HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

winter rate discounts

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 8 - 10 Sleeps

The Tall Cedar Chalet is a beautiful unique A frame chalet on a private acre site. Enormous personal touch and attention to detail welcomes guests into the 3 floors of living space (4 queen and 2 single beds,2 student beds, sleeps up to 10). The living room has a fantastic view of the landscaping. Come enjoy nature with us at the Tall Cedar Chalet, open year round. Plenty of parking.high speed Wifi


Owner
andy balint
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
12 December, 2017

Why andy balint chose Champion

Quiet, clean, beautiful, reasonable pricing

What makes this chalet unique

2 miles from ski resorts, tubing, and in the summer fishing, hiking, biking,canoeing or just relax at the Chalet

Guestbook comments from the owner

we loved your place- espeically the decor & landscaping. Very peaceful & private. thanks for all the nice snacks.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Champion in Saltlick

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • lowest level with 2 double futons
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
* Fully equipped kitchen * Lighted Gazebo * Large Deck off the great room with rustic furniture * Additional Large Deck on side with a firepit * New! Chef Cook Fire Pit for outdoor fire roasting * Gourmet Coffee & Tea Bar * Newly remodeled with Rustic Log furniture * Therapedic Mattress * 4 Flat Screen TVs with blue ray DVD players * cable tv * Wi Game Sytem * DVR with 300 hours of movies * DVD Movie Library * Family Board Games * authentic Pop Corn Machine * Central Air Conditioning * Plenty of parking * Snow Shoes of all sizes available * Safe level parking in driveway * Auto snow removal

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
winter rate discounts
average rating of 4.2 based on 20 reviews
5

Beautiful, cozy place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at this chalet this weekend. Had a really great time. This place is really beautiful, cozy and well maintained. So many amenities and the owners left us little treats, which was a really nice touch! During our stay, workers came to work outside on the hot tub. The owners notified us in advance and even sent their son with a treat. ( Which was very nice of them to do ). It is close to many attractions (Seven Springs, Hidden Valley, etc.) Great place to stay for any season! We are looking forward to returning again! Thanks, Andy and Joanne

  • Review Submitted: 12-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

NEVER AGAIN

  • 1 of 5

There are not 4 queen size beds there..in fact there weren't any that size. One bottle of propane to operate all outdoor fire pits and grill. Was told we would receive our cleaning deposit back on check out day. Called the owner as instructed to check things out and issue our refund but she said she couldn't make it so would just mail us a check. Contacted her 3 times over 6 weeks and finally received refund after letting her know I was going to take action to have it returned. 2 of the 3 bedrooms referred to have no door. One is a loft, the other is the basement/ bar area with futons. None have queen size beds. The upstairs bathroom also does not have a door. No privacy for a group.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: who writes this review needs to check on the correct property because you did not stay at our chalet!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pittsburgh,Pa
5

Relaxation 101

  • 5 of 5

Just what we were looking for, a little R/R plus some skiing for the kidos! The only single word that can sum it up is AWESOME! There was plenty of extras that they left out such as coffee, danishes, and little snacks for everyone. Plenty things to do nearby such as skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, fishing, hiking, biking, and much more. I would recommend this vacation spot for just about anyone! We had a great time! Try it out for yourselves and you will be writing a great review too! Thanks Andy/Joanne, that was definitely one for the book!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2013
  • Date of Stay: March 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Philadelphia
5

All year round get away

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I (and other members of extended family) have been visiting the Chalet in all different seasons, for many years now.

If you're looking for a proper get-away, this is it. Turn the phones off, enjoy a good movie and cook your own favorite meal. This is isolation when you want it, but close enough to many things to do.

It truly leaves us feeling relaxed each time we get to go.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: October 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
5

A Cozy Place in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

The Tall Cedar Chalet is a wonderful hidden secret near 7Springs. My husband and I make sure to take a few days a year relax in this little gem. There is plenty to do in the area, but some visits we just like to stay in and get away from the hustle of life. My recommendation to anyone looking for a great place to stay is to check out the tall cedar chalet, you won't be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: December 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Jefferson Hills, PA
5

The real deal chalet

  • 5 of 5

We went to this chalet over Thanksgiving weekend. This is a real ski chalet. Very cozy. there is a cute corner store at the bottom of the street for quick items such as bread, milk, etc and a gas station. The chalet was easy to find and close to Seven Springs resort. The owner is very nice and accommodating. It rained during of visit but so what, it was relaxing. We do plan to go again during snow season. The sleeping was comfortable with 7 adults and a baby. The bathrooms are beautiful. We mostly hung out in the lower level bar area which is nice if you want to call it a nite and go to bed the others can still entertain themselves in the lower level where you won't be disturbed. There is two refrigerators, one small one in the kitchen and another in the lower bar which is more than accommodating. It is beautiful in the evening when it all lights up. The chalet was clean and maintained. The security deposit was refunded promptly as we took care of the Chalet as if it was our own..Thank you Andy, your a nice person!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jan-2012
  • Date of Stay: November 2011
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, Thank you for taking time out to let us know how much you liked your stay! We do take pride in our home and are happy to hear you enjoyed it as much as we do!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

3 miles from Seven Springs Mountain resort

Just minutes away from Ohiopyle State Park

Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater

Laurel caverns

Somerset Outlet Shopping

Mt.Davis - the highest point in P.A.

Jennerstown Speedway

A Rails to Trails to path

Rentals for skiing,canoeing,biking,snow mobiles

Horse drawn carriage rides

Living Treasures Animal Park

Idelwild and Soak Zone amusement park

And much, much more!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Champion, Pittsburgh area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
24 Nov 2017 - 9 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£749
for 2 nights
From
£300
£1,648
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£487
for 2 nights
From
£169
£899
 

Additional pricing information

Hot tub use £149.86
Refundable Damage Deposit £149.86

Nightly Rate: $200 - $750

Weekly Rate: $900 - $3500

Monthly Rate: $0 - $0


The rates are between $900.00 & $3500.00 depending on the season or holiday.

deposit to hold the date. balance 2 weeks prior to stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable