HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Duck Island Cottage on Watts Bar Lake

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6 in beds +2 on pull out sofa

* The "Cottage on the Lake" is one of the most relaxing and fun spots to be.

* Huge deck for sunning, relaxing, dining, kids play.

* 3 Bedrooms, 2 baths. King Master Bedroom, queen guestroom and twin beds guestroom. Sleep 6 in beds and optional 2 more on pull out queen sofa in living room.

* Fishermans dream on Watts Bar Lake.

* Kids love the shallow lake entry for water play.

* Firepit with Water View, site out and watch the stars and hear the geese and ducks on the water, by a nice fire (bring your own firewood)

*Remodeled inside and outside with large bedrooms, living room, large screened in porch that over looks beautiful Watts Bar Lake.

* Great gradual sloped lake lot with easy walk to the dock and boathouse.

More Details

Owner
Steve Hillis
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
6 June, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Spring City in Rhea County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Full size washer and dryer
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upstairs guest bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , With full master bath with washer and dryer & walk-in closet
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • paddle boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
* Large new Kitchen with custom cabinets and granite counter tops * New wood flooring in kitchen and living room * Satellite TV with DVD player * High Speed Internet with Wireless Free * Great swimming area with dock and ladder for the kids * Pet Friendly home and large yard to play and run * Pull out couch with sofa sleeper for two * Extra refrigerator on the screened porch for "extra beverages" kept cold

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Duck Island Cottage on Watts Bar Lake
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews
4

Excellent value

  • 4 of 5

First impression is a steep drive with limited parking; not handicap accessible; Home was well stocked with cook ware, dishes and utensils. New charcoal grill was nice; some exterior maintenance needed but it's early in the season. Deck chairs are dry-rotting and fragile; boat dock was nice but be careful bringing a boat in as it gets real shallow fast; we got in and out with patience. Overall it is a beautiful spot and relaxing atmosphere. We would stay here again. Thanks for letting us enjoy it!

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback and we are in the process of new chairs and new paint on the deck. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lake Cottage at Duck Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable and beautiful home on the water.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time at this home. The interior was beautiful and you could tell it was their home, not a rental property. There were extras in the kitchen like wine glasses and a nice knife set. Outside there was a large deck looking down on the lake, a nice dock to sit on if you want to be closer to the water, and even a picnic table in the water if you want to have a fun meal or snack. We used the Weber charcoal grill for a meal and all the grilling utensils were there for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Owner Cancellation

  • 1 of 5

We were notified by the owner by email on the day of check in, when we were half way to the property, that he had extended the stay of the current renters and we no longer had a place to stay. He would not answer his phone but after many back to back calls, I finally got him to answer, which he then proceeded to blame the whole thing on homeaway. He was traveling and didn't want to be bothered with dealing with this. I had to be stern in order to get him to at least call VRBO so I could move forward with finding another place (which was another nightmare). I would not recommend this place or owner to anyone. I wouldn't wish this disaster on my worst enemy. Talk about destroying a vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize for the miscommunication regarding this rental and unfortunately the above comments are not accurate at all. The rental was not confirmed and we never received one penny of deposit to hold the reservation. Another good customer had booked the lake cottage and was staying there. I had a call from Beth the day she was traveling and I returned her call right away. We explained that Home Away had not made any deposit and confirmed the reservation and we found that Home Away was holding their deposit. We contacted Home Away and had them send an email to Beth explaining that there was a miscommunication and they refunded their deposit immediately. We have been renting the Lake Cottage for 5 years with no problems and we always go the extra mile to make sure our customers enjoy their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5

We spent 5 days at the Cottage on the Lake and had very good time. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything I needed to fix a big Thanksgiving meal. The living area, bedrooms and bathrooms were large and comfortable. I found renting from this owner to be a positive experience and would stay at the cottage again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
2

Great place, can't get deposit back!

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at this home two months ago and we had a wonderful time and loved the home. We planned to return again but it has been two months and just got the deposit back and the check was returned for insufficient funds. We are pretty upset about the amount of time it has taken to get $500 back. Be cautious!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Englewood, Ohio
5

Rain soaked 4th on the lake

  • 5 of 5

One word to describe the cottage on the lake, AWESOME. The house is well equipped & we had everything we needed for a great vacation. Unfortunately, it rained all week but we were better able to enjoy this ideal property. The kids enjoyed all of the board games & we rarely used the TV, which was ideal. A great place to enjoy your family without being crowded. Wireless was stable & satellite TV was also a nice feature when we occasionally "caught up with the real world". The owners were very helpful & accommodating & the house had everything that was advertised. This house is very upscale for a lake rental & the dock easily handled 2 boats. Even the neighbors were friendly. I can't say enough about what a great time we had & we will definitely rent from Steve & Ann again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Great Fishing.

* Water Skiiing.

* Boating and Tubing.

* Trout Fishing.

* Picnic.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Family Picnic.

* Hiking on Cumberland Mountain.

* Boating at local restaurants.

* Fishing.

* Water Skiiing.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Boating.

* Fishing.

* Picnic.

* Hiking.

* Water Skiiing.

* Fishing for Bass, crappie, blue gill and strippers on Watts Bar Lake

* Several restaurants and bars on the water close enough to ride by boat

* Smooth water with little boat traffic for great water skiiing & tubing

* Close to golf & fly fishing on the Cumberland Mountains

* Knoxville Tennessee is 40 minute drive for dining, shopping and UT Football!

* Gatlinburg and Smoky Mountains are 1.5 hours away

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Spring City, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£444
for 2 nights
From
£151
£1,071
£3,158
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £270.56
Cleaning Fee £143.01

Nightly Rate: $180 - $195

Weekly Rate: $950 - $1200

Monthly Rate: $1950 - $3900


$180/night(2 nt min.) or $950 /wk after Halloween October 31 thru April 1
$195/night(2 nt min.) or $1,200/wk April 1 thru Halloween October 31
Refundable security deposit required-$500
Please contact Steve for more information and booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals