House, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, 8 Sleeps
Maximum 2 pets with proof of immunization
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Max guests:6 (sleeps up to 6 adults)
Pets are not allowed on furniture or beds
Additional charge for any guests beyond the booking agreement.
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Skip this listing - look elsewhere
This property is in need of MAJOR maintenance. Pool and property in terrible shape. No communication from owner, no follow though from management company. House filthy, pool filthy, bed sheets and covers stained. Property needs updated. Kitchen floors buckled, kitchen needs extension cords for appliances, 2 burners on the stove does not work. Garage door has no openers and door code doesn't work. Could keep going on but not worth my time. Beware.. save your money
I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy. You arrived one day early and stayed until Sept. 7th. On September 6th you requested to extend your stay for an additional five days. At this point you had made no complaints about the property. Unfortunately you were there during Dorian which made quite an impact on the area. I was informed that you cancelled your extended stay on September 8th and am assuming you returned home. Any problems with the property should have been reported to the property management or myself.
The patio was dirty. Owner did not mention there was not going to be cable and wifi. I had to deal with the process of having the service company come and disturb my family and my dog during my vacation. By the way, I did pay a pet fee for bringing my dog, owner says I didn't pay the fee. (I have my receipt).
I wish I would've known since the beginning!
Cute house, needs better management
Cute house, great potential with poor management. I kept checking my email prior to visit, received no information on how to access the house. Drove 22 hours to arrive and not be able to get in. Called the owner of the property, no answer. Had to download the app to find a second number to a beach rental business located in Madeira Beach, they were closed. Called their emergency number, talked with a very nice gentleman who said that I should have received an email with instructions that I had to drive about 20 minutes away to pick up keys. He also informed me that the owner managed the property and that I was only to call him if something like the AC went out. Picking up and dropping off the keys was a hassle and not very safe, keys are left in an unlocked mailbox attached to the front of a building on the main strip in Madeira Beach. Envelope has your last name on it, inside are 2 sets of keys and step by step driving instructions to the property, anyone could have grabbed those keys and had full access to the home or made copies at some point. Such a poor check in and check out system. The house was clean enough, had to rewash cups and silverware before using them. Ants in the master bath and kitchen. Pool was disgusting, had to spend about an hour cleaning it as best as I could before I would let my kids swim. Owner contacted me a couple days later stating that the pool is cleaned on Wednesday, the listing states Monday. The pool cleaners came while we were gone, they skimmed the pool just as I had been doing, leaving the pile of dirt at the bottom of the pool that I could not clean out myself. Smoke detector was beeping when we got there, had to go buy new battery and replace it. TV remotes in 1 bedroom had dead batteries, had to go buy them in order to use the TV. Could not find WiFi password. Something in the garage was beeping the entire time we were there. Neighbors on both sides and behind house have dogs that bark constantly. No trash bags, had to purchase those also. Honestly with a little TLC and better management this property could be amazing, spacious enough for a large family, great location.
Do not rent this property! Horrendous experience that ruined the holiday. Arrived on the Monday evening (4 adults, 2 young children). Sheets on beds were stained, did not look as though they had been changed before arrival and had to be washed before use. Exterior completely unacceptable and bore no resemblance to the photos published on the site as yard was completely covered in dead leaves, poolside patio filthy, pool was dirty and had debris floating on surface and in bottom of pool, filter choked, garden table and furniture and furnishings encrusted with dirt, BBQ covered in mouldy, melted cheese. Owner immediately contacted and replied stating that she would try to get pool and yard services to the property. Owner would not accept responsibility for BBQ as ” cleaning of the barbeque is the responsibility of the people who have been using it. Clearly the previous tenants did not do this” but no remedial action proposed. She expected me to clean it if I wanted to use it! Pool and yard services arrived during Wednesday, cleaned the debris from the pool and removed dead leaves, but no cleaning of yard surfaces, BBQ or furniture. Notified owner via HomeAway messages system that contract considered broken, we left the property the next day at her suggestion and she confirmed in writing we would be refunded, apologizing for the state of the property. HOWEVER: No further contact received from owner after 4 weeks, despite 8 further emails to her via the HomeAway message system and raising the complaint to Homeaway’s Trust and Security division, who have also been unable to get a response. No contact from owner or refund received as at time of posting review. I booked this villa on the strength of the description and photographs on the Homeaway website and was disgusted at the actual state of property. We booked 2 months in advance, so no reason not to have the villa fully cleaned and serviced immediately prior to our arrival.
You indicate that the sheets on the bed were stained. New sheets for all beds were purchased just before your arrival and housekeeping was advised of your dissatisfaction. Due to severe weather, there was leaves and debris strewn around the yard. You arrived late Monday evening and the pool and yard were cleaned and debris removed on Wednesday. Unfortunately it is impossible for anyone renting to control the weather. Also, you are renting a private home, not a complex that has 24/7 service for its guests. We provide a barbecue for our guests, but it is the guests' responsibility to clean the barbecue for the next person renting the unit. Unfortunately in your case this was not done. I contacted you late on Tuesday informing you that if you wished to vacate, I would refund the balance of your stay. Your text to me indicated that you were out for the day and you would make your decision Wednesday or Thursday and would inform me when you did.
Apparently you let the management company know of your departure, but I was not informed until one week later.
Special arrangements had to be made with VBR as it was a partial refund and had to be made with one of their representatives.
This took a little longer than expected, due to the fact that we were evacuated from our home due to flooding (and still have not been allowed to return).
I notice that this review is dated May 29th. Arrangements were made with VBR to put through your refund on May25th and I now consider our relationship terminated.
Might I suggest that in future you pay for a stay at a five star resort where they supply 24/7 service for their guests.
It was nice location.close to the 3 beachs and places to eat.
It was a fun vacation. Needs some updates on pool n rooms but other than that it was fun and enough space. Close to beachs . shops and food.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay
My husband and I came down to look at houses. It was a great central location for access to all areas in Tampa. The home is nicely sized and the patio and pool are great! I would highly this house!
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you had a good time.
We are a short drive from Tampa or St. Petersburg/Clearwater
International airports, John's Pass which is renowned for its
shopping and nautical charm, The St. Petersburg Pier and Tropicana
Field. We are located minutes from the Pinellas Trail, a 34 mile
long trail where it is possible to bike, rollerblade, or jog in
safety and comfort.
It is a short five minute drive to the Gulf Coast Museum of Art,
Botanical Gardens and Heritage Village and the beautiful Walsingham
The Florida Aquarium, Busch Gardens and Adventure Island are
approximately forty minutes from our location where there are
many attractions that will please both young and old alike.
Seaworld Orlando, Walt Disney World Resort, Universal Orlando and
Wet and Wild are approximately one and a half hours from our
It is just a short drive from the villa to Sunken Gardens. Salvador
Dali Museum and downtown St. Petersburg. There are many golf courses in the area, both municipal and public for those so inclined.