Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Large Modern villa overlooking the Old Town and Funchal Bay

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Space 3,229 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Spacious three-bedroom (all en-suite) villa with great views in perfect locatio

Recently constructed around the remains of an old character cottage (the bread oven remains!) this spacious property is just five minutes walk from the seafront and the Old Town part of Funchal city centre. All the front rooms and the south-facing terrace have fantastic views over the city and bay of Funchal (this has to one of the very best positions to watch the fireworks on New Years Eve and during the Atlantic Festival in June). The very best views are afforded from the roof terrace on the second floor.

Each of the three bedrooms has twin or double beds, and all are en-suite, so completely private. There is also a house bathroom. The two suites on the first floor have private south-facing balconies. Downstairs there is a huge lounge with comfortable seating and a separate dining area adjacent to the fully equipped kitchen. There is free Wi-Fi throughout, and cable TV with nearly seventy channels. Hot water is provided solar-power with an auxiliary electricity supply

There is an outside covered seating area, with lots of chairs and sun-loungers on the large south-facing terrace with decorative railings and trailing bougainvillea. A private gate and parking area accommodates one large or two small cars.

This really is a perfect position - far enough from the centre to allow elevated views, but near enough to just walk out to the old (relatively undiscovered) lido and bathing platforms at Barreirinha, or to one of the many cafes and restaurants in the old part of Funchal. There are lots of cafes and shops locally, with the largest supermarket in Funchal just ten minutes walk away.

More Details

Property Manager
Madeira Direct
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 June, 2018

About Madeira Direct

Madeira Island Direct have been managing holiday rental properties on the island of Madeira since 2006. We only look after apartments that meet the most exacting standards - most of which we have looked after on behalf of private owners for a number of years.

Why Madeira Direct chose Funchal

Spacious accommodation for up to eight person - in effect in four individual suites, each with their own bathroom. Fantastic location, near enough to enjoy a walk into the old town, but without the noise and with views due to being slightly elevated.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Funchal on Municipality of Funchal

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3229 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • All arrivals before 8pm unless organised otherwise
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 5 - Toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Barbecue
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Large Modern villa overlooking the Old Town and Funchal Bay
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews

Good but wouldn't book again

  • 3 of 5

We booked the property because it was advertised as 4 bedrooms all with ensuite and we were 4 friends. Once we got there and the housekeeper presented the house we realised that the 4th bedroom was unavailable because it smelled very strong like damp so 2 of us had to share a bedroom. Also we could smell damp in the rest of the house and on the towels and bedding. We had some issues with cockroaches and ants even though we didn't leave food out and we put the rubbish outside. Overall it's a nice property in a nice quiet area, close to old town and seaside but I think we paid too much for something that wasn't what we thought it would be.

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The property is only advertised as three bed-roomed/sleeps 6 whilst the fourth bedroom (which is completely separate) is renovated. When you booked as a party of four it was not apparent that you required four bedrooms, otherwise we would have alerted you. We simply do not agree that there is a smell of damp in the rest of the house as this is light and airy, and all towels and bedding are freshly prepared for each guest. Cockroaches can be attracted by leaving doors open and lights on at night - they are not specific to a particular villa, but the old town as a whole. Likewise ants will be attracted by leaving rubbish outside rather than taking it to the recycling facilities nearby.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Plenty of space and great location

  • 5 of 5

As a larger group we had to select a bigger property in a location where we could walk out for a meal and a few drinks each night. This fitted the bill perfectly and we had a thoroughly good time. The manager was very helpful (the gas ran out and the bottle was replaced with 30 minutes), the photos and descriptions are accurate, and we would not hesitate to recommend the villa to anybody with the same criteria.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Nice, spacious property but description slightly misleading

  • 3 of 5

Generally good, clean, spacious, well equipped property but it was advertised as 8 person, 4 bedroom whereas it was really 6+2, 3 bed as the other ground floor "bedroom" was in fact a sofa-bed. Other minus points were a lot of tiny ants everywhere, a bit noisy (dogs + construction) and a driveway on a steep slope so getting in/out was very difficult and we scraped the hire car a few times! On the plus side it's a few mins walk into town and has a nice patio with views over the town.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. We do always take great care to ask guests not to leave food or rubbish out in the kitchen, otherwise ants do eventually appear. The "Old Town" tends to be a bit noisier that the new tourist zone, simply because everything is tight together - but this also gives it a lot of character, which most guests like. The driveway is on a hill (as everything is in Madeira!) but we have never had anybody scrape their car before! - there is room enough for two, or maybe three cars at a push.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Specious, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Can't say enough about this place! Loads of room for all of us. Well prepared and presented. Nothing lacking. Great views across the bay from everywhere, but more than anything you were able to walk out at night - just five minutes to the "old town" part of Funchal and the great selection of bars and restaurants in the busy narrow streets........ miss it already!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is a great location - quiet, but so handy for the Old Town and it's ever-expanding number of local restaurants, cafes and bars.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Perefect location

  • 5 of 5

Like the first reviewer we were concerned that we were one of the first to stay here, but everything went smoothly and the facilities were exactly the same as those listed and photographed. The agent was helpful and informative, sending a taxi to collect us from the aiport - we were thinking about hiring a car but found that we didn't need to in the end as everything is within easy walking distance. The weather was poor whilst we stayed, but can't blame anyone for that. The views from the upper floors are great - you can watch cruise ships coming in whilst lying in bed! Even better from the roof terrace. Well prepared and very comfortable in a quiet area. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive feedback. The views are brilliant in that area - just above the Old Town with just sufficient elevation to open up the views. This also means that it is quieter at night - a lot of apartments actually in the Old Town suffer noise until the early hours.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful house with spectacular views

  • 4 of 5

We were concerned that we were one of the first to stay at this property after it became available for rent, arriving on very, very short notice for a short stay prior to the new year. However, we need not have been worried, as everything was very well prepared for our arrival. The house was spotless and spacious and well furnished, the manager very helpful and informative, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The location is excellent - just a short walk from the Old Town where we had stayed previously (try Arsenio's restaurant) and the views, particularly from the roof terrace, spectacular. We suspect that the price will go up very quickly once it becomes established.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you enjoyed your stay - it is an excellent location just to walk out at night.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house on Funchal, Portugal

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Summer 2018
1 Jul 2018 - 24 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
Christmas 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
New Year 2018/19
28 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
Summer 2019
1 Jul 2019 - 23 Sep 2019
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £21.96

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals