HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Enjoy a Full Glass Wall view of the Blue Ridge Mountains

8 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type chalet

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more




Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday chalet in Hillsville - The Black-beary

2 Master Suites, 2 Bedrooms with Mountain views

Enjoy this beautiful chalet with a crackling fire and gorgeous views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. This unit is located in the tennis chalets of Doe Run and is about 10 miles on the Parkway from Fancy Gap. Amenities abound such as tennis and basketball courts, horseshoes, volleyball, and a private stocked pond. One bedroom has a king bed and one has a queen. Both have private bathrooms attached. All luxury linens and towels are provided. Kitchen is fully equipped with a coffee maker along with coffee and condiments. Firewood is provided for your use. The private balcony awaits you with views over the tennis and basketball courts and beautiful views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Play golf at the nearby Olde Mill Golf Course and enjoy a meal in their restaurant. Visit the Chateau Morrisette Winery and check their website for music festivals and special events. If you are wanting a nice quiet picnic, the Groundhog Mountain Picnic area is close. Also, for all those flea market lovers, the well-known Hillsville Flea Market is less than 30 minutes away. Plenty of hiking opportunities on the parkway and quiet spots to stop and enjoy the peacefulness and wildlife. Please note this unit is not handicap accessible and has about 25 steps to entry door. Plan your visit now to "The Black-beary". If you need more room, check out our other unit - Hibernation Haven, VRBO #618009..

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Vee Ann Nielsen
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
27 October, 2016

About Vee Ann Nielsen

John and Vee Ann live in McLeansville, outside Greensboro, NC on a small farm. Our four children and three grandchildren all live close by. We enjoy family time at the beach, the Blue Ridge Mountains and Bryson City. John and I are planning to retire soon and travel the United States. We are currently real estate brokers and part-owners of Triad Homes Realty, Inc. in Greensboro, NC.

Vee Ann Nielsen purchased this chalet in 2015

Why Vee Ann Nielsen chose Blue Ridge Highlands

This is the second unit we own in Doe Run. We have great memories of special times on Groundhog Mountain and love the peace and beauty of the mountains. We enjoy quiet times to unwind from the everyday business and it is possible when we are on the mountain. The people in the small surrounding towns remind me of my roots and growing up on the farm.

What makes this chalet unique

We fell in love with Doe Run because of some of the friendly neighbors and beautiful scenery.


based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

Enjoy a Full Glass Wall view of the Blue Ridge Mountains
average rating of 3.5 based on 8 reviews

Luxurious beds and cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

The picture for this condo doesn't do it justice. The colors blended well to give it a chic updated flair. It was not only clean but very comfortable. It was arranged in a very thoughtful way to make it easy to feel at home. We felt very comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Terrible Experience

  • 1 of 5

I had never done VRBO before, but I decided to give it a chance. I got a few emails confirming my reservation and the owner sent me the address. I drove up to the cabin, past the Doe Run Resort and was greeted with a giant "For Sale" sign. I went down to the door, but there was a combination lock and no answer when I knocked. Being in the mountains, there was also no phone reception or 4G. I went to the Doe Run Resort, and the ladies there were extremely helpful and helped me to call VRBO which gave me the owner's direct number. When I called, she initially said she would have to call me back. I explained that I had no phone or Internet service so that wasn't an option. Then she told me to open all the email attachments to get important information about the dumpsters. I again explained I had no internet. She finally gave me the code to get in with a lot of attitude. The girl helping me just said "well, she sounds lovely."

When we got in, the cabin was very nice, spacious, and well appointed. Unfortunately, there were no maps or inforation about the area. We did some walking around the resort grounds and went back to the cabin. I was trying to put my daughter to ved in the king bed when I realized it wasn't centered on the bed frame and was kind of sinking. I lifted up the box spring to fix it and a huge cricket jumped out. That could've happened anywhere, but yet another issue at this place.

Vee Ann finally sent the email with the combination and attachments at 7pm that night with no apology for not sending it prior to my one-night reservation.

Overall the cabin was okay, no toiletries provided which was disappointing, and no mountain view like I hoped for.

Then when we left I went to take my trash to the dumpster, which was the worst of all. I followed her instructions to get to the dumpster, parked my car with my daughter inside and got out. As I walked to the dumpster, spotlights flashed on and a loudspeaker blurted "warning -you are under video surveillance." I was a bit scared but put the trash in the dumpster anyway. The sign outside of the dumpster said "remember, you are under video surveillance. I hope for your sake you are a property owner." I ran to my car, scared to death, and the motion activated lights and loud speaker came on again. I thought maybe some militant mountain man was going to come shoot me for throwing out the trash. Anyway, I will never do VRBO again, and I don't recommend this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable, nice. Beautiful view. Close to Hillsville.

  • 3 of 5

Very comfortable for 2 couples. Sliding door was too hard to open and close for enjoying the balcony. Steep steps and lots of them to climb coming and going. Someone else had the code to our door so we were never comfortable trusting the locked door. Everything was provide that we needed for staying 4 nights. Could have used more towels. Could not grill but we knew that when we booked the place. Over all it was a nice stay to relax from days of walking at the huge fleamarket in Hillsville.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kernersville, NC

Just Blessed in a Good Way

  • 4 of 5

Wife and I we surprised when we were able to book this VRBO at the last hour. Our previous interest notified us at the last minute it wasn't available.Hey I got my coffee pot, I am happy. This is spacious. I don't see any negative thing about this rental. Vee Ann was helpful. Our trip consist of the Meadows of Dan Folk Fair and maybe the Blue Ridge Music Center for some music. We always go to the Poor Farmers Market, Jane's Country Cafe, and not to forget Nancys Candy all in Meadows of Dan. We now have another option for lodging when we visit. Thank you Vee Ann for the last minute booking we appreciate it. Would recommend to others. Everything met our needs. Wish we had more TV channels is all, but not complaining.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

not what I was hoping

  • 2 of 5

I have not stayed at any other cabins in the area so do not have any to compare these to but sadly I will not be staying at them again. The people were very friendly and quickly fixed any problems that were addressed but the cabin had a very strong wet smell and just seemed to need a lot of work done. There was a place in the floor that seemed as if it would fall in at any time. I hate to right a bad review but it just could have been better. It wasn't awful, it was OK for a one time stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful hidden gem!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just visited with our 4 year old son and had a wonderful time. Everything was well taken care of, clean, and well-appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable and the towels were not your typical "hotel grade" towels. This legitimately felt like we were being entertained in someone's home. Our stay was quiet and serene. We didn't find the drive to be cumbersome. A 25 minute drive takes you to Hillsville, VA. It's not a huge town, but it has some GREAT restaurants. We highly recommend going to the Hardware Bar and Grill. You will not be disappointed. We were also an easy 25-30 minute drive to downtown Mt. Airy, where we enjoyed hiking and sight-seeing. I found the price to be more than reasonable for the quality that we got out of this unit. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Hillsville, Blue Ridge Highlands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £41

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Hillsville in Virginia

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Suite 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Attached private bathroom
    Master Suite 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Attached private bathroom
  • Both bedrooms have luxury egyptian cotton sheets and fleece blankets.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties