HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Newly Remodeled! Premier Destination in Poipu! With a pool!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


About the property

Aloha & Welcome to Poipu Beach Bungalows, one of the premier vacation estates on the South Shore of Kauai. Located in the heart of Poipu, and less then 100 yards from Brennecke’s Beach. The “Bungalows,” is one of best places to kick off your sandals and begin to enjoy the splendors of our incredible island.

The estate consists of three, two bedroom, one- bathroom bungalows and a larger house (the Ohana an original plantation home), which has five bedrooms and four bathrooms. Each bungalow is roughly 1,200 sq. feet with the Ohana at 2,800 sq. feet.

This beautifully landscaped piece of paradise has a pool surrounded by lush tropical plants that is perfect for kids and adults of all ages.

This property has beautiful views of the ocean, and in less than a minute you can be snorkeling, swimming, or boogie boarding on one of the best beaches on the South Shore.

There are activities galore just a short distance away. Restaurants, shops, scuba diving, ATV tours, and etc... If you can think of it, it is probably available. There are four top golf courses within four miles of the property. Brennecke’s Restaurant and Bar is just a stones throw away.

PLEASE NOTE, HOLIDAYS: During holiday weeks such as Christmas, Thanksgiving, we only rent the whole property to one large group. This way the whole group has the privacy of being together. Please let me know if you are interested in this, and I can send you a quote!

Poipu Beach Bungalows is family owned and managed. It is the perfect property to have a small wedding or family reunion. The estate can sleep up to 22 and we allow up to 40 on the property for a wedding. To start your vacation or book a wedding or family reunion, send us an inquiry. We will get you stared on the beginning of a memory that will last a lifetime! Aloha & Mahalo!!

If you are interested in renting the entire property please state that in your inquiry, or you can contact Jacalyn at 808 339 0505. The VRBO #'s for the other three houses on the property are: 695755, 695758, 695759.

More Details

Jacalyn Barens
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 August, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in Poipu in Koloa

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • Shelling
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Newly Remodeled! Premier Destination in Poipu! With a pool!
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 6 reviews

Unbeatable location/ value on this newly renovated Kauai bungalow!

  • 4 of 5

This roomy little bungalow was perfect for our family of four. Plenty of space to spread out in the living room, and the kitchen was nicely appointed. Great to have easy access to the pool immediately outside. The walk to Poipu Beach is about 2 minutes for a great boogey/ body boarding break, and Brennecke's Beach and restaurant are a stone's throw farther away for convenience, as is Nukimoi Surf Shop for rentals and surf lessons (they did a great job - we all got up for lots of wave riding!). The bungalow staff was incredibly responsive and super nice - they came to look at minor maintenance issues very quickly.

Improvements: the bungalow needs some hooks for wet towels/ clothes, along with perhaps a little art on the expansive open walls. We would have loved another bathroom with two early/ pre-teen daughters, but that's not something that's going to change! Watch out for the crowing roosters all over Kauai - bring ear plugs.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house, great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our vacation--clean, well-appointed, super close to the beach. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Vacation Home Away From Home!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Poipu Beach Bungalows was the perfect place to have a family gather for a Destination Wedding. Our family gathered from East Coast and West Coast to be together for a wedding celebration and a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration! Our accommodations were PERFECT and we wanted for nothing. The Bungalows are beautifully appointed and stocked with everything you need to make you feel at home. We were blessed to call this our home for 8 days. Loved every minute of our stay. Thank you Jacalyn. You have left no stone unturned in this beautiful little place in Paradise! Hope to return again one day! MAHALO and MUCH ALOHA!!! The Gagen Family

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Tisbury, MA

Lovely renovation, terrible sleep

  • 3 of 5

Stayed in the Hula cottage, 2 BR at back of property. There are several separate houses sharing common space and a pool.

Privacy from the other units is average, could be better could be worse.


Recently done and very thoughtfully renovated, well appointed, good space and open living area. Grounds well taken care of. Easy walk to Poipu beach park. Has a grill & pool.


Pool was shaded so a bit cool to want to get in. Brennake's beach (really nearby!) is pretty but very small and not swimmable even on calm days. Worst thing about the place was we hardly slept all week. Mattress was soft and saggy, window situation was tricky. If we left them closed it was sweltering hot and we couldn't sleep. If we opened them a particularly foul rooster who lived just outside the window started crowing at 1am and didn't stop til morning. Roosters are a problem all over the island but were particularly loud & plentiful at this spot for some reason.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Amazing group vacation

  • 5 of 5

We rented the entire property for our group of 23 people (including 5 kids) - it was perfect! The pool area and lawn were lovely and great for us all to be together, and the individual bungalows were all comfortable and cute. They're not luxury, but they're nice - and perfect for the price.

You can't beat the location... a block to the beach in one direction, and a block up the hill (and a few stairs) to a great bar/restaurant in the other. Jacalyn was so helpful and accommodating to our group. Everyone had an amazing time!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

dissatisfied family get together

  • 1 of 5

coffee for1st morning never found no hair dryer or Kleenex in mbath no air freshener MOLD IN BATH&ON FLOOR TUB WAS STAINED YELLOW sink&tub drain very slow poor water pressure in m bath had to flush commode twice each time not enough ceiling fans major amount of dust on fans that were there 4 slice toaster only had one side workinghad to plug in 2 toasters and un plug coffee maker to accomadate toasters cooking pans sucked& rusted we were told that everything was up graded not at this address washing machine took foever to fill up no fold out beds as in add shower door in 1st bath didn't open unless you pickedup on it once you got it open you could see mold in shower no screen door on sgd in master suite outlet covers missing exposed wires over washer&dryer no phone as in add gutters hanging down and rotted out curtains to thin for privacy from neighbors no stove burners in studio unable to cook microwave turntable didn't workcabinets to hard to open I think some were painted shut outside water hoses leaked cleaning service was raised after we already booked pictures of property were better than reality priced to high for what we received at least it was close to the beach like the add said we had a party of 17 we were not hapy with our stay especialyfor the price will not recommend to any one

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review has us in shock and we are frankly disgusted reading it. We are the brand new owners of this property and since we are have taken it over in April we have put $100,000 into making improvements. What this guest failed to mention was that on the day we closed escrow, we sent a letter to all guests with existing reservations, this party was included in this letter, and told them the property was not up to our standards. We offered all existing reservations a full refund if they would like to cancel, or we said we would move their reservation with no additional charge till after we remodel the property in the early part of 2016. This guest also failed to mention we allowed him to use VRBO to pay with a credit card, and we also allowed him thirty extra days to make the payment because he said he could not hit our deadline. We allowed the guest to use VRBO as a payment vehicle, and we feel very taken advantage of for trying to be nice and help out. As for the house, we have replaced all of the ceiling fans in all four homes of the property, and our cleaning staff is amazing! There has never been any dust on the fans that was from the last party. They clean the fans after every party. There is absolutely no mold in the bathrooms. The cooking pans and everything in the kitchen is brand new either from Costco or Macy’s. Everything but the major appliances were replaced in April, and they are very high end quality. We do not provide phones in the homes, and this has never been an issue for us. Our rain gutters on the house are not brand new, but they are working and they are not falling down from the roof. If the gutters were broken the whole yard would flood, it rains too much in Kauai, we always make sure the gutters are in good shape. By the poor grammar of this review, it is hard to take seriously. As the owners, we tried to be nice and help out a future guest, even gave them a chance to cancel or reschedule. In the end, all we got was multiple phone calls and emails before this guest arrived yelling about how the weather was not supposed to be good for the duration of the visit, and how we are incompetent as owners. We encourage you to read our other reviews on this house and our other homes on the island.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Brennecke's Bar
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Brennecke's Beach
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bungalow in Poipu, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 May 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
1 Oct 2017 - 17 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
18 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
26 Nov 2017 - 16 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
17 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
8 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
1 Apr 2018 - 10 Sep 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £194.2
Damage Deposit £388.4

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.