Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming home - short walk to Hanalei Bay

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 14 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Sleeps 5

Charming 2 bedroom (King, Double and Twin), there is a queen size pune'e just below the TV in the living room; 1 shower/tub bath, boasts Cathedral ceilings, bamboo floors, outdoor shower, high speed internet access and surround sound CD/DVD/plasma TV.

A quick walk to Hanalei Bay, this sweet house is also very convenient from Hanalei Town and the Hanalei farmer's market. Expansive mountain and waterfall views, with a back covered lanai looking out on a large yard with tropical gardens. Sleeps 5. Five nights minimum stay, seven nights during holiday season. As with most homes on Kauai, this vacation rental is not air conditioned.


TAT # TA-170-466-7136-01</strong>

More Details

Property Manager
Oceanfront Realty International, Inc.
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

The neighborhood and location were exceptional, very walk able to beach and town. The views from the front yard and the outdoor shower were absolute highlights! I especially enjoyed the outdoor shower and location.
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hanalei in Kauai County

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom # 1 (King), Bedroom # 2 (2 Twin), Extra Bedding (Double)
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue


Very Good! 4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
12% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Charming home - short walk to Hanalei Bay
average rating of 4.0 based on 10 reviews
Austin, Texas

Great location—but could use some updates

  • 3 of 5

While this is a fantastic location, the photos and description of the home are pretty generous. It’s not quite as nice as we had hoped, but it worked and we had a great vacation. The WiFi router was completely dead when we arrived, but the property management company quickly sent a new one over and took care of the issue. The bathroom needs some updating, as does the kitchen. The oven doesn’t heat up to more than 350, nor does it broil. There is no dishwasher and some of the dishes were not fully clean. It was great having a washer/dryer and plenty of beach towels and chairs. Bikes would be a lovely addition to the property, as well!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sarah, and mahalo for your review. Please note that the photos are not re-touched and are accurate, and that the home is described as "charming", without making any extravagant claims. You hadn't reported a problem with the oven, but we are now sending someone to check it out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Davis, CA

OK, but you can do better

  • 3 of 5

We have been to Hanalei Bay several times and we love it. This time it was a last minute decision and there were few options. Good things about the Blunui are that it is close to the beach, the main room is light and airy with a vaulted ceiling, lots of windows and a nice breeze. The rusted washer that a previous guest complained about is rusted, but it works fine. There are lots of fans that help with the warm afternoons, and I loved the outdoor shower. There were beach mats, boogie boards and beach chairs, though one was broken. On the other hand, there were roaches in the house--alive and dead--, the view from the backyard is pretty much a view of the backyard, and the house is across the street from a city yard, so periodically there was heavy equipment moving in front of the house during the day (dump trucks, earth movers etc). If you plan to be away all day it will not be an issue, but if you want to hang out at the house and have a quiet read, it might not work for you. The house next door is very close, though Leslie was over the top gracious about trying to limit the noise. If you have options, you can probably do better. If not, this place is ok.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jay, and mahalo for your review. We're glad that you appreciated our local-style beach house, and we're sorry that you encountered a few problems. You didn't notify us that you had a broken beach chair, which we would have replaced, or that you had an insect problem. Being located in the subtropics we do get a lot of bugs, and we spray the house on a quarterly schedule, but we would have sent someone to touch up. Please also note that the house is located in a residential community, and there will be daily activity in the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location. Needs a few updates

  • 4 of 5

The location was perfect and the overall feel and layout of the house was great. There is no A/C but plenty of fans and lots of airflow in the main room. The matresses are definitely in need of replacement (no support left) and is really the only thing that would cause us to hesitate on booking this property again.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha David, and mahalo for your review! We're glad you enjoyed staying at the house. Although mattress firmness is a personal preference, we will let the owner know that you think they need replacing. We hope you'll reconsider and stay with us again; we offer a 10% discount to repeat guests, and we'd love to have you return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Easy little beach cottage, close to the break

  • 5 of 5

Bluniu is the perfect little cottage in Hanalei for a family of four especially if you are surfers. The house has everything you need and feels more neighborhoodie and local than staying at a hotel. I'm not sure you would count the living room day bed as a bedroom for someone unless you were very close. Only one bathroom. (We have rented houses on Weke closer to the center of town and I'll admit those are a bit more advantageous for getting to the grocery store/ restaraunts as it rained a ton while we were here but this one is great for the larger break on the western end of the beach.) house is equipped with towels, everything you need for cooking/ grilling and the Netflix / internet work very well. Thanks for a memorable Christmas!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Octavia, and mahalo nui loa for your review! Weʻre glad you enjoyed your holidays with us. Blu Nui does have a more "local" feel than most rental homes in Hanalei, and it's close to the excellent surf break at Waioli ("Pine Trees"). We hope youʻll return; we offer a 10% discount to repeat guests and we'd love the opportunity to share our aloha again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Neglected & overpriced

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I rented the Blu Nui for a week while we stayed in hanalei and unfortunately, we wanted to check out as soon as we arrived. We were greeted by a dirty and dusty home with dead lizards in the windows.

The biggest issue we had was the lack of air flow. Although we knew there would be no ac, we did not know there would be zero airflow in the house. The property management company brought some fans after we complained which helped very little. The home is nestled behind a few tall houses which did not allow any air to get to the house and it was 10-15 degrees warmer inside of the house than it was outside.

Next, it seems like the owner has not put much effort into the property for a long time. Everything is extremely old and not well maintained. The laundry outside is completely rusted over and the toilet seems like it's going to break. The towels and bed sheets are very old as well. The bed sheets in the master bedroom felt like a flannel material. Not comfortable in 90degree and humid weather.

Needless to say, we will not be staying here again.

Two stars for location. Walking distance to beach and shops.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Karina, and mahalo for your review. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with the house. When you arrived, you contacted us to let us know that you were surprised about the lack of air conditioning, but very few homes on Kauai have AC. We rely on the trade winds and mild weather to maintain comfort. For example, during your stay the average temperature recorded by the National Weather Service at Lihue airport was 80F. You also told us that the screens needed to be repaired, but mentioned nothing about the house being dirty. We immediately sent our maintenance crew, who purchased extra fans for you and repaired the screens, but unfortunately you also didn’t tell them that you thought anything needed cleaning. Since our housekeepers guarantee their work they would have re-cleaned anything reported. The washer and dryer are about three years old, but due to the famous tropical environment that people visit the island for, everything rusts rather quickly. That same moisture is what makes Kauai the lush Garden Isle! However it would be unreasonable and irresponsible to replace major appliances every couple of years, so we accept rust as a minor inconvenience when living in paradise. The house is located in Hanalei, a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and the nearby shops and restaurants.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Blu Nui Love

  • 5 of 5

We spent 10 days at Blu Nui with our granddaughter and loved it‼️‼️‼️ My husband and I both thought it felt like "home." Emma loved having her own room. It was convient, comfortable, close to beach and town. We could walk to center of Hanalei. Our neighbor made us banana nut bread. I would love to stay there again‼️🌺🌴

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Rhoda, and mahalo nui for your comments. We're glad we were able to make you and your family feel welcome, and that you enjoyed the house and its location in Hanalei. Please let us know when you're ready to return and we'll take 10% off your rent as a repeat guest. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees


You might like these similar holiday rentals