HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Copake Lakeview Ranch: near Hillsdale, Hudson NY, Catamount Ski; Tanglewood

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Lakefront 2 level cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, sweeping lake & mountain view

see better & more photos of property here (copy-paste-edit in browser): tinyurl DOT com/jdjlo3z

Elegant and tranquil 2 level lakefront retreat, the perfect escape for any season. 3 bedrooms, 2 bath plus a powder room, gourmet kitchen with island counter, cathedral ceilings, large deck facing lake and spectacular Taconic mountain range + small screened porch. Breathtaking lake and mountain views from the open-format living room, dining rm, kitchen and bedrooms. 50 ft private lake frontage with dock.

Same distance to NYC as Hunter Mountain ( or Bear Mountain ski resorts, and much closer than Killington, Stowe, Mount Snow, or Jay Peak. Only 10-25 min drive to either Catamount Ski ( Area or Ski Butternut ( resort. Within 35-45 min drive to the heart of the Berkshires ( Jiminy Peak ( Great Barrington MA, Lenox MA, and historic Stockbridge MA.

In the Summer enjoy Tanglewood Music Festival & Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, many other live performances in the Berkshires.

Apple picking, pear picking in the Fall makes for a delicious weekend, with multiple orchards in the vicinity.

Check out or indulge your senses at The Canyon Ranch SPA in Lenox MA.

In order to confirm your booking, renter and owner will need to comply with the housing association rules & regulations for rentals, which require a notification to the management office. This required notice must contain "...A copy of the lease, including the names, addresses and phone numbers of the renters." (p.7, paragraph 2 of the Rules & Regulations, attached). You can review these Rules & Regulations, as well as other information about Taconic Shores Properties Owners Association:

More Details

Vanya Chekhov
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, German, Russian, Mandarin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 September, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fantastic place to unwind and reconnect with nature: huge oak trees frame the view of the lake & mountains in the distance. Birds, wind, and occasional fish splashing in the lake below are the only things one can hear from the spectacular, oversized deck abutting the huge living room with a full wall of windows. Wood burning stove for charm, and all modern, recently installed amenities in kitchen for convenience, together made it a perfect weekend with friends.
May 2016
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Copake in Copake

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Half Bathroom -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bdrm - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • forests
  • pond
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • ski
  • swimming
Use of lake/pond on Robinson Pond in beautiful Copake, NY. House is on 1/4 area in a rustic setting. Swimming, kayaks and canoes are allowed on the lake. The generous windows on the back side of the property allow the light to pour into the kitchen, living, dinning and bedrooms, allowing you to enjoy the beautiful landscape during any season! Even in the rain, this property is a peaceful oasis providing the perfect balance between comfort and luxury. During the colder months, gather around the timeless wood burning stove to play cards or chess in the cozy living area. You will find that this home is exceptionally well designed with everything you need at your fingertips. Convenient electrical outlets make it easy to use your computer while spending time around the kitchen island. Great for trying out new recipes while enjoying good company!(During the fall after paying a visit to the local apple orchard try your hand a baking a warm apple pie while enjoying the enchanting fall foliage!) Directly across the lake from a natural wildlife preserve, take in the peaceful sounds of nature. Both downstairs bedrooms offer a picturesque view of the lake. In the morning take in the beautiful sunrise without leaving your bed. Watch the sun rise over the trees as the morning fog rolls off the lake. This view is something you won't soon forget!


Good! 3.9/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
0% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Copake Lakeview Ranch: near Hillsdale, Hudson NY, Catamount Ski; Tanglewood
average rating of 3.857143 based on 8 reviews

Beautiful and homey

  • 5 of 5

This is a great property, inside and out, and Vanya made renting it as seamless as possible. We had some very minor issues with wifi and plumbing fixtures, but he was super quick to respond to our messages and all was resolved. Highly recommended all in all.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Worst Rental Experience Ever

  • 1 of 5

I would love to review this property which seemed fine from the setting, but unfortunately we did not stay there because the house was not ready for us upon arrival.

At around 1:30 pm on the day of our arrival the property owner began emailing me to explain the house may not be ready as the current tenants would not leave. I reasonably responded that we could hang around the outside or drive around until it was ready but that the house needed to be cleaned. He stated that he understood my need for a clean house. Then at 4pm on the day of our arrival he wrote me this email:

"The prior group is leaving now, but - I am sorry, cleaner left and cannot return today, only tomorrow.

I asked the prior group to clean up after themselves.

You may have to change the bedsheets yourselves, I apologize for that. There are clean linens in downstairs bedroom closet, and maybe some also in the dryer."

I was shocked by the indifference and attitude of this email, but at this point we entered the house, sadly, to find it filthy. There were crumbs everywhere, filth in the sinks and toilets. Counter tops hadn't been wiped down. There was food and egg yolks on the stove top. There was trash in all of the trash cans and overflowing empty vodka bottles outside. There were dirty dishes in the sinks and wet towels and sheets piled on the floors. It was impossible to tell what beds had clean or dirty sheets and the showers were grimy and hair covered. I had about 5 hours worth of cleaning ahead of me if we were to stay.

I called the owner and asked for a full refund since there was no way we were going to stay in the house in this shape nor start cleaning it at 4pm on July 4th.

At first, he said ok. He then tried to say go to a hotel and we will clean it tomorrow.

This was not an option as we were traveling with kids and a dog and it was a holiday.

We decided to return home.

We have not received the refund he promised, nor any refund for that matter, not for the first 2 days, the cleaning fee, nothing. The owner will not respond to my emails. We have rented many homes over the years from Home Away and though some have had many imperfections I have never written a negative review. I have also given this owner several days to rectify the vacation he ruined for my family. I can't imagine how he will respond to this review, but I can assure you it will be creative, manipulative, and untrue. Stay away from this property if you prefer to deal with ethical human beings.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Once in a while a renter comes along who asks for (and gets) a discount, then books a DIY vacation home expecting a 5-star resort, tries to treat owner-host like domestic help (formulating requests as commands, "you will..." do this or that...), and generally behaves as if the world owes her a huge debt of gratitude. Suzanne Riva was one such guest. True, we had an issue with prior renter's not departing on time and messing up the turnover schedule. Also true is that Suzanne was immediately offered several possible ways to resolve the situation, address her grievance, and salvage her vacation; she rejected them all. Among other ways of showing her detachment from reality, Suzanne expected her requested refund to "hit her account" by 9am on July 5th, the morning after a national & bank holiday, the very hour banks re-open from holiday. When this very "realistic" deadline wasn't met, Suzanne filed a resolution dispute with VRBO, submitting her own photographs of the "filthy conditions" she described so graphically. Alas, VRBO ruled, on the basis of Suzanne's own photos and other case circumstances, in favor of the owner-host. This decision to reject Suzanne's complaints and "evidence" by an independent arbitration agent, in the resolution procedure which Suzanne herself initiated, is what I have to offer in response to Suzanne's "fair & balanced" review. Thank you, Suzanne, for sparing me the trouble to respond, as you put it, in a "creative, manipulative" way; the independent arbitration agent VRBO, who guards guests' interests from unscrupulous & manipulative owners-hosts, ruled your complaint groundless and your photographic "evidence" unsatisfactory. Dozens of prior renters, who left overwhelmingly positive reviews on this and on other vacation booking websites, also beg to differ. Nevertheless, I sincerely wish you a better vacation experience next time, at some other house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Serene lake view, large deck, house full of lihgt

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic place to unwind and reconnect with nature: huge oak trees frame the view of the lake & mountains in the distance. Birds, wind, and occasional fish splashing in the lake below are the only things one can hear from the spectacular, oversized deck extending from the huge living room with a wall of windows overlooking the lake. Wood burning stove for charm, and all modern, recently installed amenities in kitchen for convenience, helped to make a perfect weekend with friends.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice and Peaceful

  • 3 of 5

The house is nice and peaceful and we enjoyed most of our stay.

The listing description is accurate. The living room is great for group activities, the kitchen is spacious and well equipped and the private beach is well kept and shaded.

It appears that the review from Aug2015 didn't help, and the living room AC still doesn't cut it during hot afternoons, Also, some parts of the living room weren't clean enough in our opinion.

The interaction with the owner on our complaints was a very unpleasant experience and is the main reason for our rating of the place. Future renters are advised to properly document (with pictures) any complaints you might have, otherwise your complaints are likely to be ignored.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Consider additional facts about this particular guest & rental: 1) guest booked & paid for 2 people, but in reality at least 6 people used the house; 2) guest asked for & received a discount at the time of initial booking; 3) upon arrival, guest sent a message via the booking website about being "very happy" with the place; no complaints were mentioned during his 2-day stay; 4) AFTER DEPARTURE, guest called owner and asked for additional discount or refund, motivating his request by the allegations presented in the review; 5) owner refused to accommodate request without any factual support for the allegations & given its timing & given its contradictory nature to guest's own initial positive review; 6) guest threatened to post a negative review if partial refund isn't granted; 7) owner refused to accommodate blackmail. ... now you have a more complete context & framework to judge the usefulness of this review.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

A lovely stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family spent a weekend here a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed the house. We were there for peak foliage and the view of the lake with the fall colors was incredible! A very cozy yet spacious house- everyone had a comfortable stay. The owner was very easy and super nice to deal with especially since we booked the house last minute. The neighborhood was really pretty and unique, it was so nice to walk around and see the lake and all of the interesting cottages.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Lake House Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Spent a weekend here and couldn't be happier! The house was lovely, very spacious upstairs, with 1-large master upstairs and 2-bedrooms below. Excellent amount of seating, dishes/glassware and the kitchen layout helped a lot as there are multiple prep/wash areas. We spent much of our time grilling on the porch and out in the backyard which goes downhill to a small dock. The lake has a couple of beaches, there is one located just a 4-5 minute walk down the road with excellent sand and a swim/diving platform, also great kayaking and fishing. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary
Other Activities:

<p><strong>Top Thing to do in City:</strong></p><ul><li>Swim in Lake.</li><li>Antique shopping in Copake, Hudson and Great Barrington.</li><li>Golf courses.</li><li>Vineyards nearby.</li><li>Biking, hiking, horseback riding.</li></ul><p><strong>Top Thing to do in Budget:</strong></p><ul><li>Indoor swimming nearby.</li><li>Visit Great Barrington and Stockbridge for shopping and dinning.</li><li>View beautiful fall colors.</li><li>Use fireplace and sit by the fire.</li><li>Tangewood music for summer and ski nearby in winter.</li></ul><p><strong>Top Thing to do in Family:</strong></p><ul><li>Swimming, kayaking and canoeing.</li><li>Bike riding.</li><li>Golf, miniature golf and go carts.</li><li>Indoor roller blading nearby.</li><li>Taconic State Park nearby.</li></ul>

The area is rich with things to do!

* Enjoy the enchanting Bish Bash Falls, swimming pond and miles of bike and hiking trails at Taconic State Park.

* Restaurants

* Antique shopping in historic Hudson and Great Barrington (20 mins away)

* Wine tasting at the local vineyard

* Apple picking at the local orchard

* Music at Tanglewood

* Spa accommodations at Canyon Ranch

* Historic Stockbridge and the Shakers Village, are all just a short drive away.

* Golfing at Copake golf club and surrounding golf clubs open to the public.

* Indoor swimming facilities, gym, outdoor tennis courts and a track are very close by at the local high school (Open to residents and non-residents)


killington bear mountain jay peak tanglewood hunter mountain stowe mount snow jiminy peak. ski resort great barrington ma. ski report catamount ski butternut ski jacob's pillow hunter mountain ski resort ski rental. weather chatham taconic state park ski rentals weather hudson ny .

falcon ridge folk festival catamount ski area ski mountains skiing in massachusetts. jiminy peak ski resort skiing in nj. ski massachusetts poconos ski ski lodges massachusetts ski resorts gore mountain ski resort hotels hudson ny. skiing resort ski resorts in massachusetts catskills skiing weather millerton ny hotel chatham hotels chatham ski catamount. catamount ski resort weather amenia ny catskill ski resorts weather hillsdale weather egremont south egremont weather austerlitz ny. rent chatham ski chatham weather copake weather catamount rentals hudson ny weather millerton hotels copake hotels hillsdale hotel. amenia ny hotel millerton hotel millerton ny hotel egremont hotel hillsdale rentals chatham rentals millerton ny rent egremont hotels millerton ny hotels amenia ny hotels millerton hotels egremont bike chatham kayak chatham. house near catamount rentals catamount.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Copake, Berkshires

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £7 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £111
Additional Guest Fee £7.4 per person per night
Pet Fee £148
Damage Insurance £73.26

guest might need to adjust heat and turn on/off water (cold or hot) upon arrival & before departure.

Heat: thermostat is on the wall opposite kitchen counter. adjust temperature only. do NOT turn off completely. adjust temperature to 50F upon departure.

Cold water: downstairs in the Utility room, along right wall, vertical pipe behind countertop, the lever valve is on the pipe at the countertop level; gently turn the lever 90 degrees to switch cold water on/off.

Hot water: turn on/off the electric switch (circuit breaker) located on the wall at eye level in far left corner of Utility room, above the hot water tank (large metal cylinder standing on the floor in the far left corner of Utility room).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals