HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Bayside Getaway; Remodeled 2 Bdrm 1 Bath Cottage steps from bay and beach

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue

Overview

About the property

2 Bdrm 1 Bath Cottage steps from bay and beach with deck and view of the bay

Bayside Getaway is a nicely renovated 2 bedroom year-round vacation cottage located in the heart of Sodus Point, NY offering easy access to everything you love about vacationing here; Sodus Bay, marinas, parks, playgrounds, ice cream stands, restaurants, Lake Ontario, the beach, fishing pier and lighthouses are just steps from the home.

Bayside Getaway will sleep 5 people with a queen bed in the 1st bedroom while the 2nd bedroom has a twin bed and a double bed.

NO SMOKING / NO PETS.

The newly renovated kitchen includes electric stove/oven, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and all the typical dishes, pots and pans, silverware, etc. (no dishwasher). Some of the other amenities include: TVs with built-in DVD player in living room and both bedrooms, collection of assorted DVD movies, basic cable, Wi-Fi, board games, laundry washer/dryer and a 10’ x 16’ deck on the front with seating and gas grill with a view of the bay. There is a backyard fire ring for bonfires and s'mores. The cottage has heat for year-round use though no air-conditioning. However, there are ceiling fans in the 2 bedrooms and living room plus a few extra fans for those warmer days.

This cottage is adjacent to our larger “Bay View at the Point” vacation home (VRBO #650379) which sleeps up to 15 -- perfect for large family reunions, etc.

If you like winter fun, snow mobile trails abound in the area and the bay is highly regarded for ice fishing, or go snowshoeing along the beach/bay or in the nearby parks.

Traveler(s) is/are required to provide their own bed sheets, pillow cases, towels, paper & soap products, and any other items to complete their vacation stay as well as departure cleaning unless otherwise arranged prior.

CHECK OUT THE MID WEEK DISCOUNTS DURING SPRING AND FALL.

The Village of Sodus Point includes a historic lighthouse, museum (free summer Sunday concerts on the lawn), fishing pier, several marinas, charter fishing boats, 2 playgrounds, skate park, ball field, public beach and an adorable toddler beach (both with lifeguards), restaurants, ice cream stands, gift shop, church, and convenience market.

Nearby amenities include the beautiful Sodus Bay Heights Golf Course, wineries, Chimney Bluffs State Park (a must see if you've never been there before), farm stands and so much more.

NO HOUSE PARTIES, PROM PARTIES, WEDDINGS, TENTS OR CAMPING TRAILERS/VEHICLES PERMITTED ON THE COTTAGE PROPERTY.

More Details

Owner
Ted Welter
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

Can be rented with our adjacent and larger “Bay View at the Point” vacation home (VRBO #650379) which sleeps up to 15 -- perfect for large family reunions, etc.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Easy house to keep clean - enjoyed the deck, great location for all activities, nice cheery décor, comfy beds, neat retro temp appliances retained nice 40's style home, love the small town atmosphere, love the trolley stop playground and beach. We have had a very nice time here and we are lucky with the weather. Good size house for 4-5 with nice vistas.
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on Sodus Point on Sodus

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Max. adults: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Traveler(s) to provide their own bed sheets, pillow cases, towels, paper & soap products.
  • Traveler(s) to self-clean the home prior to departure unless otherwise arranged. Optional cleaning service available for $65.
  • No tents or campers permitted on the cottage property.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Ceiling fan, TV with built-in DVD player
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Ceiling fan and TV with built-in DVD player
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is a marina across the street that rents slips by the day, week or season for boats up to 24'.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

Bayside Getaway; Remodeled 2 Bdrm 1 Bath Cottage steps from bay and beach
average rating of 4.882353 based on 19 reviews
5

Very nice little house close to the lake

  • 5 of 5

My family loved our little vacation time in Sodus point we would definitely recommend the bayside getaway to anyone

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic, beautiful vacation getaway home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week and couldn't ask for more. The owner was very pleasant to work with. The house was beautiful and the decor amazing. It was so easy to keep clean and everything we needed to cook and all was provided for us. We really enjoyed our visit so much more than we have in the past with having the privacy and not having to stay in a hotel or with family! We had a great stay and I would recommend anyone who is interested to stay. I am actually looking forward to our next trip in the future and most definitely will be coming back to stay at this home again. Thank you again so much for an amazing stay!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Sara and come back again any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenacres, FL
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5

I had a great stay at Bayside Getaway. The owner, Ted, was a delight to work with before, during and after my stay. He answered all of my questions via email and text in a prompt fashion. Since I visited in the winter and it was freezing and snowing, I did not go to the beach which is a short walk. I could see the bay from the kitchen window and off the deck. The house had everything I could have asked for. The only thing that was a pain was having to pack sheets and pillowcases and purchase paper products which I did food shopping in Webster on my way into Sodus. It was clearly spelled out what I would need and it turned out fine. The 2 bedrooms are of ample size. The bathroom was a good size with a good shower. There was a full size washer and dryer, always very helpful and a table with seating for 5. The couch and loveseat in the living room were very comfortable and I actually slept on the couch for half my stay as I found it more comfortable than the bed. The individual thermostats were useful and I got a lot of use out of the fireplace heater. The only criticism I can think of is if you are traveling with kids, I think there should be another TV in one of the bedrooms. Also, there are only about 12-15 channels and it would be helpful to have more of a selection in that regard. There were DVDs and games. A $200 damage deposit is required and it was refunded very promptly after my stay. It was a great week at Bayside Getaway and I hope to return in a few weeks.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: UPDATE 4/1/17: We just added 2 new TVs with built-in DVD players, one in each bedroom.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A very nice stay for a family visit

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Bayside Getway for over a month in the dead of winter so we could welcome our Granddaughter to the family. It was perfect for just the two of us and we even had other family members stay for a week.

The cottage was very neat, clean and organized and in working order. Even though it was very cold outside the heating kept it nice and warm. We were comfortable and cozy which made for a nice visit with family in Rochester.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and congrats again on the new granddaughter. Thanks for taking such great care of the place and please come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice little cottage

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Bayside Getaway for 4 nights; it was perfect for what we needed, with all the comforts of home in a small package. It was a nice location close to the lake and was a perfect base for taking walks around the area. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We booked last minute because of a cancelation and were afraid we wouldn't get a place. Ted answered the phone and 15 minutes later we were booked. He was very accommodating, he even texted a local tour going on that weekend. House was exactly like advertised. 5 min walk to cute town, 5 min walk to beach and lots of things to do in the area. House was very clean and really cozy. Thanks again for your hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

If you want to bring your boat there are slip rentals within 100 yards from the cottage that offer daily or weekly slip rental, as well as a place to put your boat in daily if preferred. You can also rent boats, kayaks, etc.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage on Sodus Point, Lake Ontario

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Memorial Day Weekend
26 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£336
for 3 nights
From
£112
From
£112
Fri,Sat,Sun
£530
 
 
Late Spring
29 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£220
for 3 nights
From
£73
From
£104
Fri,Sat
£530
 
 
Early Summer
17 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
4 night minimum stay
£356
for 4 nights
From
£89
From
£108
Fri,Sat
£599
 
 
July 4th Week
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£889
for 7 nights
£889
 
 
Summer
8 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£684
for 7 nights
£684
 
 
Late Summer
26 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
£572
for 6 nights
From
£89
From
£108
Fri,Sat
£599
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
1 Sep 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£336
for 3 nights
From
£112
From
£112
Fri,Sat,Sun
£599
 
 
Early Fall
4 Sep 2017 - 5 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£220
for 3 nights
From
£73
From
£107
Fri,Sat
£522
 
 
Columbus Day Weekend
6 Oct 2017 - 8 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£322
for 3 nights
From
£107
From
£107
Fri,Sat,Sun
£522
 
 
Fall
9 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£139
for 2 nights
From
£70
From
£93
Fri,Sat
£441
 
 
Late Fall
1 Nov 2017 - 21 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£124
for 2 nights
From
£62
From
£77
Fri,Sat
£317
£769
 
 
Thanksgiving
22 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£230
for 3 nights
From
£77
£317
£769
 
 
Winter Early
26 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£124
for 2 nights
From
£62
From
£77
Fri,Sat
£317
£769
 
 
Christmas & New Years
23 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£244
for 3 nights
From
£81
£383
£769
 
 
Winter - Late
2 Jan 2018 - 15 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
£124
for 2 nights
From
£62
From
£77
Fri,Sat
£317
£769
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £154.61

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Ask about optional exit cleaning.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals