HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Asheville Area Cedar Chalet in Private, Gated, Mountaintop Community Wolf Laurel

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Great skiing within our own ski resort Wolf Ridge

Up for rent is a new Lindal Western Red Cedar Chalet in private and secluded

Wolf Laurel mountaintop community only 35 miles north of desirable Asheville

NC. Our community is private, gated mountaintop. Nearby are zip line or white water rafting experiences . Or, take a day trip to desirable Asheville and visit the Biltmore Estate, experience the world class dining of downtown Asheville or check out Mt. Mitchell, which is the tallest mountain east of the Rockies and only a 30 minute drive. Enjoy our beautiful Lindal Western Red Cedar Chalet which is a 3BR/2Bath and constructed of posts & beams. There is a soaring GR with a huge window wall and private oversize deck that faces mountain views with a nice view of Big Bald Mountain at 5,600 ft above sea level. Custom kitchen loaded wtih all the gadgets to create a memorable meal for your special trip.

The kitchen has granite counters, S/S appliances, bamboo flooring and custom

cabinets. There is a master BR upstairs in the loft with a king bed and private

bath and two bedrooms downstairs; one with bunk beds and the other with a

queen bed. There is a futon couch/sleeper in the GR to accommodate an extra

two people. There are rockers, lounge chairs, charcoal BBQ and patio table with chairs on the deck. There is a wood burning fireplace in the GR with plenty of complimentary firewood. There is one TV, a Vizio 37" in the GR and plenty of VCR movies to choose from. The house is set up on Wi-Fi network with hi-speed Internet so go on anywhere in the house on your laptop or use our Apple iMac upstairs. There is ROKU service hooked up to the Great Room TV where you can stream content from the Internet onto the TV. Free local-long distance calling on our upstairs internet/VOIP phone. Our community sits within the Appalachian Trail, which is accessible close to

Big Bald Mountain at 5,600 ft above sea level.

NEW FOR 2014--the steepest part of the driveway is now paved, making it extra easy to get up/down the driveway

New Baja hot tub on lower deck that seats 4 people

More Details

Owner
Glenn Golcher
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, German
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 September, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Wolf Laurel in Mars Hill

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

12% Complete
37% Complete
37% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Asheville Area Cedar Chalet in Private, Gated, Mountaintop Community Wolf Laurel
average rating of 3.5 based on 8 reviews
Cape Coral, Florida
5

AMAZING hospitality & place. We will back back to this one.

  • 5 of 5

We were hurricane Irma evacuees, & Glen made this an experience to remember. He was more than helpful. The place was clean & had plenty of sleeping options. The view is phenomenal & we enjoyed the hot tub every night. We will back back to Wolf Laurel & plan on booking this place again if still available. Great unexpected vacay. :)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very Basic but Good Value

  • 3 of 5

First, the positives-

Great view, great location, nice layout, nice kitchen, responsive owner

Room for improvement-

I think the house is under renovation and not quite "there yet".

The linens were the worst part. Very old and dated. Need to invest in some decent sheets, blankets and towels. The decor was very early 90's. Just felt old but has great potential.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I actually built this house in 2009 and bought all linens, sheets, towels brand new thereafter. I will incorporate some of your suggestions but I am not sure how I can renovate a home that was only built seven years ago??
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Well-suited cabin in gorgeous location

  • 4 of 5

Loved the view, the cabin's architecture, and the ease of instructions from the owner. Highly recommend for a weekend in the mountains.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Beautiful place, but hot tub is broken.

  • 2 of 5

We chose this place because it was affordable, large enough to fit our group of 10, and HAD A HOT TUB. We were dissapointed to find the hot tub non functional when we got there and immediately asked the owner about the problem. The problem was never fixed and he promised to refund us $40 for the inconvenience. I never got the money although I've repeatedly asked. I don't know if he fixed it yet, but be wary. The main reason we chose this place was because of the hot tub and to have it broken was a major let down.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jon, hot tubs do break down frequently and I am sorry you experienced a time when the tub was broken down. But, I do emphasize that the rest of the house was fully functional and am regretful you chose to make this a big issue!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Columbia, SC
3

Good

  • 3 of 5

Glen was very helpful in his email about the property. The views are beautiful and the Wolf Laurel Resort property is extremely beautiful, but extremely large. We were impressed with the resort. The house appeared in a maintenance/renovation mode. The kitchen lacked many things you would need to do heavy cooking. We had to drive to Mars Hill and purchase several items for cooking. The chairs and table on the deck we not in good condition, but we still managed to enjoy the property and the sites.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great Property.....AMAZING VIEWS!!!!

  • 4 of 5

A few friends and I stayed at this property last month. The unit was clean, comfy, and spacious. The views from this cabin are incredible. The ski slopes are also very close (our main reason for our trip) so that was a plus. The unit also had everything we could ask for. We brought some extra linens and pots and pans just in case. The hot tub was a nice surprise. It did take a very long time for the hot tub to heat up but it could be because of the extreme cold weather during our stay. The owner gave us very detailed and explicit instructions and directions prior to our arrival. The roads can be a little confusing so we had a little trouble locating the cabin, however the rangers on duty were very very helpful and actually escorted us and helped us get to the cabin. All in all it was a great stay and hopefully we'll be back next year!!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Asheville Regional
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Wolf Laurel Clubhouse
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wolf Laurel CC
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
I-26
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Wolf Laurel Clubhouse
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Wolf Ridge/Laurel
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Wolf Laurel, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Foilage Season
10 Sep 2017 - 22 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£389
for 2 nights
From
£167
£940
 
 
Peak Foilage Season
23 Sep 2017 - 14 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£611
for 3 nights
From
£185
£1,163
 
 
Thanksgiving week
18 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£611
for 3 nights
From
£185
£1,163
 
 
Christmas Week
23 Dec 2017 - 30 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£3,377
for 3 nights
From
£1,107
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£344
for 2 nights
From
£144
£792
£2,273
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £55.54
Pet Fee £37.02
Damage Deposit £74.05

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals