HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Sue and Simon

Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish

BEACHFRONT apartment with STUNNING sea, beach & mountain VIEWS-La Cala de Mijas

31 Reviews
People3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this holiday apartment in Mijas area - Residencia Butiplaya

HUGE BEACHFRONT studio in the heart of La Cala de Mijas. Private beach access

This well-equipped BEACHFRONT home from home is bigger than most one bedroom apartments. It has a large enclosed terrace with MAGNIFICENT SEA & BEACH VIEWS, a large living area, a separate well equipped kitchen. and a modern shower room. It easily sleeps 3, the beds are custom made and comfortable, and an additional cot is available. It contains dishwasher, washing machine, satellite TV, DVD player and DVDs, WiFi, selection of books, hairdryer and safe. It is 7th floor, with three lifts and is very secure with entry phone. The gardens are private and well maintained. There is a large swimming pool and we also have our own garden furniture there (sunbeds, sun chairs and deck chairs) for your use. EVERYTHING YOU NEED FOR AN ENJOYABLE STAY. The garden gate gives you private access directly to the beach which has EU Blue Flag Status for being the cleanest and best along this coast. Ideal for holiday rental - the setting is very tranquil but you are only a short walk to the village centre. SIGNATURA RTA: VFT/MA/00303

An ideal base whatever type of holiday you want ..: If you are looking for a place with lots of activities then it is all here on your doorstep - golf, tennis, horse riding, watersports, walking, cycling, bowls etc. This is a lovely stretch of coast with beautiful beaches, great bars, wonderful shops (eg Puerto Banus) and lots to do, whatever your requirements.

Of course, you may just prefer to relax by the wonderful swimming pool and listen to the sound of the waves lapping along the shore!!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Sue and Simon (Property Manager)
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish

About Sue and Simon

We have been living in Spain since 2003 and love this area. It offers beautiful beaches, lovely restaurants and bars and a very relaxed way of life. We loved the apartment and its views from the first time we saw it. It offers a great base to stay in a beautiful and traditional Spanish village with lots of amenities on your doorstep. We are nearby in case of any problems and will meet you on arrival with the keys. We look forward to welcoming you to our apartment.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Dear Sue

Thank you so much for all your assistance and advice before we set off for our holiday. It certainly helped in ensuring a smooth and stress free journey. Once we arrived we were absolutely delighted with the quality of the accommodation and the equipment at our disposal. And a special thank you for the 50th birthday banners and bottle of bubbly ! Very often it is all the little things that make such a big difference; like the chairs and bed for the beach, the books; the socket adapters (even though we had brought some with us); the well stocked equipment cupboard; and the bits and bobs in the bathroom and kitchen alleviating the need for a mad dash to the shops.

Once again many thanks for all your advice and help. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in such a delightful area. We would certainly have no hesitation in using your services again when we return to visit all the places we didn’t have time for this time around.
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.8
based on 31 holidaymaker reviews

BEACHFRONT apartment with STUNNING sea, beach & mountain VIEWS-La Cala de Mijas
average rating of 4.774194 based on 34 reviews
5

Not just the Location

  • 5 of 5

This was our 8th year at Butiplaya! As a stay-put or touring base, it could not be bettered. Excellent restaurant ( L'olivier), mini-market, beach/facilities, secure garden/pool ALL within 2mins walk. Fully-equipped Studio on 7th Floor (2lifts), fantastic sunrise views, all backed up by Simon and Sue's excellent service.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your positive review. We are really pleased that you enjoy your stays so much. We will make sure your slot is reserved for next year!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice apartment, garden & pool, great location

  • 4 of 5

Nice big studio apartment with everything you will need for holidays. Clean and well maintained. Very comfortable beds. Good shower pressure. There are 2 cooking rings and a microwave - we didn't use either as there are way too many lovely restaurants in the immediate area. Would recommend KonFusion as the best local restaurant - you will need to book a table.

Location is everything with this apartment, lovely quiet pool area and a private gate onto the beach. A short stroll up the boardwalk and you are in the centre of La Cala.

It wasn't overly hot when we stayed, with the window open and the ceiling fan we were very comfortable but I think air con would be great in the hotter summer months.

I can definitely recommend this studio apartment and I'm sure we will book again when we return to La Cala.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your positive review Catriona. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and felt that the apartment was well equipped with everything you needed. And that the location was so perfect for your needs. Unfortunately our community does not currently allow air conditioning to be installed as it would affect the overall look of the building if compressors were allowed on the outside walls. Certainly it does make buildings that do allow it look very ugly. But we are very clear about this in all of our marketing and advertising material - and that we do supply ceiling and portable fans. And there is usually a lovely sea breeze. Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope to see you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely fantastic apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing stay in this apartment. The view is spectacular and the owners have thought of everything.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a good time and that you loved the apartment's views! Thanks, we have tried to make the apartment as comfortable as possible for our guests. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic location and view

  • 4 of 5

The studio apartment was very nice, practical and well equiped. The absolutely best parts were the location, with the proximity to the beach, the view, and the pool area.

Everything in the advertisement was correct. However, we had hoped that the kitchen area, even though we knew it was small, had a ventilator so that we could cook some dinners (such as fried fish). 15 days with only restaurant dinners was too much.

In our opinion, the apartment is ideal for renting by a couple for up to 10 days.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found the apartment well equipped and we try to ensure that our guests have everything they need to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I'm not sure what you mean by a ventilator but the apartment does have a hob, grill and microwave so it is possible to cook in there, including frying and grilling, and many people do stay there, cooking quite comfortably, including for longer winter rentals. There are also some fabulous beach bars in the immediate area when you don't want to eat in but do not want the expense of a restaurant. Fried fish is their speciality! Glad you had a good stay at what is turning out to be perfect weather for November and we hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Another fabulous stay

  • 5 of 5

This is the 2nd time we have stayed in this lovely flat. Perfect location, the most fabulous view, very comfortable. It is our favourite place to stay. Will definitely be back. Thanks

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that you enjoyed your return stay and found the apartment so comfortable and handy for everything. We look forward to seeing you soon for your third holiday here!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything I hoped for ........ and more.....!!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was light, bright and airy which gave it an instant summery, cosy feel. Also very clean and well maintained, it had everything needed to make it an enjoyable holiday. The location is excellent for the beach and local shops and when it got too hot on the beach it was nice to go back and relax by the pool in the shade. Absolutely loved my stay there and was sad when I had to leave...!! I would certainly like to stay there again and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased you had a good stay and liked the apartment and location. I hope we see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Malaga
Nearest Barpub
1 Metres
Outside main community gates
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Noria Golf, La Cala Golf, Calanova Golf
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Fuengirola
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Calahonda
Nearest Restaurant
1 Metres
Outside main community gates
Car: not necessary

The apartment is on the beachfront at Butiplaya, which is a few minutes walk from the centre of La Cala (either along the beach or the traditional Spanish streets). It is a lively fishing village that retains much of its culture. It has a wide range of Spanish/International shops and bars and a very good twice weekly market. The apartment has a private and tranquil setting and there are some good bars/restaurants from value and cheap to special night out, beach bars and a lovely bakery in the immediate area. Local hotel offers good entertainment to non-residents. La Cala is located between Fuengirola and Marbella. These and Puerto Banus, Riviera del Sol, Torremolinos, Malaga, Benalmadena, Mijas Pueblo etc are all less than half an hour's drive. Seville, Granada, Ronda etc are easy day trips.

No need to hire a car (although there is plenty of parking if you do). The bus service is very good, as are the taxis, both are very reasonably priced. We can arrange an airport transfer.

Other Activities: Skiing is available at Sierra Nevada during winter months - around 2 hours drive

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in La Cala de Mijas, Mijas area

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer
16 Jul 2016 - 5 Sep 2016
4 night minimum stay
£300
for 4 nights
From
£75
£375
 
 
Late Summer
6 Sep 2016 - 30 Sep 2016
4 night minimum stay
£250
for 4 nights
From
£62
£295
 
 
Autumn
1 Oct 2016 - 4 Nov 2016
4 night minimum stay
£248
for 4 nights
From
£62
£250
£700
 
 
Winter
5 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£198
for 3 nights
From
£66
£250
£700
 
 
Christmas & New Year
23 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£248
for 4 nights
From
£62
£250
£700
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Please note there is a key and security deposit of £150. Hay una fianza de 150€ para las llaves.
PRICES SHOWN ARE BASED ON ONE WEEK OR MORE. They include cleaning and laundry costs. The site does not add in the cleaning and laundry costs when quoting for stays of less than one week but I will list those separately when you send your enquiry to me. But the prices of one week or more are the final prices including everything.
PRECIOS muestran se basan en una semana o más. Ellos incluyen los gastos de limpieza y de lavandería. El sitio no añadir en los costos de limpieza y de lavandería, al citar para estancias de menos de una semana, pero voy a enumerar las separado al enviar su consulta a mí. Pero los precios de una semana o más son los precios finales, incluyendo todo.Payment can be made in Sterling or Euros.
You can pay in sterling or euros. Puede pagar en euros o libras.
Prices are for two people staying at the beachfront apartment. Cost for additional people is £30 per week to cover laundry and extra utility costs. Cot free of charge. Los precios son para dos personas alojadas en el apartamento frente al mar. Costo para las personas adicionales es de 35 € por semana para cubrir los gastos de lavandería y de utilidad adicional. Cuna gratuita.
Contact me for details of discounts for stays of more than three weeks and long term rentals.
Monthly winter rate of £550 or £500 for two or more months (includes water/electric etc).

PRICES ARE BASED ON STAYS OF ONE WEEK OR MORE. They include cleaning and laundry costs which are the same costs to us regardless of a stay of a few nights or one week. Happy to accept shorter bookings but per night cost will vary depending on length of stay so costs for shorter stays shown by website may be inaccurate. 25% to secure booking, followed by balance 8 weeks before.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mijas area in West Costa del Sol

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 7
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Lift ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Sunbed
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom - It has a shower, large hand basin and toilet. It has been completely modernised.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 3 Single Bed , Two singles are side by side to make a double
  • Very comfortable full sized beds which have been custom made to go up into the wall if you require or there is lots of room if you prefer to leave them down. We change bed linen and towels weekly. The apartment has large comfortable beds, two close together as a double, and a third on a separate wall (and we will supply cot or small child's bed free of charge). There is lots of storage space/wardrobes etc. This is an extremely large and bright studio apartment. We ask for a maximum of three people staying please.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Apartment building conforms to EU standards. Smoking in the terrace area only please. Contact me for details of long term rentals.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot