HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Rustic Comfort Log Cabin

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Inverness - Rustic Comfort Log Cabin

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, 6 Sleeps

Come and enjoy our Cedar Log Cabin located near Inverness, FL. It is the perfect romantic getway to rekindle romance or spend some quality time with the family. Whether it is reviving family game night with a board game or roasting marshmallows around the fire ring, there are many opportunities to break away from the daily grind. In the summer you can watch the fireflies as they float through the woods and relax to the hum of the cicadas. In winter there is no better place than cuddled up in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine, a deck of cards, and good company.

Our Log Cabin is a two bedroom, one bath western cedar home nestled among old growth hardwood trees sits on 1/2 acre and is a perfect "get away to nature" without being too far from town; total area of about 1000 sq.ft. Constructed in 1990, this dwelling can sleep six people. Located between the Gulf Coast area of Crystal River /Homosassa Springs and the major Disney/Central Florida attractions of Orlando. (the cabin is just 8 miles east of Inverness FL.) It is only a mile away from the famous waters of the Withlachoochee River, and it is close to all of the major attractions in the Tampa Bay area.

*Please note our cancellation policy as it differs slightly from the available options given by Homeaway:

100% if cancelled +90 days prior to the Check-in Date

50% if cancelled 60-90 days prior to the Check-in Date

25% if cancelled 30-60 days prior to the Check-in Date

0% if cancelled within 30 days of Check-in Date

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Christina Ahmed
Member since: 2005
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2016


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

Rustic Comfort Log Cabin
average rating of 4.076923 based on 13 reviews

Into the Wild you go

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing wilderness adventure. It was a nice escape from the hurricane here in Jacksonville Beach. We would consider staying again!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

very charming and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

We had a very nice time. the cabin was charming and cozy.The only thing, I wish it had air in the bedrooms, and more water pressure . But overall I would go again. Saw 2 Doe and a fawn. as far as wild life. The restaurant down the road Fisherman restaurant was great best seafood I had in a long time. Thanks for a quiet anniversary.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable, serene cabin

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful two-night stay at the Rustic Comfort Log Cabin. Online description was accurate and detailed. Great location-remote but close to town and various parks and natural springs. Comfortable soft beds, clean, and everything in working order, Wi-Fi was fast and reliable (I know that shouldn't matter when you're staying in nature; but when you have a teen with you, it's important!). So much was provided that we weren't expecting: charcoal/wood chips/lighter fluid for the grill, bottled water, pastries, fruit, coffee and creamer. Very hot weather, to be expected in FL in July, but window unit did fine job of keeping us comfortable. Only issue, since there is no AC in bedrooms, doors must be left open to get air circulation from window unit in living room. Not a big deal, but if you want privacy and closed doors, keep that in mind. The only other slight negative; ants and bugs. Also to be expected in the summer in the middle of a woodsy area. We had to deal with ants a few times on various parts of the kitchen counter, but bug spray was provided and that helped. Owners were terrific. E-mails and communications were timely and they answered any questions we had. We look forward to booking this cabin again in the future, and I've already recommended to my sister who wants to visit this area during Firefly season in April.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Rustic and secluded

  • 4 of 5

Rustic and secluded, a getaway to relax and enjoy nature and a quiet surrounding. .. true cabin life. Ideal also to bring children to allow to play freely since there are no traffic concerns. The place is clean and well equipped with everything you need, including a generous fruit basket as a welcome gift.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

log cabin in the woods

  • 4 of 5

We loved everything about it with one exception the tiles in the shower desperately need replaced a cheap wall shower kit would do the job.We would definitely still come back even with that problem ,it would just make the bathroom more attractive to go with the rest of the home.We would highly recommend for a quiet get away with lots of nature.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Filthy, in need of repair

  • 1 of 5

I would NOT recommend this property or owner to anyone. We arrived to a foul odor and found piles of mildewed towels in the kitchen sink and on the bathroom floor, there were soiled linens piled on both beds and a blood-stained pillowcase. The toilet seat had been previously broken off and it took a full two days for them to repair it. Cockroaches were in every room at night.

It is over two weeks since we left and we have not been refunded our security deposit or our linen fee. We definitely left the place in better condition than we found it. The owner, a Mr. Clark, has not returned calls and the broker, Christina Ahmed, has not answered emails.

This was my first VRBO rental, I will most likely not book through them again.

Bill Windnagel, Oak Harbor, OH

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This property missed its normal pre-arrival cleaning by mistake. It was a schedule check-down error on our end during our busy back to back rental season. Not an excuse, and we are sorry for the poor experience. However the security deposit refund was in fact sent last week to the guests (before we got news of this review) but it may be that they did not receive it before posting the review. The guests also received a refund of their linen and inspection fee in addition to a discount on their stay. I did return the guests calls and exchanged messages so I do not know why the guests have said we did not. The log cabin is made of western red cedar log which generally repels or kills most all insects - if they stick around. We do not lay poisons down (we are pet friendly) and therefore have a population of balancing predators (lizards/spiders/mantises) who usually keep to the business at hand and to themselves. But being in Florida, insects and other nature creatures do commit trespasses. The toilet seat was fixed as soon as possible; it had metal bolt/nut connectors that required drilling/tapping out. We are sorry for this poor review as we have had over 10 years of excellent ones.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Visit the historic courthouse in the center of Inverness.

* Attend a Farmers Market.

* Take a wild ride on Wild Bill's Air Boat Tours.

* Take your boat out on the Withlacoochee.

* Stroll their antique shops.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Relax inside infront of the fireplace.

* Birdwatching.

* Visit one of the many parks.

* Board games with the family.

* Fishing.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Airboat Tours.

* Disney.

* Horseback riding.

* Golfing.

* Fishing.

The cabin is centrally located, many day trips are possible.

Disney is about 1 hour away to the east, Ford Island Gulf Beach is

45 minutes west and very secluded. Wild Bill's Airboat Tours is

right nearby and a great restaurant, Fisherman's Cove.

The historic courthouse located in the heart of Inverness is actually a museum and there are many shops and restaurants located nearby. There are farmers markets on the weekends and different festivals and fairs depending on the time of year.

There is a wonderful store, Olde Inverness Antiques located in the heart of Inverness, right near the picturesque courthouse. It is the site of many an antique fair and is worth special mention since we always find something special when we visit.

You might not guess that spelunking would be possible here in Central Florida, but it is! The small system located just south of Lecanto is called the Dames Caves. They are some of the oldest caves in Florida formed long ago when this region was under sealevel. They are integral to our aquifer system but these caves wont be around forever; sediment washed in from rainstorms has been slowing filling the caves.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house In Inverness, Florida North Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
21 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
Mid Season
1 May 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
1 Sep 2018 - 17 Nov 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £119
Linen Fee £20
Inspection Fee £40
Pet Fee £36
Tax Rate 9.0%

Please note that the Rustic Comfort Log Cabin and Talisman Riverhouse are extremely rustic and best suited for nature lovers and outdoor enthusiasts. We do not recommend them to high maintenance lady folk or metro males who might better prefer the soft edges of a Holiday Inn. The Saltwater Springs Retreat, however is better suited to those city slickers who desire more creature comforts and modern amenities.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Inverness in Florida

Property Type:
  • house
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
* Fully equipped kitchen including: * Coffee Maker * Toaster * Microwave * Utensils and Flatware * Cookware * Air Conditioning * Space Heaters * High speed Wi-Fi Internet * Brighthouse cable TV * DVD player * Screened Back Porch * Charcoal Grill * In-unit washer (line-dry only) * Well water

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties