HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Luxury Log Cabin by Pucks Glen in the National Park

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 645 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom Log Cabin with Forest and Mountain Views

CALLTAINN Lodge offers the charm of a traditional log cabin, with exposed timber walls inside, and modern comforts such as may be enjoyed at many a luxury hotel. The lodge is really popular with those who enjoy being close to nature in all its glory. With open outlook to the front and forest backdrop there is a lovely cosy feeling which many remark upon. The lodge is full carpeted and has little touches of luxury to make a stay most enjoyable.

There is such a sense of peace waking up to the sound of the birds, and occasionally guests catch a glimpse of the Red Squirrels and Red Deer that come to the site. Perhaps begin your day with a brisk walk along the famous Pucks Glen trail to view the waterfalls, or take a gentle stroll along the traffic-free road to the Botanical Gardens and Cafe at Benmore.

As Electricity, Bedding, Towels, Wi-fi, Catch-up TV and Parking are INCLUDED you can really relax knowing that all your comforts are taken care of, with no nasty electricity bill on your departure.

HomeAway Guests also receive a COMPLEMENTARY WELCOME PACK on arrival.

INSIDE THE LODGE

* KITCHEN *

Electric Convection Hob (4). Grill. Oven. Microwave. Kettle. Toaster. Fridge & Freezer. Coffee Maker. Mugs. Plates. Bowls. Glasses. Cutlery. Pans. Cooking Utensils. Knives. Bread Bin. Window Blind. Hot and Cold Water. Wall Convection Heating. Cleaning & Towel Pack.

* LIVING ROOM *

Lounge with 32” TV / CD/DVD Player. Books. Games. Films. Binoculars. Coat Rack. Curtains. Wall Heating & Electric Stove. 2 x Sofa with Nest of Coffee Tables. 2 x Lamps.

* DINING ROOM *

Dining Table and 4 Chairs.

* MASTER BEDROOM *

Kingsize Bed. Wardrobe. Chest of Drawers. Bedside Drawers. Mirror. Hairdryer. Curtains. 3 x Lamps. Wall Convection Heating.

* TWIN BEDROOM *

2 x Single Beds (3ft). Wardrobe. Chest of Drawers. Curtains. Lamp. Wall Convection Heating.

* BATHROOM *

Electric shower. Bath. Wash Hand Basin. Mirror. Luxury Hand and Bath Towels. Bath Mat. Extractor Fan. Heated Towel Rail. Window Blind. Coat Hook. Shaver Socket. Downflow Heater.

* OUTDOOR SPACE *

Covered Deck with views of the surrounding Forest and Mountains. Table & Chairs. Parking Space. Bird Table.

* EXTRAS *

Wi-fi Internet. Dishwasher. Catch-Up TV & Movies. Room Safe.

** HomeAway Guests receive a COMPLEMENTARY WELCOME PACK on arrival **

A wee note from your hosts:

We must advise that pets are not accepted at this lodge. We appreciate this must be disappointing for pet-owners (like ourselves), but many guests suffer from allergies and the pets themselves can be rather rough on carpets and furniture, so we believe this is best for all.

Your Hosts have 3 more lodges in the area. 'Fraochan', identical in almost every way to Calltainn, is nearby, whilst Bramble and Hawthorn Lodges, each sleeping 2, are located off-site by the River Eachaig.

More Details

About Us

Stephen & Liz Fairclough
You're Unique Ltd
River Cottage, Rashfield
PA23 8QT Dunoon
Companies House, SC438041
www.companieshouse.gov.uk
VAT Reg No

Property Manager
Stephen & Liz
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

About Stephen & Liz

Your hosts, Stephen & Liz began providing holiday accommodation in Scotland in 1989, when they ran a small youth hostel for Backpackers. Then, after many years of working in Hospitality, they acquired their first log cabin in 2001. They now have four, all of which they have personally maintained, furnished and equipped to the high quality standard they are today. Stephen and Liz both appreciate how important it is for guests to feel welcome on their travels and to stay in warm, clean, comfortable accommodation, and have lots of information around to help in their enjoyment. If you need help, they live locally and have lots of tips on where is best to visit, where to dine etc. Over the years they have met many wonderful people and they enjoy taking many breaks themselves, when they can.

Stephen & Liz purchased this cabin in 2016

Why Stephen & Liz chose Dunoon

Stephen & Liz were bowled over by the beauty of the natural landscape of the area and settled with their family in 2000. With their family out-growing their home they needed space to accommodate visiting family and friends, so they purchased what has become Fraochan Lodge. This lodge, Calltainn became simultaneously available so they decided to let out this one to holiday guests. It had been a life-long dream to provide holiday accommodation for visitors to Scotland, and where better than in such a beautiful location as this, in the National Park? Its very accessible too... the nearest town, Dunoon, is only 10 mins drive and the nearest city, Glasgow, is only 90 mins away. In 2016 Stephen & Liz fully refurbished the lodge to a very high standard. They made this area their home, and they are pleased to be able to share a little part of it with you.

What makes this cabin unique

Being 'local', Stephen and Liz are on hand if any help is required, and they are always happy to share information about the area, places to visit, things to see and do. Many have mentioned how good it is to receive personal recommendations.

Unlike other lodges in the area Calltain Lodge is fully double glazed for added comfort and security, and the Rental INCLUDES Electricity, Bed Linen, Towels, Complimentary Toiletries, Wi-fi, Movie Streaming Parking - there's no hidden costs.

Guestbook comments from the manager

So clean and cozy.great place to relaxb
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Dunoon in Argyll and Bute

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 645 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4 ...
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • The maximum number of occupants may not be exceeded
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Veranda
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
INCLUDED at NO EXTRA CHARGE are Electricity, Heating, Bed Linen, Towels, Toiletries, Wi-fi and Parking. HomeAway Guests receive a Special Welcome Pack

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Luxury Log Cabin by Pucks Glen in the National Park
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 5 reviews
5

Fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5

The lodge was very clean when we arrived and had a welcome pack to help us. The accommodation was excellent and the beds were very comfortable! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The place is of a high standard but beware!

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted with the warm homely feeling when the front door was opened, the living/dining area are off a good standard, kitchen is also of good standard and well equipped only downfall being no washing machine! The bathroom is also of a high standard however the beautiful bath cannot be used due to lack of water pressure apparently so is there for aesthetics only, the bedrooms are warm and cosy

Beware if using this place!!!

Not long after arrival we noticed the worktop was damaged also the toilet too, the toilet was a straight forward fix which I courteously took to and as for the worktop it was clear the damage was done by hot pans and obviously there before our arrival and not an easy fix by myself so I took no helping action. Now upon returning home after a lovely stay I got an email through stating that our deposit would not be refunded as we had damaged the worktop! All I can say is if using this place make sure you meet the owners there and go over place together or they will keep your deposit!! I or anyone I know will never use their places again as they are for the watching!!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankfully it is very rare that we retain the Damage Deposit, and would emphasise we would only do so in circumstances where we have just cause. We are confident that on this occasion we were entirely justified. Our lodge was recently refurbished to a high standard and it is heartbreaking when it is so abused by an uncaring individual. This is the only instance we have had to repair (possibly replace?) a kitchen worktop since we began offering self catering holidays 16 years ago. It is all the more upsetting, since we provide our guests with trivets, which any sensible person would use for the resting of hot pans. Your 1-Star review says more about your denial of the damage you caused than reflects the true nature of what we provide.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Tranquil

  • 5 of 5

The Cabin was as described, it was just so perfect. It was clean and everything in it's place, home from home. Great for walks and exploring the area, we loved the walks and scenery. The owner should be very proud of their Cabin, It is in an area the can suit people with a bit of adventure. Fresh air, calm surrounding, Fantastic We have recommended the property to family members as they have children who like adventure, something for everyone to enjoy on a nice break away. We went into Dunoon for old times sake as it was a place we haven't been in over 50 years. As I am writing this review, I am just abut to make our second booking. We loved the Cabin, and looking forward to our second return. Thank you for a lovely break, and I hope many more!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Glasgow International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Cothouse Inn
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Hunters Quay
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Blairmore & Strone Golf Club
Nearest Train
9 Miles
Gourock
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
M8
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cothouse Inn
Nearest Ski
80 Miles
Glencoe
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Ardentinny
Car: recommended

Benmore Botanical Gardens: 1.5 mile

Pucks Glen Gorge: 200 m

Holy Loch Nature Reserve: 1.5 miles

Nearest shop: Cot House Services 1 mile

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Dunoon, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
2018 B
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£204
for 3 nights
From
£68
From
£72
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£448
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
2018 C
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
From
£84
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£540
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
2018 D
1 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£204
for 3 nights
From
£68
From
£72
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£448
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
2018 E
1 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£174
for 3 nights
From
£58
From
£62
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£386
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
2018 F
21 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£408
for 5 nights
From
£80
From
£84
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£540
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
From
£84
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£540
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £76

Calltain Lodge is fully double glazed for added comfort and security, and the Rental INCLUDES Electricity, Bed Linen, Towels, Complimentary Toiletries, Wi-fi, Parking and Movie Streaming - there will be NO surprise Electricity or Heating bill at the end of your stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable