HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Gamer's Retreat at The Guild Hall in Historic Downtown Savannah

People14
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
14
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday apartment in Old West Broad Neighborhood - The Dragon's Lair - Guild Hall

3 bedroom, 2.5 bath apartment on the campus of The Guild Hall

The Dragon's Lair is a luxury apartment located on the campus of The Guild Hall in the southwest corner of Savannah's Historic District. It is mere blocks from Forsyth Park and walking distance to pretty much anywhere you want to go downtown. (SVR-00342)

What do we mean by high ceilings? How does 18 feet grab ya? And oh god, the crown molding. It's just so ... I don't know .. Historic! Oh, and hardwood floors *all day*, y'all. Again, very much an Historic Savannah thing. (See how we used 'an' before the word 'historic'? That's how you know we're educated, or maybe from ye olden times. Hard to tell which.)

Did we mention the spaciousness? We are talking about maximally commodious, especially for something in Historic Downtown. The kitchen has plenty of counter space for prep and cabinets for storage, and the separate dining room has seating for six. Each of the three bedrooms has its own theme - Board Games, Harry Potter, and Mario - complete with thematically appropriate decor to enhance your vacation experience. The Board Games bedroom has three twin beds, the Harry Potter bedroom has one queen-sized bed and a small pull-out chair, and the Mario bedroom has one queen and one full bed. The living room has full- and queen-size sleeper sofas and a large sectional sofa that can sleep one or two.

There are two large full bathrooms on the top floor and the bottom floor has a half bath. The living room has plenty of seating and a flat-screen smart television with Roku (so, you get access to your Hulu, Netflix, Pandora, etc.). There is a dishwasher in the kitchen and a washer & dryer in the top floor hallway closet. So, basically, we've got you covered from an amenities standpoint.

The apartment door has a wifi-enabled combination lock, and we send you the combination two weeks before you check in. So, you can show up any time you like without the need to get keys from us (or hoping we send them to you in the mail in sufficient time) and you can check out without having to drop them off. Plus, everyone in your party can have the 'key' as long as you decide to share the combination with them. Ain't technology grand?!?

And we haven't even gotten to the coolest part about The Dragon's Lair. It's located at The Guild Hall! What is The Guild Hall, you ask? It's a place where creative people - coders, makers, designers, gamers, performers, and storytellers - can get together, have fun, learn new skills, or just relax. Sort of like a clubhouse for creative people. Check out our website at the guild hall dot com (or search for us on bugle, because it's fun to pronounce it like that...like gewgle). We like to think of it as Nerdvana, but not everyone is into the whole 'nerd' label. And, hey, that's cool.

No, but seriously, there is no place like this anywhere else. The Arena is where people can play video and computer games, board games, table-top RPGs, and CCGs like Magic the Gathering, Pokemon, and My Little Pony. A true guest favorite is our gamer pub, The Chromatic Dragon, and GUESS WHAT? It is right downstairs from The Dragon's Lair. Talk about convenient!

When you stay as a guest in The Dragon's Lair, you get free memberships for up to six people for the duration of your visit. Each free membership comes with access to all four buildings and hours of free gaming time. And, if needed, you can purchase additional memberships for the rest of your party at a discounted price. Because we love you.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Anna Ivey
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2016

About Anna Ivey

We are The Guild Hall, a place where creative people - coders, makers, designers, gamers, performers, and storytellers - can get together, have fun, learn new skills or just relax. Sort of like a clubhouse for creative people.

Why Anna Ivey chose Savannah

The Dragon's Lair gives you the best of Historic Downtown Savannah *and* access to The Guild Hall. There is no place like this anywhere else.

What makes this apartment unique

When you stay as a guest in The Dragon's Lair, you get free memberships for up to six people for the duration of your visit. Each free membership comes with access to gaming in the Arena and hours of free gaming time. And, if needed, you can purchase additional memberships for the rest of your party at a discounted price. Because we love you.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

Gamer's Retreat at The Guild Hall in Historic Downtown Savannah
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
5

Great space. Convenient to everything.

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our bachelor party. The beds were comfortable and the uber' to river street were less than $10. The campus it sits on has some great options for food and drink. Anna was super responsive and answered any questions we had (even if they were included on the check in sheet). Had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not a great stay for this Girl Scout troop!

  • 2 of 5

A group of 14 (Girl Scouts and their moms) stayed at the Dragon's Lair on July 29-31. The location was just outside the historic district, so very convenient for our sightseeing plans. The apartment was very spacious and there was plenty of room for all of us to spread out between the bedrooms and the couches. The apartment gaming decor was cute and definitely appealed to our group of 11 year old girls. Throughout the whole process of reserving and staying at the Dragon's Lair, the owner was always very responsive. So why just two stars?? The apartment was dirty for our standards. The floors turned the bottom of our feet black (and I have a picture of my socks to prove it); lots of dust and dirt underneath the beds which is very noticeable when you have girls on the floor with sleeping bags and air mattresses; lots of dirt and hair found in the couches...again very noticeable when you're using a pullout couch for sleeping and need to remove the cushions! The apartment really needs a good professional cleaning to bring it up to par. The apartment is located above a pub which is open till 2 AM. Our first night there, the loud music and loud voices did not stop until 6 AM the next morning...so little sleep the first night. One of the moms actually recorded the audio on her phone to document the times of this craziness. We later found out an adjoining tenant was to blame for all of the late night noise...very unfortunate for us! The second night was better. And finally, the apartment's two air conditioning units have problems. During both nights of our stay, the a/c froze up and someone had to come out to drain the a/c pans. After being out all day sightseeing with a group, the last thing I wanted to deal with at 11/12 PM at night was a faulty a/c. Granted, it was a very hot summer but it did not seem like this was a new problem - the two employees who came out to correct the problem knew exactly what to do so I'm sure this is not the first time this has happened. New a/c units appear to be in order here. Again, the owner was responsive to the a/c problems but overall our group was not happy due to the lack of cleanliness and loud music/voices the first night. It was a quick weekend trip for our group and we all really enjoyed the Girl Scout history and sights of Savannah...I just wish our accommodations had turned out a little bit better for us!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry your stay didn't turn out the way you wanted. We've hosted at least a dozen other Girl Scout groups and they've all loved our properties, but unfortunately there was just a combination of issues that impacted your stay. I was in the apartment the night before you arrived and it looked very clean, but obviously some things like under the beds and under cushions had been missed. Our check-in paperwork addresses any cleanliness issues with this: “If, upon arrival, the apartment is not clean, please notify us IMMEDIATELY! If you clean the house before reporting or do not report this within 24 hours of check-in, we will not be able to assist you.” Since we weren't informed of any cleanliness issues until the second night of your stay, there wasn't much we could do at that point. We have since had all the apartments deep-cleaned by professionals and have instituted a checklist system with our cleaning staff to make sure everything is taken care of. Yes, we have been having AC issues due to this being one of the hottest summers in recent history and the problems of keeping up with historic buildings. We have our units serviced regularly and that weekend we were all unfortunate to have a problem with both units in The Dragon's Lair. We sent employees to help and got an AC tech out there as soon as was possible on Saturday morning, and if you'll recall we also gave you a gift card to our pub as an apology for the issues. The noise that kept you up on Friday night, as you pointed out but still felt the need to bring up the pub for some reason, was from the adjoining guests. Had we known that they were the ones causing the problems we would have sent someone in there Friday night, but as it was when you complained about people in the pub keeping you up until 6 am (something we knew was impossible because first of all it closes at 2 and secondly the floor between the pub and apartments is 9 layers thick and does not let sound through), we checked all of our cameras and figured out who the culprit was. The reason you didn't have problems with them on Saturday night it because we contacted them and told them their behavior was unacceptable and also sent people up there late on Saturday night to make sure they weren't being noisy again. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip to Savannah and sorry the accommodations did not work out for you, but fortunately for us such problems are rare and most people who stay here absolutely love it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of ten and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Plenty of space and walking location to downtown. The Chromatic Dragon being right downstairs was an added plus. The only issues we had were minimal lighting in the kitchen and we had to sweep the floor when we got there. But other than that, we enjoyed our stay completely.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a great time.

  • 5 of 5

I was very pleased with both the property and the staff. When we parked incorrectly, they politely asked us to correct it, which we did.

My only complaint was that I thought that the unit had enough beds for how many could stay, I didnt realize they ment pullout sofa beds. But it worked its self out.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect spot for large group or family

  • 4 of 5

Great spot for large group. We had twelve 13 year old Girl Scouts and four adults. Apartment was very spacious and easily accomodated our large group. Conveniently located to all major site seeing. Only complaint would be a housekeeping one, it was not as clean upon our arrivals as we all would have liked or expected.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the space, but very sorry that it wasn't clean enough! I left on vacation that week and wasn't able to check behind the person who cleaned. I will be sure to address this situation. Thank you for letting us know!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT Apartment!

  • 5 of 5

We had 14 people in our group and it accommodated our large group well! The upstairs toilet leaks from the bottom and the downstairs was very cold even with the heat on so we had to double up on our layers. Those were the only two minor issues we had with the unit. it was clean and cozy! I will recommend it to future travelers.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Old West Broad Neighborhood, Coastal Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Late Fall
7 Nov 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,236
for 2 nights
From
£539
£3,390
£13,623
 
 
Winter
2 Jan 2017 - 13 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,236
for 2 nights
From
£539
£3,390
£13,623
 
 
St. Patrick's Day
14 Mar 2017 - 19 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,448
for 3 nights
From
£763
 
 
Spring-Summer
20 Mar 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,371
for 2 nights
From
£606
£3,749
£16,316
 
 
Early Fall
4 Sep 2017 - 2 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,371
for 2 nights
From
£606
£3,749
£16,316
 
 
Rock and Roll Marathon
3 Nov 2017 - 5 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,864
for 2 nights
From
£853
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£1,371
for 2 nights
From
£606
£3,749
£16,316
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £159
Tax Rate 13.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Old West Broad Neighborhood in Coastal Georgia

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • 2nd Floor - Toilet
    3rd Floor Hall - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    3rd Floor En Suite - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Board Game Room - 3 Single Bed
    Harry Potter Room - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Child Bed
    Mario Room - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed
    Living Area - 2 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot