Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

A Fife coastal apartment with views, walks, castle ruins and the fresh sea air!

Bedrooms 1
Space 452 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 bedroom apartment(sleeps 4)with uninterrupted views over the Firth of Forth

Seaview is a one bedroom ground floor apartment in East Wemyss with beautiful uninterrupted views over the Firth of Forth.

The apartment has recently been redecorated to a high standard.

The bedroom has bed and bedding, wardrobe, drawers, mirror, alarm clock and bedside lights. There is a hairdryer Kept in the wardrobe.

The shower room has a power shower with new walk in cabinet and wet wall. The floor is also tiled.

The kitchen has new a hob, oven and worktop - with a prep area opposite. It also has French doors leading out to a private garden, where you will find a patio area, and lawn. Garden furniture is also provided for your convenience. There is also an outdoor rotary washing drier, which is kept in the shed, and is easily installed on the lawn.

The living room has 2 two seater sofas, one which folds down to a double bed. The sofa bed is suitable for 1 adult or 2 children. It also has a dining table for four, which can be set up in front of the window for some stunning views over to North Berwick, The Bass Rock and of course Edinburgh. A 40" T.V is set up with a DVD player, also provided with some DVD discs for your use. Virgin media is the provider so there are extra channels for the T.V as well. Wi-fi is also there for your use with the password provided in the welcome folder.

It is situated on the Fife Coastal Path and has excellent road and nearby rail and bus links to Perthshire, St Andrews and the East Neuk of Fife as well as Kirkcaldy, Dunfermline and Edinburgh. For those travelling by bus or train, there are timetables provided. There are also leaflets with attraction ideas too for Edinburgh, St Andrews, Lomond Hill walks for example.

East Wemyss has fabulous coastal as well as woodland walks.

Local amenities include, store with post office and cash point, cafe, ice-cream parlour, bowling green, hairdresser, pharmacy, take away & pub, all of which are within a 5 - 10 min walk of the apartment.

All that we ask is that you respect our property and friendly neighbours - thank you and welcome to your getaway break!

More Details

Member since: 2016
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 September, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment around the East Wemyss around the Fife

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 452 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • village
  • waterfront
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom consists of a wet-wall shower cubicle with a power shower. There's also obviously a w.c, hand basin and mirror for your convenience.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Large bedroom with kingsize bed.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Garden ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • diving
  • swimming
There are plenty of activities in the surrounding areas ( 15 mins in a car) - from golf, football, rugby, swimming, and parklands to Italian, Indian, Chinese, and European Restaurants. Woodland walks, costal walks and Castle ruins and caves are all local to East Wemyss.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
A Fife coastal apartment with views, walks, castle ruins and the fresh sea air!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 14 reviews

Very good

  • 5 of 5

The flat was ideal for us. Had everything we wanted and was quiet and peaceful. There were even seals on the rocks outside! The bed was big and comfy and the shower was great. The tv is SMART and we were able to watch Netflix (have our own account). The only improvements would be better instructions for tv, dvd etc. and somewhere to hang towels in the bathroom and clothes in the bedroom.

Would certainly stay again if returning to Fife.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. The area was lovely, enjoyed very much chatting with local folks, especially the volunteer gardeners and Dot and others at the local watering hole (aka - the Central Hotel)

The Apartment was very clean, comfortable and well supplied in the kitchen The view was amazing and very tranquil , alsothe bus service was great in the area.

Many thanks, Louise.

Geri & Leslie Sanderson

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not worth staying at!!

  • 1 of 5

When we first arrived the front room overlooking the water could not be stayed in at all. The smell was very bad like a wet dog. Dog hair on the couch and rug smelled like wet dog. The Wi-Fi did not work or the TV. Ants were crawling on top of the kitchen sink and the place was not swept. We swept a pile a left it in the corner of the hall. One small trash can in the whole apartment only in the kitchen. None in bedroom or bathroom. The bedsprings squeeked and was not very comfortable. I called the owner upon finding these issues and he said he could not show up to rectify the problems until 11:00 am the next day. He took the rug away, the sweepings, connected the loose connection for the wi fi and tv and sprinkled ant powder in and around the inside of the house and left a deodorizer in the front room. He also left $20 refund on the table. One day after we left the property me and my husband got sick with sinus issues at the same time. We attribute it to the stay at this apartment. Next time I would spend more money and stay at a nicer place.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Come on now Carol be fair - when you phoned on the Friday night, it was 6.30pm and it was only to tell me about the wi-fi and t.v not working. The only reason I didn't come along that night was because you and your husband had booked a table at a local restaurant at 7pm and were going to be out, and we therefore mutually arranged for me to come along at 11am the following morning. It doesn't matter to me what time, night or day ,that anybody calls regarding a problem I will attend to it - being on call is actually part of my full time job. Before I could come along that morning, you phoned me twice at 8.15am , telling me about the carpet smelling - which we couldn't understand as we had only bought it in March - and we don't allow animals in the apartment.You also told me about finding ants, and how you were disappointed about there not being a bin in the toilet - no mention about the bed springs squeeking, or being uncomfortable, this bed is only 1and 1/2 years old by the way. There was also no mention about the place not being swept - the place is thoroughly cleaned after every booking with towels and bedding all changed. When I arrived at 11am, you were out. But I DID find the rug in the lounge was quite smelly, which I have removed and binned - but there was NO dog hair on the couch or rug. There was a cable out at the back of the t.v for the wi-fi and t.v signal, which I reconnected. And there was 7 ants which you had killed and left next to tissues. There wasn't any more ants to be seen inside, but I put ant powder down. When I checked out front, there were ants in the grass, so I put the powder down round the perimeter of the building - (Since then we have put stronger Ant Crystals down, as the powder didn't get rid of them and we had a further complaint - but we have now had 4 guests in since then with no problems - 22.06.18). I also opened the windows to let fresh air into the place and left air freshener. Also, as you say, I left £20 for your trouble - and to be fair to you, you didn't ask for this which you we're more than entitled to do so. There is also now a small bin in the toilet. But please Carol, the next time you phone someone to make a complaint against their property, try not speak down to them or speak over them when all they are trying to do is answer and deal with your queries and complaints, and generally make you feel welcome and at home in their property. We weren't your enemy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice but infested with ants.

  • 1 of 5

The first two nights were ok, nice scenery, comfortable and clean looking rooms, all the equipment needed.

However, woke up to leave on sunday morning , and the living room and kitchen was crawling with ants, they were allover the suitcase and allover our shoes and the couch had a few crawling up it, i hovered them all up and put the bag in the bin. This must have happened before as there was ant powder all round the skirting boards in the rooms and around the outside of the house.

I emailed the owner and told her about this and she replied with, "i'm glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for pointing this out i'll get it sorted out today", no apology, and speaking like this had never happened before, it obviously had or there wouldn't be ant powder allover and a tin of raid under the sink.

Appart from this, it was a nice weekend away in a nice little town.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jon - thanks for the review. When you texted us to tell us about the ants, the way the text read was that the situation had not phased you and that you had dealt with the problem without making a big deal of it. You then went on to say that you had had a lovely weekend, that it was a nice apartment, with lovely surroundings and lots of things to do. That is why we replied saying that we were glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will deal with the ants. At no time whatsoever did we speak or text like this had never happened before - we had no dialogue with you at all regarding ants - as until your departure date everything had been fine. But this obviously did happen before - that is why ant powder was down inside and out and we were not trying to hide it - but not to the extent of an infestation unlike what happened to you. The couple previous to you found 7 ants on the Saturday, and told us straight away and we then put the powder down on the same day. We then monitored the situation all week, till you arrived on the Friday, and found no more ants at all. After you texted us, we put ant crystals down which are a stronger deterrent, again monitoring the situation. We have now had 3 separate guests in the apartment since yourself, with no mention or complaint about ants. We are sorry that you gave us a bad review and took a dim view of our text to you, as we pride ourselves on the standard and cleanliness of the house - we're constantly trying to add and improve - and also our conversations, helpfulness and politeness with guests - as you probably found yourself when you texted us the day before your arrival date saying that you were maybe going to have to cancel. Thanks again, Andrew & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and good location right off the water.

  • 3 of 5

The apartment was fairly clean on presentation. The location was pretty with it being right off the water, but I think we would have liked it better if it was in the main part of Kircaldy. The thing that really bothered our stay was there were ants all over in the kitchen and living room and were a huge nuisance. We did not cook for this reason. There is also not a dryer and the clothes line out back is broken which was also not very handy.

  • Review Submitted: 24-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brizett - thanks for the feedback. It's a pity you didn't get in touch with us about the ants as we could have done something about them. The couple that arrived next DID tell us and we reacted straight away by putting ant deterrent down outside and in. We also gave the couple a discount for their trouble. There has been an ant epidemic throughout the UK as was highlighted in the National Press. The location of the house is clearly stated in the description and how far it is from Kirkcaldy, so I can't help you there. The clothes line is working perfectly well now - a screw in the mechanism had come loose and was easily fixed in 5 minutes. Again if you had got in touch with us I could have repaired it for you at the time. I would recommend if you have problems in any future bookings with homeowners, you should get in touch with them in the first instance to at least give them a CHANCE to help you. I hope you have better luck in future bookings with Homeaway. Thanks, Andrew & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfectly positioned hideaway

  • 4 of 5

Loved everything about the property. Terrific value for money. Kitchen well set up with most stuff we needed. There were only a couple of things that I would have an issue with but they were minor. The first was one of the quilts for the bed was a feather quilt. One of our party is highly allergic to feathers, so might have been good to specify on the listing. The other was that the bins were not clearly labelled outside for recycling, so it was a bit messy as the previous tenants hadn't used the correct system. The neighbour kept us right but it would be handy to have a label on each bin lid to make it clear. Otherwise, a terrific place and so handy for all the Fife hotspots. The beach and caves were amazing.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Catherine - thanks for the feedback. That's a good point about the bins outside, so we are going to get signs on the bins to make things easier. The bedding though...people are allergic to different things and not just feathers, so it would maybe be better for yourself to mention any allergies that your party might have when you are booking a property - then the owner might be better able to accommodate your stay. Thanks again for your booking and feedback. Cheers, Andrew & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
48 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
East Wemyss Central
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Leven Municipal
Nearest Train
8 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
5 Kilometres
Strathearn Hotel, Dysart
Nearest Beach
East Wemyss
Car: recommended

The coastal path is right outside of the apartment!

This takes you from East Wemyss to as far as Burntisland in one direction to Upper Largo in the other direction. Along the way discover caves, castles, fishing villages and some local pubs with good pub grub as well as their good beers and spirits.

Also there are some great woodland and farmland walks. Get your boots on and start walking and smell the fresh air and coffee - if you take your flask! :)

The Wemyss area is lucky to be surrounded in some great countryside - so get out and discover it.

Take a walk up and through the local farm for a real sense of country life, from the cows and all that goes with them, to the skylarks and gold finches and all of their and other birds songs.

If your into fishing, bring your rod and the rest of your gear and go beach casting for cod from the winter to spring, and mackerel which are abundant in the summer.

If it's freshwater fishing your into, the River Leven - with brown trout, sea trout and salmon - is only 10 minutes away in the car. The River Ore is also nearby for brown trout.

There's also an abundance of fly-fishing taking place on Loch Leven, Kinghorn Loch and other reservoirs and fisheries - all within 20 - 30 minutes in the car.

The surrounding areas provide other good activities too, with golf on top of the list. Leven Thisle, Thornton, and Kirkcaldy Golf Clubs are just a few clubs nearby (less than 15 mins in a car) as well as the various St Andrews clubs (40 mins in a car).

Football, Swimming, Rugby, Tennis, Ice Hockey are all local to the area too - Kirkcaldy is less than 15 mins away in a car. The local Teams being based in Kirkcaldy, Methil, Dunfermline and Cowdenbeath.

For a gentler game, why not try out your hand at bowls - the local bowling club being just a 5 minute walk away. The club is also open for liquid refreshments and sometimes has an entertainer on too at the weekend.

For theatre lovers we have the Adam Smith Theatre - this Victorian theatre is in Kirkcaldy. As well as theatre productions, it also does cinema screenings and has a cafe-bar which is very popular too.

There are also some great restaurants nearby in Dysart, Kirkcaldy, Leven and other nearby areas for whatever takes your fancy - from pub grub to up market restaurants. Details are provided in our welcome folder.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £15

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.