HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath, Private Heated Pool & Large Deep Water Dock, Fun Tiki Bar

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

Our Gulf Beach Is Pristine, With Shelling, Fishing, Or Just Relaxing.

Idle Hour is a charming single family home with three bedrooms, two and one half baths. The home has a private heated pool and large dock. Bring your boat - up to 30'. Catch your dinner right off your dock.The home has a large screened-in porch that overlooks the canal and pool. Enjoy the fun and colorful Tiki bar and a cool beverage that is located poolside. This is what Florida living is all about!!!

Property Manager
Suzie Neyland
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
6 February, 2017


3.1/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath, Private Heated Pool & Large Deep Water Dock, Fun Tiki Bar
average rating of 3.142857 based on 7 reviews

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 4th stay at Idle Hour and we again had a great time. We docked our 17 foot Boston Whaler right behind the house in the protected lagoon. The boat dock has power, lights and a hose to wash down the boat. The weather was very nice so we got a lot of use out of the pool and tiki bar. I would recommend renting a golf cart to get around the island-Brett Hicks will drop one off right at the house. The house was very clean, well equipped and the extra full size refrigerator in the tiki bar comes in handy. The screened porch on the back of the house is a good place to enjoy your morning coffee or bloody mary. The property manager Suzie and the owner were very easy to work with so we will be back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Rental!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year visiting Idle Hour for vacation. Another wonderful trip! We visited the resort a few times for dinner and took daily trip for Ice Cream. Our girls had awesome birthday and even saw several dolphins following the water taxi. We plan to be back soon!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lethbridge Alberta

Ok Home - Is not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

We booked this house for our family vacation February 2016. The home is advertised as 3 bedroom 2.5 bath but this is not true. The house is 2 bedroom 1.5 bath with a 3rd bedroom and bath under the house in the storm surge area. Access to this bedroom requires people to exit the house to have access to these areas. As we are a family with children this was extremely disconcerting to have one of our children not in the house with us at night. These details should have been disclosed in the advertising of the home. I would even venture that this bedroom are illegal under Florida state law. Very disappointed that these details were not properly disclosed in the advertisement.

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you feel that the home was misrepresented. To clarify, our website states that one guest bedroom is "poolside" and that the half bath is "poolside", indicating that these are ground level. In total, there are three bedrooms, two full baths and one half bath at the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Richmond, IN

Great outdoor space!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I spent the month of April in this house and experienced the best vacation of our lives. We hosted several family members and friends during this time. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the outside areas. The bar area and pool are perfect for relaxing, sunning and swimming. Many hours were spent fishing off the dock. We hardly ever went inside.

The layout of the house is convenient with a bathroom on every floor. Our kiddos didn't drip water through the house when swimming, and the bar frig was convenient for their drinks and snacks. Pool toys and beach towels and chairs are all provided.

While golf courses and other activities are all close by, the island offered more than enough to charm. The beach is less than five minutes from the house. The water was clear, warm and a gorgeous blue. Many shark teeth were found on the beach and the shelling was great! An Osprey nest was clearly visible from the top floor bedroom. We watched the parents carry fish to their babies all month long. Turtles, heron, and other seabirds are among the wildlife we saw.

The property manager and pool man were responsive, kind, and a delight to interact with.

  • Review Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Totally true

  • 1 of 5

The above renter's review is 100% accurate and we have photos and emails to support the claims.

Considering all the issues we experienced, we were great renter's, even left the house in better condition than we found it.

When someone doesn't respond to the fact that there are cockroaches in the kitchen drawers, what more can u say?

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Consider the source. I'm done with these people!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Idle Hour or Agony Hourr

  • 1 of 5

Just rented this home for 5 weeks, and, of all the homes that I have rented in the past 30 years, this one is the absolute worst. Please continue to read if you are contemplating renting this house.

1). Upon check in, we noticed that the cleaners had made one bed with a completely urine- stained mattress cover. After removing it, we discovered the the mattress was also stained with urine.

2). 80% of the lightbulbs were burnt out and, while a handy man did come and replace some of them, he never returned to replace all of them.

3). For a house that sleeps 6, there were: a). Only 2 pool chairs b). Only 6 bath towels c). Only 4 bath wash cloths d). No kitchen dish towels or rags and e). Not enough blankets for every bed. Again, after complaining to the property manager, these items were somewhat addressed.

4). The biggest issue was the lack of cleanliness ! The carpet areas were stained with pet urine, the couches in the living room were old and covered with stains. The couch upstairs was filthy and had several tears. The mattresses were old and dirty. The appliances were so old that the oven handle was completely rusted. The refrigerator door downstairs was covered in grime. The vents were caked with dust and filth.

5). COCKROACHES! With a week to go in our rental, we discovered cockroaches in they silverware drawers. We immediately informed the property manager who assured us that an exterminator would come out. 6 days later and no exterminator!

6). The Tv in the living room was the tiniest TV ever and, in addition, something was wrong with the internal speakers, which made the sound extremely tinny and difficult to hear.

This home was a true disappointment! While the property manager will tell you that it is one of the cheapest rentals on the island, that doesn't discount the fact that it was filthy and uncomfortable! In my opinion, the owner needs to put some money into a deep cleaning and new furniture/appliances.

On a positive note, the pool was very nice.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Two new milestones in the ten plus years we have been renting our island house. The first being the recipient of the nastiest, most mean spirited and extremely exaggerated review we have ever seen, and secondly, the worst renters we have ever dealt with. I won't address the many issues raised at this time, due to the lengthy response it would require. We do, however, urge anyone who may have been influenced by the review to please contact our on-island Property Manager through VRBO. Simply explain that you are interested in hearing the non-fiction version of our miserable experience with this renter. One final note: Many of our renters are 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and some longer repeat guests. For some strange reason, they didn't seem to have noticed all of these horrifying problems. Consider that anyone can write just about anything they choose. That doesn't make it fact. Thanks to all who have taken the time to read this response.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3


Nearest Airport
93 Miles
Tampa or Ft. Myers, FL
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Rum Bay Restaurant/On island
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Palm Island Transit
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Rum Bay Restaurant/On Island
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Gulf of Mexico, Palm Island
Car: not necessary

Idle Hour is a charming single family home on Don Pedro/Palm Island. The island is only accessible by car ferry or personal boat. Enjoy your private heated pool, large dock for catching your dinner and a whimsical pool side Tiki bar. This is where you leave the rest of the world behind!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Palm Island, Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £60
Departure Clean £174
Refundable Damage Deposit £401
Tax Rate 12.0%
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Palm Island in the Florida

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Outdoor Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • Master Bathroom-Full Bath With Shower Guest Bathroom-Full Bath with Tub and Shower One Half Bathroom-Poolside
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 Large Double Bed
    Guest - 1 Double Bed
    Guest-Poolside - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Master Bedroom-Queen Bed Guest Bedroom-Double Guest Bedroom/Poolside-Queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Our little island is laid back, quiet, relaxing and where family memories are made!

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties