HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sea side cottage, family and dog-friendly, & steps from the beach

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Family and dog friendly, sea side cottage with spectacular views, close to Pier

Featured on HGTV! This seaside cottage features 3 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms. It is only 1 lot away from the ocean with ocean views from the kitchen, living room, and deck. There is easy beach access that is only a few steps (65 feet) away! This cottage is less than a half mile from the Pamlico Sound, which is a world class destination for kite boarding, wind surfing, and fishing. It is a personal concierge home with vacation planning assistance from our property management company Shore Details. Upon arrival you will find a complimentary welcome package including paper towels, kitchen sponge, dish detergent ,dishwater packets 4 pack of toilet tissue and 2 trash bag liners to help you get settled.

This cottage also features 4 flat-screen TV's, high-speed internet, and a new 44 jet hot tub for 2018. Enjoy coffee (commercial keurig and brewed),or cocktails on the swing inside the screened-in porch overlooking the waves.

This beach side cottage has a recently remodeled kitchen which features brand new quartz counter tops and stainless steel appliances. There are 2 newly renovated bathrooms which have granite vanities and glass vessel sinks. Of the three bedrooms, two have queen beds and the third bedroom has 2 twin beds. Beds have memory foam toppers and 100% cotton high-quality John Robshaw designer hand dyed, hand sewn bedding .

From the screened in porch and front deck you can hear, smell, and see the ocean!

This home also features an outdoor shower, charcoal Grill, stereo, CD and DVD player, and keurig brewing station.

This area of the Outer Banks has several well equipped tackle shops and great restaurants. During the summer months the beaches have multiple sea turtle nesting sites and incredible shelling opportunities.It is a short beach walk to Rodanthe pier.

You can take a drive south to Buxton to see and tour the Hatteras Island light house or take the free ferry to Ocracoke island, the HQ for the famous pirate Blackbeard. If you travel north there are also interesting things to visit like the Jockey's Ridge State Park and of course, the Wright Brothers Museum.

More Details

Owner
James and Donna Gardner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 October, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

This wonderful cottage is situated in the perfect place. Wonderful ocean views from the kitchen and living room, and sound views from the bedrooms. Pelicans fly overhead the front deck, and you can spot dolphins from the hot tub. Footprints is a wonderful destination for healing, rejuvenation, and relaxation. It is situated only 65 feet from beach access with miles of unspoiled beaches with naturalized dunes welcoming you to explore.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on Rodanthe on Kinnakeet

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • All bathrooms have granite vanities and blue glass vessel sinks. Bathroom 1 has premium multi function shower head. Bathroom 2 has sky light in shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Luxurious linens by designer John Robshaw. Hand dyed and hand sewn from India. All beds have memory foam mattress toppers.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach cart, multiple beach chairs, beach umbrellas, boogie boards, and assorted inflatables available for guest use. Please understand we are unable to guarantee the availability throughout the entire season due to the possibility of damage with normal wear and tear.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
26% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sea side cottage, family and dog-friendly, & steps from the beach
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
Riverview Florida
4

Wonderful experience ****.

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful place to stay. Everything in photos of and discription of cottage was as promised. Owners James and Donna had quick response to questions. Owners restaurant suggestions did not disappoint. Extremely relaxing stay was exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately we picked up a deck screw in one of our tires on our rental car, but no problem A-OK mobile repair a local business near by fixed us right up. We went for a walk on the Rodanthe pier saw a fisherman catch a shark and also saw the most amazing Manta ray jump out of the water it was at least 12 foot wide. Also climbed 3 lighthouses during our visit very unique views and history. Only item we were disappointed not to have available was a broom. When staying on the beach sand is magnetic would love to have had a broom to tidy up daily. We would definitely recommend this location as a wonderful place to stay. All amenities as promised.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so happy you had a wonderful time! We work hard to make sure that our cottage has everything needed for a comfortable stay away from home, and will certainly be replacing any missing items before the next rental season. We hope you consider Footprints again on your next trip to the OBX!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our Stay

  • 5 of 5

With just me and my wife, we had all the room we needed. Everything we need was available, and the place was clean when we go there. Had a nice relaxing week - see you soon

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place

  • 5 of 5

Great place clean nice touches short walk to the beach would stay there again

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return on your next stay in the Outer Banks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
state college, pa
5

Beautiful Beach Retreat

  • 5 of 5

First of all, the owners of this cottage are wonderful people. They were helpful and responsive to questions about the cottage prior to our arrival. But their kindness and helpfulness during the Bonner Bridge Evacuation was truly exceptional. We didn't have any problems with the house, but I am confident that if we did, they would have been taken care of quickly. The location of the house is perfect for our family--at the end of a cul-de-sac, with the shortest, easiest beach access to the best beach on the island in my opinion. The street is located next to the nicest, cleanest KOA I've ever seen. It was all families as far as I could tell and we never heard any noise from over there. And frankly, having the campground there leaves the ocean front dunes natural, beautiful, and visible; not blocked by the monstrosity McMansions that permeate the oceanfront otherwise. The house itself is beautiful and comfortable. The screened in porch and front deck are so nice to have, and our little kids enjoyed the sanctuary under the house, with some cute furniture and a hammock. I have no complaints really. I am a bit of a gourmet chef, so a nice set of knives and an updated set of pots and pans would be nice. Otherwise, the kitchen was well stocked. All in all, a wonderful place. We will be back for sure.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay, and we are delighted you had a wonderful vacation. We do appreciate your kind comments as we try very hard to be responsive to the needs of our guests, and to make our cottage a special vacation experience for all of our guests. We hope you consider Footprints for your next trip to the Outer Banks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fredericksburg, PA
4

Lovely, enjoyable, well-situated cottage

  • 4 of 5

Our family of four and small dog greatly enjoyed Footprints last week. The proximity to the beach was unbeatable for the price. We ate every meal on the screened-in porch (we recommend getting take-out from the Waves Market--amazing food!), and spent a lot of hours reading on the porch swing! As everyone has mentioned, the decor of the home is just delightful. The weather was great, the beach was lively, but never over-crowded. We have stayed in more populated areas of the Outer Banks, and we really enjoyed the more quiet, laid-back vibe of Waves!

There were a few downsides to the maintenance of the home but no deal-breakers: 1) Despite an overpowering Pine-Sol odor, the house wasn't throughly cleaned when we arrived. We were tired upon arrival, and didn't want to deal with waiting on housekeeping, so I purchased some all-purpose cleaner at the grocery and cleaned the windows, sliding door, and all stainless-steel surfaces in the kitchen, which were grimy and covered with handprints. 2) The hot tub began losing heat after a couple of days, but we called the management, who promptly came and rectified the problem (so not really much of a downside!) 3) The DVD remote is definitely missing. We SCOURED the house looking for it, including all drawers, consoles, etc. 4) There were no kitchen towels at all, so we purchased some (I left one behind for the next guests).

All in all, this was a really great house that the whole family enjoyed. We were very sad to leave it, and would book again, depending how large our group is next year!

Olivia N. and Family

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank for the nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Footprints. We apologize for any inconveniences that occurred. A new Blu ray DVD player with remote has been ordered. We have also reached out to our property management company regarding the cleaning issues that were mentioned. We do expect our cottage to be clean and fresh upon our guest arrivals as well as fresh dish towels provided. We encourage our guests to call Shore Details with any issues that may arise so that they can fix them quickly. We do hope you consider Footprints again for your next vacation in the Outer Banks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Location, Relaxation, and Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our week at "Footprints"!! The property fit our needs perfectly, and the décor was second to none. The beautiful beach was only steps away from the property. Loved the fact that we had no traffic in front of and around the house and it was easy to find. We will definitely stay here again in the future!! Copper and Sully loved the screened in porch and short walk to the beach too!!

Thanks again for a great vacation,

Robin and Diane Turner

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the five star review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Footprints! We would love to welcome you back again soon - Cooper and Sully too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Stingrays bar and grill
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Top Dog
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage on Rodanthe, Outer Banks

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low season
23 Sep 2017 - 11 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£912
for 7 nights
£912
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £56.87
Property Damage Protection £59.9
Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable