HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Indian Pass Fun, Private & Cozy Beach Cottage--The Barnacle

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,050 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Enjoy your vacation at this fabulous round house in a tree-filled

setting, tastefully decorated, located on the tip of Indian Pass.

Indian Pass is located at the extreme west end of Apalachicola Bay

where it flows into the Gulf of Mexico. This conflux of fresh and

saltwater makes one the most fertile estuarine areas of the world.

While the area was settled by Native Americans for thousands of

years and then again by the early European explorers modern

civilization has conveniently skipped us over.

Long Known as Florida's 'Forgotten Coast' most of the inhabitants

here have fins or feathers. No high rises or motels but miles of

unspoiled beaches, succulent oysters, world class fishing and

spectacular sunsets. Beachcombers are greeted by miles of shells,

fossilized shark teeth and pottery shards from our earliest


This comfortable two-bedroom, two bath retreat offers lots of

privacy in a natural setting just steps (150 ft.) from the beach.

Wrap-around deck with chairs and a slight view of Indian Lagoon, lots of

wildlife, and great birding. Explore St. Vincent's Island across the

Pass. Bring your kayaks, canoes, fishing poles, binoculars, and camera. Excellent

fishing and crabbing, shelling and long walks on miles of pristine

beach. Private and peaceful.

More Details

Victor or Janis Ramos
Member since: 2003
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 March, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for letting us enjoy The Barnacle---BEST VACATION WE'VE EVER HAD! And our dogs, Pinto & Chili agree! :-) Truly one of a kind house in a one of a kind location---we loved getting back to nature & enjoyed all of the outdoor activities!

We had everything we needed right here-----thank you for the great accommodations!

Still so much we wanted to do-----needed another week :-). We are sad to leave, but can't wait to return! Indian Pass is Awesome & The Barnacle is a great place to take it all in!
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 13


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • All indoor and outdoor furniture must be returned to it's original place before checking out.
  • Bicycles and outdoor beach chairs must be rinsed off after each use. Barbecue to be cleaned of ashes before check-out.
  • Please be considerate of the finish on our floors and furniture, by rinsing sandy feet in the water tub provided. No wet bathing suits on furniture.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • There is an outdoor shower on the deck.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Each bedroom has a queen size bed and its own bathroom. In addition, the living room contains a queen sleeper sofa.
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 4 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • bay
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Our cottage is very well appointed including, central heat and air, glass top stove with microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, blender, full complement of dishes and pots and pans and ice maker. Built-in library has a large assortment of books, cable TV, DVD player, free wireless DSL, four adult beach bikes, beach chairs, washer-dryer and linens are all included in our fee.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Indian Pass Fun, Private & Cozy Beach Cottage--The Barnacle
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 37 reviews
Mukwonago, WI

Beautiful place and amazing people! Would do it again in a second! Thank You for Everything!

  • 5 of 5

First of all, Victor and Janis are the most amazing people, my only disappointment was not meeting them in person. The communication back and forth in planning this trip was amazing and I really enjoyed the time taken to write real letters of response, it made me feel as though we were old friends. From the initial reply to the emails, calls and texts in between to the handmade card with the beautiful picture on it once we arrived home, I felt as though we had made the right decision in where to stay! You are never left wondering, they take care of it all! The house is beautiful and was the perfect size for my husband, myself and our teenage daughter (even better she could have her own bathroom!) and we were so fortunate to be able to bring our dog whom we never leave with anyone (she is our second spoiled "daughter")! The house had everything we needed and was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We enjoyed feeding the birds and squirrels as well. They really have thought of everything to make sure guests feel welcome and comfortable! The deck had just been redone and it's so nice! I loved being outside at night and only hearing the ocean and enjoyed being up in the trees. Though the house is close to others it is extremely private. The walk to the beach was easy and quick and the view from the top is breathtaking! The dog enjoyed the beach as much as we did and we were so grateful she was allowed there! We were surprised to find she was welcome in many of the shops in Apalachicola as we enjoyed a drizzly, cold day shopping there. We enjoyed and afternoon visiting St. George Island State Park (no dogs on the beach there) which was beautiful! Another afternoon was spent horseback riding on the beach in Cape San Blas with Two-Bit Stables (my husband and daughter rode while I walked alongside with the dog, it was perfect!) and I highly recommend them, Cheryl was amazing (and I can't believe she will be 73 in April!)! Our last night my husband and I had a "date night" and went to Indian Pass Raw Bar and I'm so glad we did! It was a really neat experience and different than anywhere we had ever been! Being from Wisconsin we enjoy our beers and we were excited to try local brews on tap; (though one of the kids shelling oysters told me it's by Anheuser-Busch!) the red one was our favorite. The food was delicious (key lime pie was my favorite!) and the service was outstanding! We were first time oyster eaters, very enjoyable! Perfect vacation!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristin, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of The Barnacle and our surrounding area! We loved knowing you and your family were having such a good time at the Barnacle, even as we were away for Christmas ourselves. We were so sorry we weren't able to meet you, either, but are sincerely hoping you left a few things undone here that you will want to revisit in the future, thus making another trip so we can meet you in person! Thank you again for choosing the Barnacle and being such lovely guests, as well as the special basket from Wisconsin you left for us! All our best to you and yours!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful location, great hospitality, peaceful and relaxing getaway.

  • 5 of 5

Janis and Victor were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed daily walks on a near empty beach every day, great rides out to St George Island, fishing, grilling, eating out in Port St Joe. Great local seafood, beautifully quiet area and a great little round house to come home to every night. Thank you Victor and Janis for opening your home up to VRBO.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you and Christine had such a nice time at the Barnacle. It is amazing all the fun things you were able to do while you were here, and we certainly hope you can return to do some more! Thank you so much! We loved having you at the Barnacle!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Knxville, TN


  • 3 of 5

The house was very nice and Janis and Victor are great hosts. However the property is listed as beachfront and it is NOT. I would not have rented this home if I had known that.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are sorry the location was not exactly what you had expected and that you had trouble with your knee getting over the boardwalk to the beach. We try very carefully to give all our guests as much information as possible through words, pictures, and our phone number in order to avoid any confusion, so we ask our potential guests to please take advantage of all this information before booking. We are so glad you and your husband and friend had such a nice time while you were here!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Clean, cute and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Nature and environs excellent. Surf and bayshore fishing were great fun. Caught all our family dinners

  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing the Barnacle! We are so glad you had fun and especially enjoyed the fresh fish for dinner! Beats frozen fish anytime, right!! Please come back and see us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Natural setting is so peaceful!

  • 5 of 5

This cozy cottage is well laid out and the walkway to the beach opens to such a beautiful view. It is truly a unique location. Janis and Victor are wonderful hosts, there if you have a question, but otherwise unobtrusive.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review of the Barnacle! We also think it is a very unique place, and although the Barnacle does not have a view of the water itself, we think the view from the boardwalk and the beach, being right across the tip from St. Vincent's Wildlife Refuge, more than makes up for it. Thank you again for choosing the Barnacle, and please come back and see us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location to Explore the Forgotten Coast, Great Surf Fishing, Great Shelling.

  • 5 of 5

Janis and Victor were great to work with. The house itself was as advertised. This was a great location on Indian Pass; the shuttle to St Vincent Wildlife Reserve (SVWR) was a couple hundred yards down the beach and well worth the trip across the channel. It was a 35 minute drive to St George Island, 30 minute drive to Apalachicola (great fresh seafood, cute shops), 25 minute drive to Port St Joe, 20 minute drive to Cape San Blas (Amazing Beaches), and only 4 minutes from the Indian Pass Raw Bar. Overall this is a great location from which to explore the Forgotten Coast. Location was Ideal for Surf Fishing, the straight provided great access to fish from the Bay and the Gulf. The sand bar off of SVWR protected the beach from strong waves we saw elsewhere; however the current was quite strong at times during low and high tide. Fishing off SVWR beach was a sensational experience and definitely one of the highlights of this trip. Overall we can highly recommend and would gladly rent The Barnacle again.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your thorough review of the Barnacle and surrounding areas! We are so glad you got to experience so many fun and interesting places while you were here! It sounds to me like you will need to return, though. With as manly places as you were able to cover while you were here, there are just as many other gems, just waiting for you to discover! Please come back and see us again! We would love to tell you about some of those new places for you to explore!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Fishing, boating, kayaking.

* Take long walks on the beach.

* Scalloping, 7/1-9/10.

* Relax on the beach.

* Bird watching.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Explore St. Vincent's Wildlife Refuge.

* Swimming, kayaking, or canoeing.

* Bike Riding, shell collecting.

* Star gazing, photography.

* Kite flying/playing on beach.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Rent a pontoon boat on St. Joe Bay.

* Explore historic Apalachicola.

* Enjoy local seasonal events.

* Go horseback riding on the beach.

* Take a day trip in the surrounding areas.

Fishing, crabbing, scalloping (in season), birding, photography, star gazing,

kite flying, snorkeling, excellent shelling, a dream for kayakers, bike riding, relaxing

and listening to the sounds of nature. Writers love it here for its seclusion and serene setting.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Port St. Joe, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Spring 2018
31 Mar 2018 - 4 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Summer 2018
5 May 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Fall 2016
25 Aug 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Winter Rates
1 Dec 2018 - 29 Mar 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £216.63
Pet Fee £90.26 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £43.33 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Nightly Rate: $175 - $200

Weekly Rate: $1195 - $1350

Monthly Rate: Please note that we no longer are accepting monthly bookings/rates.

PayPal: All PayPal fees will be deducted from your refundable security deposit of $300.00

Refundable $300.00 security deposit applies to all bookings.

Saturday is the "turn" day for the Barnacle from April through September, and can only be rented weekly during those busy months.

We offer a full refund if guest has to cancel, at least 30 days before arrival. If a cancellation is after the 30 days, a full refund, minus $25.00 processing fee, will be given, provided those days can be re-booked. We are not able to offer refunds if the cancellation is less than the 30 days, and the Barnacle cannot be re-booked. In case of a hurricane, if Indian Pass is under mandatory evacuation, any unused portion of the fee will be refunded. We suggest purchasing traveler's insurance, for those unexpected events that would prevent you from keeping your reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals