HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

2 BR+Sleeper Den+2 BA: Luxurious Adobe House Arroyo Seco - Breathtaking Vi

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Valdez - Orchard House

Luxurious adobe house with private courtyard 15 minutes from Taos Ski Valley and 15 minutes from town. 360 degree views of Wheeler Peak, Sangre de Christo Mountains and the lights of Taos. Designer decorated with original art work from around the world. Gourmet equipped kitchen. Hot tub. Two queen-size beds, and one futon. Located seconds off Ski Valley Road. and at the apex of Arroyo Seco, Des Montes and El Salto. High speed internet available.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Margaret Johns
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 November, 2016
Call Manager

About Margaret Johns

Western Girl living and working in New England and about to move to Southeastern Washington State.

Margaret Johns purchased this house in 1997

Why Margaret Johns chose New Mexico

When you arrive at the house you will experience peace and relaxation. Just breath in the air, relax and take in the Southwest.

What makes this house unique

Astounding views, luxurious kitchen, hot tub, outside dining. Nothing to want.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

2 BR+Sleeper Den+2 BA: Luxurious Adobe House Arroyo Seco - Breathtaking Vi
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
5

Arroyo Seco at its best.

  • 5 of 5

Just off Rim Road and close to the ski valley (hiking) and Taos (dinning). This house was wonderful and very comfortable. The hot tub came in handy after hiking. The house was equipped with everything we needed. Margaret and Merly were very helpful in making sure our stay was enjoyable. We look forward to staying here again. Thank you Margaret and Merly!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

I have been skiing at TSV for 20 years and renting from Margaret every year for the last 10+. Her inviting, cozy, well equipped and tastefully decorated home is in an ideal location about half way between town and TSV. Views of the mountains from the living room, master suite, hot tub and porch are spectacular. Have enjoyed many dinner parties with friends here. Extra large garage. Nice fireplace. Sleeping is very comfortable. Great all year round with easy access to expansive hiking and mountain biking trails as well. Margaret is very responsive, accommodating and generally a wonderful person to know. I would be disappointed to stay anywhere else when I visit Taos.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seabrook, TX
1

House is what I expected but oversight of the property and maintenance are severly lacking

  • 1 of 5

The house was very acceptable in size and offered what the pictures showed. However, inspection and oversight are lacking. The hot tub was empty and dirty, and not working. This was apparent as soon as the cover was removed which tells me no one checked it after the last person left. It's easy to open the top and check. The house is labeled "09" but the numbers are completely worn off the white tiles. You can barely make out the outline of where they used to be before they faded away, if you are a few feet away. So, obviously can't see it from a car. The road isn't marked either. If you are trying to keep the place a secret, you're doing a good job. The instructions on the website give the code for the wireless, but it's wrong. Fortunately someone had hand-written it on a piece of paper and left it at the house, where we accidentally located it. The hamper was full of dirty towels, but I thought "no big deal, I'll just wash them". But the washer was broken. We tried to run it repeatedly, even with a few socks, T-shirts, and underwear. Same problem everytime...it showed "IE" or "IB", and stopped. We rearranged the load, restarted it, and tried everything. No luck. I did two loads of laundry by hand and told everyone to just wear dirty clothes for the remainder of the trip. I have an almost identical washer at home, and I don't see this problem, even when I fill the basket half full. The laundry I tried to do was maybe a quarter of the tub, if that. I almost fell out of one of the broken chairs. The chairs are obviously worn out-the frayed seat material is proof of that. Instead of giving people instructions on how to glue the chairs back together you just need to buy new chairs. Ditto for the oven temperature light. Just fix it. We left cardboard for the next renter, because there's no way to start a fire otherwise. There needs to be an axe to chop kindling. My husband had to use the putty knife and mallet that was intended to fix the broken chairs. And the toilet in the master bedroom ran constantly. Because of the leaking water, it rarely flushed when needed. This is an issue with only 2 toilets. Never could get the TV in the living room to play a movie (DVD), so had to drag the one in the bedroom into the living room. Kitchen was well stocked with quality pans and utensils. But the large thick white plates couldn't be washed in the dishwasher without hitting the spinning part that washes the dishes. So, had to be h

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow. What a review. I'm truly sorry that the family found the house to be so trying. Some of the critiques were justified, some less so. Importantly, we were never given the opportunity to remedy or explain any of the issues beyond the hot tub. We ask our renters to work with us. Houses can be quirky, and getting familiar with a different house can be challenging. A few points: -- The hot tub is serviced monthly, and kept in good working order. Over the holiday season, we had a checkout in the morning (who gave us five stars) and these tenants arrived that afternoon. As soon as we heard something was amiss, Wolfgang Spa was contacted and came the next day and immediately remedied the situation. -- The washing machine was the biggest surprise. We haven't had a problem previously and were never given the opportunity to troubleshoot or remedy the situation. If we had been contacted, we would have arranged for someone to take the laundry and service it at another location. We care about our renters' experience. The machine is an LG top of the line model, brand new and on a five year service contract. On looking up the error code, it seems that there may be a kinked hose or water/filter obstruction, which may or may not be easily fixed. It's 24 hours later, and we are investigating the problem and have called to schedule service. —  The plumbing issues wrt the toilet will be investigated and fixed. —The wireless base station password in the VRBO website hospitality section was missing a letter, and has been corrected.  As a backup, the password is always on the desk in the den closet/alcove, and in plain site. —  Some of the items, such as about the dishes/dishwasher and fire wood, we’ve never heard previously; others we rectified immediately.  We ordered a new DVD player, and new dining room chairs that won't be given to shrinkage, as wood is, in the New Mexico environment. —  The LED oven temperature readout on the relatively new Kenmore stove is frustrating for me, also.  The stove, otherwise, operates very, very nicely.  It is an issue that is very, very expensive to fix.  We are looking into alternatives that won’t require, from an economic perspective, the replacement of the entire stove. In summary, we attempt to present our renters with a clean, fully operational vacation home.  Sometimes things happen, and for that, we ask that our renters notify us and work with us.  You will always find us to be responsive.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location between Taos town and The Ski Valley

  • 5 of 5

Spacious home with plenty room for my family of 5. Nice balance of rustic, Southwest charm with modern amenities. Now I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the well equipped kitchen. And the fireplace was the central gathering point for the family - oh so enchanting.

The skiers in the family really enjoyed the closeness to Taos Ski Valley (the house is a third of the way up). The shoppers enjoyed the closeness to Taos (it's a 10 mile drive, but not bad). All in all, a great compromise.

We look forward to return next year. Oh, I mustn't forget the spacious garage- nice to have in the cold weather.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful area!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here! The house has a great feel, and was a good set up for our family. Margaret was very kind and helpful, and was very quick to help us however she could. She was also very easy to communicate with. The views are amazing from the back!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A Taste of Taos

  • 4 of 5

Good way to try Taos life

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Taos Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Sabroso & Abes in Arroyo Seco
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Sabroso, Arroyo Seco
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Taos Ski Valley
Car: necessary

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Valdez, New Mexico

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
December
28 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£538
for 3 nights
From
£153
£999
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season
23 Dec 2016 - 9 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,235
for 3 nights
From
£386
£2,391
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
January
10 Jan 2017 - 31 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£538
for 3 nights
From
£153
£999
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
High Ski Season
1 Feb 2017 - 24 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£880
for 3 nights
From
£268
£1,683
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring-Summer
25 Mar 2017 - 24 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£538
for 3 nights
From
£153
£999
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£538
for 3 nights
From
£153
£999
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £79
Property Damage Protection £78

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Valdez, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • village ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , adjoins master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Den - 1 Large Double Bed , Very high quality futon. Immensely sleepable.
    Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Adjoining private bath
  • Queen size Beds (2), Queen size futon in Den.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot