HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mairead

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks English

Delightful, Spacious Beachside Villa in Cannes.

15 Reviews
People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday villa in La Croix des Gardes - Villa Picaud

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms & Guest WC - Sleeps 8

This is a very comfortable and charming villa, less than 70 metres from one of the most beautiful beaches on the French Riviera. It is a perfect villa for business colleagues attending one of the fairs or exhibitions at the Festival Hall as it offers comfort, space and privacy. It is a fifteen minute walk to the Festival Hall along the beach front. It is the perfect way to start or end a working day.

If you are attending any of the annual international conferences and exhibitions held in Cannes (MIDEM, MILIA, GSM, MIPIM, MIPTV, Cannes Film Festival, Publicity and Advertising, MIPCOM, TAX FREE, GARTNER, MAPIC) at the Festival Hall - our Cannes French Riviera villa rental is the place for you!

It is a great vacation home. It is perfect for a large family or two families staying together. There are two bedrooms en suite and a further two twin bedrooms sharing a shower room. There is a private gateway giving access to a beautiful sandy beach, perfect for sunbathing & swimming.

When we bought this villa, we did not realize how unique it was to be able to find a small villa so near to the centre of Cannes and the beach. Having your own front door makes a huge difference to a holiday and having outdoor space to sit and eat all add to the pleasure. There are lots of beach and all boating activities nearby. Waterskiing and sailing and windsurfing lessons are all available. David and Marie Noelle, who manage the villa add greatly to the pleasure of staying at the villa and it also gives the advantage of local knowledge. The airport pick ups are reasonable and great. Supermarket shopping is all accomplished on day one. They will bring you and collect you from some of the great restaurants such as the famous Colombe d'Or in St Paul de Vence or restaurants in Mougins or Theoul. The Google map is not accurate. The villa is very near the International college and the beach on Boulevare.

There is always something happening in Cannes, fireworks in the summer, musical festivals. Outdoor concerts and shows are regular activities There are many water sports available from the harbour.

Cannes is a wonderful place from which it is easy to explore the Riviera. It has an excellent public transport system and a great road network

Some ideas while in Cannes

Take the ferry to St. Tropez or the Iles des Lerins or the Porquerolles

Take the ferry to San Remo in Italy for excellent shopping. There are markets on Tuesday and Saturday

Take the train to many of the resorts along the Riviera, it is an easy journey to Nice, Antibes, St Tropez, Eze, Monaco.

The train station is within walking distance. of the villa. Take the train to Monte Carlo, have lunch and carry on to San Remo in Italy for shopping and dinner and return to Cannes that night. Go to Nice and take a ferry to Corsica.

While a lot of the riviera closes down in the winter, Cannes is full of life and there are many different events taking place. There are so many things to do that there is never enough time.

There are theme parks for children and adventure sports areas at the Gorge.

There are many wonderful restaurants to try and there is a Michelin guide at the villa.

We have a full list of all of the golf clubs in the area with descriptions available on our web site. We can also arrange a driver. It is a perfect house for a golf holiday for 4 to 8 people.

Ski in the winter. There is a small family ski station one hour from Cannes and a bus that brings you there every morning and returns every evening. In an hour and a half you can get to the ski stations of Valberg, Isola 2000 and Auron

There are many other adventure sports during the summer months including paragliding and canyoning.

Cannes is well represented when it comes to classical and modern French art and the resort boasts a series of quality art galleries. Housing a mixture of permanent collections and visiting exhibitions, the best art galleries within Cannes often promote the works of local artists from the Riviera region and beyond.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Mairead (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Mairead

I go to Cannes every year to a trade show and rented this house. I enjoyed it so much that I bought it. I know the area well and am now on my 17th year coming to Cannes. I live in Ireland and we visit Cannes a couple of times a year. We often have two families staying and it is ideal for large groups. if you would like further information on the property, please call Jacqui in the US Pacific time +1 3108662717

Mairead purchased this villa in 2005

Why Mairead chose Cannes

The design of the house and the layout is very suitable for business groups or families. The large living area with two terraces means that there is space for everyone. In a family situation, it gives privacy for different age groups. There is a small terrace beside one of the twin rooms and this is great for smokers or for teens who just want to hang together.

What makes this villa unique

I didn't realize how unique the villa was when I bought it. There are not many places so close to Cannes itself and the beach in the area. I feel that I was very lucky to get this house. I love going into Cannes to the market and the restaurants and I love going to the beach. The beach is wonderful and we go there in our swimwear and would often go, just for a quick swim before breakfast or lunch. I love to walk to the market and if I have a lot of shopping, I take the bus back. The bus system is fantastic as there is a bus every ten minutes and it costs 1.5 euro

Guestbook comments from the owner

12/11/2006 This is a gorgeous house in an unbelievable location. We had a great time and loved being so close to the beach - literally 50 yards away. House is really comfortable with everything you could need. Enjoyed the centre of Cannes very much and will definitely be back with, or without, the kids. It is great for both.



-Claire



12/13/2006 We rented this house for a recent trade show and stayed on for a few days vacation. It was great location for both. Super comfortable and really nicely decorated. Marie Noelle and David were lovely. We had a great time, thank you.



From Lori
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 holidaymaker reviews

Delightful, Spacious Beachside Villa in Cannes.
average rating of 4.866667 based on 16 reviews
5

Highly Recommended Villa

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Villa Picaud with my husband and teenagers for a week’s holiday to get a bit of sun and relaxation and I couldn’t have picked a better place. The house is very spacious and tastefully decorated, but is also cosy and feels like a home from home. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a good supermarket nearby which makes family entertaining at home easy, and with the indoor dining area and 2 outdoor eating/relaxation areas you are spoilt for choice. The outdoor hot-tub is a real bonus and we certainly made good use of it. There is also a good coffee shop across the road if you want a change from the Nespresso machine at home. We made great use of the beach which is only a few minutes away and there is a lovely walk along the seafront to reach the town for shopping, sightseeing or dining with a convenient short bus journey home if you are too tired to walk. The only problem was that the week went by too quickly, so we will have to book for longer next time!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
KINSALE, CO. CORK
5

SPACIOUS, COMFORTABLE AND PRETTY VILLA

  • 5 of 5

I spent ten days in the lovely Villa Picaud close to the centre of Cannes in April and it was a perfect place to stay as it was an easy walk into town and a stone's throw from a beautiful beach. The house is bright, pretty, clean and beautifully furnished and there are lots of books to read, art on the walls, and a well equipped kitchen with an Nespresso machine for coffee fans.

One of the best things about the house is that there are several outdoor areas so you can always find a spot to relax and read a book even if the house is full of people. There are shady spots and sunny spots so you can dine in the shade or underneath a parasol in the sun. And you can enjoy a sundowner while relaxing in the hot tub on the back patio.

I really slept well in the comfy bed in the Master Bedroom with its luxurious, soft, white bed-linen. This room is right beside the front patio so perfect for early morning cups of coffee before breakfast. It is on the ground floor and would be perfect for elderly guests and it also has a large ensuite bathroom. It is beside the extremely spacious living/dining room where you can relax on the super comfortable large couches to read, have a nap or watch TV.

While the house is perfect for a large family, I thought it would also be great for two couples with two children each or a group of adults. The upstairs twin rooms are very pretty with lovely furniture as is the other double which is also upstairs. One of the twin rooms has access to a small roof terrace which is the house sun-trap complete with comfortable sun-loungers and table and chairs. Perfect for sun worshippers and also the teenagers!

I stayed in the house for over ten days and found it to be such a relaxing place to stay - it was a pleasant stroll into the centre of town - about a fifteen minute walk - and you could take the bus back if you wished but I loved the walk along the seafront. The nearest grocery store is less than a ten minute walk on the back road to town - and if your load is heavy this is the road where you can catch the bus in and out of town.

There is plenty to see and do in Cannes - the daily food market and the surrounding bars and cafes are just the place to have a glass of wine and watch the world go by while down on the seafront you will find the best places to share a plate of delicious oysters and chilled white wine for lunch. Also a day trip to the Ile St. Marguerite - a 15 min boat trip away - is highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location; spacious and inviting.

  • 5 of 5

I planned a long weekend in Cannes with friends. I wanted

to go shopping, take in the sights and be close to the action. Booked Villa Picaud and was picked up at the airport for the short drive to our destination which was a great added service. The house was lovely; well fitted out, spacious and inviting. It had a good balance of indoor and outdoor living space and there even was a jacuzzi! I couldn't believe

how close the house was to the beach. We were also in walking distance to the most popular restaurants and shops in Cannes. I plan to rebook again – although this time it will be strictly business and the house is perfect for my needs.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Plus!

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent a multi-week vacation at the lovely Villa Picaud in Cannes. The home is stunning. It’s very large, comfortable, beautifully furnished, and ideally located. There are 3 terraces to enjoy the peaceful outside green surroundings. It comes with private garage parking, which is unusual to find in a popular place like Cannes. The home is wonderfully maintained and should even a small issue arise, the caretakers respond immediately. Villa Picaud shows pride of ownership. Mairead keeps it in top shape so that her vacation guests can enjoy a care-free interlude. We loved the half block walk to the golden sandy beach and the short walk into centre ville. We highly recommend Villa Picaud to anyone who is planning a vacation in Cannes. If you have a large family/group, this is one of the few rentals that can accommodate you in style. Merci, Mairead, for sharing this jewel.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Villa well equipped close to beach and town

  • 4 of 5

This nice villa is clean and well equipped and has nice terrasses.

It is situated close to beach and town with good busservice.

The welcome was friendly and informative.

We enjoyd shopping and frequentation of restaurants and coffee-houses in

downtown and Croisette.

All of us seven would recommend this villa to our friends.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another wonderful stay at Villa Picaud

  • 5 of 5

This was our Fourth year at the villa and once again it did not disappoint. The location is superb and the all one could ask for is provided right down to the personal services offered by the caretakers. A friendly face at the airport after a long trip is priceless. The property is very well kept. The owner renovates one area each year which is a testament to the overall management of this property. We love the villa and will continue to return. Many Thanks, Mairead, David and Marie Noelle for another great year!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
28 Kilometres
Nice
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
20 Kilometres
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Cannes
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Nearest Ski
100 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
blvd de midi
Car: not necessary

The villa is very near the International college and the beach on Blvd du Midi. That gives a more accurate

picture of where the villa is. There are very few villas so near to Cannes and the beach so we are very lucky to be in such a great location. The google map is not accurate. The garage is suitable for a small car. It will not work with large cars, 4 wheel drive or 7 seaters. We will give you one space outside the villa if you have a large car. All parking is at the car owners risk. It is possible to find parking on the public roads.

There is always something happening in Cannes, fireworks in the summer, musical festivals. Outdoor concerts and shows are regular activities There are many water sports available from the harbour. It is still full of life and open in the winter.

Cannes is a wonderful place from which it is easy to explore the Riviera. It has an excellent public transport system and a great road network

Some ideas while in Cannes

Take the ferry to St. Tropez or the Iles des Lerins or the Porquerolles

Take the train to many of the resorts along the Riviera, it is an easy journey to Nice, Antibes, St Tropez, Eze, Monaco.

Take the train to Monte Carlo, have lunch and carry on to San Remo in Italy for shopping and dinner and return to Cannes that night. Explore St Paul de Vence and Mougins and surrounding areas. If you book in advance, the manager of the house will drive and collect you from some great restaurants.

Other Activities: perfect for business at the Palais

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in La Croix des Gardes, Cannes

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2016
30 Apr 2016 - 1 Oct 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,171
for 7 nights
£2,171
 
 
Summer 2017
29 Apr 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,171
for 7 nights
£2,171
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,737
for 7 nights
£1,737
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £868

Trade shows 2500 Euro per week; Film Festival 8000 Euro for 2 weeks; Mipim 4000 Euro; Christmas, New Year, Easter 2000 Euro. Great place for a family holiday celebration. Good central heating and effective air conditioning. Skiing available one hour away.
There is a 1000 euro cash deposit and 150 euro exit cleaning charge.
Please supply your phone number when making an inquiry.

25% deposit at the time of booking. Balance is due 60 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in La Croix des Gardes in Cannes - Grasse - Antibes

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 130 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Sunbed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet
  • One bathroom is en suite to the master bedroom. Upstairs - The shower room and toilet are for the two twin rooms. The second full bathroom may be en suite to the double room or shared with the other bedrooms, depending on the group. There are two WC separate to the bathrooms. The water pressure is very good. A great pleasure at the end of the day is to use the outdoor jacuzzi, when returning from a swim on the beach. The beach is so near that one is inclined to walk down for a quick swim any time. Plenty of towels are provided. We also supply some beach towels and beach chairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
  • There are four bedrooms and a sofa bed in the living room. There is also a child bed and a cot available which can be placed in any of the bedrooms. The master bedroom and bathroom are on the ground floor opening to the terrace. The three other bedrooms are upstairs via a spiral staircase. Comfort is a priority with good sheets and duvets and plenty of pillows. Everything in this villa is designed towards a group of people having a holiday with some space and privacy. There are three outdoor areas which are great when you have mixed ages. A place for teenagers to chat, room for children to play and space for adults to have some peace too. There are three TVs/DVDs so bring some of your own movies that some of your group would like in the evening. TV is through the internet and there are lots of channels. There are speakers that you can use with your iPod and a CD player. There are books in the house that you are welcome to read but please leave them in the house.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 16 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The master bedroom is furnished with a 160cm/five feet three inches wide bed (larger than queen-size) and adjoins a small dressing room with an en suite bathroom. Upstairs there is another double bedroom en suite and two twin bedrooms, another bathroom plus a separate toilet One of the twin bedrooms has a roof garden which is perfect for sunbathing. This Cannes vacation villa sleeps eight in comfort and style. Elegantly decorated and furnished, the Cannes holiday villa is on two levels, the laundry is located conveniently behind the kitchen and secure garage parking in a separate building at the entrance to the private lane. The flooring in the villa is polished white travertine marble throughout. An internal walled garden with a dining terrace is floodlit for pleasant al fresco dining during the long, warm spring, summer and autumn nights. Amenities include a wide-screen Hitachi TV with SKY Satellite TV [does not include movies and sport packages], including an all zone DVD.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot