HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

This is the NO DRAMA ZONE you have been looking for! Come relax and HAVE FUN!

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 300 sq. ft.
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

You have your own parking area right in front of the apartment!

I want to explain, more in depth, the property and things you can expect. The property is located on the Eastern Shore of Virginia and is surrounded by Salt Water. We run WELL WATER at this property and there are times when it will smell a little funny, because of the minerals in the water. The water is treated and not dangerous. Well water actually does have a better taste, but when you are not use to it, it is strange. We also have BUGS/ INSECTS around this property and I ask that you bring BUG REPELLENT with you. There will be bugs found at the beach, so do not be surprised if you see them. We do treat the yard and apartment! You will see mosquitoes, flies, gnats and spiders, insects that are found everywhere you go.

This is a Private apartment with 1 bath, 1 queen bed, 1 fold out queen couch bed, stove, microwave, dishes, pots and pans. All the comforts of home! (AND THEN SOME)

Wash and Dryer, Dish Network TV, WIFI, Internet! As I have stated....YOU have your own parking space! This is the second driveway by the garage! You will see a white volkswagon in the drive in front of the garage. You want to drive straight in and this is the room where you will be staying! I can usually be found on the back deck if you should need me for anything!

You have free rein of the property and can come and go as you please. The kayaks are here for you to use, as well as the fishing poles! I do ask that you take a life jacket with you if you will be on the water. It is a safety issue and I want all of my guests to be safe.

The refrigerator in the apartment is a little small, but there is a standard refrigerator in the laundry room. This is available for you as well. The bait for fishing will be found in the freezer section of this fridge.

Yes, you can wash and dry your clothes while you are here. You also have a choice to dry the clothes in the dryer or, (my favorite) on the line and get that clean and fresh scent!

There is a key that is available to you so you can lock the door if you leave. It is a very safe place, but you may feel you need to lock the door. This is fine. Just let me know!

Grills on site to be used by you. It is a propane and charcoal grill! There is also a smoker! There have been MANY GREAT MEALS cooked on this grill and I am sure many more are coming!

There is a golf cart, that is (LEGAL TO DRIVE ON THE ROAD) available for you to use while you are here! As you have seen in many reviews, it is one of the most loved things at Thelma's Dawn! It is here for YOU! Of course there has to be a catch in operating the golf cart. You must be at least 15 years old to be permitted to drive it by yourself, UNLESS there is an adult riding with you! These are not my rules, but the rules of the community.

I like to load up the golf cart when I go fishing. I put the poles, cooler, bait, drinks and everything I will need to sit down on the beach for a long time. When I go fishing, I mean business!

The outside of the property is a 1&1/2 acre property. We have volleyball, horseshoes, CORN HOLE, (yes, I said it....CORN HOLE) and other games that you can play.....Just ask us! Remember....we are here to make your vacation as special and memory making as we possibly can!

We even have TENTS and AIR MATTRESSES that can be used in the event you have more people that want to join you on your vacation! There is a 2 person, 4 person and a 3 ROOM TENT! This thing is BIG!

Then you have to remember all of the FISHING, KAYAKING, SWIMMING, PRIVATE BEACH, BEAUTIFUL SUNSETS, BONFIRES and so much more! This is YOUR TIME!! I want you to LOVE IT HERE!

So I have been asked how I came up with the name "THELMA'S DAWN". Well, my mother passed away from cancer in 2007. Mom was 68 years old when she was called home. I had a sister, Dawn, who was called home at age 28. She was murdered in January1988. It was fitting to name this beautiful place after the two of them.

More Details

Owner
Christi Medice
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
28 April, 2017

About Christi Medice

I am a retired Paramedic and Lieutenant Firefighter for the City of Hampton, VA. I live with my husband, Rick, and our two parrots, Joey and Nikko. I am an outdoors lover and love to fish. We have bon-fires often and just enjoy the evenings and the sound of the waves as they crash along the shore line while looking at the stars above us. We have a fish pond in the yard, but these fish are just for admiring. I love to get around to talk to my neighbors and make sure they are all doing ok. I try to exercise as much as I can by walking on the beach and kayaking. There is a garden in the yard that Rick and I tend to. I love to can the vegetables for the Winter.

So I have been asked how I came up with the name "THELMA'S DAWN". Well, my mother passed away from cancer in 2007. Mom was 68 years old when she was called home. I had a sister, Dawn, who was called home at age 28. She was murdered in January1988. It was fitting to name this beautiful place after the two of them.

I have lived in this home since I was born, except for the 25 years I moved to Hampton, Virginia, in 1885, to take a job as a professional firefighter and went to school to become an Emergency Rescue Diver and Nationally Registered Paramedic. I was diagnosed in 1995 with Multiple Sclerosis, but continued to work in the fire department as an instructor of various Fire, Emergency Medical, Driving, CPR and Water Safety courses. I retired from the fire department in 2006 and moved back to the Eastern Shore, which I have always called my home!

Having MS, I can not enjoy things the way I use to. I love the beach and the water, but due to MS, I cannot stay in the heat long. With this being said, I have felt that this property was being wasted, so I made the decision to renovate the attached garage into the apartment in the hopes that people could come and enjoy everything "Thelma's Dawn" offers!

I am positive that you will love it as much as I do! I look forward to meeting you soon!

Christi Medice purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Christi Medice chose Eastern Shore Virginia

The Space

This efficiency apartment offers A QUIET and SECLUDED stay.. It is larger than a hotel suite, PLUS, You can fish right from the beach and filet and fix your catch for dinner! There have been Indian Arrowheads found on the beach as well as various seashells and treasures.

The apartment is an attached garage (to my house), that we have remodeled into the apartment, but offers complete privacy to our guests.

There is a stove, apt size refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and dishes, glasses, cups and silverware. There is also a full size refrigerator/freezer located in the laundry room. Bath towels, wash cloths and face towels are provided, along with soap, shampoo and conditioner.

We ask that you bring your own food and drink.

There are bugs on the beach, but please do not let this deter you from coming and enjoying your vacation! There is nothing around here that you are not familiar with, so please bring your Insect Repellent!

Private Beach, Fishing, Bon-Fires, Beautiful Sunsets,

The efficiency apt. has all the comforts of home, including washer and dryer. Wonderful community! You will see nature all around you! .

(The apartment comfortably sleeps 4 people}

PETS WELCOME

This efficiency apartment offers A QUIET and SECLUDED stay.. It is larger than a hotel suite, PLUS, You can fish right from the beach and filet and fix your catch for dinner! There have been many various treasures found on the beach, from drift wood and sea shells! You can. take these home with you if you would like!

The apartment is an attached garage (to my house), that we have remodeled into the apartment, but offers complete privacy to our guests.

There is a stove, apt size refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and dishes, glasses, cups and silverware. There is also a full size refrigerator/freezer located in the laundry room. Bath towels, wash cloths and face towels are provided, along with soap, shampoo and conditioner.

We ask that you bring your own food and drink.

What makes this apartment unique

You can use the washer/dryer in the laundry room.

The TV also plays DVD's

There is a key for you so you can lock up if you leave.

I do offer WIFI and also satellite

There is information giving you the passwords for WIFI and computer access

CELL PHONE SERVICE DOES NOT WORK AT THE BEACH, BUT YOU CAN DRIVE THE GOLF CART .3 MILES TO GET ACCESS

YOU CAN USE THE HOUSE PHONE TO MAKE OR ACCEPT CALLS! JUST LET US KNOW.

COMFORTABLY SLEEPS 4!

You will have the freedom to do whatever you want. We will go over certain things when you arrive.

You will have access to the grill on site and can set yourself up with a fire on the beach or the back yard.

This location brings a new definition to the term "Blanket of Stars".

The Main thing....HAVE FUN!!!!!!

We are here to make this experience one of the best vacations you have had. We will stop at nothing to assist you with whatever you want or need to spoil you.

Of course we realize when you are on vacation, you want to spend time alone with the family and we are here if you need us or just simply want to ask questions about the area.

There are bugs on the beach, but please do not let this deter you from coming and enjoying your vacation! There is nothing around here that you are not familiar with, so please bring your Insect Repellent!

Private Beach, Fishing, Bon-Fires, Beautiful Sunsets,

The efficiency apt. has all the comforts of home, including washer and dryer. Wonderful community! You will see nature all around you! .

(The apartment comfortably sleeps 4 people}

PETS WELCOME

This efficiency apartment offers A QUIET and SECLUDED stay.. It is larger than a hotel suite, PLUS, You can fish right from the beach and filet and fix your catch for dinner! There have been many various treasures found on the beach, from drift wood and sea shells! You can. take these home with you if you would like!

The apartment is an attached garage (to my house), that we have remodeled into the apartment, but offers complete privacy too!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Silver Beach in Northampton County

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , All aminities available
  • Towels, wash cloths, soap, shampoo, conditioner and hair dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Air mattress available upon request
  • The apartment is larger than a hotel suite and has the kitchen included in the space. There is a full laundry room beside the apartment, which can be used by our guests. There is a fish tank with goldfish to keep you company.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
We have BON-FIRES often and love S'MORES! We hope you do too! Hotdogs on the open fire!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

This is the NO DRAMA ZONE you have been looking for! Come relax and HAVE FUN!
average rating of 4.8163266 based on 49 reviews
5

We Really Loved This Place !

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I really enjoyed the tiny house. It's situated on a cul-de-sac of a road that travels north along the eastern shore of the Chesepeake Bay. The property has great views of the bay which includes a lot of interesting wildlife and beautiful sunsets. We surf fished, walked and sat on the beach, enjoyed our am coffee & mimosas in the swing overlooking the beach, saw some gorgeous sunsets and enjoyed a great view right out the front window.

The tiny house itself is well appointed with all you need to be self contained and enjoy the most of this beautiful and private location. There's a double bed in the bedroom as well as a day bed with a trundle underneath it in the big-window room. We cooked outside on the grill as well is inside using the appliances provided. We're not into eating out every day/night, so we brought grocs and alcohol with us as the nearest place to obtain those is 10 mi away in Exmore. It is neat, clean and great for a couple or a small family. As amenities, we had access to a fire pit, kayaks, fishing bait and tackle, washer/dryer, gas & charcoal grill, ice maker and biggest feature of all, the beach.

We pretty much had the beach to ourselves the whole week we stayed with only a handful of others walking or playing. It is shallow and sandy a fair ways out. We fished two full days, and although not successful, had a blast! Christi showed us how to crab trap and she and Rick prepared the crabs we caught and showed us how to clean them ourselves, which was great as we're into that kind of thing. The beach is backed by some grassy dunes and in places maritime forest, sometimes the bugs come out if there's no breeze, so you need to be prepared to deal with that; it's wasn't a huge problem during our visit & totally manageable.

I can't say enough about the owners Rick and Christi. They were friendly and accommodating and attentive to our every need. We had a charged golf cart at the ready for quiet rides around the beautiful neighborhood of coastline, cottages and meadows . They're easy going and offer true southern hospitality that is incomparable in our opinion. They showed genuine concern for the quality of our visit and that was the real icing on the cake of a vacation that was too short, but great nonetheless.

If you don't need shopping, bar/restaraunts and too busy/crowded right out the front door (like we don't) & you like the beach nature, privacy, outdoor activites and relaxation, this place is for you.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: April & Shawn....it was great having you two come and stay with us! I really enjoyed the times we were able to sit on the porch and just talk about anything we wanted to! You are both so nice and lots of fun and I want to thank you for sharing your vacation time with us! I must say, I was rather sad to see you leave and have to go back to your life. I really enjoyed taking you with me to get the crabs from the creek! It is always fun when someone can show the interest that you two did! I had a great time with you and am looking forward to the day you can return! Here is hoping the fish are around! I would love for you to catch some keepers and grill them up for dinner! I thank you for everything and will ALWAYS welcome you both with open arms!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved our trip!

  • 5 of 5

Christi was an amazing host! We had a beautiful weekend filled with tent camping on the beach, bonfires, kayaking, and an enormous hamster ball on the water! Oh yeah, and the kids got to drive a golf cart too!! We can't wait to return!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really had a great time with all of you! Thank you for thinking of us when you made your vacation plans! It is great seeing the family and extended family come together and enjoy hanging out with one another they way all of you did! The Ball was great! We all have tried and we all have failed, but it was really fun trying! I enjoyed having you all here and am looking forward to your return! GOOD TIMES!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hidden Beach Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. Peaceful. Great owners who are there for you day or night. Right on the beach! Private Beach!!! Kayaking!!! Bicycling riding!!! Free Golf Cart for your use. Everything the spirit and soul needs. Can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Having Eric and his wonderful wife, with their two beautiful pups was great! I had the chance to talk with them over a fire and we had a really fun time! They were very friendly and the dogs were very good! I am looking forward to their return!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Unable to do a review at this time, my reservation had to be delayed due to an illness

  • 3 of 5

Unable to do, due to illness, rescheduled for May 22 thru May 26,2017

  • Review Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wayne...the only thing you need to do is get better! I will be seeing you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chesapeake
5

There should be a "sixth" star!

  • 5 of 5

This property is AWESOME. I just got home and I'm already hoping to book another visit! Christi & Rick are wonderful hosts. We left immediately after work on a Friday and due to being tired, and it being dark we got lost. Christi went out of her way to meet us and show us the way! The property is beautiful. We arrived at night to an immensely intense night sky! The room was super comfortable and cozy! We've been to many cabins, so that was our expectation. This place blew us away! Christi and Rick made the place like home. The small fridge had a few cold water bottles waiting! The table had a few snacks and there was a coffee maker! The tiny kitchen has everything you need. Dishes, silverware, kitchen towels, microwave and basic spices. My favorite thing in the kitchen was the cast iron skillet! We tossed in butter, garlic and local shrimp and had a fantastic meal! The amenities that Christi and Rick offer left us stunned. You can use their kayaks, fishing poles, fire pits, ice machine, washer and dryer and you get your own golf cart! If you go, you will enjoy the Koi pond, garden, spacious yard space and of course the beach! The biggest highlight was Christi took the time to go out in her "fishing kayak" with me and give me a chance to fish off shore. She sincerely wants you to enjoy your stay! There are a few things I missed on this trip, but on my next trip I'm going to be sure to do them. I missed lounging in the hammock, I missed the sun going down because I was lost in great conversation with the hosts, and I missed sitting by a fire at night. (I was so exhausted from my day activities I feel asleep early!). It's really a place to unwind, and relax. You'll get the best nights sleep you've had in a long time! If I had a suggestion for Christi & Rick, it would be to charge more. I've never been able to rent a hotel or cabin anywhere and have access to all the amenities that they offer. It's wonderful to be able to jump in the car and go. Everything is waiting for you! Thank you Christi and Rick for a spectacular weekend that well exceeded our expectations. We will be back!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: OMG! Thank you for such a wonderful review! What can I say.....you two were the perfect guests and really got involved with things that we offer here, so this made it easy for us to show you everything we possibly could! We really enjoyed your stay! The one thing I really missed was seeing your fur baby before you left. Such a sweet baby!!!!! Thank you for sharing her with me! I did go fishing on the pier this afternoon and was able to catch a swelling toad! VERY GOOD Eating!!!!!!!! PUSS JUMPED UP ON THE TABLE and grabbed the thing before I had a chance to clean it, but you know I got it back!!!! HA! I am so looking forward to you two coming back and next time....We WILL have a fire!!!!! The wind did not want to cooperate. :( We will get it done the next time!!!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Owner very hospitable. Great location.

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed the beach in the kayak. Golf carts for fun and the other guests were friendly. Have a nice dinner and Wachapreague on the water. Very comfortable setting, felt welcome, beautiful area and I would like to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Colleen! I am sorry I was not here to greet you myself, but I am sure the women who were asked to help me while I was gone took great care of you! I do hope you will come back for another stay in the future! You will always be welcome! Christi
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Exmore Diner
Subway
China Wok
Chatham Vineyards
Food Lion
Assateague Lighthouse
Chincoteague Island
Kiptopeke State Park
Sage Diner -- CLOSED
Cape Charles
Little Italy Restaurant
El Maguey
Bloxom Winery
"If you have time to venture out, may I suggest the Bloxom Winery? A beautiful setting! A mus..."
Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Salisbury, Md
Nearest Barpub
9.4 Miles
Sage Diner,Exmore, VA
Nearest Ferry
150 Miles
Lewes, DE
Nearest Golf
35 Miles
Arnold Palmer Golf Course/Cape Charles, VA
Nearest Train
90 Miles
Newport News, VA
Nearest Motorway
9.3 Miles
Lankford Hway/Route 13
Nearest Restaurant
9.4 Miles
Sage Diner/Exmore,VA
Nearest Beach
Right here
Car: necessary

If you like to check out antiques, there are many place to go around here!

Have you ever heard of CONCRETE SHIPS? They were used in WWI and WWII. You can go to Kiptopeake State Park, located in Cape Charles, VA. Go SOUTH on RT 13 and you will see it!

Don't forget to go to ASSATEAGUE and see the wild horses and take walks on the nature paths! Located in Silver Beach, we are right in the middle of the attractions the Eastern Shore has to offer! We are within an hour of either side of the Shore.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Silver Beach, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
HOLIDAY
24 Dec 2018 - 26 Dec 2018
1 night minimum stay
£93
for 1 night
From
£93
£541
£1,546
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£93
for 1 night
From
£93
£541
£1,546
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals