HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Secluded Hideout up in the Trees...

People12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,300 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

This home is nestled on one acre of hillside property overlooking a small canyon

Our home in the hills above Pomona boasts incredible sunrise views & hundreds of square feet of outdoor decks and patios surrounding the house. Minutes from Fairplex at Pomona, parks, golf courses & the Claremont Colleges, it's nestled above it all in a quiet canyon. The house has two large living and family rooms complete with leather couches, large fireplaces and televisions, and two spacious bedrooms with Cal King beds. Decks and patios surround the house, as do the countless trees lining the hillside. The house features a fully stocked kitchen, laundry, 8-person spa and all the comforts of home. A dining room, breakfast nook and several outdoor decks provide plenty of table seating both indoors and out, affording you a perfectly relaxing getaway. And the Treehouse is great for hosting larger events!*

Optional: A separate two bed/one bath apartment with two private outdoor patios, a living room, a dining area, and full-sized kitchen with bar seating is available on the ground level for an additional charge. To rent this property by itself, please see VRBO property ID# 704608. When renting both properties, up to 12 overnight guests can be accommodated with four to six beds plus queen-sized air mattresses upon request.

*Renters who would like to host a group of non-overnight guests beyond twelve people are welcome to do so for an additional fee.

More Details

Owner
Peggy Underwood
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

About Peggy Underwood

My husband and I both grew up at a mile above sea level, but in different states. We miss the snow but we love the seclusion of our home up in the trees (and the convenience of having civilization just a three minute drive away). We' re new to the Claremont/Pomona community but still have friends and family throughout LA and Orange Counties. Most nights you can find us up in our spectacular 'treehouse'...

Peggy Underwood purchased this house in 2015

Why Peggy Underwood chose Westmont

We purchased this beautiful house with immaculate custom craftsmanship in order to enjoy a home where trees are plentiful and neighbors are scarce, and we can't wait to share it with others!

What makes this house unique

Peaceful isolation and unrivaled comfort. We love the open floor plan and spacious rooms, as well as the comfy couches and enormous spa. Enjoy a roaring fire on a cold night or a gentle breeze on a warm afternoon. Sprawling decks, patios and verandas on three sides of our home don't hurt either...

Guestbook comments from the owner

Full disclosure, this guest gave us a 1-star review which can be read on our property page. We're thrilled about it, frankly, because he admits to knowing our rules regarding noise and smoking, and just ignoring them anyway, which doesn't exactly drive away business for us. In essence, he didn't like getting noise complaints from neighbors or having a portion of his damage deposit taken to pay for a complete deep clean of our 500-gallon hot tub, which resulted from his group's disgusting misuse (again, he admits to as much in his review). Scott's group left trash on our property and dishes in the sink (I mean how hard is it to load--just LOAD--a dishwasher...?) but most importantly, his group drank and smoked heavily on our redwood deck and ashed all over it. We found butts left on the ground in a canyon surrounded on all sides by dry brush. Then Scott had the audacity to tell us that he's "30 years old and he knows how to put out a cigarette without starting a wildfire..." Somehow I doubt our neighbors would sleep better knowing that, especially since smoking is a violation of city ordinance and signs to that effect line the road he took to our property. He put our dream home at risk, as well as our neighbors', and had a cavalier attitude. Don't bother with this one... he'll ignore your rental agreement, and if you call him on that, he'll ding you with a 1-star review. You're better off passing on him...



Actual verbatim quotes from his correspondence with us:



"I also want to leave [her] a good review because she seemed like a nice person when I met her."



"I hope we can find a middle ground here because i don't think either of us want to leave a poor review for the other party. All in all, we had an enjoyable time at the house and I appreciate the way you've been communicating with me about these issues."



I've actually never left a negative guest review, but after this whole mess, I'm absolutely happy to oblige.
Nov 2017
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Westmont in Pomona

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Guest Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Downstairs Apartment (Optional) - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The master bath is a full bath complete with vanity and ample counter space. The guest bath is a three quarter and is across the hall from the guest bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Guest Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Lower Apartment Master (Optional) - 1 Large Double Bed
    Lower Apt. Studio (Optional) - 1 Large Double Bed
    Family Room - 1 Large Double Bed , Pullout Couch or Air Mattress
  • The Master Suite has a Cal King as well as its own bathroom and two private entrances. This room has access to the East Portico and the deck and hot tub out back. The guest bedroom has a king bed and large closet, with a shared guest bathroom. A pullout couch or large air mattresses can be provided for parties over four people. If more than two bedrooms are required, the lower level boasts a full apartment with two additional queen bedrooms, a bathroom, full kitchen and two separate patios.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Notes:
Most guests come to our home to relax indoors and out. Our decks are surrounded by trees which allow for nicely shaded outdoor dining or lounging in the sun. And our home permits a cool westward breeze on warm afternoons and offers blazing fires on cold nights (we also have central AC and heat, if you're into that sorta thing...) We do however, ask that guests enjoy our enormous rear deck during daylight hours. Guests are welcome to use the spa or seating after dark, but we ask that you respect our neighbors and keep all noise and voices to an absolute minimum after sunset. Sound really carries in our canyon!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
Secluded Hideout up in the Trees...
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 14 reviews
Dana Point, CA
5

Perfect for a family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at Peggy's charming home during my son's wedding in nearby Upland, CA. We rented both the upper and lower units, and it was a terrific experience for us! Over a 4-day stay, about one dozen family members stayed at the home, which is very conveniently located near the Los Angeles County Fair Grounds and to 1-10. The home has a terrific living/dining/kitchen, which was very well appointed and which held all of us with ease. There is a fabulous, large deck with a hot tub, which is a great addition to the property.

Three bedrooms and several sleeper sofas accommodated couples, singles, late nighters and early risers just fine. The living areas are on two levels, so be aware that there are steps.

The home is very secluded and quiet. You would definitely need to drive to most attractions, and it is a little difficult to find; but it is worth the effort! There are very few properties available in this area, and this is the only one large enough for our group. It was a fun way to celebrate my son's wedding!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure to host you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville
1

Not the house for a fun time

  • 1 of 5

If you're planning on enjoying some time at this house, i would recommend staying somewhere else. This place is made for families who plan on being quiet during their stay. The owners are very uptight and even have 2 cameras on the front and back porch to keep an eye on things. They claim it's completely legal to have the cameras, but it seemed a bit extreme and uncomfortable to us. On top of that, the owners stay in a tiny home that's half way down the driveway while you're in their house.

You will get a noise complaint at night even if you're only enjoying conversation and laughter on the back porch. They advertise having an outdoor hot tub, but after having some beers and cigarettes in the tub they decided to not refund my entire deposit and claimed they would have to clean the tub after our stay. In my opinion a hot tub should be cleaned after every guest no matter what. Their other reasons for not refunding the deposit was that we left a few uncleaned dishes, forgot to take out a little trash and smoked cigarettes outside (which is against their policy because of starting fires).

I understand the concern of starting fires, but we are 30 years old and are fully capable of smoking a cigarette without starting a wild fire. This is the first time i've ever not received my full deposit back. Only after writing the owner multiple times did she refund me a very small portion of the deposit, meaning she kept most of it to clean the tub, take out a bag of trash and wash a few dishes. This left me wondering what the cleaning fee was for??

To add insult to injury, we came in August and the house was extremely hot. The air conditioning did not work at all, making sleeping very uncomfortable. The owner told us to try and leave the doors open to get some air flow which only ended up letting bugs in the house.

It's a beautiful house and Peggy seemed like a very nice lady, but if you are trying to come here to enjoy some time at the house i would recommend finding another place.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Scott, Thanks so much for the handful of kind words and for taking the time to write this review! We really appreciate ANY review because they all benefit us one way or another. We think you're a nice guy too. You see, we initially enjoyed having your group here and as you mentioned, the noise complaints came from neighbors (250yds away) who really don't mind our guests unless they're unusually loud late at night. Since we both know that's exactly what happened during your stay, and since you and I both know the extent to which your group totally abused the spa & rear deck until the wee hours of the morning (while making tons of noise, drinking and smoking heavily, and inexplicably admitting to as much in your very useful review) I'd say you should be grateful we sent you $150 back. We did that because we like you despite the filthy state of the spa when you were done, the ash & butts left all over the redwood deck that we built ourselves, your delightfully charming review, and the fact that your group endangered our entire canyon by ashing on our deck and putting your cigarettes out on the ground while surrounded by dry brush. So you're welcome--but just FYI, I doubt our neighbors are terribly impressed by how responsible a smoker you think you are. We do, however, appreciate you admitting you understood our smoking policy and the reasoning behind it, but just thought it was too stupid for you to follow. Honestly, negative reviews like this keep people who ACT like you act and expect what you expect, from renting our home, which is just fantastic. And in our experience, a 1-star review just leads people who wouldn't DREAM of ignoring our policy, city ordinance and basic common sense, to believe that we're reasonable folks who ask very little of our guests, but do expect them to respect our home, our neighbors (especially at 3am) and to refrain from lighting paper on fire and throwing it on the ground. As I'm sure you noticed (because it was sparkling at your check-in) we ALWAYS clean our spa between guests—unfortunately, after you guys we had to drain, deep-clean, scrub, sanitize and chemically treat the 500-gallon spa... and since you were responsible for all of that, we had to cut into your damage deposit, something we've only done 3 times in 3 years after hundreds of guests. To say we charged you for dishes or trash is not true, but no worries. Let's just chalk this up to a lesson learned... for both of us. Respectfullyish, The Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Property worked perfectly for our family and Peggy went out of her way to help us with airline snafus and changing schedules! We hope to stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ross, thanks for your kind words. We were happy to help out however we could. Thank you for leaving the place so neat and clean. You are definitely welcome any time. Hope to see you again soon! Peggy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely hideaway

  • 4 of 5

Peggy was a great host and the home was a perfect place for us to nest while we moved our daughter into one of the Claremont colleges. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Beautiful Gem!

  • 5 of 5

Peggy & Phil were SO easy to work with and very accommodating. The house was the perfect balance of peace and serenity and fun! We enjoyed the quiet nights, beautiful wood deck and cozy beds! Thank you for making our stay wonderful.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very pleasant stay!

  • 5 of 5

Our son and daughter-in-law were married in Claremont, and Peggy and Phil's house was very nice for our extended family. It wasn't too far from the Claremont Colleges-about a 10 minute drive. The house had very nice touches put out just for us; coffee, chocolates, and cookies were both upstairs snd downstairs (we rented both units). We had a large group of people, and the owners made sure the picnic tables and chairs were set up before we got there. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch drinking our coffee and watching the beautiful sunrises. We also enjoyed that it was removed from the city in the hills.

Peggy and Phil were easy to work with and we would recommend this VRBO to anyone staying in the area. In fact, I wish we would've known about it while our son had been attending Pomona College, since it can be very difficult to find a hotel there.

  • Review Submitted: 04-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
John Wayne Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Fox Sports Bar & Grill
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Mountain Meadows Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Foothill Metro
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
10 FWY and 57 FWY
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Pomona Valley Mining Co.
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Lake Arrowhead
Car: recommended

Nestled on its own acre in the heart of Ganesha Hills, this home offers great views and peaceful solitude with just a thirty minute drive to Downtown LA or Disneyland, and just 45 minutes to Long Beach or Newport Beach. Locally, the house is within walking distance of the Fairplex, NHRA Museum, several parks, and the beautiful Mountain Meadows Golf Course. It's also just a 5-10 minute drive from all of the Claremont Colleges and less than an hour from multiple ski resorts.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Westmont, Los Angeles area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
2018 Claremont Graduation
6 May 2018 - 19 May 2018
6 night minimum stay
£5,644
for 6 nights
From
£928
£6,312
 
 
2019 Claremont Graduation
7 May 2019 - 21 May 2019
6 night minimum stay
£5,644
for 6 nights
From
£928
£6,312
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£371
for 1 night
From
£297
£1,857
£5,644
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £37 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £74.26
Refundable Damage Deposit £371.3

Rates are subject to change until Reservation is confirmed. Rates based on 6 guests--please inquire about arrangements to accommodate more than 8 guests.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals