HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Coral Reef Beach House with Ocean View Family and Pet friendly

People12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beach House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

Come stay on a tropical island in a truly tropical-style luxury home. The adventure begins with a 20-minute boat ride from the mainland transporting you to a unique vacation experience; "island time." Once on the island, the pace of life slows allowing time for the finer things of life. The Coral Reef is the perfect house to experience this relaxed pace and rejuvenate the mind and spirit.From early morning shell hunting on the 3.5 mile long beach to an after nap on the tumbled marble patio next to the pool. Dinner prepared in the completely furnished kitchen, on the veranda with ocean view. This tropical island paradise has lots to offer. Take your golf cart out to explore the island. Meet some some of the local tortoises and check out the unique laid back nature of this island paradise. Play some table tennis, darts or the corn hole game. Hike the state preserve to the south end of this barrier island. Check out the island club and its 2 large pool, hot tub, bicycles and kayaks all included in your Coral Reef Rental. There are 2 other very local restaurants on the island that serve excellent food for the times you do not want to cook.

The Coral Reef loft with sun deck on top of the house is our favorite space. Check it out for a sun tan by day and a great view of the island sunset then star gazing by night and a wonderful spot to watch the sun rise over the back bay.

Our home was designed and built with island living in mind. The Coral Reef is ideal for extended families or a 2-family group. We have 2 master-bedroom suites, and private bathrooms for each of the four bedrooms! The generous verandas, decks, and patio extend the living space seamlessly to the tropical garden, North Captiva. Sunrises and sunsets as viewed from the decks and verandas are the perfect punctuation to a day 'on island.'

This home is complete with all the luxuries and more that one would expect of a first-class vacation home. We supply wireless high speed internet access; There is unlimited long distance wired phone service for use by our guests. XBox 360 for the gamer,s in the group. We are constantly upgrading our amenities. Come stay in our island villa with friends and family, and I promise you will feel at home during your stay and rejuvenated when you leave.

Keywords: Beach,Pool,House,villa,beach house, getaway,island,

More Details

Owner
Diane DiGirolamo
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 November, 2017

About Diane DiGirolamo

We built our island home in 2005. It has been a pleasure to share it with guests over the years. We love North Captiva, and it is great to have others come out and enjoy the island also. We live in Springfield; and one day, when we retire we hope to be able to spend more time on Island. 'Till then, it is our pleasure to share the experience of North Captiva with all our guests. So, come and enjoy our island. Always a pleasure to host your stay!

Diane DiGirolamo purchased this house in 2012

Why Diane DiGirolamo chose Captiva

North Captiva is a tropical barrier island located just off the coast of Southwest Florida. I have been coming down to this area all my adult life and when we discovered North Captiva Island we fell in love. We purchased a lot and built the Coral Reef in 2005. Since then we have hosted family groups and friends....

The Coral Reef, professionally decorated and fully furnished, is a one-of-a-kind home designed for island living and ready to be your home away from home. North Captiva is a unique respite in this world of hustle - no cars, no street lights, 3.5 miles of natural beach all on a little tropical island, North Captiva! We fell in love with it, and we know you will too!

What makes this house unique

The most unique benefit of staying at the Coral Reef is "Island Time" . A mixture of rest and relaxation, with just the right amount of discovery and socializing - away from it all, but still able to enjoy several unique quality restaurants and more sea shells and sand dollars than you will ever be able to bring home. With no street lights you can enjoy watching the stars and moon travel across the darkened sky. Staying on North Captiva is just an amazing experience we call it 'Island Time.'

Guestbook comments from the owner

We loved our week of island living.
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Captiva in Lee County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Rain head and hand held shower heads in Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Rain head and hand held shower heads you choose
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 4 baths so all 4 bedrooms have private baths. Custom tile and cabinet installations make each bath unique.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , master bedroom with bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Master bedroom with bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , With bathroom
    Loft - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , This is a queen-size sofa bed.
    Bedroom 4 - Trundle bed converts to 2 singles or one queen with bedroom
  • Each of the two master bedrooms has a queen size bed and private master bath. The 'kid's' bedroom has two twin beds and a private bath. A 4th bedroom has a trundle bed which can either be made up as a queen size bed or 2 twin beds - whatever meets your needs and has its own private bath! We can supply you with two or three Pack & Play baby's beds along with high chairs. A queen-size sofa couch is located in the loft for privacy and incredible views.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Use of our golf cart included in every rental. Satellite TV's with DVD players in all bedrooms and living room. Guest membership to the private North Captiva Island Club and all its amenities, tennis, 2 large pools and deck chairs, kayaks, pool bar, wifi, hot tub ... Outdoor kitchen with Gas Grill, sink and refrigerator, High speed wireless internet, sun/observation deck, Veranda with dining / lounging area and great gulf sunset views, Marble patio/pool deck, Excellent water filtration system including RO filtration at the kitchen sink and ice maker, Use of golf cart included during your stay. We supply beach chairs and umbrellas as well as beach towels for your use.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Coral Reef Beach House with Ocean View Family and Pet friendly
average rating of 4.857143 based on 26 reviews
5

Great house! Great location!

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautifully maintained!! Only downfall is porch and pool not screened in! Otherwise everything was beyond awesome!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Terrific place on North Captiva

  • 5 of 5

A great house, very well equipped, in a wonderful location. Could not have been a better vacation for our family. We have already booked for next year.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Eldridge, IA
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful week! Sunsets were amazing, and the beach was clean and not crowded. The house was everything they said it would be and accommodating to our family. Mark and his staff did a great job, and responded to anything we needed in a timly manner. We would recommend the Coral Reef to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear you guys enjoyed your island stay at the Coral Reef! You guys are welcome back any time.... Mark Ladner Owner: The Coral Reef
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Twin Cities, MN
5

Great Extended Family Get-a-Way

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time out to North Captiva Island and we were relying on research and reviews found online. Your trip to the island will require some planning and logistics! We created a meal plan - OK, my wife and daughters did this - (there were 11 of us - 6 adults and 5 kids under the age of 6) and budgeted time to do some shopping and packing. We all arrived in Pine Island for the ferry ride over and you could see we were not the only ones with suitcases and bags/boxes of food & supplies. Once we arrived, we were picked up by Sherman who carted us and our to the house and got us settled in. We found the place as you see it online - a great set up. The ground floor has a small pool which was perfect for our grandkids (teens would find it too small). The first floor up was the bedrooms and each had a comfy bed & it's own bathroom - great for our daughters & their families. The floor up from there was a spacious kitchen, dining area, patio with a large table and living room. The upper floor turned out to be our 5 year old grandson's hangout/"fort" area. Great space where we could be together and have some time alone too. We were able to cook 90% of our meals there - and utilized the gas grill on the ground level - and ate a few meals there on the spacious patio furniture & tables. There are a couple of restaurants there on the island - which we'd rate "OK" - but it was a break to head out to grab a burger or fish taco. The place comes with 1 golf cart included, but if you have a larger group like we did, purchase the second one. It was useful (even though we are walkers) to travel down the road to the beach with our supplies - there are beach umbrellas & chairs and some sand toys provided; as well as to drive to the tennis & pool area which is included in the stay. Make sure you check out the kayaks there - 3 days we took them out to paddle to parts of the island for dolphin watching. The beaches are incredible & clean. If you want to get away from the crowds to enjoy a slower pace - this is a great location and island to visit. But do plan your food & meals - there are a couple of places you can get convenience items like sunscreen, milk etc. - but obviously it's more expensive on the island as compared to Walmart of Publix in Pine Island. All this to say - we'll be back!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Jonkoping
5

Excellent island stay

  • 5 of 5

For us (two families from Sweden with 4 adults and 5 children between 6 months and 13 years old, this was a perfect island to relax and enjoy life together. The house was big enough for all of us and we can recommend to stay there. As the host Sherman said, you only need to remember to bring two things: bathing clothes and plenty of food. If you are looking for a busy and crowded place with a lot of restaurants and cafés this is not your island. If you are looking for empty beaches, ospreys, white-headed eagle, shelling, manatees, sun-sets, stargazing and relaxed people this is the place for you!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

The Island did NOT disappoint

  • 4 of 5

After spending Thanksgiving at Captiva for 25 years and wondering "what's over there?" we decided to try NC. The island did not disappoint. The home needs some TLC. The kitchen sink fell into the cabinet...Had to be propped up with a 2x4. Nothing like a little construction on the deck while you are sitting out there. The previous water damage on the ceiling/window was not completely repaired. The light in the shower in the Master bathroom is hanging from the ceiling. The water in the toilet in the same bathroom runs after flushing, you have to shake the handle to stop the running water. the "rain"shower, is more like a drizzle as it is mostly clogged. The refrigerator on the patio does not work. Many nails left laying on the sun deck. The golf cart has a broken headlight, which is dangerous at night.This is the first VRBO rental that we were disappointed in, as the site shows outdated pictures.There were positives...The house was clean and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. There were plenty of beach towels and bedding. the location was ideal for heading to the beach and the club membership a nice amenity. The island did not disappoint.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jim Thanks for your review. North Captiva really is a fun little island. We were sorry to hear of the issues you had with the Coral Reef and any inconvenience it had caused you. We do appreciate your letting us know and I want to assure you that have all been rectified. It is our policy to keep the Coral Reef in top notch condition for our guests. We are redoubling our efforts to insure issues like these do not occur in the future. Mark Ladner Owner The Coral Reef
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Regional Southwest International (RSW) - Ft. Myers
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Pool Bar at the Club.
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Either at the Island Club or Barnacle's.
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Just take the Island Girl Water Taxi.
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I-75
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Island Club, Barnacle's, & Over the Waterfront.
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Less than 100 yds down sandy track Panama Shell
Nearest Point of Interest
The Coral Reef Beach House
Nearest Point of Interest
The Island Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Barnicle Phil's
Nearest Point of Interest
Over The Water Front
Nearest Point of Interest
The Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Best Shelling on Island
Car: not necessary

3.5 miles of beach and access to the back bay by kayak which affords great wildlife viewing and fishing, just relaxing, and living life by 'island time.'

Take a ferry services for a sunset cruse or island hopping to check out the neighborhood.

New game room with darts, a shuffle board table, 'corn hole' (the bean bag toss game) and more.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Captiva, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Winter
27 Nov 2017 - 23 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,257
for 4 nights
From
£314
£2,091
 
 
Winter
2 Jan 2018 - 16 Feb 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,593
for 4 nights
From
£398
£2,431
 
 
Early Spring Break
17 Feb 2018 - 24 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,018
for 7 nights
£3,018
 
 
Late Winter
25 Feb 2018 - 9 Mar 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,492
for 4 nights
From
£373
£2,431
 
 
Spring
10 Mar 2018 - 14 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,814
for 7 nights
£3,814
 
 
Late Spring
15 Apr 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,274
for 4 nights
From
£319
£2,054
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£1,844
for 4 nights
From
£461
£3,018
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £377.6
Tax Rate 11.0%

3 night minimum stay accepted during some seasons or for last minute bookings. Check with owner for stay's of less than 7 nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable