HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Rarity Rentals - Gilmours Entry

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 527 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, 5-7 min walk from The Royal Mile.

The apartment is comprised of:

Two double bedrooms, living/dining area with seating for 4 around a wooden dining table.

Each bedroom has hanging space, as well as drawers for personal effects, bedside lamps and adequate storage space for suitcases.

The family bathroom has a shower over the bath, with a separate hand-held shower for use in the bath. The bath's matching WC and sink are accompanied by a bathroom-safe shaving point.

There is adequate hanging space by the main door for bags, jackets, etc. and we also include a couple of umbrellas for you to use during your stay, should you need them.

The well-equipped kitchen includes a gas hob, fan-assisted electric oven, fridge freezer, washer dryer, kettle, toaster, radio, a selection of cooking utensils, as well as pots and pans. Although the apartment accommodates 4, there is tableware for up to 6 in order to make preparing and serving meals easier.

The apartment has its own allocated parking space and there is room for one car; use of this space is included free of charge in the rental.

As of September 2016, all our mattresses are new (and are medium to firm).

The apartment is on the ground floor, making it ideal for families with children. It's also accessible for guests who have minor mobility problems (please note that, because there are a few steps up to the main door, the apartment is not wheelchair accessible).

For the benefit of guests with allergies, we do not use feather pillows or duvets. Our towels and bed linen are cotton and they are washed in non-biological detergent for delicate skin.

A welcome pack is included and consists of bread, milk, butter, bacon, free range eggs, and shortbread/biscuits.

Energy Performance Certificate Rating: C

I also own property number 1531570 (Russell Gardens, near the West End), a beautiful and spacious apartment which sleeps 6 guests in 2 double bedrooms and a twin room. For further information, simply search for the property number in the site's main search box.

More Details

Owner
Maya
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 April, 2018

About Maya

I was born and raised just outside of Edinburgh and I have lived here all my life. I love to travel and experience other cultures, but I always love returning to my beautiful "home town". I adore this city and I chose to buy and refurbish this property with my family so I could help others enjoy Edinburgh, too.

I graduated in 2000 as a theatre administrator and go the theatre as regularly as I can. I also enjoy reading, sewing, scuba diving, listening to live music and cooking meals for friends and family. If there's anything you'd like to know about me, please ask.

Maya purchased this apartment in 2016

Why Maya chose Edinburgh

This property is located in the city centre, and is situated in a quiet residential area; perfect for enjoying the bustle of the city during the day, then retiring to a comfortable apartment for peace and quiet after a long day of sightseeing and taking in the local culture. It's on the ground floor, making it ideal for families with children. It's also more accessible for guests who have mild mobility problems. Please note that, because there are a few steps up to the main door, the apartment is not wheelchair accessible.

What makes this apartment unique

There is an allocated parking space available with the apartment, which is unusual for city centre properties, making it an ideal choice for guests travelling to Edinburgh by car. Use of the parking space is included in the rental amount and is secured via a padlocked parking post (the key for the padlock is given to guests on arrival).

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Edinburgh in City of Edinburgh

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 527 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • swimming
Notes:
We are a local family and take pride in providing exceptional service to our guests. We wish to ensure your time in Edinburgh is as wonderful and memorable as possible so if there is anything we can help you with, please don't hesitate to ask.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rarity Rentals - Gilmours Entry
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
5

Perfect stay in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

The apartment has everything we needed and more, for a week in Edinburgh. Spotlessly clean, super comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen, peace and quiet. Located within walking distance to the main tourist district, but far enough to avoid the crowds, with taxis and bus routes at the doorstep. Endless restaurants, of every nationality on main street outside. Owner is very kind and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and share your thoughts. It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your family, and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here so much! As a keen traveller myself, I know how important cleanliness, comfortable beds, a well-equipped kitchen, and a great location are. I take great pleasure in providing these, and so I'm glad these were aspects of the apartment that you were happy with, too. Thank you again for choosing my apartment for your stay. It was wonderful to meet you all, and I look forward to welcoming you all back if and when you return to Edinburgh. Sending warmest wishes to you all. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Super clean, cozy and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

Maya was a great host who went out of her way to welcome and accommodate our needs. The apartment was spotless and extremely well appointed. Everything you could ask for! Location for us was perfect - near the University and just 10 minutes walk to the main tourist areas too. We absolutely recommend Maya's apartment to anyone staying in Edinburgh and needing to be close to the heart of things, yet in a quiet backwater away from the noise and bustle of the city.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words, and also for taking the time to share your experience. It was great to finally meet you, and to welcome you to the apartment. I take great pride in my property, and I'm pleased to hear you found everything so comfortable and clean here. The perfect location was one of many deciding factors when I bought this apartment, and I'm glad to hear that the quiet, yet central, location worked so well for you, too. Thanks again for staying, and for your kind recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back if/when you're next in Edinburgh. Wishing you all the very best. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect for our stay, clean, cozy, quiet, and comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Gilmores Entry! Car park for your vehicle, everything you want to see is within walking distance. Some good restaurants and pubs close by. The Royal mile is very close along with the historical Edinburgh castle. Everything about Gilmores Entry was perfect for our 3 nights in Edinburgh. I would not hesitate to book again if I return to Edinburgh

  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for choosing my apartment for your stay, and for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you all, and to welcome you and your wonderful family to Edinburgh! I'm delighted to hear that the apartment, the parking, and the location were so convenient for you; they were all very important factors to me when choosing this apartment, and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here so much. I'm also delighted to hear you'd like to return if/when you're next back in Edinburgh; I'd certainly love to welcome you all back! Thanks again for staying; best wishes to you and your family. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Superb! Above and beyond our expectations.

  • 5 of 5

We had a nice long weekend seeing shows at the fringe festival. The location of the flat couldn't have been any better for our purposes. Maya is very good at keeping in touch with detailed emails and welcome pack. She provided every brochure for the various elements of the festival. We were also pleasantly surprised to find breakfast stuff (eggs, bacon, bread, milk, butter, ground coffee, tea, etc) and two bottles of wine. She was flexible about our arrival and departure times and came to greet us and say goodbye. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing my apartment, and also for taking the time to write a review. I'm pleased to hear that the location worked so well for you all, as the apartment's central location was one of the main reasons I chose this particular property; it's so close to most of the key festival venues, yet it's located in a quiet cul-de-sac, and provides a peaceful home-from-home for you to retire to at the end of each day. I'm also glad to hear you liked the welcome pack, and that you found my flexibility with your arrival and departure times so helpful. Thanks again for staying, and I look forward to welcoming you back if and when you return to Edinburgh. Best wishes to you all, Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect stay!

  • 5 of 5

The flat is just perfect for a family. Our children loved it!

Nice size, you find everything you need in the kitchen, and above all, it's in the center. We never took a bus, we could walk to visit the main places of interests and to do shopping. Besides there's a supermarket next to it.

We really appreciated Maya's information before our arrival.

It's definitely the place to stay in Edinburgh if you are 2-4 people!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, and also for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you all, and I'm so glad you and your family had such an enjoyable time here. I'm pleased to hear the location worked so well for you, as it's the main reason I chose this particular apartment for my holiday rental property. So many of the city's main sights and attractions are within easy walking distance, and the apartment has the added benefit that it's located in a quiet little residential cul-de-sac; it's easy to forget you're in the city centre! Thank you very much for choosing my apartment for your stay, and I look forward to welcoming you all back if and when you're next over in Edinburgh. Thanks again, and best wishes to you all. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5

This was such a lovely flat, very well located in Edinburgh. Everything was close by, easily accessed by bus or walking (or cab). Maya was amazing, waiting for us upon our arrival and meeting us agin before departure. The flat was very clean, with two very comfortable bedrooms. The kitchen was stocked with eggs, bacon, coffee, tea, wine and biscuits. It has a washer/dryer combo that came in very handy, as well as little touches, such as extra umbrellas and brochures for local activities. I am already looking forward to my next trip to Scotland, and will definitely be staying in Maya's flat again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying, and also for taking the time to write a review and share your experience; it's much appreciated. Thank you also for such kind words! I'm happy to hear that the location was so convenient for you, as it's one of the main reasons I chose this particular property for my holiday rental apartment. I'm also delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much, and that you found the apartment so comfortable and clean. These aspects of a rental property don't show up on photos, of course, so I appreciate you taking the time to mention this in your review. As a keen traveller myself, cleanliness and comfort are of paramount importance when visiting new places, and I do everything I can to ensure each and every one of my guests has what they need during their time here. It was wonderful to meet you all, and I look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Edinburgh. Thank you again for choosing my apartment for your stay and, until we next meet, I'm sending best wishes to you all. Maya.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Edinburgh Airport
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Waverley Train Station
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
Portobello Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals