Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautifully restored 18th Century House

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,506 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 bedroom house

Comfortable 4 bedroom detached property, peacefully set amid surrounding vineyards of the Minervois region of La Redorte ,with large well maintained garden,and two swimming pools(pool open June to September), close to the Canal du Midi. Local shops including large supermarket within easy walking distance. Excellent restaurant nearby on canal du Midi of La Redorte.

The medieval town of Carcassone and Roman town of Narbonne 30 minutes by car.

Sandy beaches 45 minutes. Spain 1.5 hrs by car.

Marseille 3 hrs/Pont du gard/Montpellier 1.5 hrs.

Fully restored house with 4 bedrooms and additional double sofa bed in upstairs sitting room providing overall sleeping for 8. Ground floor. Sitting room/dining area with combi TV/video and CD Hi-Fi. Log fireplace. Kitchen with oven/grill, fridge/ freezer, coffee maker, toaster and kettle. Shower room with handbasin, WC and washing machine.

Enclosed terrace leading to 1st floor main bedroom with large double bed with small private sitting room area /sejour. First floor. 3 bedrooms, 1 double and 2 twin bedded rooms.

Bathroom with bath (shower over), handbasin and WC. This property has duvets. Linen and towels can be provided. Beautiful large private and mature gardens with patio and shady pergola. Garden furniture and barbecue.

Children's swing area and ping pong table. Plunge pool and swimming poo5in use ist June to 30 th September) l Private off road parking. Three adult bicycles available at the property for use, as well as WI-FI,by prior arrangement..

More Details

Property Manager
Alastair +Emma Buchanan
Member since: 2004
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 July, 2018

About Alastair +Emma Buchanan

Semi retired.

Alastair +Emma Buchanan purchased this house in 1999

Why Alastair +Emma Buchanan chose World

Mainly because of the great Trout fishing at the end of the lane, and because it is very private ,with wonderful gardens, On the edge of the village and yet only a two minute walk to the shops.

What makes this house unique

The swimming pool and the garden and only 40 minutes from the Med !

Guestbook comments from the manager

Just a few words to express our satisfaction on the way our holiday was handled by La Vie en Rose very professional in organising all aspects of our holiday.

The house was wonderful, clean and tastefully furnished ,however the garden and terrace area was where we spent most of the time .The plunge pool was a great plus as on some days we just wanted to stay at the house and not drive to the beach.Good local food and wine and the Tuesday market in Olonzac a real must ,full of local produce .

Having a meal on the terrace with figs just in reach hanging off the trees was somtimes the reason to not move at all ,the call of the birds put you in to Siesta mode!!!

We did unfortunately have an accident with one of our cars ,and will always be eternally grateful for Alastair in sorting out the medical and car insurance paperwork.

We will be back this year for the Feria at the beginning of May.

A bientot !
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house around the World around the

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1506 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Each bathroom has a WC Shower room has a washing machine/shower/basin/view of garden. Bathroom /first floor/bath with shower/basin/view of river.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • All bedrooms have hanging space and chest of drawers.
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • 1 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • caves
  • churches
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

69% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Beautifully restored 18th Century House
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 14 reviews

A beautiful French house oozing with French chic , character in a natural green environment

  • 5 of 5

The house has a lovely ambience full of rustic charm complete with cobwebs and hidden hideaways. It has a lovely swimming pool with lots of outside places to eat and enjoy moments of solitude , indoors the kitchen is bijou , it has a lovely eating area which is outside the main house but has a roof and walls so you can keep cool and maybe use in the winter months, however if you do rent in the winter months then indoor seating may be a little tight for a large group . The house is ideally situated with regard to being near a bakers supermarket and post office. You can walk to the canal midi and there is a lovely restaurant canal side, if you like rustic charm and French village life then this is the property for you , no frills but plenty of charm . The owner is very helpful and any problems will get back to you straight away .

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Les Glycines;enjoy the rest of your holiday !!!! Alastair
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

A pleasant little house in gardens that should be delightful but both were very much uncared for - it seemed not to be set up for a winter booking at all. The house hadn't been cleaned properly for ages and the garden appeared to have been abandoned since summer. The electricity supply wasn't up to the demands of heating at the same time as, eg, using the oven or the iron.

As was mentioned in May 2017, there is no 'book of the house' and so we had no information such as how to reconnect the power or operate the washing machine. The owner is aware of our findings so we hope that he will address all these issues before others use the place. If they are attended to then the house could revert to being a great summer location - especially given its great outdoor facilities of pool and numerous arbours.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your message and observations concerning your stay at Les Glycines. The weather and gardens in December are much like they are in England with strong winds blowing leaves all over the place giving a possible impression of neglect, which is not the case ,as the cleaning lady's husband had been in a few days prior to your arrival, albeit Les Glycines in winter looks a long way from the sunny days around the pool ! While I can't apologise for the weather ,I completely understand your frustration and inconvenience at having a power cut and not having an immediate solution combined with cleaning as rightly pointed out ,which was not to a sufficient standard This and other important observations will be dealt with ,as customer satisfaction is very important to us As a gesture of goodwill and if you are able to come when the weather is at it's best, we do offer special discounts for returning guests Kind regards Alastair Buchanan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stockton on Tees

Great place for an extended family to stay

  • 4 of 5

Not the best of starts with rainwater coming through the ground floor bathroom ceiling. Alastair was there very quickly to get it sorted and from then on we were blessed with fine weather. The house was ideal for our purposes and the garden is perfect for children to explore and for adults to get some me time from the kids ! We used the pool daily and as the temperature rose to the mid 30's it became an essential part of our day.The house is at the end of a quiet cul de sac with very little outside noise.La Redorte is ideally situated for exploring the Canal du Midi area and Carcassonne itself.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as advertised. Very disappointing. Lovely location though.

  • 3 of 5

Images show a beautiful swimming pool and text describes that there is also a plunge pool. There is no mention anywhere in the house or on the ad that they will both be covered and unavailable for use until June. When raised with the owner (who told us this two days before our arrival) he said it was the norm for the area as it wasn't warm enough to swim in May. Not what we found at all, the weather was beautiful and the pool was the main reason for us booking the property.

The three adult bicycles that were suggested as being available were far from road worthy.

Beds weren't made when we arrived and we couldn't find a duvet cover for one of the double beds anywhere.

The hot water wasn't on, requiring us to call the owner and be directed to move furniture to find the switch.

There wasn't any information on the house left out anywhere.

Both toilet seats were broken and the level of cleanliness wasn't particularly high.

  • Review Submitted: 09-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Were very sorry that you did not find the property up to your expectations. Our reviews over the years? show that les Glycines is a much sought after location ,and and as you rightly say ,you did some good weather :not the case a week before or after as at this time of the year the weather is ,variable ,hence the price difference between £70 / night and £180/night in full season for up to eight people; For guests expecting swimming temperatures ;pools need to be heated at this time of the year ,and this will be mentioned in future Cleaning and general issues ,can only dealt with , as noted in our booking details ,if guests tell us . ;The only notification was how to put the water on which we explained very quickly. As a gesture of goodwill we invite you back when the weather is hot enough for swimming with a 30 %discount for the inconvenience you experienced. Alastair and Emma Buchanan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tranquil, traditional holiday home

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely home. It was well equipped and very homely. The grounds are beautiful and lush and the swimming pool was gorgeous for cooling off. We enjoyed eating all our meals in the shaded outdoor dining area, and the children loved the swings and table tennis. La Redorte is a friendly village with a great supermarket, lovely restaurant by the Canal du Midi (10 minutes walk away) and great bakery not to mention beautiful lanes and countryside to walk in. We spent our holiday exploring the pretty villages and towns, swimming in the local lake(there is an inflatable assault course here which the boys loved), visiting caves and cooling off in rivers and rock-pools in the mountains- wonderful, thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

jardin luxuriant

  • 5 of 5

nous avons passé une très agréable semaine dans un endroit merveilleux. On avait l'impression d'être seul au monde. la maison est bien aménagée et le jardin est un régal. le patio également très utilisé. Je recommande vivement cette location. Très bon rapport qualité prix.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.
Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
La Redorte
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
400 Metres
Le Rivassel
Nearest Beach
30 Kilometres
Narbonne Plage
Car: recommended

20 minutes from Carcassonne and 30 minutes from Narbonne/ Mediterranean beaches. Direct flights from U.K. Excellent base to visit Nimes, Montpellier and Cathare region. Pont du Gard, Avignon and Camargue are within reach. LOCAL SWIMMING AND BEACHES – Les Glycines La Redorte. The closest Swimming Pool is at Peyriac which is on the way to Minervois (5-10 Mins by car) (turn right on the main road from the property) This is a large open air pool with small toddlers pool attached and costs in the region of 3-5 Euros. Lac de Jouarres – 5-10 mins by car (turn left on main road from property towards Olonzac) This is a large freshwater lake with man made beach and swimming, with restaurant, bar and in the evenings sometimes there are bands playing on the bandstand. There is also another restaurant nearby which is family run – towards Peyriac past the old supermarket. Wi-Fi available.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house around the World,

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
2 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
1 Nov 2018 - 14 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
16 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Available all year.
You can pay 20% deposit only and the balance eight weeks prior to arrival.
Midweek bookings accepted.
Christmas and New year breaks available.

2017 Rental rates are from £300(long weekend) to £1200.00 /week (High season)
A refundable security deposit of £200 is required when making a booking.

If you would like a price for your required dates, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will respond as soon as possible.
Payment is accepted in Euro by bank transfer.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals