The Granite Ridge Cottage sleeps up to 10 total (with double occupancy in all queen and double beds). Master bedroom with queen bed and private bath. Second bedroom has bunk beds with double on bottom and twin on top, pull out sleeper chair and attached bath. Downstairs den includes a queen sleeper sofa. Detached bunkhouse includes double bed on bottom and twin on top. Bunkhouse has heat and window AC! House trained pets welcome. No smoking in home. WIFI, Smart Flat Screen TV in living room, Flatscreen TV in master, and Flatscreen TV downstairs with wireless Dish TV service, Flatscreen TV for DVD use in Bunkhouse. Radio with Tuner, CD and Bluetooth connection in Living Room and wired to outdoor speakers on porch and second radio in downstairs den with CD and Tuner. Washer/Dryer. Updated kitchen and outdoor charcoal grill. Covered patio with awesome mountain views. Outdoor fire pit with chairs. Privacy. Last house at top of mountain road. Very comfortable for a family, special occasion, friend get away, etc. All types of vehicles have been able to access the cottage without difficulty during fair weather. We provide snow removal for more than 2 inches of accumulation. In the winter months tenants can also park at the bottom of the drive and hike to the cottage. All basic linens, paper products, soap, and cooking/eating ware provided. Weekday and winter discounts (excluding holiday seasons). Minimum three night stay during holidays (Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years)
Awesome mtn views, fireplace, WIFI, Dish TV, 2 bed, 2 bath with added bunkhouse
- Calendar last updated:
- 18 Dec 2018
Pool / Spa
100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
What a lovely place to call home away from home!
This was such a peaceful place to spend time away from the hustle and bustle while still being in close proximity to so many attractions. Our trip was cut short, unfortunately, but the owners we're generous enough to refund the first night that we were unable to be there and were extremely accommodating. We are so thankful for them sharing such a beautiful home and property with us!
The place was in bad working order
The first thing is the dishes were drity and the heater was broke and the kerosene fumes leaking into the house and the owners new this and had a paper saying to open the windows, the fire place was stopped up and was in working order; half the lights didn't work; and my family got sick form the fumes we had to stay here we didn't have the money to get hotel plus it didn't have any fire or carbon dioxide detectors in the house.
We are very sorry for your unfortunate experience. We wished you had contacted us at the first sign of concern so that we could have remedied the problems. We have not received any complaints from other renters there just prior to and following your stay. There are carbon monoxide detectors present in the home which did not get activated. The instructions left for renters clarified that we are awaiting a replacement part for the heat unit and until it arrives, the home may get too warm and we encourage you to crack a window. We suspect that when you opened the window downstairs you smelled fumes from the heating unit just outside and all that was needed was to choose a different window not near the heat unit.
We are sorry that you happened to stay when the bulbs in two lights were out, and again, wish you had contacted us so that we could inform you where replacement bulbs are kept.
Finally, the dishes should not have been dirty in the dishwasher. We have informed our cleaning service and will continue to work to ensure everything is ready for our guest's arrival.
We do wish you had contacted us as indicated in all of the arrival and stay communication so that we could have assisted.
My wife and I, along with five adult friends, enjoyed a long weekend in Swannanoa. We very much enjoyed our stay at Granite Ridge. We read in the reviews that the access road could be difficult, but we did not have any problems getting to the cabin in a fully loaded mini van.
Swannanoa and nearby Black Mountain were a great surprise and provided us with all the provisions we needed without having to drive into Asheville.
We had a great stay,
Best VRBO place we have ever had
Wonderful place to stay. Close to both Asheville and Black Mountain but very secluded. Everything is as advertised and then some. Owner was in contact several times before we got there answering questions we didn’t even think to ask. Outside fire pit is perfectly located. Great view. This will be our go to place from now on!!
Nice location in Black Mountain
Property was described correctly in the listing. The home could use some detail cleaning under and around things but overall was clean. The bunkhouse needs something done to it to remove the mildew odor. It was overwhelming even after letting it air out.
Owner was responsive to one issue we had. If you have pets it's a nice location for them.
Great property in the mountain
Our family had a wonderful time in Black Mountain. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. The only downside was the bunkhouse. It smelled awful, like wet mold and stale air.
Enjoy your stay at Granite Ridge Cottage 5 minutes from downtown Black Mountain and 15 minutes from Asheville, NC. Access to the Blue Ridge Parkway is a 15 minute drive or tour the Biltmore Estate which is a 20 minute drive from the cottage. Other local attractions include: Lake James, Chimney Rock State Park, Lake Lure, Downtown Asheville, Grove Park Inn, Whitewater Rafting on the French Broad River, Rock Climbing, Asheville's brand new outlet malls. Guests can purchase a day pass for the Black Mountain YMCA fitness center (formerly Chesire Fitness Center). Cottage is 2 miles from Pisgah Brewery.
Additional pricing information
Cleaning fee of $100 included in all reservations. No pet fee charged as long as the cottage is cared for and there is not evidence of damage. No cats allowed. Full refunds will be issued if cancelled up to 30 days prior, less the VRBO cancellation fee. Cancellations 30 days or less result in a 50% refund. Cancellations within 15 days receive no refund. Special circumstances necessitating a cancellation will be handled on a case by case basis.