming or just watching the spectacular sunsets from the dock. Just minutes away there are great restaurants, charming local shops,great amusement parks, other attractions, and just about every outdoor activity you could want. Gore Mountain is just 8 miles away car with mountain biking and gondola rides and Saratoga, just south of us, is in high season throughout the summer months.

Beautifully furnished and immaculately maintained, this home features an open floor plan, cathedral ceilings, cozy brick fireplace with hand-hewn rustic mantle and two decks (front and rear) to enjoy the views. With one bedroom/bath on the first floor and two bedrooms connected by a bath on the second, it's ideal for couples or the family.

A brand new, gourmet kitchen with stone counters and breakfast bar leading you to the rear deck and outdoor gas grill complete the amenities. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking implements a chef could want-coffee maker, toaster, blender, food processor,and full size microwave. A stove with oven, full size refrigerator with automatic ice-maker and of course, a dishwasher.

The dining room and living room are open to the kitchen, so no one gets left out no matter what they are doing. Both dining room and living room are furnished in a contemporary style with an Adirondack flair.

There is a large, flat screen television with cable service as well as internet access for our guests. A Bose stereo with CD player and remote control are there for your enjoyment.

In the living room an open staircase and upstairs balcony allow access to the 2 upper bedrooms. The over-sized master bedroom has a queen bed, while the other bedroom has 2 twin beds. Both of these bedrooms have direct access to a full marble-tiled bath with tub and shower.

The first floor bedroom has a queen bed and an adjoining full bath with shower.

On the front deck guests will find a dining set with adjustable umbrella as well as Adirondack chairs and footrests for lounging.

A full laundry room ( we even provide the detergent),ironing board and iron are located on the lower level. And guest are welcome to use the one car garage on this level. This is also where you will find the firewood for those romantic evenings around the fireplace.

We have tried to anticipate all the little things that can make your stay truly memorable, right down to nightlights in the bathrooms!

Sorry, but we do not accept bookings for groups of guests under age 25. Maximum number of guests is 8, including all children.

So come and enjoy a peaceful retreat in the Adirondacks and wake to the call of the Loons on the lake, it will be a vacation the whole family will remember for years to come.

More Details

Owner
Lynn Kiraly
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
25 May, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our stay at this house this winter. House was spotless, well furnished and maintained. Kitchen was beautiful and well equipped. Everything was just as the listing says. Owner was great to work with, flexible with check in and check out times, couldn't have been more professional or cordial.

House is just short drive from Gore Mountain, with snow mobile paths right around Loon Lake. After a day enjoying the outdoors the wood fireplace was a treat, and even the fire wood was provided?

We had such a good time the whole family wants to make this an annual event!

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.
Feb 2017
  • 1 of 8

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Chestertown in Warren County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1496 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Bath with Shower , Bidet , Carrera Marble floor
  • Second floor bathroom is shared by the master and other bedroom. It is modern, with a full bath and shower and marble floor. First floor bathroom is connected to the living area and the bedroom, and has a stall shower. Both baths have shower massagers.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Master has a queen size bed and direct access to a shared bath. Other second floor bedroom has 2 twin beds and direct access to the shared bath (bathroom is between master and second floor bedroom). First floor bedroom has one queen bed and direct access to a full bath. There is a queen size sleeper sofa in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Living/Dining Area has a wood burning fireplace, Color Television with cable, vcr/dvd, with many books, games and movies We have internet access too. Kitchen features a refrigerator with ice maker, automatic coffee maker, full electric stove and large oven, dishwasher, breakfast bar with stools, granite counters, food processor, blender, electric fry pan and crock pot. All brand new tile throughout, including adjacent bath. Front deck has table and chairs with umbrella as well as Adirondack chairs for sunning, reading, etc. Rear deck has a Weber gas barbeque with additional side burner. Upstairs master bedroom is spacious with a queen size bed and marble-tiled bath. This bath is shared with other upstairs bedroom. Lower level is a one car garage,and a laundry room with a Washer and Dryer.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

Loon Lake Retreat with Private Dock
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 26 reviews
5

Beautiful, clean home with great owners

  • 5 of 5

Loved this house. Owner was a delight to work with, responsive, flexible, just great. House was immaculate and so well equipped. Everything I wanted, and some I hadn't even realized I would want, was there. We had a great time skiing and snowmobiling then cooking dinner in the fabulous kitchen, chilling in front of the fire after.........

Perfect time with family and friends, can't wait to come back next winter.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to share our home with your family. We looking forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Dirty house, defensive homeowner

  • 2 of 5

I had the unfortunate task of notifying the homeowner that there were concerns over the housekeeping. It looked like the housekeeper had forgotten to clean areas of the kitchen, did not vacuum the area rugs nor did he/she wash the bedding downstairs. I emailed the owner my concerns along with photos of the obviously unclean areas. The owner became defensive, faulting me for finding the house dirty, never came to inspect and never sent a housekeeper. So, I ended up doing the cleaning myself. I appealed to the homeowner to retract the cleaning fee, but she denied my request. She felt the fee was justified since no one else had ever complained about the housekeeping before. If, in fact, no one had ever complained before, then the homeowner should have been on high alert that something was certainly wrong. This whole ordeal was so unfortunate and it certainly put a dampener on our ski weekend. A more attentive and responsive homeowner would have resolved these issues easily. I have filed a formal complaint with Home away.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you were not 100% satisfied, but there are two sides to every story and what you have written is grossly untrue. Your review states the house was dirty in general, when at the time you had a few, very specific issues. You did not call to voice your concerns, but sent an email AFTER you had been in the house OVERNIGHT, cooked and eaten 2 meals with your family. I did immediately offer to send the housekeeper over, which you flatly refused and demanded a refund. I could not visit myself as I was 275 miles away at the time. I would like to clarify for future guests what your complaints actually were. After your family moved in and spent more than half a day enjoying the house you told me that you found a spot on the toaster oven and another on the kitchen faucet. While it is possible the housekeeper missed this, it is equally possible this was the result of your family's activity. You also noticed a small spot on one (virtually brand new) blanket. In the closet were many more, clean and folded blankets for your use. We have a Dyson vacuum because I am serious about CLEAN! The piece of lint you found on one rug appeared to be a bit of the cotton fringe that was ripped off by the beaters and stuck to the wool in the corner. All rugs are thoroughly vacuumed between guests, wood and tile floors swept and mopped. I leave a welcome letter at the house and ask all guests to call immediately if they have any problems, concerns or general questions. I leave my cell phone because we want all guests to have a relaxing and exceptional experience in the Adirondacks. Any concerns are immediately addressed. You did not notify promptly of your concerns, you refused to let me send the housekeeper over, would not allow me an opportunity to address your issues.. Nothing was going to make you happy short of a refund. I would never expect any guest to stay in a home that was not up to my personal standards and rest assured they are very high. I hope that future guests will not be prejudiced by this retaliatory review and see it for what it is.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, convenient to Gore Mountain

  • 5 of 5

Our group stayed here for a weekend ski trip to Gore Mountain. The cabin was great for our stay, everyone in the group had positive feedback for it. It is nicely furnished, with plenty of room in the living and dining area to hang out after a day on the ski slopes. The kitchen was excellent for cooking meals, it was well stocked with cookware and dishware. The garage was perfect for storing our ski gear overnight, and the washer and dryer were much appreciated for having dry, clean jackets and gloves. The Internet connection was solid, and we enjoyed having cable TV. Gore Mountain was about a 15 minute drive from here, very easy to get back and forth from North Creek.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy guests are our number one goal. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A cozy Winter Get-Away

  • 5 of 5

We are just about to pack-up from our stay, and are so sad to leave! Lynn could not have been more wonderful and accommodating. The house is warm and cozy with plenty of room for our family of six. The house is very clean, the kitchen is EXTREMELY well-stocked, and there are more than enough towels in the bathrooms. We enjoyed the Lake George Winter Carnival, and a day of skiing and snowshoeing at Gore Mountain. Don't miss sledding at Dynamite Hill. It's free!! It was so nice to come back for hot showers and a fire in the hearth (Lynn left us plenty of wood!!) after a day of winter fun. Thank you Lynn & Bob for sharing your home with us. We will definitely be back!!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always delighted to share our wonderful home with other families. We hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brooklyn, New York
5

This Loon Lake retreat was as advertised!

  • 5 of 5

My interaction with Lynn couldn't have been better and the retreat was a great winter weekend getaway. We arrived late in the evening on a very cold January night. Lynn had the heat going so the cabin/house was warm when we arrived. Lynn's directions for arrival were precise and everything was as promised. The cabin had wifi, TV, wood burning fireplace and fully functional kitchen with everything you need. We skied at Gore Mountain, which was only 15-20 minutes away, during the day, cooked dinner and watched TV in front of the fire at night. Everything was clean, in working order and Lynn's welcome instructions were helpful. Three full bedrooms (not a converted closet, like in some cases) make this a great place for a family. We would definitely recommend this Loon Lake Retreat!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy guests are our number one goal. So glad you and your family had a great time. We hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very cozy organized,it had everything you can ask

  • 5 of 5

The house is very cozy. It has everything for everyone, boards games for the little ones, wifi for teens and adults, full kitchen for granny and comfortable beds for the ones that want to relax Nice fire place and good size windows for the amazing view to the wild life in the woods.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy guests are what we strive for. So glad you and your family had a comfortable and relaxing stay. We hope you come visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
OP Frederick's
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Gore Mountain
Car: recommended
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Waterskiing/wakeboarding.

* Fishing.

* Swimming.

* Nature Walks.

* Horseback riding.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Watersports.

* Hiking.

* Campfires.

* Fishing.

* Cycling.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Great Escapes Amusement Park.

* Watersports.

* Fishing.

* Nature Walks.

* Campfires.

Loon Lake for all water sports and fabulous sunsets.

Horseback riding, canoeing, kayaking, river rafting, hiking, fishing, cycling, mountain biking are all available in the immediate area.

Lake George is just 20 minutes away. Great Escapes Amusement Park is in Lake George in addition to all the other attractions of this town.

Garnet Mines, The Underground River, and a ride on an antiques steam locomotive are also just a few miles away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Chestertown, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Memorial Day Weekend
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£601
for 3 nights
From
£175
 
 
Early Summer
30 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£401
for 2 nights
From
£163
From
£167
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,119
 
 
Summer
17 Jun 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,202
for 7 nights
£1,202
£4,416
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£401
for 2 nights
From
£163
£1,119
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £309.21
Cleaning fee £69.57 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

During the Summer months we require a one week stay, beginning and ending on a Saturday. Most other times of the year, the minimum stay is 2 nights and turnover days are flexible.
Certain holiday weekends and President's Week require a minimum 3 night stay and rates may be slightly higher.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals