Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Rarity Rentals - Gilmours Entry

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 527 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 5-7 min walk from The Royal Mile.

The apartment is comprised of:

Two double bedrooms, living/dining area with seating for 4 around a wooden dining table.

Each bedroom has hanging space, as well as drawers for personal effects, bedside lamps and adequate storage space for suitcases.

The family bathroom has a shower over the bath, with a separate hand-held shower for use in the bath. The bath's matching WC and sink are accompanied by a bathroom-safe shaving point.

There is adequate hanging space by the main door for bags, jackets, etc. and we also include a couple of umbrellas for you to use during your stay, should you need them.

The well-equipped kitchen includes a gas hob, fan-assisted electric oven, fridge freezer, washer dryer, kettle, toaster, radio, a selection of cooking utensils, as well as pots and pans. Although the apartment accommodates 4, there is tableware for up to 6 in order to make preparing and serving meals easier.

The apartment has its own allocated parking space and there is room for one car; use of this space is included free of charge in the rental.

As of September 2016, all our mattresses are new (and are medium to firm).

The apartment is on the ground floor, making it ideal for families with children. It's also accessible for guests who have minor mobility problems (please note that, because there are a few steps up to the main door, the apartment is not wheelchair accessible).

For the benefit of guests with allergies, we do not use feather pillows or duvets. Our towels and bed linen are cotton and they are washed in non-biological detergent for delicate skin.

A welcome pack is included and consists of bread, milk, butter, bacon, free range eggs, and shortbread/biscuits.

Energy Performance Certificate Rating: C

I also own property number 1531570 (Russell Gardens, near the West End), a beautiful and spacious apartment which sleeps 6 guests in 2 double bedrooms and a twin room. For further information, simply search for the property number in the site's main search box.

More Details

Owner
Maya
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 August, 2018

About Maya

I was born and raised just outside of Edinburgh and I have lived here all my life. I love to travel and experience other cultures, but I always love returning to my beautiful "home town". I adore this city and I chose to buy and refurbish this property with my family so I could help others enjoy Edinburgh, too.

I graduated in 2000 as a theatre administrator and go the theatre as regularly as I can. I also enjoy reading, sewing, scuba diving, listening to live music and cooking meals for friends and family. If there's anything you'd like to know about me, please ask.

Maya purchased this apartment in 2016

Why Maya chose Edinburgh

This property is located in the city centre, and is situated in a quiet residential area; perfect for enjoying the bustle of the city during the day, then retiring to a comfortable apartment for peace and quiet after a long day of sightseeing and taking in the local culture. It's on the ground floor, making it ideal for families with children. It's also more accessible for guests who have mild mobility problems. Please note that, because there are a few steps up to the main door, the apartment is not wheelchair accessible.

What makes this apartment unique

There is an allocated parking space available with the apartment, which is unusual for city centre properties, making it an ideal choice for guests travelling to Edinburgh by car. Use of the parking space is included in the rental amount and is secured via a padlocked parking post (the key for the padlock is given to guests on arrival).

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Edinburgh in City of Edinburgh

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 527 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • swimming
Notes:
We are a local family and take pride in providing exceptional service to our guests. We wish to ensure your time in Edinburgh is as wonderful and memorable as possible so if there is anything we can help you with, please don't hesitate to ask.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

95% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rarity Rentals - Gilmours Entry
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 24 reviews
5

Rarity Rentals Apartment 2 Gilmours Entry.

  • 5 of 5

Four of us stayed at Gilmours Entry Monday to Friday during Tattoo week. It was close enough to put all the major attractions of Edinburgh a short walk away, ideal when you're a pensioner like me with various physical problems. We parked the car on arrival and didn't move it again until we were leaving. The accommodation provided all we required and Maya had added one or two extras that were much appreciated. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the property, but found it to be comfortable, and provided most things that you would require for this type of break. Plenty of cooking utensils for those that might use them, A comfortable sitting area with TV, and a dining table if you should require it. The bedrooms were a reasonable size with adequate draw space and hanging facilities. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom had an electric power shower over the bath, and hot water was readily available via a combi boiler.

This was a good property at an acceptable price bearing in mind the timing and the location. We would all be ready to stay there again.

Maya was waiting for us on arrival, full of useful information, and only ever a phone call if we needed her 24/7. Really nice, really helpful, there to ensure we got the best from our break. Many thanks to her.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean,well equipped 2 bedroom. Within easy walking distance to The Royal Mile

  • 5 of 5

Maya was excellent start to finish in our experience at her rental! She was always prompt in getting back to us on any details. The flat itself is quiet, extremely clean and has absolutely everything we needed for a comfortable stay! She greeted us upon our arrival and helped us to figure out how to navigate our way, as well as pointing out nearby restaurants and grocery stores. She even left us breakfast groceries for the next morning! The flat is so conveniently located to be able to walk everywhere, but out of the way enough to be in a less busy neighbourhood. Would stay there again in a minute and recommend heartily to friends!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for choosing my apartment, and also for such kind words; I'm most touched! It was a pleasure to welcome you all, and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here so much. Cleanliness is extremely important to me, and I'm glad to hear this is reflected in my apartment. The quiet yet central location was one of the main reasons I chose this particular property for my holiday rental apartment, as you can enjoy being so close to everything, and still have a quiet place to retreat to at the end of each day; it really is the best of both worlds. I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed your welcome pack; that's excellent news, and you're very welcome! Once again, thank you for staying, and for providing such a lovely recommendation. I certainly look forward to welcoming you all back if and when you return to Edinburgh, as it would be wonderful to see you all again. Thanks again, and I'm sending my very best wishes to you all. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great modern apartment close to city centre

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was very clean and well equipped, with all facilities in good condition. The beds were comfortable and the wardrobes had excellent storage space. We ate in the apartment most nights and found the kitchen ideal for cooking. The apartment owner left a welcome pack of groceries which saved us having to go shopping, which was a very nice touch. All in all a great place to stay when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for staying, and also for taking the time to write such lovely comments in your review; it's very much appreciated. I'm so pleased to hear you found my apartment so clean and well-equipped, and that you had everything you needed for cooking. I'm also delighted to hear you found the beds so comfortable! As a keen traveller myself, I know that booking an apartment without knowing in advance what the beds are like can be concerning, yet I'm happy to hear you all enjoyed good sleep during your stay. Thank you for letting me know about this aspect of your stay, as it's important to feel relaxed and well-rested while you're on holiday. I'm pleased to hear you liked the welcome pack, and I'm glad it helped make the start of your holiday in Edinburgh easier. After our messages back and forth, it was wonderful to finally meet you all, and to welcome you to my apartment. I hope our paths cross again if/when you return to Edinburgh, as I'd love to welcome you all back. Many thanks again for staying. I hope you enjoy the rest of your adventures, and that you have a safe journey home when the time comes. Sending my very best wishes to you and your family. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Kensington, MD
4

Wonderful Home Base for Seeing Edinburgh

  • 4 of 5

Maya was a great host and met me when I arrived to check in. She showed us around the entire apartment and was extremely helpful. The apartment is in a great location on a quiet street. There is plenty of room in the place to relax after a day of walking around to the sites. The apartment is a only a few steps away from grocery stores and a street where you can catch a bus anywhere. You may not need to take a bus though, because the Royal Mile is only a few minutes away on foot. We loved our stay in Edinburgh and Maya's place is one of the reasons we so much enjoyed ourselves.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and also for your kind words. I'm delighted to hear my apartment was so convenient for you both. The quiet yet central location was one of the main reasons I chose this particular property for my self-catering apartment, and I'm pleased to hear the location suited your needs so well, too. It was wonderful to help you, and such a genuine pleasure to welcome you both to Edinburgh; I look forward to welcoming you back if and when you next visit. Thank you again for staying, and I hope our paths cross again one day. Very best wishes to you both. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect stay in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

The apartment has everything we needed and more, for a week in Edinburgh. Spotlessly clean, super comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, peace and quiet. Located within walking distance to the main tourist district, but far enough to avoid the crowds, with taxis and bus routes at the doorstep. Endless restaurants, of every nationality on main street outside. Owner is very kind and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and share your thoughts. It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your family, and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here so much! As a keen traveller myself, I know how important cleanliness, comfortable beds, a well-equipped kitchen, and a great location are. I take great pleasure in providing these, and so I'm glad these were aspects of the apartment that you were happy with, too. Thank you again for choosing my apartment for your stay. It was wonderful to meet you all, and I look forward to welcoming you all back if and when you return to Edinburgh. Sending warmest wishes to you all. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Super clean, cozy and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Maya was a great host who went out of her way to welcome and accommodate our needs. The apartment was spotless and extremely well appointed. Everything you could ask for! Location for us was perfect - near the University and just 10 minutes walk to the main tourist areas too. We absolutely recommend Maya's apartment to anyone staying in Edinburgh and needing to be close to the heart of things, yet in a quiet backwater away from the noise and bustle of the city.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words, and also for taking the time to share your experience. It was great to finally meet you, and to welcome you to the apartment. I take great pride in my property, and I'm pleased to hear you found everything so comfortable and clean here. The perfect location was one of many deciding factors when I bought this apartment, and I'm glad to hear that the quiet, yet central, location worked so well for you, too. Thanks again for staying, and for your kind recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back if/when you're next in Edinburgh. Wishing you all the very best. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Edinburgh Airport
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Waverley Train Station
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
Portobello Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable