HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

4 Br Eclectic Ski House W/Hot Tub Only Minutes to Sugarbush and More!

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

About the property

4 Br Eclectic Ski House W/Hot Tub Only Minutes to Sugarbush and More!

Welcome to The Roxbury, our secluded 10 acre getaway minutes from the Mad River Valley and Sugarbush Ski Resort. Our mountain home offers 4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, 6 person hot tub to relax after a long hike, a bar for apres ski and a workout room.

Open floor plan with living, dining, kitchen and bar area with a small powder room. This is a contemporary house so we do have a lot of stairs. Three bedrooms on 2nd floor with a 4th kids' room on 3rd! Master bedroom has attached bath w/shower. Guest bedrooms share full bathroom. We have 4 flat screen TVs including the one in our workout room finished basement!

We offer 10 acres of privacy and are centrally located 15-20 minutes from the Warren/Waitsfield/Sugarbush area, 25 minutes to Montpelier, and 40 minutes to Stowe.

Bring your bike, bring your skis/snowboard, bring your family, bring your dog, bring yourself and enjoy our mountain home! Are you ready to spend a night (or two or three) at The Roxbury?

More Details

Owner
Matthew and Rachel Brace
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
21 February, 2017

About Matthew and Rachel Brace

Matt and Rachel have been living in Vermont full time since 2003. We purchased this home in 2005 and it has been a labor of love to fix it up over the past 10 years. We relocated to Concord, MA and have opened up The Roxbury for rent. We hope that people wishing to have the true Vermont Experience will check it out!

Matthew and Rachel Brace purchased this house in 2005

Why Matthew and Rachel Brace chose Central Vermont / Sugarbush / Mad River Valley

The Roxbury is simply a house with character! It is a huge contemporary ski house built in 1972. Great for dinner parties, spending time with friends and family relaxing on the couch in front of a burning fire in the winter or on one of the many decks during the summer. We are located close enough to Sugarbush to make it a steal but far enough away to make it a real getaway. There are many times we both stop and take a moment to look around at this house - we are very lucky to have found this bit of heaven in Vermont.

We are 8 minutes from Norwich University, a 15-20 minute ride over a scenic mountain road to the Mad River Valley/Sugarbush area and 25 minutes from downtown Montpelier. Beautiful scenery surrounds us!

What makes this house unique

Many cozy nooks to spend by yourself or with another. Quiet location with many trees but plenty of sun to relax on the deck too. Central location to the Warren/Waitsfield/Sugarbush /Norwich University area but also only 25 minutes from Montpelier.

Guests have access to all Vermont has to offer from skiing (downhill and cross country), hiking, biking, swimming, sightseeing, eating, relaxing and more!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

4 Br Eclectic Ski House W/Hot Tub Only Minutes to Sugarbush and More!
average rating of 4.5416665 based on 24 reviews
5

A great property with everything you need and more!

  • 5 of 5

The Roxbury is a great house tucked away in central Vermont. The kitchen, decks, hot tub, and charm of the house will make any stay comfortable and relaxing. While our group was in the area for work, it was a great place to come back to after long days. The gourmet kitchen has everything you need for great meals, including a grill located on the deck right outside the kitchen. The living room space is comfortable, with puffy couches and great recliners. Wifi and satellite TV ensure you won't miss the comforts of home. The hot tub is huge and just what you need after a long day! Sometimes it's the little things that add convenience - like a well equipped home gym, washer and dryer, and multiple bathrooms. In the event of a power outage (we had a storm pass through our first night), they even have a generator ready power all the essentials (yep - even TV and wifi!).

Matt and Rachel are awesome and very responsive! They provide tons of linens, full access to the bar, and answers to anything you might need! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic cabin--great owners!

  • 5 of 5

Cabin had everything we needed, and they even left a bowl of water out for our dog. Plenty of dishes to use, firewood stove ready to go, hottub was nice and hot--everything was fantastic. We had one question about the garbage disposal during our visit and we got a response in just a couple minutes. Owners were super helpful and friendly on the phone, and answered all of our questions in the week leading up to our visit. Master bed is a nice memory foam type--super comfortable with a down type comforter. Deposit came back extremely quickly and fully intact. Couldn't be happier. We will definitely be returning if we decide to ski in the area again. Our dog absolutely loved looking out the huge panoramic windows all day and the back deck was great for him to get some fresh air.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation getaway-private, but near everything you could ever want!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic family vacation with plenty of room for three families---including 5 little ones under 5! Great space, great ammenities, and talking one on one with Matt makes the stay easy with quick help. Thanks again!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

This was our second trip for a family vacation/ski trip and the Roxbury did not disappoint. We absolutely love the home. It is well equipped with plenty of seating for everyone in the open living room. Kitchen is pleasantly spacious with a very nice bar area/peninsula to allow for easy conversation with your guests. We cooked breakfast and dinner daily with ease. The hottub is fabulous!!! Especially after a day of skiing. We even took a snow day off and thoroughly enjoyed watching Netflix and enjoying the home. It really makes you feel like you're on vacation when you watch someone clear the snow from the driveway while you are hanging in the hottub. No shoveling here :) There are plenty of linens and the beds are wonderfully comfortable. Matt is such a pleasant and responsive host and I'm looking forward to our next visit.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate our repeat renters! These wonderful people came for a week of family fun at The Roxbury last year and decided to repeat it this year! We keep talking about the "vibe" at The Roxbury with all our guests and these people truly get the experience we are offering. Dee and family, we hope you come back time and again - our door is always open!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

A terrible experience - do not book here!

  • 1 of 5

Although the property itself is nice for the most part, renting this home was the worst experience I have had and I have rented for more than 10 years at least once a year. The owner has security cameras around the property and watches your every move. I felt that it was like a police state - he watched everything we did and would call and say "I know you are there I can see you" which made the entire weekend, and all of the guests uncomfortable. He even went so far as to suggest we use the hot tub nude when there were security cameras...super creepy! We had a few more guests than originally intended and he even suggested he would call the police. The rental agreement made no mention of a maximum guest amount - I specifically looked - and as a result he kept my entire security deposit despite respecting the property and leaving it tidy and clean on time of departure. We vacuumed and cleaned the house entirely because of how afraid I was of him. He threatened me multiple times over the phone with mentions of ammo and weapons. He sent over someone to snoop on us. Then joked on facebook how it was clean despite taking my $.

I had called before my trip to ask several questions about toiletries, supplies, etc because not all homes provide them. The owner raved about the having supplies as well as the quality of items in the kitchen. When we arrived there was 1 roll of toilet paper in each bathroom and 1 roll of paper towels. The pots/pans were all broken, missing handles and such so we had to go out and purchase ones that weren't dented and broken. There is an infestation of lady bugs throughout the house and there are dead flies in all of the window sills. It is clear that they have never been cleaned. Also, there is 1 small barrel for trash which isnt adequate for several days in a home. The transfer station is only open on friday so properly disposing of trash and recycling was not possible. The lamp in the bedroom, the reclining chair in the living room and the handrails to the 4th bedroom are broken and create a dangerous condition up a narrow 18"W ladder to the attic room. Larger guests will not even fit up the stair - so plan accordingly.

The owner is clearly not comfortable with renting his home and his threatening and eratic behavior and surveillance ruined a trip that has always been a great way to celebrate my birthday. I warn everyone who is interested in this home to heed my advice and pick another property. What a nightmare!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Terrible experience - do not rent to her! Seriously, we do have to respond to this ridiculous review. Security cameras - we notify each guest about - not inside the house but outside the house to cover the entrances to our property - driveway, back steps and basement door. We can't see ANYTHING happening on any of the decks and they are NOT in the house. Most people understand this and realize they are not to watch guests. Majority of the time we turn them off because we know the guest is there and don't need to see them driving in/out. And, honestly, don't care. By having this security system, we caught someone trying to pull a fast one. After the 8th car drove in, we felt the need to find out what was going on. We agree that we do not have a "maximum" for the number of guests but the site clearly states "sleeps 8". It does not say sleeps 8 and your other 10 friends can crash on the floor, basement, furniture, etc. We do not rent The Roxbury for slumber parties. You can all thank this guest for the additional notes section under our rates as it applies specifically to this situation. Our site says dog friendly but clearly states "pets considered". Any other renter that has stayed at our place with dogs has informed us of pets. This guest INTENTIONALLY stated that there were 8 guests in her reservation request AND when we spoke to her on the phone. Her intent was to deceive all along. Moving on to "broken pans" and "quality of items" - no one else has commented on this because it is a false claim. Supplies - same situation. Plenty for a party of 8 - not so much for a party of 16+. There is ample room to dispose of trash but not when there are 16-18 people. Glad we could supply all the trash bags for you to take it elsewhere though! This guest was not afraid of the owner she was afraid of getting caught in a lie. So much so that she disabled the security cameras so we couldn't see the # of people driving in to spend the night. Asked her to turn them back on and she ignored that request. We had to have our property manager make a trip to the house to turn them back on the next morning. Her claim was that someone unplugged the router to plug in his/her cell phone? Isn't that how everyone charges a cell phone - to a router? The "ladder" and "creepy" hot tub comments are insane. She is upset we kept the deposit - hot tub was filthy and had to be drained/cleaned/refilled. I'm sure she can get the $ from her many friends.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Great house! Just what you think of when imaging a Vermont mountain vacation house.

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for us - a group of three couples looking to get together for a long weekend. The house was very clean and had a great living room and kitchen. The owners were very helpful and prompt in answering our questions leading up to our trip. The house is nice and secluded, but just a short 20-minute ride to Sugarbush.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for another great review of The Roxbury! We are so happy that you and your guests enjoyed the place and your time away. You are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

The Alchemist Brewery -- CLOSED
"Home of the number one beer in America, Heady Topper!"
Three Penny Taproom
"Three Penny Taproom is Vermont’s premiere destination for craft beer and craft food. "
Sugarbush
"Sugarbush is one of the most technical mountains in the North East! It's not just fun in the..."
Mad River Glen Cooperative
"Mad River Glen ski area - home of the last single chair lift in America! This is a skiers pa..."
Stowe
"Stowe Mountain Resort is about 45 minutes from us but worth the drive to check out the town ..."
The Common Man
"The Common Man is a must for anyone traveling to the area. Delicious food and excellent ser..."
Big Picture Theater and Cafe
"Looking for a great place for breakfast or lunch? The Big Picture has great food and a cool ..."
The Warren Store
"The Warren Store has it all! Great breakfast and lunch sandwiches/salads. Cool chotchkies, ..."
Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory
"This is it! Home of Chunky Monkey, The Americone Dream and Cherry Garcia to name a few. The ..."
Mt Abraham
Norwich University
"Norwich is just down the road a bit from The Roxbury! Our house is a great place for famili..."
Windridge At Teela-Wooket
"Camp for kids that boasts tennis, soccer, swimming, horseback riding and all things outdoors..."
Three Mountain Cafe
"Our friends, Julie and Paul, own this great coffee shop in Mad River Green. In addition to ..."
Alpine Limousine
"If you are in town for a show, would love to do a brewery tour, etc. Call Mike at Alpine Li..."
Cornerstone Burger Co.
"Brand new (2016) place in Northfield for excellent cocktails and beers ... plus, burgers, of..."
The Blue Stone
"Awesome pizza and nice atmosphere ... totally renovated place. Used to be Ake's Den and bef..."
American Flatbread
"Best of the in and outdoors - yummy pizza made to order over a huge wood fire. Great for fa..."
Falls General Store
"Great little general store in Northfield - great for finding that last minute bottle of wine..."
Clearwater Sports
"Great place to rent kayaks for a day on the Mad River!"
Roxbury Country Store
"Our local store - great for last minute items or gas!"
City Farmers Market
"The Mad River farmer's market is huge but we prefer this one in Montpelier. More veggies, f..."
East Warren Community Market
"Excellent option that is a bit closer to The Roxbury. Just at the bottom of Roxbury Mountai..."
Warren Falls
"Great place to go swimming!"
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Roxbury, Central Vermont / Sugarbush / Mad River Valley

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
President Week
17 Feb 2017 - 24 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£777
for 2 nights
From
£283
£1,954
 
 
Memorial Weekend 2017
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,060
for 3 nights
From
£283
 
 
July 4th 2017
30 Jun 2017 - 4 Jul 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,344
for 4 nights
From
£283
 
 
Labor Day 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,060
for 3 nights
From
£283
 
 
Columbus Weekend 2017
6 Oct 2017 - 9 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,060
for 3 nights
From
£283
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£690
for 2 nights
From
£240
From
£283
Thu,Fri,Sat
£1,780
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £40
Refundable Damage Deposit £400
Cleaning Fee £120 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £79
Tax Rate 9.0%

We allow dogs because we are dog owners ourselves. However, we ask that you pick after your pet!! Unless your pet goes into the woods - we expect ALL waste to be picked up. It is not acceptable to allow your pet to go all over the lawn and/or driveway. You will not receive all of your deposit back if you do not clean up after your pet!

Please tell us a bit about yourself and your party when you do a request for booking. We like to know who our potential guests are ... where they are coming from, how many people, ages, etc. We allow a maximum capacity of 8 adults. If there are additional guests (i.e. children), we are happy to discuss. However, we are very reluctant to agree to 10+ adults as we do not want people sleeping on floors or our furniture. If you are looking to have 20 of your closest friends come for a weekend slumber party - this is not the place for you.

We do have security cameras OUTSIDE only. This is to maintain the security of our property (i.e to see who is entering and leaving while the house is unoccupied, etc.) and is also for the protection of our guests. However, please be advised that if any unauthorized additional guests or animals occur (for example, 6 renters are due to arrive and 12 cars show up), you will be charged an additional $100/per night per guest and/or animal and be at risk for removal from our house as this constitutes breaking our rental agreement. So, please, just don't do it. We ask that you respect our house and our rules and we will respect your privacy and your time away in Vermont.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Roxbury in Vermont

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bathroom attached to Master Bedroom
    Guest Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Guest Bathroom for guest bedrooms
    Powder Room - Toilet , Powder room on main level
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties