HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Duck Island Cottage on Watts Bar Lake

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6 in beds +2 on pull out sofa

* The "Cottage on the Lake" is one of the most relaxing and fun spots to be.

* Huge deck for sunning, relaxing, dining, kids play.

* 3 Bedrooms, 2 baths. King Master Bedroom, queen guestroom and twin beds guestroom. Sleep 6 in beds and optional 2 more on pull out queen sofa in living room.

* Fishermans dream on Watts Bar Lake.

* Kids love the shallow lake entry for water play.

* Firepit with Water View, site out and watch the stars and hear the geese and ducks on the water, by a nice fire (bring your own firewood)

*Remodeled inside and outside with large bedrooms, living room, large screened in porch that over looks beautiful Watts Bar Lake.

* Great gradual sloped lake lot with easy walk to the dock and boathouse.

More Details

Steve Hillis
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Spring City in Rhea County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Full size washer and dryer
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upstairs guest bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , With full master bath with washer and dryer & walk-in closet
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • paddle boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • water skiing
* Large new Kitchen with custom cabinets and granite counter tops * New wood flooring in kitchen and living room * Satellite TV with DVD player * High Speed Internet with Wireless Free * Great swimming area with dock and ladder for the kids * Pet Friendly home and large yard to play and run * Pull out couch with sofa sleeper for two * Extra refrigerator on the screened porch for "extra beverages" kept cold


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
Duck Island Cottage on Watts Bar Lake
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews

Property was comfortable and welcoming.

  • 5 of 5

We had two families stay here and had plenty of room to spread out. Kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need. Loved the sun porch and dock-swimming was great.

Deck chairs were too worn to sit on and steps down from driveway to entrance may be difficult for some. Will definately be returning to this house! Thank you for response when we called for assistance!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the Duck Island Cottage on the lake and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We replaced the lounge chairs on the deck this weekend and thanks for your input. Look forward to your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to relax and enjoy family!

  • 5 of 5

The house is clean and full of dishes, pots and pans for cooking. A great place for family. We loved it.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable and beautiful home on the water.

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time at this home. The interior was beautiful and you could tell it was their home, not a rental property. There were extras in the kitchen like wine glasses and a nice knife set. Outside there was a large deck looking down on the lake, a nice dock to sit on if you want to be closer to the water, and even a picnic table in the water if you want to have a fun meal or snack. We used the Weber charcoal grill for a meal and all the grilling utensils were there for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent value

  • 4 of 5

First impression is a steep drive with limited parking; not handicap accessible; Home was well stocked with cook ware, dishes and utensils. New charcoal grill was nice; some exterior maintenance needed but it's early in the season. Deck chairs are dry-rotting and fragile; boat dock was nice but be careful bringing a boat in as it gets real shallow fast; we got in and out with patience. Overall it is a beautiful spot and relaxing atmosphere. We would stay here again. Thanks for letting us enjoy it!

  • Review Submitted: 03-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback and we are in the process of new chairs and new paint on the deck. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lake Cottage at Duck Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Owner Cancellation

  • 1 of 5

We were notified by the owner by email on the day of check in, when we were half way to the property, that he had extended the stay of the current renters and we no longer had a place to stay. He would not answer his phone but after many back to back calls, I finally got him to answer, which he then proceeded to blame the whole thing on homeaway. He was traveling and didn't want to be bothered with dealing with this. I had to be stern in order to get him to at least call VRBO so I could move forward with finding another place (which was another nightmare). I would not recommend this place or owner to anyone. I wouldn't wish this disaster on my worst enemy. Talk about destroying a vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize for the miscommunication regarding this rental and unfortunately the above comments are not accurate at all. The rental was not confirmed and we never received one penny of deposit to hold the reservation. Another good customer had booked the lake cottage and was staying there. I had a call from Beth the day she was traveling and I returned her call right away. We explained that Home Away had not made any deposit and confirmed the reservation and we found that Home Away was holding their deposit. We contacted Home Away and had them send an email to Beth explaining that there was a miscommunication and they refunded their deposit immediately. We have been renting the Lake Cottage for 5 years with no problems and we always go the extra mile to make sure our customers enjoy their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

We spent 5 days at the Cottage on the Lake and had very good time. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything I needed to fix a big Thanksgiving meal. The living area, bedrooms and bathrooms were large and comfortable. I found renting from this owner to be a positive experience and would stay at the cottage again.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Dec-2015
  • Date of Stay: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Great Fishing.

* Water Skiiing.

* Boating and Tubing.

* Trout Fishing.

* Picnic.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Family Picnic.

* Hiking on Cumberland Mountain.

* Boating at local restaurants.

* Fishing.

* Water Skiiing.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Boating.

* Fishing.

* Picnic.

* Hiking.

* Water Skiiing.

* Fishing for Bass, crappie, blue gill and strippers on Watts Bar Lake

* Several restaurants and bars on the water close enough to ride by boat

* Smooth water with little boat traffic for great water skiiing & tubing

* Close to golf & fly fishing on the Cumberland Mountains

* Knoxville Tennessee is 40 minute drive for dining, shopping and UT Football!

* Gatlinburg and Smoky Mountains are 1.5 hours away


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £137.73
Pet Fee £260.58

Nightly Rate: $180 - $195

Weekly Rate: $950 - $1200

Monthly Rate: $1950 - $3900

$180/night(2 nt min.) or $950 /wk after Halloween October 31 thru April 1
$195/night(2 nt min.) or $1,200/wk April 1 thru Halloween October 31
Refundable security deposit required-$500
Please contact Steve for more information and booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals