HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sea Colony - Summer weekends available

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Bright and sunny upper level end unit with 2 bedrooms and a loft. There are 3 single beds in the loft (perfect for 6-13 years old). With a queens size bed (new mattresses as of 2014) in each of the two bedrooms, this unit next to a swan pond, an outdoor pool and indoor/outdoor tennis courts, sleeps 6 (with young kids included). Short walk (5-8 min.) or bike ride to a 1/2 mile private guarded beach. Shuttle bus stop to the beach just around the corner. Shuttle bus goes around the Sea Colony resort every 3 min. between Memorial Day and Labor Day. The Marketplace at Sea Colony (3 minute walk) has 2 restaurants, a beauty shop, gift shops, beach goods store and bike rentals.

FREE wifi Internet access. HDTV in living room and master bedroom.

2.5 hours drive from Philadelphia, Baltimore and Washington, D.C. Perfect vacation destination for families with lots to do! Full calendar of summer events (Kiddie Kamp, bonfire on the beach, sandcastle contests, barbeques, dances, entertainment). See below for what previous guests have to say. Call or email owner for a free copy of Sea Colony Play Book which lists all summer activities (available in June).

Sea Colony is the premier family beach and tennis resort community, located in Bethany Beach, Delaware. Guests have exclusive access to a half mile of guarded beach, 12 pools (2 indoors), 34 tennis courts (incl. 14 Har-Tru clay and 4 indoor courts), world class facilities and instructors, and a Fitness Center with an Olympic-size indoor pool and a variety of programs for every age. Year-round adult tennis clinics. Summer tennis clinics for kids. Sea Colony was given the Outstanding Facility of the Year Award by the United States Tennis Association in 2012 and was named a 2014 Top 50 resort and No. 15 in tennis camps.

This beautifully landscaped community, with around-the-clock security, has biking and walking trails, playground and picnic areas, as well as trees and parks. Surrounded by wide open spaces on nearly all sides, there is a sense of peace and spaciousness. And yet the community is within walking distance to quaint shops and services and only minutes away from tax-free outlet shopping at nearby Rehoboth Beach. Golfers can spend days on the region's many championship golf courses.

This is a no smoking/no pet but kids friendly condo, with plenty of games, books and DVDs in the attic. Pictures of the ocean (yes, the Atlantic Ocean, not the bay) and the swan pond below are NOT taken from this condo.

More Details

Property Manager
Jane Tam
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 July, 2017

Why Jane Tam chose Delaware

We bought this unit when my kids were 7 and 5 years old. They fell in love with the loft right away. Sea Colony was where my kids took their first tennis lesson and their first junior lifeguard training. The memories created at the beach is simply priceless. We hope that our guests will enjoy this second home of ours as much as we do over the years.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thanks so much for letting us rent your home this past weekend. It was perfect-just the right size for a end of summer get away for us. The weather was great and got to spend lots of time on the beach and enjoying Sea Colony-everyone had a great time.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 8


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Bethany Beach in Sussex County

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • resort
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • A queen's size bed in each of the two bedrooms. Three single beds at the loft. One soda bed in the living room.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Boat
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • bay
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
- deck furniture - Queen size sleeper sofa and loveseat - kitchen faucet, kitchen sink, sile stone kitchen countertop - dishwasher - under-the-cabinet CD player - Refrigerator - Washer/dryer - Microwave - Fully equipped kitchen with cooking utensils, pots, pans, dishes, glasses, & silverware, coffeemaker, blender, & toaster - FREE wifi Internet access - Telephone (long distance calls charged to calling or credit card) - Central A/C & heat - 3 ceiling fans - 3 TV (1 HD in living room) - Lots of movies and games in the attic - indoor and outdoor pools No smoking/no pets. Please bring own linens and towels.


Good! 3.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

30% Complete
38% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Sea Colony - Summer weekends available
average rating of 3.7692308 based on 21 reviews

Great location!

  • 2 of 5

We had a great time at Sea Colony. Its a great spot to take pre teen kids - pools, beaches and easy for them to walk around. We really liked the fitness center and the easy walks to restaurants, coffee, ice cream etc. The private beach access was also fantastic and the tram was a great option when we were tired at the end of the day and did not want to walk home.

The size of the house was fine but disappointed in some of the amenities - dishwasher was not working and the washer and dryer were really old and not working properly either. Not the end of the world but a few minor upgrades would go a long way.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The dishwasher has since been fixed. As to the washer/dryer, I was told that all units with stacked-up washer/dryers have similar limitations on their capacities. I hope renters find the instructions I put in my Welcome Package helpful.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A relaxing visit to the beach

  • 3 of 5

We had a nice time staying at Round Robbin Way. We appreciated being able to rent for part of the week and the owner was very responsive. The condo was close to the beach and an easy walk to tennis courts. The loft worked out great for our middle school aged kids. It might be a bit of a safety issue for younger kids due to the open riser spiral staircase and the somewhat wide picket spacing though. We enjoyed spending time on the deck. Unfortunately, the cable tv and wifi was down for most of our stay and we couldn't get the dishwasher to latch. All in all, we had a good trip.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback. Yes, the loft is connected to the first floor through a spiral staircase. There is also no door or wall separating the loft from the first floor. I hope I have made it clear on my listing that the unit is most apt for a small family with pre-teen kids. We put in a brand new Bosch dishwasher this spring. Unfortunately, the installation was subpar, causing the dishwasher to sometimes dislocate from its position and failing to power on. As of the date of this posting, electrician has been called to fix the problem once and for all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Silver Spring, Maryland

Sea Colony is great. The apartment is not.

  • 3 of 5

This was our family's 4th stay at Sea Colony, and this rental was the shabbiest of them of all. It's old and poorly maintained. It seems that it's a heavily used rental property with little care from the owner. I was told to bring my own linens, and I was so glad I did as the pillows and blankets were so old, lumpy, and with stains. Double beds mattress needed to be thrown out years ago. Peeling paint on the wall in the attic. Kitchen had the most odd combo of utensils but was missing basic items as a cutting board and a tea kettle. Plus, during our entire stay the internet was out which meant no TV or WiFi, and the owner asked us to meet with the cable company to get it fixed. As always it's all about expectation, and listing this property as luxury villa is completely inaccurate. It's a basic rental and only worth it if you get a deal on it. Otherwise, there are plenty much better options at Sea Colony.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that the TV/internet didn't work. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding as to how to resolve the issue. As long as a tenant would give permission for a Mediacom representative to enter the unit in his/her absence, he/she does not need to stay at the unit when cable company comes in to fix the problem. We have a set of cutting boards in one of the kitchen cabinets. As of the date of this posting, we have already replenished the unit with a new tea kettle and a brand new set of utensils.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place! Convenient to many things! We enjoyed every minute! Hope to do it again!

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I and our four children had such a great time at Bethany Beach, and knowing that we had such a nice place to go back to each evening was very comforting! There was plenty of space in this unit for all of

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you stay at our home again soon! There is really plenty to do for kids at Sea Colony. A week usually flies by. Next time, have your kids try the junior lifeguard program. It's fun, educational and a great confidence booster! When they were young, my kids usually enjoyed the programs at the Nature Center as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lancaster, Pa

Our July 2015 Sea Colony vacation

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 5 adults and 3 children stayed at this Sea Colony rental July, 2015. We've come to love Sea Colony and its environment. This rental was nice and in a good location. I would recommend this place to others.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. Many families with young kids (aged 6-13) do love the 3 single beds up on the loft. Kids love to have their own space and TV; while adults love that little bit of privacy on the main floor while keeping an eye on the kids. Hope that you will join the dozens of families who choose to stay with us at Sea Colony year after year!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice and best stocked kitchen ever!

  • 4 of 5

Property well appointed but was surprised when we arrived that it was on a second floor. Amenities soon overcame the surprise. The owner was a pleasure to deal with...friendly and informative. Loved the beach and the fact we had access to transport. Grandkids enjoyed the beach swings and the option to go to the pool when they tired of the beach. Overall I'm sold and plan to come back next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Fran, Glad that everyone had a great time at SC this summer. The resort does offer great amenities and summer activities for vacationers of all ages. Be sure to come back next summer to check out what will be a brand new fitness center with sauna and hot tub, etc.!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Bonfire on the beach.

* Sandcastle contest.

* Watching dolphins swim in the ocean.

* Mango's restaurant - sweeping ocean view.

* Air-conditioned indoor tennis.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* tax-free shopping at outlet malls.

* All-you-can eat crabs.

* Feeding ducks at the pond.

* Playing remote-controlled motor boat on the pond.

* Programs at Delaware Seashore State Park.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Jungle Jim's water park.

* indoor and outdoor miniature golf.

* Go-kart.

* Kayak.

* Playland.

Tennis, swimming, golf, hiking, biking, miniature golf, fitness

center (sauna, hot tub, etc.), kids' camp, kayaking, fishing, go-cart, water

park, outlet mall shopping.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Bethany Beach, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Peak Season
18 Jun 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Late summer
26 Aug 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Late Summer/Early Fall
9 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £77.69
Damage Deposit £77.69

Sea Colony Recreation fee of between $12 and 40 per person per week (depending on the season) must be paid to Sea Colony Recreation Office upon arrival. The recreation fee gives you 2 parking permits and full access to ALL Sea Colony amenities (on both the ocean and bay sides) including the indoor/outdoor pools and tennis facilities, use of fitness center, and access to private guarded beach.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.