HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Suwannee Riverfront (up to)4 Bed/4 Bath Home, Secluded Park Like Setting

People9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful (up to) 4 Bed & 4 Bath Home Next to our two additional Rental homes

Relax, enjoy nature’s beauty and have experiences that will last a life time.

Gather family and friends together at this beautifully secluded 3b/3b riverfront vacation house (w/4th bedroom & bath option), located on several acres of pristine riverfront & woodlands along the historic Suwannee River, only 40 miles west of Gainesville, Florida.

Enjoy a beautiful Florida boating or fishing vacation at this secluded luxury vacation home.

The Suwannee House is centrally located on Florida’s nature coast, situated on several acres (6+) of property in a park like setting with 400 feet of riverfront. From your comfortable and fully equipped home you can enjoy all that the Suwannee River, area springs and pristine countryside have to offer with such activities as fishing, scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming, tubing, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, bird watching, bicycling and horseback riding.

The area has the highest concentration of freshwater springs on earth, with two major rivers forming the northern and western boundaries of Gilchrist County and over 60 springs within or contiguous to the county.

It is easy to see why the peace and tranquility of Gilchrist County draws people from the concrete cities.

Also check out our second and third vacation home rental next door - "Riverbend" VRBO listing #380693 and "River Watcher" VRBO listing #1075587.

More Details

Owner
MARY GREIST
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2017

About MARY GREIST

WE ARE A LARGE FAMILY WITH GRANDCHILDREN GALORE. WHO ENJOY FUN FAMILY GATHERINGS INVOLVING A MYRIAD OF OUTDOOR ACTIVITIES.

MARY GREIST purchased this house in 2015

What makes this house unique

Experience "old Florida' from the comfort of a well appointed home and wooded surroundings wile taking in the sights and sounds as the Suwannee River flows past your overlooking deck and floating dock.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Bell in Gilchrist County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • FIRST BATHROOM IS PRIVATE FOR FIRST MASTER BEDROOM. SECOND BATHROOM IS PRIVATE FOR SECOND MASTER BEDROOM. THIRD BATHROOM IS ACCESSED VIA HALL OFF OF GREAT-ROOM WITH LOCKABLE HALL DOOR TO MAKE IT PRIVATE FOR THIRD BEDROOM. FOURTH BATHROOM IS PRIVATE WITH ITS OWN BATH. THIS UNIT CONTAINING BOTH BED AND BATH ARE IN A SEPARATE BUT CONNECTED STRUCTURE WITH A PRIVATE ENTRANCE AND PORCH OVERLOOKING THE RIVER.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 3 Bunk Bed , one twin over queen and a two twin bunk
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 2 Bunk Bed , HAS MICRO WAVE, MINI REFRIGERATOR, WASHER & DRIER, SPLIT A/C
  • FIRST MASTER BEDROOM SUITE WITH KING SIZE BED IN LARGE CARPETED MAIN ROOM , PERSONAL TV AND PRIVATE BATH (SHOWER). GREAT VIEWS OF THE RIVER. LOCATED ON THE SOUTH OR DOWNSTREAM SIDE OF THE HOME. SECOND MASTER BEDROOM SUITE ALSO HAS KING SIZE BED IN LARGE CARPETED MAIN ROOM, PERSONAL TV AND PRIVATE BATH (SHOWER), GREAT VIEWS OF THE RIVER. LOCATED ON THE NORTH OR UPSTREAM SIDE OF THE HOME. THIRD BEDROOM HAS PRIVATE HALL BATH (TUB SHOWER). A QUEEN BED WITH TWIN OVER AND BUNK BED (TWIN SIZE). THE OPTIONAL FOURTH BEDROOM IS A SEPARATE UNIT CONNECTED TO THE MAIN HOME VIA ELEVATED WALKWAY. HAS A MICROWAVE, MINI REFRIGERATOR, WASHER & DRYER, SPLIT A/C UNIT, BATH WITH SHOWER AND WHIRLPOOL TUB. HAS A DOUBLE AND BUNK BED (TWIN SIZE).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Things you need to bring: groceries, charcoal & lighter, bicycles, boats, paddling and fishing gear. Boat ramp next door is available for use. You have a great floating dock for use in boating, fishing or just sitting.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Suwannee Riverfront (up to)4 Bed/4 Bath Home, Secluded Park Like Setting
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful once you found it. Because the wireless phones loss their connection it was a little difficult to find. Inside was very clean and well kept. We did have a few issues. the house was not unlocked as promised. It took us quite a long time to get a hold of someone to find out how to get into the house. I really don't understand because they have 2 lock boxes on the out side of the house. We have to go down to the dock in order to connect to my wireless phone. I had to text my daughter who was on her way up there to call them. When I texted them I did not receive an answer. The Internet was not working. Was told they would have someone come look at it but we never saw anyone. My biggest complaint is that the house had roaches. We would see them at all times of the day. We had to leave everything in the refrigerator so that the roaches could not get into anything. Other than that my family had a wonderful time there. The river was beautiful and quite. We would love to make this a yearly vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad our guest had a wonderful time at the river house. We apologize for the mix up in opening, a problem communicating with housekeeping and our own cell service was weak that day as we were traveling. Our exterminator has addressed the bug issue and we are sorry there was a problem. The router was reset, it was down due to a storm. We would love to have guests return to enjoy another memorable time at the river.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful place If you are looking for an escape from the hustle and bustle of life.

  • 5 of 5

This was a great family vacation for our family of four! Our 9 and 7 year olds had a blast! We had a fabulous time and recommend it!!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful week on the Suwannee

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time. I want to book again for next year. Thanks for a great place to share great quality time with the family. Great food less than 10 minutes away at Akins, Boat ramp super handy, Wildlife plentiful, House layout very usable, etc.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jupiter, FL
2

Beautiful property- not peaceful or private

  • 2 of 5

Once we FINALLY found the house it looked amazing.However you lose GPS reception once you close. We had no problem getting in the first of the two houses( Riverbend house and Suwanee House) plus the bungalow we rented. However the second house wasn't ready upon arrival. We had also rented the bungalow which wasn't ready for us or unlocked and had to wait hours before we could enter. Once in the bungalow there wasn't any sheets and the room smelled of mold. Cell phone service is horrible at the house with any carrier and we unable to call anyone to let us in. Thank god the window in the bungalow was unlocked. HUGE PROBLEM: The owners just purchased a third home on the property which was rented by a unknown rowdy group during the weekend we were there. We could not access our boat house due to the 3rd house using our dock. This family had four wheelers as well which completely ruined the peaceful experience we were hoping for. The ATV's made a huge safety concern with OUR children trying to play in the yard. Said family ended up letting a minor who was drinking underage drive the four wheeler needless to say she lost control and drove through the wood fence and crashed resulting in a emergency trip to the hospital and their boat and crap all over the property until they returned to clean up.

The Suwanee house is gorgeous and comfortable. This is where we spent most of our time as a group. We cooked lots of meals in the kitchen and can safely say that there is huge coach problem in island of the kitchen. Ive lived in South Florida my entire life and dealt with my fair share of unwanted pests. There were GERMAN Coaches coming out the power outlets. We got up in the middle of the night to make a bottle and the roaches were all over the counter and backsplash. There is a beach but I would not alllow my dog to swim in the water let alone a child. The water is very dark and there is a swift current. I would like to say Mary the property owner was very sweet and accommodating. However there was a strange gentleman walking around the entire property in the early morning (7am) which was creepy and never told us who he was. I assume a property manager. We had a 12:00pm check out but we had someone pull up at 11:20pm to lock up. We felt so rushed packing in the morning and getting the house clean due to someone waiting that we left behind a few items like my sunglasses I had just received as my birthday gift.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that 4-wheelers were brought to the property without our permission. Steps are being taken to encourage renters to limit their dock activities to the floating dock in front of their cottage when another or both of our remaining two cottages are occupied. Respecting fellow renters includes sharing of the boat ramp and approach. The young man traversing the property is our maintenance man and daily checks for problems. He also ensures that trash does not build up near homes. The bug issue was addressed and methods of control changed and improved to discourage the problem. The Suwannee River is a spring fed river, its color being influenced by the tanen from leaf fall. The river flows to the Gulf at a slow steady speed. The extensive areas of natural Old Florida charm create a scenic and alluring fisherman's paradise. Weekends and holidays the river is busy with boating, jet skis, tubing and family fun as enjoyment of this setting takes place. With our three homes on the river we offer the convenience of vacations in modern comfortable homes located in rustic Old Florida beauty.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Even better than expected

  • 5 of 5

The home was even prettier in person and in a perfect setting, it is clean and had everything needed, the owners went above and beyond to make our stay great

  • Review Submitted: 27-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Palm Bay Florida
4

It was very well kept up and provided everything you needed.

  • 4 of 5

After we arrived we discovered the TV only worked in one bedroom. I called Mary and she said she would have her husband call and try to help us out. He never called back. :(

Also the screen on the back porch was ripped in several places, so it made it impossible to sit out there after dark because of the bugs. That was disappointing.

It was a lovely place. Nice and relaxing and quiet.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately TVs and their remotes do not always cooperate. Following our guests departure we replaced all 3 TVs with new flat screen with easy Direct TV remotes. All screening in question has been replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Bob's River Place
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
GAINESVILLE, FL
Nearest Barpub
17 Miles
ELLIE RAY'S
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
341
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
AKINS BAR-B-Q
Nearest Beach
50 Miles
CEDAR KEY, FL
Car: necessary

A visit to cedar key is a great road trip, get some world famous clam chowder at "Tony's" and shop in quaint downtown and on the pier.

Other destinations: Steinhatchee,

University of Florida in Gainesville - just 50 miles east - offers museums, performing arts, sports, etc.

Downtown Gainesville has a plethora of restaurants, shopping, art, art shows, concerts and performances at the "Hippodrome".

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £149.44
Pet Fee £56.04
Damage Deposit £112.08

SUWANNEE HOUSE HAS A 4TH BEDROOM OPTION OR "BUNGALOW" ATTACHED TO THE HOME VIA ELEVATED WALKWAY. THIS UNIT CAN BE RENTED WITH THE HOME FOR $150.00 PER NIGHT (TWO NIGHT MIN.) PLUS A $75.00 CLEANING AND ADMINISTRATION FEE.

WE ALSO HAVE A SECOND AND THIRD HOME FOR RENT "RIVERBEND" WHICH IS NEXT DOOR AND CAN BE RENTED VIA "VRBO 380693" AND "RIVER WATCHER" WHICH IS NEXT DOOR TO "RIVERBEND" AND CAN BE RENTED VIA VRBO 1075587".

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals