HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Grant Island Cottage-Perfect for dog owners-Pontoon Boat Inc

6 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday cottage in Brantingham - Grant Island Cottage

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 8 Sleeps

Welcome to Grant Island com

Nestled into the South East shore bay of Brantingham lake lies the 2

acre Grant Island. Home to two full size cottages Grant Island is a

perfect getaway from it all. Enjoy the quiet and pristine waterfront

environment on a private island all the while having access to the

outside world thru, Wifi internet and cable television on 36 in Flat screen tv.

Cottage has brick fireplace, fully stocked kitchen with stove/oven, 4

semi private bedrooms, screened in porch, propane grill,

hammock, picnic table and a rustic wood interior.

Being on a Island makes this the perfect escape for dog owners who

love to let their dogs roam free and play.

Available for weekly or extended period rentals is the cottage on the

West side of the Island. The East side cottage is home to the owner

and manager of the property. Complete Island rental packages are

available by special request.

The Island cottage is on Grant Island which sits nicely in the middle

of Brantingham Lake. Brantingham Lake has a 15 mile circumference

and is located 45 minutes north of Utica via rt 12. Located 2 hrs from

Albany and 4.5 - 5.5 hrs from NYC depending on traffic.

On weekends the lake is lively with plenty of boating and water sports

and on weekdays it is usually very quiet and peaceful.

The island is approximately 2 acres and has 2 cottages. We rent both

cottages at special request but normally rent only one. The other

cottage is for management. There is usually only one other person on

the island to make sure that things are running smoothly, to help you

with anything and to answer any questions you may have. I am also available by phone, text or email at all times to answer any questions.

Management has three small dogs on the island. All are very friendly and lovable but if you prefer not to see them we will do our best to keep them away.

These cottages are located in the Adirondack park about 45 minutes

north of Utica NY.

See our website for more info. GrantIsland com.

PLEASE NOTE: There are pros and cons of being on a private island. To prevent any unhappy renters we want you to be aware of the worst parts of being on the island so that you can make an informed decision if this is the right vacation spot for you.

CONS OF RENTING AN ISLAND: The septic tank on the island is delicate and will require care to not overload it to minimize any potential problems and to ensure it continues to function properly. This includes minimizing the toilet paper being flushed unless necessary. If your group will need to flushing a roll of toilet paper down the toilet each day just to go potty this will not be the place for you.

You will also have to carry your garbage off the island and deposit in a dumpster on the mainland.

Being on a private Island also limits some luxuries most will find in Urban living. You will not be living in an upscale luxury building with high pressure showers and White Hotel Linens. If you are looking for a luxury vacation this will not be an ideal location for you. You will be disappointed.

You will need to use commons sense and have some skill with driving and docking a boat properly.

You may also have to ask us for things that may not be readily available to the open eye when you arrive. If you need something and don't see it you may have to ask us about it. Some things are not always out placed where they may normally be. We have had guest complain about not having things like hammocks, canoes as advertised after their stay was over when they were readily available but never asked us about them. When it rains we will bring in the Hammock to extend its life and put it in the corner of the porch. The Canoe is usually found on our side of the island which is detailed in the arrival details all our renters are given for example. A quick text would have satisfied any problems.

If you are not mechanically inclined and will have trouble knowing how to do things like follow details directions on how to pull the choke on an engine to start it this is not the place for you.

With large groups of people renting anyplace there is the chance that something may break down. We will do anything humanly possible to fix any problems as they occur as soon as possible.

If you leave the cottage not as clean as when you arrived you will be charged a cleaning fee. We are usually quite lenient with this so if we charge you then the place was definitely not cleaned well. We have 2 hours to get the cottage ready before the next renters on weekends and if its not properly clean it is stressful getting it ready and we will charge you up to $75 for cleaning.

If these things dont seem like a problem for you then this could be your ideal location for this summer.

We will look forward to having you.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Property Manager
John Pfeiffer
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 June, 2015
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

Very nice island. Quiet and peaceful.

A lot of privacy

Sep 2014
  • 1 of 5


based on 6 holidaymaker reviews

Grant Island Cottage-Perfect for dog owners-Pontoon Boat Inc
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 11 reviews

Summer Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We all had a wonderful time on the island. The kids enjoyed the unique experience. The camp provides great privacy as well as 360 degree views of the lake. Island living encourages more time spent on the water where the fun is to be had.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Poughkeepsie, New York

Our annual little slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5

This is best vacation spot I have ever had! It's your OWN island! How cool is that?!? It comes with the pontoon boat to troll around the lake. Is it a brand new shiny pontoon boat? No, but it gets the job done for hanging out on the lake & fishing. The cabin is fully stocked with pans, cutlery & coffee machine (thank god!) You just need to bring your own linens, paper plates & such. (although real plates & cutlery are there, I just didn't want to do dishes!) There is a grill, patio furniture & picnic table up by the house. We bought a small plastic table with us & used it on the pontoon boat & for eating breakfast on the dock.

You check in on Saturday and hang out for the day. Sunday there is an AMAZING brunch 25-30 minutes away once you get back on land at a beautiful vineyard. http://www.tughillvineyards.com Be sure to call in a reservation ahead of time. There is also a real drive-in movie theater close by as well. Makes for a great date night! Tuesdays is the Lyons Falls farmers market, which is again fairly close by and great to check out local fresh veggies. There is a Stewarts, a Super Wal-Mart AND liquor store not far away in case you forget anything. This was like camping but with all the amenities of a TV, showers & electricity. It's really great as long as you have realistic expectations of a rustic cabin built in the 50's in the woods. There are also a lot of steps getting from the dock up to the main house. We packed items in Tupperware bins that stacked on the boat and were better carrying up the steps than a ton of plastic bags.

My husband and I went alone the first year with our dog and had a great time. The next year we bought two couples with us to enjoy the fun as well. It is definitely roomy enough! One thing you need to know is there are no doors on the bedrooms, there are only curtains that close. So if you are with someone that snores that might be an annoyance for the other people. ( I prefer perfect silence when I sleep) We bought a white noise machine with us and one of those tall slim fans and between those you never heard the on goings of other guests. So I advise doing the same. Other than that everything we needed was right there. Your own boat, dock, grill, & cabin on your own island! Seriously it's great! We are going back AGAIN for our 3rd year this year with the same couples again! We actually were reserving the island for this year as we were packing the car and leaving last year.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

I count down the days until we return to Grantcamp

  • 4 of 5

Good friends of our invited us to the island after a stay that they had had. They raved about how much they enjoyed it as a couple and thought it would be fun to invite other couples. We loved having our own boat to lounge on during the day. The house had more then enough room for all of us to be in comfortably. The lake that the island is on was so nice and relaxing. My husband who isn't much of a leaving home kind of guy really enjoyed himself. The house is rustic and charming! We can not wait to return this year.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

my summer vacation

  • 5 of 5

Was staying over the week on the Great island this summer , and had a

greatest time ever)))) quiet , so u can actually hear birds ( I live in NY

city, and it's pretty unique over here...:)) Sunny, green , inspiring... Had

a lot of fun tubing and kayaking, you can just swim around the island....

Just perfect long or short plan... Can't wait to come back.

Thank u, Great island...

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wilkes-Barre, PA

Not What I Expected

  • 2 of 5

My family and I were excited about this cottage for our annual vacation. An island of our own, a boat, fishing, swimming, beautiful scenery...etc. As we read the list of amenities we thought this would be a small paradise. What we found was something much different. I'll start by saying that the area is breathtaking. The lake and surrounding area is gorgeous. The people are friendly and helpful. Now, the cottage. Simple and unfinished and cozy. It was nice for our getaway. There was no computer, as advertised. There was no wi-fi service, as advertised. There was no canoe or row boat to use, as advertised. That's not the worst part yet. I could live with that. I didn't expect a brand new boat, especially for one that comes with a rental. It's definitely seen better days, but was functional. The only issue I had was that there were no lights on the boat for night time use, nor was there an anchor. You can't possibly use it to fish because the wind pushes you around. Now, the deal breaker. The bathroom. I knew that we would have to restrict flushing on the island, but when I arrived I was asked not to dispose of any paper in the toilet I was stunned. I had a family of 5 and I was not permitted to flush any paper! Really??? We complied and disposed of paper waste in individual baggies from the local Wal-Mart( that I had to purchase) and remove the trash on a daily basis. The water pressure in the shower 70% of the time was a trickle. If you're fine with "roughing" it, and I mean really "roughing" it, this was a great place. Would I return, only if the water and septic systems were updated. Until then, I will look elsewhere.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately we had two sets of renters whom were upset when we charged them a cleaning fee after their departure. In one case we didn't even take the whole $75 nominal fee. My mother is the one whom inspects and cleans the cottage before and after arrivals to get it ready for the next guest. She is not a clean freak by any means. If she says someone left it dirty. they left it dirty... Let me address with you each of the reviews statements by the guests. One guest said there was no Wifi.- Not correct If they didn't know how to log into a wifi signal we were never asked. The code and pw are on the table in the living room. I need Wifi for my business when im there on weekends so it's a necessity. It was working. They never asked about it. The pontoon boat does have an anchor.. It's under the back seat. They never asked. Toilet. We ask that nothing BUT the TP that we supply is used to flush down the toilet and that if its # 1 to simply place it in the wastebasket rather than the toilet. The toilet itself has not had any issues. Seems they were just upset they felt they had to dispose of ALL TP. We supply special bio degradable TP for this reason. If it was necessary to NEVER flush the TP why would we get this kind of TP? Water pressure - At times it does get low as the filters in our system will start to fill up. If we are told the water pressure is low.. We can change the filter in about 5 minutes. We were never told. One summer one of our first renters experienced the misfortune of having our boat motor on the pontoon boat start getting ceased up due to combustion buildup in the engine. It slowly started to run slower and slower as the exhaust was not able to flow freely. Being in a small area we are slave to the help available. Our mechanic was not able to get over to fix the engine in a timely manner and the boat did start running poorly. However it did run sufficient to get anywhere they needed. Just not fast. Which is what they wanted to do. Drive the pontoon boat full speed. When they notified us they were not happy about it, even tho it did run sufficiently, we gave them our pontoon boat. A week later our mechanic was able to fix the engine and have it running 100% Its possible the gas on the boat we use was not full when we gave it to them. They ended up running out of gas as they stated. Probably because they were running it around the lake most of the day full speed which my mother observed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good & Bad

  • 2 of 5

What a big disappointment. The island and water were great, the cottage nice. Here’s where it went wrong. Their top amenity is a 25hp pontoon boat free for you to use for travel to and from shore and recreation. The pontoon barely ran, stalled constantly. After a few days of frustration and disappointment we asked the owner to borrow their boat so we could explore the island. The boats should have been switched at the beginning of the trip. Instead of giving us a full tank of gas, which they charge you for refills she only added about ½ a tank. Coming back from picking up hot take-out we ran out of gas in the middle of the lake. On top of that, not all burners on the grill worked, there was no kayak or canoe and the rowboat that we did have to use had a hole in the bottom. There was no hammock, most of the amenities stated were missing or not working. Within a few hours of arriving my 13 year old ripped a 3” gash in the bottom of his foot from an errant nail on the floating raft. The nail should have been hammered down the beginning of the season! We paid a damage and cleaning deposit. They kept over 70% of the cleaning deposit stating the place was okay. We left the place in better condition than we found it. I swept up a ton of dog hair that didn’t belong to my dogs, cleaned marshmellows out of the fireplace, found half eaten Stromboli in the oven etc. They should be giving us a refund not withhold our cleaning fee. Needless to say we won’t be going back!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2012
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: They stated in the review they were given a half tank. IF THEY KNEW OR CHECKED THIS WHEN THEY RECEIVED IT HOW DID THEY RUN OUT OF GAS WITHOUT BEING AWERE OF IT? They simply ran the boat out of gas and blame us. Hammock.- There is one, if they asked, in the corner on the porch in somewhat plane site as you walk into the cottage. Its put up on the trees with two clips that takes about 10 seconds to set up. When It rains we take it down. So its not always hanging when you arrive. They never asked us about it. If they had we could have put it up for them. We do have a Canoe, Kayak, paddle boats that are free to use. They are on our side of the property and we state in the welcoming letter to come over and help themselves. The rowboat that we do park on the renters side of the island does not have a hole in the bottom of it of course. BBQ Grill - We just purchased a new one last year. Some of the burners were getting old. When we were made aware of it we updated it. If you ask or tell us about a need we always take care of it or do the best we can. Which none of these renters did. They then complained only after we charged them for cleaning Its not possible for a host to be aware of any issues or needs of their guest unless they let the host know. Ill be happy to give you 2 or more references of past renters whom may have a much different point of view to share with you. Also. Im confident that you would not experience anything short of enjoying your time on the island that ill offer you a $500 REFUND if afterward you are not completely satisfied with your week vacation. In exchange ill ask that after your stay you leave us an honest review on this website. Looking forward to having you stay with us this summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
30 1


Other Activities:

<p><strong>Top Thing to do in City:</strong></p><ul><li>Honeymoon / Wedding.</li><li>Jet Skiing / Water Skiing.</li><li>Golfing / Tennis.</li><li>Canoeing / Kayaking / Rowboating.</li><li>ATV riding / Snowmobiling.</li></ul><p><strong>Top Thing to do in Budget:</strong></p><ul><li>Bar Hopping.</li><li>ATV riding / Snowmobiling.</li><li>Fishing.</li><li>Barbecue.</li><li>Visit singing waters - Large Stream where you can tube down.</li></ul><p><strong>Top Thing to do in Family:</strong></p><ul><li>Honeymoon / Wedding.</li><li>Family Reunion.</li><li>Pontoon boat rides.</li><li>Fishing.</li><li>Barbecue.</li></ul>

There is great fishing on the lake. Large mouth Bass, Pickerel,

Bullhead, Whitefish and much more, so bring your poles. Some of the

best fishing in the lake is right off the Dock. You don't even have

to go out in a boat if you dont want.

There are thousands of miles of Bike and ATV trails on the mainland so

if you like riding you can bring your 4 wheelers, Snowmobiles or

mountain bikes. In the winter time people come to the area just for

the trails. There are 4 restaurants within 1 mile of your parking area

to eat at and plenty of busy bars to go to at night which on weekends


host live bands.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Brantingham, Adirondacks

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £287
Property Damage Protection £81

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Brantingham, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
The Island Rental Cottage is a 4 bedroom semi private cottage sleeping up to 8 (see pricing) which comes fully equipped with all amenities. Coffee machine, Stove, Microwave, Silverware, China, Pots, Pans, Large sink, CD, DVD, VCR, there is Wifi if you wish to bring your laptop. Bed arrangement consist of the following: Bedroom 1 - Queen bed, Bedroom 2 - Double bed, Bedroom 3 - Double Bed, Bedroom 4 - 2 single beds. Living room has a pull out futon. You can bring your own linens or They can be supplied for $20/set. Cottage has an active brick fireplace and a limited amount of wood is supplied. Outside there is an accent lit walkway to the lake area. There is a picnic table, grill, lounge chairs and hammock to relax in. Water area has a break wall boarder in about 1 1/2 ft of water with a dock. A Canoe, Paddleboat and Kayak are free to use.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties