HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Historic home, located in Downtown Saint Augustine. Minutes walk from everything

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

One bedroom, one bathroom, kitchenette and large front porch. On Street Parking.

Located in the historic Lincolnville district of downtown Saint Augustine, this Victorian home was build in the late 1800's much of which is still original including wood floors and front porch. Apartment has recently been completely renovated and features a new bathroom/shower. Kitchen area has granite counter top, built in microwave (no range) and new cabinetry. Cutlery and crockery provided along with all bathroom supplies. Queen sized bed.

Bed/living room, kitchen area, Bathroom, private front porch with porch swing and porch furniture. Parking in rear of house.

We hope to have interaction with guests as we love to meet new friends. However, should it be requested, privacy will be completely respected. Longer term guests may even be invited to our house around the corner for dinner (depending on our schedule for that week) no promises :-)

An historic residential neighborhood, peaceful and safe. Surrounded by beautiful Victorian era homes where just about all our neighbors are our friends. A two minute walk to the "old Ice Plant" which is now the Ice Plant Restaurant and the Saint Augustine Distillery and walk for a few more minutes and you will arrive at the San Sebastian Winery both of which have free tours and tastings, the winery restaurant has live music at the weekends. We are close enough to everything we feel the entire town is our neighborhood.

If you plan to stay around the historic downtown are we are 10 minutes walk from almost anywhere. There is public transportation in the form of " The Sunshine Bus Company" and Pedi-Cab services. We also provide bicycles and no extra charge should they be requested.

The space is also provided with a coffee maker and filters an electric kettle and all the tea, ground coffee and sugar you need. There is also a portable ironing board and iron for your use. The bathroom has everything you need including a hair dryer. Brochures from a lot of the local attractions are on hand as well as a map of the area. Should you need anything else (within reason) to make your stay a memorable one please let us know in advance, my husband and I are always available.

This is a peaceful house and we expect our guests to treat our place as they would treat their own home. There are other people permanently living in the home so excessive noisy/rowdy behavior will not be tolerated should we get complaints.

This is also a non-smoking apartment although you may smoke outside on the porch if you wish as long as its kept free of cigarette butts etc. We also do not allow pets of any kind, sorry. Lastly, the floor is antique wood that has recently been refinished so please, we would prefer it if no spiked heels were worn inside (that goes for the women too :-)

Please also check out our other downtown apartment:

http://www.vrbo.com/898515

More Details

Owner
Lizy Li
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Mandarin, Thai
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 January, 2017

About Lizy Li

I am an English teacher originally from China, I emigrated to the United States in the late 90's to continue my career in teaching. I married my husband four years ago and we have two wonderful children. We are all loving life in Saint Augustine!

Lizy Li purchased this apartment in 2010

Why Lizy Li chose St. Augustine

My Husband and initially had the opportunity to work from home and from anywhere so we traveled all over Florida from Tarpon Springs to Naples on the Gulf Coast and from Fort Lauderdale to Jacksonville on the Atlantic Coast. The choice was very clear the moment we set foot in Saint Augustine, we came back weekend after weekend and fell in love with everything to do with this wonderful, historic town. Saint Augustine has everything. We bought this property as our primary residence but after two years we had our first child and soon after realized the house was not really set up to raise a small child due to the house layout and the quite low porch balusters. However, we loved the neighborhood so much we purchased another Victorian house in the next street. We recently renovated this ground floor apartment specifically for vacation rental, we love meeting and making new friends all year round.

What makes this apartment unique

This house is in an historic residential neighborhood, peaceful and safe. Surrounded by beautiful Victorian era homes where just about all our neighbors are our friends.

It is within a few minutes walking distance to everything Downtown Saint Augustine has to offer. One of the most attractive things to my husband and I was the fact we don't have to drive anywhere except to the supermarket once a week. There is also something going on almost every weekend, festivals, art/craft shows and music everywhere.

Please also check out our other downtown apartment:

http://www.vrbo.com/898515

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(36 traveller reviews)

Historic home, located in Downtown Saint Augustine. Minutes walk from everything
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 36 reviews
4

Comfortable

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was a comfortable place to stay, it is in a good location for visiting St Augustine by foot or by the trolley busses. The owners where very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet neighborhood charm

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted to find this place in the reestablished neighborhood of Lincolnville. First I love that it is a restored old home with a delightfully relaxing front porch; We spent several hours rocking, reading and watching the wildlife. The room was spacious and clean. Also it's located within walking distance of all St. Augustine has to offer plus some new trendy local great eateries: we loved Ice Plant, Blue Hen and Crave! We would stay here again for sure!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute place near everything.

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place! Cute home with lots of character. SUPER comfy bed.

This rental is a 5 to 15 minute walk to most of the historic sites and other points of interest. Our hostess filled us in on local restaurants that were awesome! (The Blue Hen for breakfast is a must!)

It was nice to be able to just leave our car and either walk or pick up the hop-on-hop-off trolley to get around town. Great location!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very disapointing!

  • 1 of 5

After looking at the pictures on line and reading the past reviews it seemed like a place that would be enjoyable to stay at. After arriving we realized many of the descriptions had been somewhat embellished. The room is in a home that has a family living upstairs and also is in a neighborhood that has an empty dirt parking lot that is a night time refuge for the homeless to sleep. As we attempted to walk to dinner that night we had to walk through this area. Nothing against the home less but not when I am paying almost 200 a night to stay there. Needless to say we went back and left the property. Owner only agreed to refund 100 of the 400 charged to my credit card. The way this property is represented and the reality are two entirely different things.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: With due respect to John C. I am very sad and a just little confused he would leave this review especially since John never stayed here. There is nothing in this listing that has been embellished, what you see is exactly what you get. If you, as a traveler have any doubts please take the time to read a few to my other reviews almost all of them 5 star. John also states that “I’m paying almost $200 per night”, it was actually my weekend rate of $108. Confused because there is no “family living upstairs” or anywhere else at the property, in fact the upstairs apartment is another VRBO listing - 898515 There is no “parking lot night time refuge in the area for the homeless to sleep”. There is however, a neighborhood supported program aptly named “Dining with Dignity” where a few evenings a week many of the lower income and less fortunate residents of Saint Augustine come to dine with dignity. I am sorry if that offends anyone but I support and donate to it and my family occasionally volunteers there. Our neighborhood is as safe and friendly as it gets. Not really sure the reason John decided not to stay, oh well :-( Lizy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely and Sweet

  • 4 of 5

The front apartment was just as the pictures showed. The bed was extremely comfortable, the kitchenette was very well furnished with coffee machine, toaster oven etc... I loved the front porch, especially the swing. The location was just a 10 minute walk to the center of the Historic Downtown. The only minor downside was the bathroom was a bit small for doing hair and makeup. Not much counter space around the sink. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Lizy Li was a great person to meet. She made sure we enjoyed our stay. It was a crazy time, as my brother was getting married that weekend. It was clean,and safe.we will be back again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Saint Augustine Regional
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Ice Plant Resaurant/Bar
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Miniature Golf at the Marina
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
i95
Nearest Restaurant
40 Metres
Preserved
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Saint Augustine Beach
Car: not necessary

The perfect location in an historic residential neighborhood, peaceful and safe. Surrounded by beautiful Victorian era homes where just about all our neighbors are our friends. A two minute walk to the "old Ice Plant" which is now the Ice Plant Restaurant and the Saint Augustine Distillery and walk for a few more minutes and you will arrive at the San Sebastian Winery both of which have free tours and tastings, the winery restaurant has live music at the weekends. We are close enough to everything we feel the entire town is our neighborhood.

If you plan to stay around the historic downtown are we are 10 minutes walk from almost anywhere. There is public transportation in the form of " The Sunshine Bus Company" and Pedi-Cab services.

Please also check out our other downtown apartment:

http://www.vrbo.com/898515

Photos

Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £81
Cleaning Fee £39 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Lincolnville in St. Augustine Area

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 320 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Private Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Also includes vanity, shelves for toiletries
  • Newly tiled PRIVATE bathroom with shower stall, vanity and toilet. Shelves for toiletries
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Apartment is a recently renovated efficiency with a Queen sized bed, kitchenette. It has a large wardrobe, a chaise, small table and chairs. Premium cable TV and high speed wifi.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties