Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spacious Grade II listed house, ideal for families in a great location

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 260 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Situated in the centre of this picturesque historic village of Lenham, in the heart of Kent. Bluebird House has all the comforts of “home-from-home” in a beautifully furnished quintessentially English House.

Steps to front entrance.

Ground floor: Leading straight into a spacious lounge with inglenook fire place and wood burner, big comfy settee and chairs and a pretty bay window, stairs off to first floor.

Open plan into the dining room with beamed walls and ceilings throughout, sofa, Dining table and chairs for 6 and original range.

Rear hall with downstairs WC, leading to back door access with small steps up to the private terraced garden. BBQ and seating to enjoy eating out, rear gate out to allocated parking space.

Kitchen to the rear with double aspect windows. A modern, light, retro look kitchen, fully equipped with cooker, gas hob, retro fridge freezer, washer-dryer, microwave, kettle & toaster, coffee machine, everything you'll need to whip up a family meal.

Original feature steep curved stairs to first floor:-

Bedroom 1: Master bedroom, double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and bedside tables with sympathetic lighting and sunny aspect.

Bedroom 2: Single truckle bed with room for 2, chest of drawers, hanging space, bedside lamp & table, light and airy, overlooking the garden .

Bathroom: With modern over bath shower, sink and toilet. Etched mirror and tiled throughout.

Original feature steep curved stairs to second floor:

Bedroom 3: Double bed, chest of drawers, hanging unit, bedside lamps & tables. Up in the eves of the property with a lovely view down to the market square from the window high up which allows lots of natural light through.

Wood burner, (logs provided as starter pack), GFCH. Bed linen and towels included. HD TV with Sky Q box. .

Private garden terrace with furniture, BBQ.

Off street parking for 1 car.

Original feature steep curved stairs not suitable for children under 5 or guests with limited mobility .

NB; Small sofa in dining room is a sofa-bed and could sleep extra guests.(7th guest)

House Rules

No smoking anywhere on the property

No parties or loud music or events.

Check-in time is 3pm.

Departure time 10am

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2018

About The Owner

I am really passionate about our beautiful county of Kent and love sharing the pretty quintessential English houses and cottages with our holiday guests, as well as the diverse choice of things to enjoy here.

I live, work and love it here, and believe you will too.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

The Owner purchased this house in 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We've had a wonderful time here in Lenham. The cottage was perfect!

Well equipped with everything we needed, lovely & clean. The Welcome pack was very welcome for that first cuppa.

It's a lovely home, we will definitely be back. :)
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Lenham in Lenham

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 260 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7 ...
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No parties to be held in the property No loud music, be considerate to neighbours No muddy footwear allowed in the cottage.
  • This is our home & must be left in the condition you find it. Please report damage straight away. Cleaners do not do washing up for guests.
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Plus full size hand basin.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Downstairs toilet, hand basin and radiator.
  • Modern Shower over bath Mirror over sink WC Fully tilled Chrome heated towel rail
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 2: Full sized single bed with childs Truckle pull out bed underneath. This can also be made into a 3rd double, please let us know in advance if you need single or double. We can also cater for 1 more( at a cost of £50 extra), with a pull out sofa bed in the dining room, please let us know if you need extra linen for this.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • swimming
Notes:
A welcome pack is provided for all our guests on arrival, including; tea, coffee, milk, sugar. On line grocery shopping is available through the Homeaway app. We can supply other items on request, Flowers, Hush Heath Wine, celebratory bespoke labels for an additional fee.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Grade II listed house, ideal for families in a great location
average rating of 4.714286 based on 9 reviews
4

Cosy cottage in cozy village

  • 4 of 5

Very pretty cottage with everything you need.

We forgot our keys in the house and the mamnager solved the problem immediately. Thank you Sue!

  • Review Submitted: 23-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you found everything you needed in the house and with the extra bed all was okay for you & the children. The village is very pretty & typically in the style of "The garden of England". It was no trouble to help with the key issue either. Thank you for your review. Regards Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house perfectly situated

  • 5 of 5

The house was lovely, very comfy beds and decorated to a high standard. Loved the Molton Brown complimentary toiletries. The directions were great & we found the parking easily, then straight in the back door with all our bags. There were 4 of us, all friends who go away regularly to enjoy some down time away from children & work. The house was quaint with lovely features - lots of beams so not for taller people (two of us had to duck on the stairs) but that was part of the charm. Any issues we had were sorted by Sue immediately, the welcome package of milk, butter, cheese, crackers & wine went down very well. Away from the house, The Sunday market was great & we ate in both pubs in the village.. a 2 minutes walk away. We also went to Ashford Outlet shopping on our way back which was very good value. All together a really relaxing, cosy weekend. Highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal for Our Needs

  • 5 of 5

We found the cottage to be very well appointed and comfortable provided you are able bodied, not a toddler and not over 6 feet high! The washer/drier a great boon. Problems were speedily resolved, not least the name which says Bluebird Cottage (not Bluebell as per the website) outside! It is full of atmosphere with medieval exposed beams and steep curved stairs. Ideal for us and our family as we had a big wedding over at The Tithe Barn, literally two minutes walk away so folk could visit and we had four spare beds for the night. Shopping is easy: just step outside the front door! Lenham is a lovely village full of medieval/Tudor properties. The Church is beautiful and well worth a visit. There are lots of places to eat, good pubs and locally sourced food to buy. It is remarkably quiet however so very relaxing.

Touring Kent is easy from Lenham but the driving is not for the fainthearted - be warned these are either genuine old Kentish roads or clogged up motorways. The railway service from Lenham takes you to London however and there is a very fast service from Ashford to London or France. And if you like to walk, there are loads of public footpaths and the beautiful Pilgrim's Way.

All in all, to be recommended if you like living in a historic and delightful cottage in deepest Kent.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we love it and knew others would too. Yes, a quaint, medieval village with oodles of amenities and lots to see and do. Regards Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A very tastefully decorated and quaint cottage with many interesting features

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in the cottage for a few days with two grown-up children to attend our son's wedding; the location was perfect for getting around the area. The cottage has a beautiful and unusual interior with beams, quirky corners and interesting staircases. Bedrooms are extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated so we enjoyed our few days in such surroundings.

We were slightly disappointed with the gas hob which appeared to have such low pressure that it was tricky cooking on it! Also the shower was weak (although the bathroom was lovely). I'm guessing water pressure is also an issue - at least when it came to the shower.

Suggestions: provide a toaster.Also an ironing board, the lack of which was slightly inconvenient for ironing wedding shirts although I do appreciate that most people don't go on holiday to iron. Property details did say there was a board but we couldn't find it anywhere.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased you enjoyed staying at the cottage, and thank you for your lovely review. Also for your feedback , which has all been sorted. Kind Regards Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Bluebell House

  • 5 of 5

Spent a lovely three days in this attractive cottage. Very well equipped and everything as described and pictured on the site. We did have a bit of difficulty finding it as we hadn't realised it was number 20 and the name "Bluebell House" was not easily seen from the car. Lenham is a very attractive village with pubs, restaurants, well-stocked village shop, baker, fish and chip shop and supermarket all a short walk away. (Most a very short walk!) Also a Chinese Restaurant opposite which we would recommend. We visited Leeds Castle and Chartwell which made enjoyable outings and on the Sunday there was a Country Market in the village Square which was nice to wander around. Altogether a very pleasant weekend and we would recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: 21-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Janice, so pleased you and your family had a lovely stay. We love the village too but it's always nice to hear it from a visitor. Regards Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sittard, Nederland
5

Kent is heel goed te doen

  • 5 of 5

Heel erg leuke woning in een aangename omgeving.

  • Review Submitted: 06-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Lydd
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
The Red Lion Pub
Nearest Ferry
33.3 Miles
Dover Ferry port
Nearest Golf
8.4 Miles
Weald of Kent
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
Lenham Station
Nearest Motorway
4.7 Miles
M20 , Jct 8 Maidstone ME17
Nearest Restaurant
Chopsticks & Bowl- High St, Lenham
Nearest Ski
15.3 Miles
Chatham Ski & Snowboard Centre
Nearest Beach
22.2 Miles
Hythe
Car: recommended

Bluebird House is a beautifully decorated period terrace House located in the medieval market village of Lenham, it is full of old charm and modern comfort.

With its cosy wood burner to keep you warm this period house is perfect for any time of the year.

Just a short stroll from the picturesque market square which is dated from 1088 and mentioned in the “ Doomsday” book.

During those colder months’ guests can snuggle around the wood burner or on warmer evenings enjoy the enclosed garden

terrace complete with seating and BBQ to dine alfresco.

Lenham is a tranquil, beautiful village, steeped in history with a great diversity of eateries. Choose from a traditional local pub, Hotel restaurant, fish bar restaurant, Chinese restaurant, Coffee shop & tea room on the market square.

Home to the Stour Valley Walk, which starts in Lenham, is a must for all walkers to enjoy the best of the North Downs, AONB and surrounding area including the 200ft chalk cross carved into the scarp slope.

From its central location, Lenham offers you the ideal holiday base to plan your days out with train links to historic Canterbury, the county seat of Maidstone or to London in an hour for a night out on the town direct from its station.

Alternatively head for the coast to either Dymchurch, Folkstone or Dover just 45 minutes away by car, and experience lovely beach views, castles, the famous “White cliffs”, Martello towers or Paul Nash beach art and complete your day by sampling some tasty, fresh local food in one of the many restaurants.

Fancy some wine then why not sail

over to France for the day from Dover to Calais, or by Eurostar from Ashford International, your options are endless.

Local pub, restaurant and shops 200yrds, A la carte restaurant; Chilston Park hotel; 1.5 miles away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £85
Damage Deposit £200

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals