HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

5 bedroom 2 bath home in the Village of Pentwater, Michigan

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Just a few blocks from downtown Pentwater and the beache

Enjoy this historical home in the village of Pentwater just a few blocks from the main street. This home was one of the oldest bed and breakfast homes in the area serving a diverse clientele in the1880s. This 6 bedroom, 2 full bath property is close to it all. Enjoy swimming, fishing and sunbathing at one of the most picturesque beaches on Lake Michigan at Charles Mears State Park, just a short walk away. Take advantage of the many unique shops, restaurants and galleries in downtown Pentwater. Dock your boat at the marina nearby or rent a pontoon boat, wave runner or a ski boat when you get here. World class fishing awaits in Pentwater Lake, Lake Michigan, or nearby Silver Lake.


Property Manager
Dave Rose
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Pentwater in Oceana County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village ...
General:
  • Heating
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Cleaning is included in base rental fee.

Reviews

1/5 -
(1 traveller reviews)

0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
5 bedroom 2 bath home in the Village of Pentwater, Michigan
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews
1

Lone Oak Home rental, Pentwater, MI July 16 -22, 2017

  • 1 of 5

Over the last 8 years we have been coming to Pentwater for a week at a time along with our 3 grandsons (and sometimes their parents) for which we have rented a series of houses in Pentwater. For the summer of 2017 from July 16 through July 22 we again rented a house, this time the Lone Oak house in central Pentwater. By far the best (and only) feature of this rental was its location. And by far, this was the worst house we have rented in Pentwater.

We encountered a number of problems with the house. Upon arrival and after entering the front door, I discovered that I could not unlock the back screen door since the lock was somehow jammed. After calling the rental agent for help I finally, with a piece of tape, was able to open the lock. This incident was an indicator of things to come. We also found on arrival that the curtain on the stair window was lying on the floor. The next and worst incident was related to the showers in the two bathrooms. The baths were old (1920’s??) with overhead showers added along with shower curtains that have to be wrapped around the tub.

While one grandson was in the upstairs shower (and a second in the shower directly down below) water started pouring out of the tub, on to the floor and down two holes in the floor that had been made to accommodate the drains. Unfortunately the water flowed directly down into the below bath room, onto the floor (I guess you can say the second grandson got a second shower). Clean up was a mess and again we called the rental agent who had to come over to see the mess. The rental agent also had told us that of the beds in the house two were queen sized. None weren’t – only doubles and singles. We also found that the beds themselves were horrible. All the mattresses (most very old) were all wrapped in plastic covers and most of the beds had ancient, wire exposed spring support mattresses. The beds were like lying on a mini-trampoline.

I could continue on this path of complaints – and I will. We found a fair amount of mold in windows and in one of the bathrooms. Also, if one looks at the available pictures on the web site for Lone Oak, they do not accurately reflect what one finds in the house. For example, several doors seen in the pictures don’t exist.

Finally, although the rental manager told us the house had been rented the week before, the guest book entries included several from 2011 and 2012, with the most seemingly torn out of the guest book.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. This property is a historic landmark in downtown Pentwater with repeat renters. The bed sizes are posted on the owners' information sheet provided on our website and our contract recommends it to be downloaded by the renter for review of all amenities. The log was outdated and was not meant to be used for current renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Pentwater, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,366
for 7 nights
£1,366
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £379.1
Tax Rate 6.0%

Cleaning fee included

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals